We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beast yet !!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel
Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
brooklyn nova scotia canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The beast yet !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

let me start by saying this is our 8th trip to Punta Cana and we love it there . We always go for 15 days and always stay at Grand Palladium Pallace but with a really late booking we couldn"t get in. We decieded on the Iberostar because of the reviews and we couldn"t have been more pleased.... This resort has it all ....The beach is what i go for and it was awesome ...The food was first class and the staff the verry best of best.... never had a bad minute in 15 days... From check in to check out we had a blast. We were there from April12-27 and never had a drop of rain durning the day but puddles in the morning.. The resort is spotless and the maitence of the property is unbelieveable not a thing out of place not a glass to be seen noit a cig butt on the ground.What i really liked is when we went in for the night we did not hear a thing from outside .. no doors slaming , people screaming , nothing but quiet. you slept like a baby.. Hats off to this resoert and we will def be back......

Room Tip: what ever your looking for ask at the front desk , they are awesome and if possible they will make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your eighth visit to Punta Cana and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our hotel premises, quality, gastronomy and services met your expectations based on reviews posted by other “Stars” and made you enjoyed an unforgettable holiday as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for further assistance prior your arrival.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,719
    466
    113
    36
    18
See reviews for
294
2417
87
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After many trips to Punta Cana we can say without hesitation that the Iberostar Grand is the best!!!

We have previously been to Secrets, Grand Bahia Ambar, Majestic Elegance, and the Occidental. While we have never had a bad experience, Iberostar Grand goes above and beyond.

One of the best perks of this resort is that, despite being part of a much larger complex of resorts, it feels like a small hotel. All a la cartes and the lobby bar are within easy walking distance (even in killer heels).

The staff are friendly but never overbearing; and they work incredibly long hours with a smile always. Lucida and Elias were present from morning to night with a variety of entertainment options or just a friendly laugh. Our butlers Victor and Mendy were excellent, organizing our a la cartes and leaving us a beautiful bubble bath (with sparkling wine) and a bed filled with rose petals. Raphael on the beach was always swift with the drinks and a smile. I had gone for a run on the beach one morning and upon returning Raphael saw me catching my breath on one of the beach loungers. He brought me (unrequested) an icy cold bottle of water. So thoughtful, so amazing... That water was possibly the best drink I had of the whole trip...

The resort is phenomenally clean (and I am a bit OCD about this). And it smells great. It really does.

The gym is well used by many guests and could use some updated equipment. This is by no means a complaint - the gym is better than many that you will see in top notch hotels in Canada or the US.

The beach is phenomenal. I ran as far as the Majestic Elegance to the left and to the Bavaro Princess to the right. The beach in front of the Iberostar Grand is the widest, and least crowded. Yes, there is seaweed in the ocean. Its the ocean - it can't be helped. It is cleaned up frequently once it washes onto the shore.

We ate at all of the a la cartes. The Italian was our favourite, but all were great. The buffet at lunch was amazing - cooked to order steak, burgers, lobster...

Our departure flight was not until 9 pm, so we left the Iberostar Grand at 6:40 pm. We spent the day on the beach after checking out at noon. We were offered towels and a private shower room where we could freshen up before going to the airport. This sort of consideration and detail is - for me - what makes all the difference.

We will go back to the Iberostar Grand - no question. It really is the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli and the whole staff, we thank you also for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Punta Cana.
For the whole team it is motivating to acknowledge that you considered our hotel to be the best in the area according to your review especially when it comes from a traveler who has visit multiple hotels in Punta Cana. The friendliness of staff is one of our main strengths in Iberostar Hotel and Resorts and we work with illusion to remain so. We have congratulated Lucida, Elias, Rafael, Mendy and Victor for making your holidays especial.
We will be glad to welcome you back. We remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The nicest...you hear me...THE NICEST resort I have ever been to in my years of living. And I have been to dang near all of them.
The staff is extremely attentive. The attention to detail is extremely immaculate. The food is diverse as well as delicious.
This is a hotel for indulgences only. I will return!

