We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at it's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Luxury at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Iberostar Grand Bavaro is the adult only, luxury Iberostar property in Punta Cana. It is an all inclusive and there is no tipping. You can lock up your wallet in the safe with your other valuables. You only will need it when you go on any excursions. I recommend the James Bond. It is Snorkling, Snuba (yes, Snuba) and Speed Boats. What a blast! Anyway, the hotel is over the top in luxury. From the top shelf libations to the shaded beach and the cushy lounges around the huge pool, everything is there to help you relax and unwind. This is a honeymoon destination as well as many wedding anniversary celebrations. Right from the start, many of us who met there had something in common. We met some great people here and had a wonderful time.

The trip in and the out, were the only things that were not relaxing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good here. I would suggest the ocean view. Our view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for having taken time to post a review about your experience among us.
We are very pleased to read that among many reasons, our “adult only” policy as Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection ensured you a relaxing holiday as we aim by providing an ambience of calm.
We are looking forward to welcome you and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,958
    501
    129
    39
    21
See reviews for
317
2633
94
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent the 2nd half of our honeymoon here starting Jun 22nd and stayed 5 nights, We couldn't of asked for a more perfect place to stay. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the "star friends" if you decide to go soon, you must get to know "Tommy" he is hilarious. To cover a few things, the rooms were immaculate and the maid service was terrific, almost ninja like, we never seen them enter the room, almost like they knew when we'd be out, lol. We only seen our butler twice, once when we first entered the room and another time when he brought us our restaurant reservations, but actually we didn't need him for anything else. We just went to the concierge desk to book our golf tee times, easy as pie. Next the grounds are beautiful, beach extremely clean, and the pool bar was the best place to be (hats off to our bartender "Julio") During the evening you could either go to the theater and watch the event they had going on, or head to the "boat bar" which is where we spent most nights with friends we met while we were there. Now to the food, you "must" "must" "must" get a night at the Japanese restaurant, it was superb, and although the surf & turf's food was ok, the service was a little slow, but the buffet was fantastic anytime of the day, those were the only places we decided to go, too much time just relaxing and enjoying our surroundings, plus we didn't want to dress up every night. As for the golf, never have we been to a more beautiful course, you have to try it, you won't be disappointed. Overall this place was amazing!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guests,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience with us and for having chosen Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro as destination for the second part of your honeymoon. We congratulation for this important step in your lives and wish you well.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that the excellent service of our friendly staff, the variety of our exquisite cuisine, the beauty and cleanness of our grounds and the wide options for daily and nightly entertainment ensured you a memorable holiday during such as especial occasion. The friendly and helpful staff is one of our main strengths in Iberostar and we work with illusion to remain so. We have communicated Julio, and Tommy that their service made your stay especial.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again and celebrate your first wedding anniversary. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro June 22-June 29. The weather was absolutely beautiful the entire week. We loved all of the staff as they were very welcoming and always aiming to please. They each went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The resort itself is beautiful. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping were very nice and did a great job. The only complaint we do have is with the food. The buffet was good but it had the same things on it each day. The surf and turf and Hibachi restaurants were our favorite and we said we should have gone to them each night. The French and Italian were not good at all. We did not like any of the meals we had there. We also emailed the resort 2 weeks prior to our stay to make reservations and they had our tickets ready for us upon check-in. Our friends were able to make a reservation for the day they wanted without problem, but we were also there off season. We would probably go back if they make changes to the food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
First at all, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to post a review about your experience among us.
On the behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we would like to express you how satisfied we are to read that you had a memorable stay due to the beauty of our premises and the friendliness of our staff. In Iberostar we aim to ensure our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”. Likewise, we welcome your feedback related to our exquisite international cuisine and we have shared it with our Executive Chef.
We will be pleased to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I dont think we could have chosen a better resort in Punta Cana to have our beach wedding--gorgeous crystal clear water and beach setting, an incredible wedding coordinator (Magdalena), & great Spa staff as well! Id recommend Angie to do your hair, she did exactly what I asked and it didnt budge in the ocean breeze! We were treated like royalty and adorned with rose petals on our dinner tables at night as well as in the hotel room/jacuzzi. The service here is similar to Disney World where everyone is chipper and friendly! The room and facilities were all very clean and seemed brand new. All in all, it was a hassle-free and very relaxing experience which was our #1 goal.
The adults-only all inclusive is the way to go...no children screaming in the pools created a romantic and fun atmosphere. It was lovely to hang around the pool bar with a great classy crowd of people or walk a few feet to the beach where there were plenty of lounge chair huts for everyone.
Now if you are the type of person who likes a large extravagant hotel room, this may not be the place for you...the room was perfect for us--a comfy king-size bed, clean & spacious jacuzzi bathtub and rain-shower with incredible water pressure btw, great balcony with beautiful view--but it is modest size. We were hardly in the room except to sleep though so who cares!
The online pics dont do this hotel justice, it really is beautiful and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, Hotel Manager, and the whole team, we thank you for having taken time to post a review about your wedding experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro and for choosing our hotel for such as especial and romantic occasion. Congratulation for this step in your lives, we wish you well.
We are much honored to read your motivating comments about the friendliness and excellent service of our staff (among them Magdalena your wedding coordinator), the service of our spa, and the beauty of our premises. In Iberostar every single member of our staff is committed to provide an excellent service so we can ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guests.
We will be glad to welcome you once again and celebrate your first anniversary and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Okay, so for a little background on my review...I married at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall July 2012 and fell in LOVE with the resort. My husband and I realized we had been slumming it on our prior vacations. So what better way to send our first year anniversary then at another Grand. So we randomly selected Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel. We could not help but to compare

