We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Second time around.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. The first visit was a year after the resort opened. The resort is still beautiful and well maintained. In fact this is our 5th stay with Iberostar resorts and all of their properties are well maintained, the workers who do this work day in and day out should be applauded for their hard work.

Being honest our first stay was more impressive but the resort had just opened and they were working very hard to become the number one resort in Punta Cana. That being said we would totally return to the resort but wish some old school ways would come back.

Wishful thinking:

Hey guys do we really have to play "Where's Waldo" with the high end liquor. The stars and the moon had to align to find Hennessy or any single malt. The manager told us it was a distribution issue....Last visit never ever a problem.

The food is wonderful but the selection is more limited with repeat items showing up a great deal more and with less variety over the week. Try finding bacon on a Saturday I am pretty sure it is hanging out with the single malt. The Italian restaurant is a train wreck. Tried it twice that week and both times waited over 45 minutes just to have the order taken. Had several couples just walk out. The food was not at its best there either. The other restaurants are amazing and the staff wonderful.

The staff......Juan at the pool bar is a wonderful person, great job my friend. JuLusa at the breakfast bar was there on our first visit and she is always pleasant and charming. Montrose and the lunch grill is the best and can cook a steak like nobody's business. We asked for lamb one day and he had it made up just for us, he is amazing. However, to be honest many of the staff looked tired and "over the job". Not all of them but I really don't blame them as some of them work 24 days on and 6 off. Not an easy job at all. Experienced some attitude now and then but I would be less than charming working that many days in a row as well. So enough said.

The room still wonderful and they upgraded us to an ocean view, thank you thank you! As usual with the tropics there is this funky smell you just can't get rid of unless you light the oil they give you which is the best, noticed the smell more than last time but we see that a great deal when we travel down south.

If you are thinking of going, please do you will have a wonderful time. I appreciate an honest review when making decisions so I felt it best to note the few "one offs" We travel all over the world and I can be fussy so keep that in context as you decide as well. For the price you can't beat it.

Have fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your second experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for your loyalty for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination.
On the one hand, we are pleased with your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff (among them Juan, Luisa and Montrose) and the beauty of our well-kept premises. In Iberostar, as you well know, we are committed to upkeep our grounds.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for all and any inconveniences that you might have encountered during your second visit especially those related to certain liquor brands. As our Food and Beverage Manager explained you, this year we have experience some issues with our Providers which also includes other brands of wine and spirits apart from the one you mentioned. Unfortunately our license of operation here in the Dominican Republic does not allow us to import alcohol directly. We are thankful for your comprehension in this matter.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,958
    501
    129
    39
    21
See reviews for
317
2633
94
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This ressort is the perfect little paradise. It is quiet at room level; the ressort is clean and the personnels are present for all the small details. The food is the only aspect that could be improved, the variety is not present but the quality is. All the aspect of the fabolous vacation was covered by the the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience among us.
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to express our satisfaction to read your motivating lines about the beauty of premises and the friendliness and excellent service from our staff members. In Iberostar we want our beloved guest to “enjoy being a Star”. Likewise, we have forwarded your feedback about the variety of our international cuisine to our Executive Chef.
We will be glad to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived until we checked out. Our room (#7006) was on the 1st floor and although I was hesitant in the beginning to stay on the 1st floor because I do not like the stay on the 1st floor, I was very happy with the room. The location was excellent and although you could not see the ocean, the view was perfect. The hotel atmosphere was very relaxing. The décor was gorgeous, the drinks were perfect, the pool beautiful and the food was very good. Franklin who works in the Surf & Turf restaurant was the best!!!!! He stated that he loved his job and you could tell he did. Our only complaint was the food in the Italian restaurant. I would definitely stay at the hotel again but not eat in the Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your vacations and for posting a review about your stay on Tripadvisor.
We would like to express how pleased we are to read that the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff surpassed your expectations and made you live an unforgettable holiday as we aim in Iberostar. We have congratulated Franklin whose service made a difference during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon arrival we were blown away by the majestic, palace type structure and grounds. But at check in, we soon discovered we were given standard rooms instead of ocean view, that we clearly reserved and paid for. The manager and staff kept "politely" trying to explain we did not, even after showing them copies of our receipts. We were given a spa voucher for our inconvenience, but It clearly upset some others in our group. Aside from that, our rooms were very nice, cleaned every day & night, and fortunately not above the loud music coming from the courtyard at night. Our butlers, Jose, Louis & Victor were excellent, far exceeding our requests & expectations. The restaurants were small in comparison to the size of the Grand Hotel, reservations were hard to get, but the food was good, the Japanese being top notch. Just be careful not to order from the right side of the wine list, as it is NOT included with your dinner, and may cause some stress when settling your room charges upon checkout. The spa treatments were excellent, however some facilities were either under repair or not working properly, i.e. hot tub, showers, etc. The pools & beach were very clean and the staff attended to our every need. If you buy the golf package it is well worth playing the Bavaro course twice. Beautiful resort overall, but would highly recommend confirming dinner & room reservations, (twice)!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are standard or ocean view, be careful what you choose. Rooms on the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for having taken time to post a review about your stay.
We are very pleased to read that your holidays were “relaxing” according to the title of your publication. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers. We have congratulated Jose, Luis and Victor for making your stay especial.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for the inconveniences related to your booking. We advise our valuable costumers to double check the voucher given by Travel Agencies as sometimes their mistakes have to be dealt by our Front Desk team to be corrected without success.
Likewise, we would like to clarify that no charges are made to our costumers' rooms without a signed ticket in which the costumers agree to pay a command at the end of the stay.
We are looking forward to see you again and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is almost perfect in every way. The food could NOT be any better in my opinion. The resort is beautiful, well kept, perfect beach. The rooms are absolutely luxurious with upgrades that I did not expect. Opportunities for improvements: a) there is no ATM on this property so you have to have a butler drive you (or walk) to one of the adjacent properties where there are two ATM's, only one of which works and it only dispenses pesos. b) I wish there were more bars...the other Iberostar properties I've been to had much larger lobby areas with constant snacks available and a large bar. Sort of like a large gathering room. There is a bar in the lobby, but it's quite small and enclosed, and there are no snacks offered. There is a very vast large lobby area but it's always empty because there's no bar right in the middle. That large lobby could be a bustling lobby of people having a great time, but it's empty. It's an unfortunate waste of beautifully furnished and decorated space.

