We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygiene at the hotel-we are here now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Bavaro Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Bavaro Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
“Hygiene at the hotel-we are here now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A truly superb hotel in every way and we are here right now, enjoying our second holiday here. Cannot fault the hotel at all, however, we have just pointed out to the restaurant manager that the sterile hand wash is barely visible behind the counter, this results in people being unaware of it. We watched for 30 minutes at breakfast and counted 1 out of 75 people actually using it. This puts every guest at risk from illness. We then points this out to the manager who instructed the young girl to offer it to people as they enter the dining room. In 30 minutes, all but 3 people used the hand wash. We asked one person why they turned it down. She said she had just washed her hands in her room. How can people be so uneducated and not realise that after leaving her room, she touched seval door handles, probably scratched her backside and maybe worse. Out of our party of four, three of us have the runs after a fe days. This could have been avoided. We hope the hotel makes this more prominent permanently, for the safety of all guests

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    870
    268
    86
    68
See reviews for
301
1,741
124
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blainville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Dominicans are beautiful and lovely people and those working at the Barcelo Bavaro Adults Beach Club are the BEST!
Loved every minute of our 1 week stay from the beach, to the hotel room & oceanview, to the service, the pool and even the food.
People often complain of the food which I think is unfair - If you`re looking for your traditional Americain or Canadian food, then don`t travel. It`s true that the butter or the orange juice or the cheese doesn`t taste the same as what we are used to eating at home - what`s to be expected, we are in a different country! I must commend Cesar who works at the Gourmet restaurant. By far, the best meal and service during our whole stay. Cesar told us that his mission was to provide excellent service and as far as we're concerned, he succeeded!
We booked 2 activities through the Hotel Guest Services (Para-Sailing & Dune Buggy Adventure) we felt safe, well catered to and had a blast doing both!
I whole-heartedly recommend the Dominicain Republic, Punta Cana and the Barcelo.

Room Tip: Absolutely worth paying more to be in the Premium Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, Ont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent two weeks at the Bavaro Beach Hotel-between Oct. 5 to Oct 19. I contacted Guest Services before arriving to let them know that we would be celebrating my husband's birthday on the 7th. Evelyn, Paulo, and Yissel could not have been more helpful. When we walked into the room, we thought we had been mistakenly placed in a honeymoon suite. Not so. These people at Guest Services arranged to have our room decorated with beautiful towel swans, rose petals all over the bed and the two bathroom sinks, a huge fruit basket with a bottle of champagne and a bottle of rum, a plate of chocolate covered grapes, bath robes and slippers, it goes on and on... All of our restaurant reservations were promptly reserved, with special consideration in providing a cake, not only in our room, but also in the Japanese restaurant where we celebrated Paul's birthday. Guest services also helped us with golf tee times.
Food has been discussed in various posts, and because it is such a subjective topic, I will not dwell on it other than to say try the steak and hamburger at the golf course restaurant.
We golfed every second day and thoroughly enjoyed the course.
On our off days, we lay by the pool. We were given terrific service by Juana, Analy, and Angela. We also sat in the same place for every meal we had in the buffet restaurant and got to know the servers there, namely Maria, Iris, and Anyelina. (Getting to know their names improved our service.)
I suggest readers ignore the negative reviews. These reviewers would probably find something to complain about regardless of where they go. I highly recommend this resort. Go and have a great time. We sure did!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2000 building - not too far away from the lobby area, and far enough away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just returned from our trip from Barcelo Bravaro Beach (all adults) in Punta Cana . this place was new and very good . the staff is sooo friendly and helpful . want to go back soon. it is unforgettable vacation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went down here with my fiancé, my father,stepmother,sister and brother in law, I came into this vacation thinking that vacations were just a waste of alot of money, My parents have went on 30 some vacations i would say in the past 10 years and I always say how much money they throw down the drain.. never had such comfortable beds in my life.white sandy beach no rocks on beach or in water, you dont have to wear water shoes here. like walking on clouds under that water. Staying here in this resort made me realize exactly why they like to take vacations all of the time.. Everything was PERFECT from the front desk to the waiters and to the maids, this resort is the only one i would every want to go to.. We went through Apple Vacatians Modesto was our representative, he made this trip incredible for us, we set up dolphin swimming ( A MUST DO), dune buggies, horseback riding through the caribbean sea, Outback excursion. Modesto made sure we had the best time, he even went the extra mile a few times to make sure we were taken care of. he was easily reachable any time we needed him.. Now back to the resort, food was good, we did all inclusive so cant really complain about that. We did not walk past any workers from the resort that did not greet us with hola! extremely nice and considerate staff. rooms were very clean our mini bar was filled every day. music played throughout the resort, which was also a nice plus. we liked the mexican restaurant, but was not too happy with the Italian, we absolutely loved the steakhouse.. Alexandra at the front desk really made us feel at home. we did the romantic dinner on the beach, Jose was our waiter, he did not stop for one second he kept running, was for sure the best waiter we have ever had at any restaurant. We also did the mini golf course and was the nicest course we have ever seen.. loved that they had trains that took us around the resort so you did not have to walk. I never seen myself as the vacation type, but after staying in this resort, I can promise that I plan to try and come back at least once a year.. I hope this helps people who are looking for a resort and cant decide on which one. My fiance and I had an absolutely amazing time, and I know the rest of my family felt the exact same