Appearance: The hotel decor was elegant. A bit eccentric but tasteful. The attire of the food service staff (buffet and specialty restaurants) was concerning. This applies to only a few men and the majority/ all the ladies. Their uniforms fit quite snug. To the point were vest buttons were pulling and shirts were ripped. Because the poor fitting uniforms were wide-spread, it is believed the tight fit is encouraged by the hotel. During a dinner in the Italian Restaurant, we noticed one of the waitresses skirts torn at least an inch at the seat.


Check-in: Could have been better. I was a bit put off by Maria's blunt demeanor. I asked about a possible room upgrades (complimentary or cost) I just wanted to know what my options were. She shot down my interest, saying I had the best room. I then specifically asked for an oceanview room and she paid me no mind. I thought it was strange for a conceirge not to engage someone looking for a room upgrade.

Room: Meticulously cleaned, twice a day. Our room faced the shallow pond and had a nice view of trees. Loved the jacuzzi tub that overlooks the balcony.

Butler: Friendly as all get- out! Whatever you need just call them. My mom (who is not computer savy) would like for me to give a shout-out to Jason, her day-time butler, who returned her small pouch of jewelry to her after she had checked out the hotel and was waiting for transportation to the airport. She apparently didn't clean out the safe as thoroughly as she thought.

Food: Breakfast and the Japanese restaurant were the best things going. The food was average, but there was plenty to select from. My husbands biggest complaint was that the food on the buffet line was warm, therefore cold by the time you sat down to eat it. Free room service is a nice concept, but don't waste your time. It comes to the room cold and it's not what you necessarily ask for (language barrier).

The Good:
Night life entertainment- more specifically the Michael Jackson show and Circo. There is actually a nice little club on the lower deck of the ship, but it's not advertised, so people trickle in and out
The room- always clean
Staff- Boom Boom (pool-side activities), Maria (pool-side activities), Ricardo (pool- side activities), Alex (Concierge desk), Roberto (ship bartender), Victor (Butler)

The bad:
Customer service- there was definitely a language barrier. The butlers and supervisors were the most well spoken. The other staff new very little english. I ordered a banana daquiri and was brought some pink drink. When I asked about the banana daquiri, the server pointed to the drink and said "good". We laughed at the fact we were brought whatever the staff wanted us to have, not what we asked for. At the end of our trip, someone called the room to ask for feedback, but again there was a language barrier, both of us were repeating ourselves numerous times. I was caught off guard with the call and felt the effectiveness of our communication was limited, so I kept it short.

Liquor- The resort would also try to pull a fast one with the liquor. Filling name brand bottles with cheaper liquor is hopes you wont know the difference. My husband only drinks Hennessey. They would bring him another type of courvesior. Then later explained the liquor tastes different when the bottle has been opened.....Mmmmm, nope, not true. We only asked that if they don't have it, then say so. Don't perpetrate as if you do, this is some of the reason we chose to travel five star.

