We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Let me start by saying the food is amazing! We specially liked the buffets and even had two dinners in a row first at the french restaurant which was ok, but then we decided to go back to the buffet because it was that good. Fresh foods every day! Shrimps were awesome!

Service was excellent and the rooms are clean and so nice! the tub in the balcony is such a nice treat!

The ladies at the Spa were very nice as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    871
    268
    86
    68
See reviews for
301
1,742
124
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My recent stay at the Barcelo Bavaro Beach Club Premium for Adults was better than expected. Do not let the word "Adult" scare you off. This hotel does not have nude beaches and half naked people run around. It means exactly as it states Adults only. I strongly advise to pay a little extra for the "Premium Club" upgrade. You will thank me later. Upon arrival you will attempt to check in at the front desk, but once you are recognized as a Premium Club member you will be taken to a separate air conditioned building and greeted by a glass of champagne and two concierges. I work in the Oil and Gas industry. So I have stayed in all types of hotels from two light town dives to five star hotels. I have never been greeted or treated like this upon arrival unless I was paying for the Honeymoon suite or the Presidential suite. The pampering and the perks did not stop after checking in. I arrived in late with an attitude because the plane did not have AC. But the premium club manager Aracelis Rosario handled all my problems with a smile. She changed my room 3 times until I was satisfied and arranged a spa treatment for me even as the spa was about to close. All this was done on the night of arrival. The next day I saw her all I could do was apologize for my attitude. The hotel is part of larger complex which you will enjoy. Very clean hotel with shuttles every 5 minutes. Tours leave on time and deliver the experiences in which it states in the brochure. Beaches are clean and the drinks great. I will be back since the staff knows me on a first name basis now. When you check into the premium club ask for Ms. Rosario.

Room Tip: When going to the beach choose a Beach Front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our first time in an all inclusive and this place did not disappoint. Unlike, other reviews we felt the food was excellent whether u were eating at the buffet or reserved restaurants. The staff not only spoke Spanish they knew English, Russian, French and Portuguese! Our room was always thoroughly cleaned even if it was later in the day (who cares), we were on vacation, NOT there to clock in the cleaning staff. The only downside was the pool closed at 8pm. This was way too early for an adults only resort...that didn't keep us from dipping into the clear pristine safe waters of Punta Cana...

Room Tip: Room #1088 had an awesome view of pool and beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Samuel J, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,
J'apprécie votre commentaire réalisé à la page Trip Aadvisor.
Je regrette que nous n’ayons pas eu la possibilité de remplir vos attentes.
À l'arrivée, nous vous présentons un plan de la station et la salle est un livre avec tous les services et la façon de l'utiliser.

Nous allons tenir compte de vos commentaires et nous allons continuer à travailler pour améliorer notre service.

Nous espérons avoir l'honneur de votre visite dans un proche avenir.

Attentivement
Samuel Johnson
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited the resort at the start of October for our honeymoon and we only have good words to say about it! From the moment we checked in we were greeted by happy smiling staff who couldn't do enough to make sure everything was just right.
The hotel is right next to the beach and is just like being in paradise! It is so so beautiful and we always managed to find a quiet spot easily. The hotel staff also clear the seaweed everyday!
The meals served in the buffet restaurants were varied and of good quality. There are also several A La Carte restaurants,mostly at the Palace hotel. I would recommend booking these in advance as they get booked up quick and would highly recommend Chez Gourmet and the Italian restaurant. We also booked a romantic meal on the beach on our last evening which is well worth the money!
The drinks were strong but also good! Alcohol content is high and can put you on your backside if your not careful as doubles seem to be the norm out there. Tipping does help but I wouldn't go mad with it as just being nice to the staff goes a long way.

We did a couple of the local excursions, the first being Megatrucks which is amazing! It's a real insight into local culture and the tour guides are brilliant. The second was to Saona island which was average at best. Unless you are excited by a roadkill barbecue and being swarmed with midges you will not enjoy this one. Definately book the Megatruck excursion though!
The entertainment on the resort itself was really top quality, they had a Michael Jackson show while we where there and it was EPIC! That boy had some serious moves, started to wonder if the king of pop actually did die.
The trains that go around the resort can be slightly annoying as you have no idea when they will turn up, but all in all they are pretty good. The mini golf is really good just get there before 6pm or you have to pay which is not good! Also remember to take your insect repellent!
Our two favourite people we met at the resort were Alexandra on reception and Fastino in the buffet restarurant who both very helpful and always happy to see to us and have a chat!
In short we would highly recommend the resort, if you want good service just dont be rude.
We hope to return to celebrate one of our Wedding Anniversaries!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my first time doing an all inclusive vacation. This place was just amazing. The Premium Club was value added. For a few extra dollars, we were treated like royalty. VIP room at the disco, excellent dinners at the French restaurant, and daily hydrotherapy at the spa. Best of all though was the staff at the Premium Club Lounge. They attended to our every desire.
When our flights were cancelled because of Hurricane Sandy, Joanna and Aracelis were our Dominican girls they went above and beyond their job and ensured that our vacation remained stress-free and helped us make new arrangements. They made our vacation relaxing and very special. I would definately go back if anything to just see them. Thank You very much for making my vacation and excellent one.

Room Tip: choose the Club Premium for a few more dollars its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent, really recommended.. I decided to move to Club premium and it was the best decision and the best choice... I liked service and personnel service attitude. Restaurants are also espectaculars... Rolmar99

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We vacationed with two other couples at the Barcelo Bravaro Beach adults only part of the resort. The whole vacation was exceptional!! We couldn't have asked for better service from the entire staff at the hotel. the lobby bar was also a good place to enjoy a cocktail with bartender Jose Arno and waitress Alexandra Santiago. I would highly recommend this resort as far as value, cleanliness and service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.