Room Tip: Take care of those who take care of you. Word travels quickly among the staff. They will go to extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, and his team, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for taking time to post a review about your experience.
We want to express you how satisfied we are to read that your visit to our premises and facilities has been “the best ever” as you stated within the review. In Iberostar we aim to ensure to our guests to “enjoy being a Star” with beautiful premises, exquisite cuisine and excellent service from our friendly staff.
We look forward to welcoming you once again and feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We last visited this hotel in Nov of 2011. It was wonderful then, and has only gotten better since then. They have added a new top chef. We thought the food was good on our 2011 visit. It has made an even better jump since then. All of the select restaurants are excellent and the buffet is a gastronomical delight. It leaves you wanting for nothing in the line of variety and quality.
This hotel probably has one of the most pleasant staffs we have ever experienced. Your satisfaction is their delight, and it isn't for an expected tip. They all appear to want you to have a great time with the hope that you will return again and again.
All is right here. Views, facilities, rooms, food, drinks, gardens, but mostly, staff. A true reflection of proper management, and why it's number one.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we thank you for having chosen Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro once again as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review sharing your second experience among us.
We are much honored to acknowledge that your positive experience on 2011 was surpassed by the cuisine and friendliness of our staff in your recent visit this year. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved “stars” on vacation as you have experienced twice.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Simply put, this is the best place we at which we have ever stayed. All inclusive means all inclusive. The resort is palatial. The grounds are impeccable, and they are always working to keep things clean, manicured and perfect. The service is exemplary. There is a slight language barrier with some of the staff if you don't speak Spanish. Luckily, my wife does, and I speak a little, so we were OK. But most of the staff is very comfortable with English. Senor Daniel and Senora Daisy at the breakfast buffet were so nice and friendly, and they remembered us from the first time we met until the last morning of our visit. Honestly, there is nothing negative to say about this resort and it's staff. If you somehow manage to have a bad time here, we would be shocked. We are very picky, and every expectation we had was exceeded by far. We will definitely go back!

Tip - don't waste your time trying to find the perfect place by the pool. Just go out to the beach under one of the "grass huts" and set up camp there. You get waiter service all day, the pools are still very close by, the noise level is much lower, and the breeze is much better. The cabanas around the pool fill up quickly and it's not worth getting up early to try to save one. The beach area always has open, shaded lounge chairs available.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you want a clear view of the ocean. Lower floors will have an obstructed vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your honeymoon and for posting a review about your experience. On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we congratulate you once again for this especial decision in your lives and wish you well.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that this such as romantic and especial occasion was memorable due to the friendliness of our staff and our international exquisite gastronomy. In Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro we aim to be the best place for honeymooners in Punta Cana.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again and celebrate together your first wedding anniversary. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Absolutely and unreservedly recommend this great place. Food and beverage manager and team - excellent on all aspects: quality of food and drinks, service and variety (+2 kg in one week is not a joke, slow down, guys :)) Special thanks for freshly squeezed juices and fruits being available nearly 24/7. The place is beautiful and perfectly maintained, rooms are super-cozy and cleaned 3 times a day it seems! Beach is gorgeous and kept clean, pools are fun to play around, lots of green, flowers and birds (pink flamingos, parrots, ducks, etc.) Totally must come back sort of place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guests,
On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for having taken time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
Your motivating words encourage us to keep on working hard to turn your holidays in a memorable experience with the best service, exquisite cuisine and weel kept premises. In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers,.
We are looking forward to see you again and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose The Grand hotel for our honeymoon because a few of our friends recommended it, and it didn't let us down. It was probably the nicest hotel my wife and I have ever stayed at. The staff members were all really pleasant and would help us with whatever we needed including our butler Adelso who never hesitated to make are stay amazing and always keep our minifridge stocked with Corona and Bacardi. The bar staff and Star friends (Happy Feet and Ricardo were our favorites) were also really fun and kept us very entertained with events from bingo and archery to pool games and lime squashing. The location was amazing and the beaches have very clear water and white soft sand. The food was also great. They had a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and also had 4 exquisite restaurants to chose from. I would definitely visit there again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your honeymoon and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We congratulate you once again for your wedding and wish you well.
We would like to express how glad we are to read the friendliness of our staff, the beauty and of our grounds and the activities for daily entertainment ensured you a memorable stay in such as special and romantic occasion. We have congratulated Adelso, Romel and Ricardo for making you feel as a “Star” as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar
Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, Tingo, VISIT US, INC. , HotelsClick, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.