Overall, Bavaro did not compare to Rose Hall. We did enjoyed our stay because we accomplished what we set out to do, which was nothing. Simply relax, enjoy a nice view and socialize. We agreed we were refreshed and prepared to return home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection as your holiday’s destination and for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro.
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to express how much we appreciate your positive comments about the beauty and cleanness of our grounds, our exquisite gastronomy, the excellent service of our friendly staff (among them from Alex, Victor and Jason) and our entertainment options. Those are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar to ensure memorable stays to our beloved guest. Likewise, we have communicated our Executive Chef your remarks concerning the temperature of the dishes served in our nightly themed buffet as well as our 24 hour room service.
On the other hand, we would like to clarify that Iberostar Hotels and Resorts with more than one hundred hotels worldwide do not practice any illegal manipulation of the products and worldwide well-known brands we offer in our bars. We regret to read that you left our premises with an opposite idea in mind.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance. We are sure that our team in Jamaica will be happy to welcome you back.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

PAMPER: As someone who's does not like to plan for meals or clean my house, I just loved that I didn't have to worry about anything at all during my stay here. Everything is taken care of. I literally hit the spa for massage more days than not, including one massage on the beach. The only job is to relax, enjoy the amazingly maintained beautiful resort space and relax. Dance lessons, beach volleyball, a pool with swim up bar. Life is good.

For those into health and wellness: try a massage with Uwe Reitz, the German masseuse. He works on the beach. http://www.reiki-institut.com/en/uwe.htm. He's trained in so many modalities, and in just one massage/energy work, he got rid of a crazy neck cramp that I was having.

CONNECT: I just adored the staff. The staff is friendly, warm-hearted, and are great teachers. If resort life isn't your be-all, take the time to have real conversations with staff. If you don't speak Spanish, Google Translate helped tremendously, and by the end of our 10 day stay, many of them felt like family. Learn about their lives! Try the Mamajuana.

FOOD: Buffet is yummy for the first few days! For the complainers, just keep an open mind. Food preparation is different in every country and it take a while for the palette to get used to the taste.

My real only recommendation is to make the prepared food healthier. Too much oil, salt, and refined sugars in the prepared food. But hey! It's only for 10 days, and I much enjoyed many of my meals. That said, salads are available, and lots of fresh fruits. Watermelon, papayas and dragon fruit galore. :) Not to mention yummy dessert selections and dark and white chocolate fountains EVERY night. yes... every night....

RESTAURANTS: I found French and Italian to be the yummiest. Try the carpaccio / arugula salad in the Italian restaurant. It's divine. For the Asians or Asian food lovers, I don't recommend the Japanese restaurant, they just dump oil and too much soy sauce on everything. And worst is that they cook it in front of you, so I could SEE it all!! Ack!! The salmon sashimi was yummy though.

Entertainment: DO NOT MISS THE CIRCO! These people were amazing. I felt like I was at Cirque du Soleil... And honored that they were risking their lives for our entertainment!!! Standing ovation (from me)!

VALUE: So worth many many times what we spent!

Overall: awesome.

Room Tip: Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience.
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to express you how pleased we are to read your positive valuation about the beauty of our grounds, the variety of our exquisite cuisine, the friendliness of our staff and the wide options for daily and nightly entertainment. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your next visit.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. Rooms are cleaned twice a day and the grounds are kept immaculate. The beach is also kept very clean and has crystal clear water.

Every room is beautiful -- we especially liked ours because we could see from the center all the way to the ocean. It was also very quiet & easy to get a good night's sleep. Word of warning -- don't expect any room to have a perfect view of the ocean. Lots of palm trees but the view of the lagoon & pools is gorgeous. Another tip on choosing a room -- we talked to people who had chosen a swim-out room. They thought they were going to be able to swim out to one of the pools. It is actually just a canal connnecting a few of the first-floor rooms.

The service here is magnificent -- our butler, Jason, helped us with everything we could possibly want. He had set up our restaurant reservations for three nights before we even got there. (I had emailed requesting two nights with two different restaurants -- don't know if this helped or not.) He also set up a tee time for my husband to play golf. We never really needed to use the concierge. Thank you, Jason!

Service at the buffet & restaurants is also great. One day when we were at the buffet, one of the waiters carried my plate to the table -- made me feel so special. I wish I could name all of the waiters & waitresses that served us but every single one of these people do an excellent job. They are all friendly and helpful.

The only time we ever left the resort was to do zip-lining with Canopy Tours. (There is a tour office at the front of the hotel where you can set up anything you want to do.) David Wander helped us get the zip-lining set up and we really appreciated his help. He also arranged for our pre-arranged shuttle (with our vacation package) to come pick us up to get to the airport when we had to go home. Thank you, David!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! We hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for posting a review about your experience.
In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises and the friendliness and excellent service of our staff members ensured you a memorable holiday. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our grounds. We have communicated Jason that his service made you feel as a “Star”.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Please do not hesitate contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.