We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Rate Property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“1st Rate Property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in 2 other Iberostar locations, and knew we would be in great hands choosing this resort when we took a vacation with several other couples early this month. Our stay at the Grand Bavaro was our first in an adults-only resort, and we will always choose this option in the future! We felt as though we made new friends in the staff at the resort, from the check-in person (Marco) at the front desk, to a concierge who helped us arrange our dinner reservations for our large party (Caroline), to our butler (Justo), to our sweet hostess at the buffet and some of the restaurants (Yudeisi). While the food, for our tastes, was just OK, the overall experience at this resort was the best we've had yet. It's a beautiful beach, there are always chairs available both at the pool and on the beach, and the personnel is fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable…although you should be sure to request a room that looks in on the pool/fountain/courtyard. Our friends had rooms on the outside of the buildings, and their views were not desirable. It is extremely clean, the service is quick and smart, and the atmosphere is very relaxing. We would visit this resort again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the inside of the resort. The rooms on the outside of the buildings ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guests,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro.
We would like to express you how honored we are to hear that the friendliness of our staff and their excellent service met your expectations based on your visits to other Iberostar hotels. We have congratulated Marco, Justo, Carolina and Yudeisy for making you feel as “Stars”.
We are waiting for your next visit; please feel free to contact us prior your return.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,200
    540
    141
    44
    21
See reviews for
351
2846
98
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west allis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a fantastic time. Room,location, all staff,food,drink, shows were all excellent and can't wait to return for more fun and relaxation. There is always something to do or not if you wish. Our stay was relaxing and we were treated like royality. Met many nice and friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience.
We want to express our satisfaction to acknowledge that our friendly staff made you feel as “royalty” and that your holidays were relaxing and fun. In Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection we aim to ensure to our “adult only” guests an ambience of calm and relaxation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is our third all-inclusive vacation and this resort was well above the others. I would return here in a heartbeat.

The staff are always saying hola and want to be helpful. You almost disappoint the turndown staff if you don't want something!

The grounds are beautiful and have a luxurious Mediterranean feel. Everything is included! No extra fee for the mini bar, the internet, the cabanas, golf, room service. We were overly impressed.

When my husband asked for two extra pillows, the butler replied, 'We have six different styles of pillows. Which one would you like best?'

The resort is small (under 300 rooms) so it never felt crowded. You could always get a cabana. It was quiet.

We never went to any of the shows. They start at 10 p.m. Too late for us.

The beds are very comfortable and our partial ocean view in room 7218 was wonderful. I loved the chaise lounge in the room and even a chaise on the deck with pillows for the chairs and the chaise.

The food was the best we have ever had at an all inclusive. The desserts could be improved, but we travel often, and you have to remember that if you want desserts like they make back home, then stay at home. The Caribbean and Central America are not known for their desserts. They are known for their seafood which was excellent.

Drinks were flavourful and the staff was always coming around in good time to ask if you wanted a refill.

Check in was a breeze and we were able to upgrade our room.

The beach is breathtaking, the golf course was in very good condition. Just the right amount of challenge for a vacation head space.

We both had awesome side by side massages in the spa and felt the prices were very good. I don't know what the lady from Toronto below is talking about. I never felt like any of my "private areas" were exposed. Yes the room was well lit, but it had an awesome view and my eyes were closed the entire time. I also had a facial which was great, too.

We are happy, happy and would totally encourage vacationers to come to this resort. This was our first time in the Dominican Republic and we will return.

We did not do a package. We flew in on our frequent flyer points and paid for the resort separately. A very good value for what you pay, though we do pay more than other places. "You get what you pay for".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear guest,
First at all, we thank you for taking time to post some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and also for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we want to express you how honored we are that our beautiful premises, exquisite gastronomy and excellent service surpassed your expectations based on your previous all-inclusive experiences. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel. Please feel free to contact us before.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Iberostar Grand Bavaro is without a doubt one of the lovliest resorts where we have had the good fortune to stay. The staff is so accomodating and so friendly; they could not do enough to make us feel at home and comfortable. The food at the Grand is the "best" of all the resorts that we have visited in Punta Cana. This is a smaller, more elegant resort that provides a tranquil, luxurious getaway and an unforgetable experience.

I highly recommend the Iberostar Grand Bavaro.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
First at all, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to express how pleased we are to read that our exquisite gastronomy and the excellent service of our friendly staff made your holidays unforgettable as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We will be honored to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us prior your return.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Transfer- Did Olympus Tours for transfer, private, they were very nice, easy to find, driver's (both ways) were very friendly and helpful. The traffic is horrible but that is not the drivers fault.

Check-In- We arrived around 4pm and our room was not ready, was told 10 minutes, so we went to concierge to make our restaurant reservations and came back about 15 minutes later, room still not ready. We were a little annoyed because we are still in long pants and they had taken our luggage. They said 15 more minutes, go to the bar and they will come get us. 30 minutes later they still had not come so I went back and the room was ready.