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just returned from our trip from Barcelo Bravaro Beach (all adults) in Punta Cana. We try to travel to a different place every year & this is by far the most beautiful place we have been too. The beach is white & cleaned everyday, the water is so clear that when we took a Catamaran our friend jumped out thinking he could touch but couldn't (guite funny). Our room was ocean front & we could watch the sunrise from it. The maid service was efficient, we had cards made thanking them for their services & left a tip daily. The service; The club premium guest services were nice & helpful. The pool...besides the beach, our favorite!! We had a blast & meet tons of people. Angela was our waitress & everyday she remembered us & served us with a smile.Food; make reservations in advance, The Chez Gourmet was very good, the grouper is fantastic.The Steak house & Mexican resturant is good as well, stay simple & eat what you know. I heard a bunch of people got sick from the seafood resturant so we didn't try it. There are so many different nationalities & that makes for very diverse vacation. (I loved the french people, very mysterious & sexy ) Do the zip line tour with canopy tours, its a long trip up the mountain but you get the history of Punta Cana. Overall we loved it as well as our friends & will be back. Hope this was helpful & have a wonderful trip!!

Room Tip: Do ovean Front...the view is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very close to the airport, very nice site. Services is great and everything you need is closed. All the staff is friendly and helpfull. Even if it's easier if you can speak spanish, they will find someone to translate if you speak english only, unfortunately no french at all. It's shows than they want you to be happy about your stay. Room and food are excellent as well as the entertainment during days and night. It's obvious than we will go back. Very professionnal services.

Room Tip: We were at the east edge of the site for adults only, very quiet and peacefull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Bavaro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Address: Carretera Bavaro Km. 1 | PO Box 3177, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Bavaro Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only*****hotel is located on one of the 10 best beaches in the world, in the Punta Cana area of the Dominican Republic. This dreamy hotel has reinvented itself after a complete renovation to become an exclusive hotel for adults only. The hotel offers first class rooms 80% of which are located right on the beachfront. This makes it the most perfect place for a romantic getaway. Enjoy the exquisite range of cuisine on offer at the hotel through the Barcelo All Inclusive Programme with its Caribbean Buffet, Chez Gourmet and La Brisa restaurants; 9 a-la-carte restaurant options: Chez Gourmet (international), La Brisa (Mediterranean), El Coral (fish and seafood), Santa Fe (meat), La Dolce Vita (Italian), Mexico Lindo (Mexican), La Fuente (Spanish), Kyoto (Japanese) and La Comedie (Gourmet - additional charge except for Club Premium guests). Visit the facilities where you can find different options to fill your days: football pitch, tennis court, swimming pool, golf course, water sports, wellness centre, theatre and casino. This exclusive resort set on a virgin beach welcomes you with a cocktail, spoils you with drinks by the pool and offers you a 45 minute hydrothermal circuit, per person once during your stay. There are also 2 massage beds in the pool area (at an additional charge). Staying at this hotel also grants guests access to the facilities of the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, a hotel which shares some of its services and facilities. This hotel is one of the very few in the country that boasts the international BLUE FLAG for compliance with the standards required by the non-profit non-governmental organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Come and rediscover the marvels the Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only***** hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Barcelo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Bavaro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Hotel
Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
Bavaro Beach Hotel
Bavaro Beach Resort
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Bavaro Beach Resort Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Bavaro Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.