Regarding the location, if you want to get a tan but be on the beach, you actually have to turn your chair away from the ocean in order to face the sun. It must have something to do with the time of the year but the sun appears to rise in the northeast and then curves quite sharply around 1pm and goes directly to the southwest; like a quick "C" and never seems to be directly over head.

Tips ARE both expected and appreciated here so plan on tipping if you want them to continue to service your every need.

Wi-Fi is good when it's working, although there are some hoops you have to go through to make it work on any Apple device. It was down all day one day I was here.

Hair dryer - there is no on/off swich, just a sliding button to go to 1 or 2. What they don't tell you is that you have to hold down the blue button while drying to make it work. Just FYI.

Also, if you want your porch light turned off, there is no switch to do that. You have to call the butler and they have to send someone up to turn it off.

HIGHLY recommend the Japanese and Italian restaurants, but they are all great.

I would NOT recommend traveling here if you are alone as this place is crawling with only couples; therefore it's the perfect destination for couples, honeymooners, etc. But don't come here expecting to meet someone! I am quite literally the ONLY single person on this entire resort. But it's also VERY nice not having any kids around.

The TV is a but tricky so make sure you have the butler show you how to get to the guide.

Oh, very important note if you use Verizon for wireless.....their web site does not work here so once you get here they send you a text welcoming you to the Dominican Republic and then tell you to visit their website to enable a global call plan. Then their website is inoperable here!! So I am not able to take or receive phone calls and I have no manor in which to fix that.

Other than all of that - I could not recommend this place more. Everyone is very nice and helpful and they truly act like owners, which means a lot to me. It means they care about their jobs even when no one is looking.

Sorry, one last thing....there are a group of vendor tents on the beach to the right of the resort. There is a lot of cool things in there, but be prepared to be totally and relentlessly attacked by the vendors. They will NOT leave you alone, and of the clothing items that I purchased, I did NOT get any sort of a deal whatsoever. They will hound you....it's pretty bad and the two times I risked it, I could not wait to get the heck away. It's really too bad because if they would just leave me alone and let me browse I would probably go there every day and spend a lot of money, but they are like vultures and you will not get one second of "browsing" in peace.

That's it for now! I'm still here so if I have anything to add I will be sure and do so.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other rooms, but mine is great. I will add photos later - I have lots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our premises for your holidays.
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to express you how satisfied we are to read how you highlighted out the friendliness and excellent service of our team. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable vacations to our beloved “stars”. Likewise, we welcome your suggestions about how we can improve the vacation experience of our customers; they have been shared with the corresponding departmental heads.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance before your next visit. It will be a pleasure for the whole team to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I agree with many of the reviews here but would like to share my own opinion.

From the moment we were dropped off by our bus our experience started at this beautiful hotel.
We were immediately welcomed by the bellboy. He gave us a cool wet towel for us to refresh ourselves, took care of our luggage and showed us the way to the reception. Reception staff were very friendly as well and one of the girls from the lobby bar offered us right away a welcome drink. We got to meet our butler and he gave all the possible information about the resort that we would need. The room is very comfortable and spacious enough to put away your things. We got a room with an ocean view and this was just perfect. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were really nice, lots of variety and plenty of choice. The restaurants were nice and you can book these in advance, but to be honest the best food we ate was in the buffet during dominican night - Dominican food is fantastic! There are lots of activities during the day hosted by the Star Friends. Every night there is a show in the theater, really nice and the singers are amazing. In general we are very happy and there are no complaints.

We would to thank everybody but in special our butler Adelso; Yokaira and Margarita from star friends; Ery, Tomas and Angela from the bar staff; and Altagracia, Luis Hilario and Tito from the kitchen staff. It was the interaction with the staff that really improves the experience from a really nice hotel, to a fantastic hotel with many memories to take home. Don't be shy and talk to everyone as they do make the difference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your vacations with us.
We would like to express you how pleased we are to read that your expectations about our excellent service and exquisite cuisine were met and ensured you a memorable experience as those lived by the “Stars” who everyday share their experiences on Internet. In Iberostar we aim to provide the best service so our beloved guests “enjoy being a Star” that is why we have congratulated Adelso, Margarita, Tocaira, Tito, Altagracia, Hilario, cocina, Ery, Tomas and Angela whose work helped us to achieve our goal during your visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

it was my 1st time to the south, and it was great...except the food. Im not a foodie by any means...infact I am pretty bland/healthy eater. However,...the food was sorta yuck. apparently its like that in the entire Dominican...
other than that the drinks were great. staff was excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for the time you took to share your feedback about your experience a year ago.
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we thank you for highlighting out the service of our friendly staff who made you feel as a “Star” one year ago when you were among us. In Iberostar we are committed to provide an excellent service to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we regret to acknowledge that our nightly themed buffet, 24 hours Room Service, four a la carte restaurants and the possibility to visit the nine a la carte restaurants of the entire Iberostar complex in Punta Cana could not meet your palate expectations. We have forwarded your feedback to our Executive Chef so he can evaluate his team’s performance in this matter.
We remain at your entire disposition for any future assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.