Room- We had a "garden view" room. It overlooked the neighboring resort (Iberostar Dominica I think), so had basically no view whatsoever. The hallways are not air conditioned but the room was nice and cool. We had a king bed. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub, shower (wonderful rainfall shower head), double sink and toilet. There is a small balcony,but with where we were we didn't utilize it except for the drying rack there for our swimsuits. There is a large closet, safe, desk, TV, mini-fridge and a couple bags of chips. Overall the room was comfortable.

Room Service- The room service food is good. Be sure to order anything you want/need WELL in advance though because it is slow. I ordered a bottle of wine and it took 2+ hours to be delivered.

Butler- He came and showed us the room and how everything works. He was very nice and friendly but not overly helpful. We asked him to help us find a USB cable one day and the next day he told us he couldn't find one. So just call concierge or individual dept. for whatever you need.

Housekeeping -VERY efficient. Asked for extra towels after a bath incident (tip: don't turn the jacuzzi jets on until the tub is FULL!!!) and they were there within minutes. Room was made up by 10 each day and they came about 6 or 7 to do turn-down service. The mini-bar was not always replenished with the things we used, but it was fine, we didn't spend that much time in our room.

Restaurants- Overall the food in the restaurants was okay, nothing to write home about, we preferred the food in the buffets. We ate at 3 of the 4 restaurants and both the buffetts several times. I highly recommend the grilled lobster, its fantastic.

Beach- The beach is great, you don't have to get up really early to get chairs, we got there as late at 10 and still got good chairs. The waiter come around often (especially if you tip). The beach drinks are a little watered down, but they are good. They activities people come around but are not pushy. There are some "shops" run by local down the beach, however they all sell the same overpriced things, but its an amusing walk down there. There are some women who go topless but not a lot.

Pool- The water is warm, the swim up bar is always packed. There are lovely cabana's poolside that are great for napping

Bars- Lobby bar is the best, they make the best and strongest drinks

Nightlife- There is a show at 10 every night in the theater, its a stage show and its a little campy and a lot loud but can be fun. Otherwise, it gets quiet at night. There is a bar on the "boat" near the restaurants,but it is not very busy or exciting.

Weather- It rained one night and was raining when we left but otherwise the weather was beautiful. Hot and humid but go down by the ocean and it was great.

Internet- The wireless for the hotel worked great the first day then got really spotty.

Gobecon internet- We rented a gobecon wireless device, it was a bit of a nightmare. We had a hard time finding them when we got to the airport. It did not work great at the resort and when we got to the airport to go home we couldn't find the rep to return it to. The Olympus Tours person finally helped us and we got it returned and got our money back.

Overall- very relaxing vacation, low key.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We would like to extend apologies for any and all inconveniences that you might have encountered during your vacation here at our hotel which almost prevent you to enjoy your holidays. We would like to reassure you however that this is not a true depiction of our standards of operation here at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro. We will forward the aforementioned comments to all relevant department heads as to ensure that service is up to Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection standards and we will do our outmost not to have a reoccurrence of the situations mentioned.
We remain at your entire disposition for any further assistance and will be glad to show you in the future how our services work perfectly to ensure unforgettable experiences as hundreds of satisfied guests testify live everyday among us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic, we came to celebrate our 20th anniversary. From the moment we arrived and during our entire stay we were treated like royalty. The staff is so nice and accommodating. Our butler Angel was truly amazing, he was always making sure that we were taken care of. On our last night he had our tub filled with hot water and a heart shaped made from rose petals with a bottle of champagne and a fruit platter. He was absoutley amazing. They are always cleaning the grounds and the beach is wonderful. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is definitely the place. I would love to come back as soon as I can!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your twentieth anniversary celebration and for sharing your experience with the online community on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to express you how pleased we are to acknowledge that the personalized service of our friendly staff, especially by our Butler team, ensured you to feel as “royalty” as you says in your publication or as “Star” as we aim in Iberostar.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please feel free contact us prior your next stay with us.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I visited with family and friends for my sister's wedding. The staff did an excellent job in making us feel like the most important people at the hotel, and the arrangements for the ceremony were brilliant and beautiful. The scene created brought a tear to my eye and gave me a memory that I will never forget. The restaurants on-site are well-run, and the food is the best I've eaten. Everything about this hotel is wonderful, and I am planning to return as soon as I can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro while attending your sister’s wedding.
On the behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to express you how pleased we are to acknowledge that your whole experience at our hotel and especially the ceremony of the wedding of your sister was unforgettable due to the excellent service of our friendly staff. Our main goal in Iberostar is turning your vacations into a memorable holiday.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before your next vacations among us.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, VISIT US, INC. , getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.