We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfortunately not a 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unfortunately not a 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Me and my 85 years old mother have gone many 5 stars like excellence riviera cancun, excellence isla mujeres and others and I thinks thèse were real 5 stars hotel. Flowers and champagne upon arrival in our room. not in the iberostar grand hotel. we were there february 15 to march 2nd 2013.

when we travel it is always for 15 days, so we can critic the hotel. At the iberostar grand Bavaro Hotel there are no dressers in the room to be able to put your clothes and the rooms are small compare to other hôtels. not a 5 stars.

drinks: they boys at the different bars do not know how to make great drinks (not 5 stars) and we did every bars.

the food is average but not great and not consistent.

the hotel and the beach are 10/10 but for the rest there is room for a lots of améliorations.

the staff is very friendly but when my mother fell in the restaurant at the breakfast, no one includint the manager or the majordome came to see if she was allright!!!!!!! and later Antonio a majordome told my mother of 85 years old to go and buy at the pharmacia some bandage by herself.

for the price we paid we are very very dissapointed !! Not a very good experience at this hotel and not a real 5 stars hotel they should send some people to the Excellence Playa mujeres to take some courses on how to run a 5 stars hotel and trained their staff.

we do not think we will return to this hotel. The beach is wonderful and the hotel also bu the rest is not great at all, for 15 days.The room we had was fumigated two times bring your toothbrush and shaving cream because they don't furnish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro. In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our hotel premises. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
We would like to express how much we regret to read your lines referring the accident your mother suffered while you were at our hotel. According to our records, our staff led by Candy, Guest Service Manager, and by Melissa, General Manager Assistant, gave the opportune assistance as we aim to ensure our valuable costumers to “enjoy being a Star”.
Allow us to clarify though shaving cream and tooth brush are available for our valuable costumers upon request.
We remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,035
    511
    131
    41
    21
See reviews for
329
2698
94
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is truly a 5 star resort.
Rooms-clean, quiet and very comfortable bed. Bar restocked daily.
Restaurants-clean, and amazing food with excellent service for the most part. The surf and turf and gourmet were our favorites. The Italian was mediocre and very slow. The Japanese was ok. The buffets were fresh with a good variety to choose from. Kennedy in the morning was the best! Very efficient!
Pools-quiet and clean. Not the place to go if you are looking for the party atmosphere! Hats off to Lely at the pool bar! Maria, rosy and Leidy were always there to offer another drink! Cabanas were not easy to get unless you were up in the early morning hours, but we came for sun and always found chairs at the pool or beach! Beach service was great too!
Bars and entertainment-Elias the star friend was so much fun and a pleasure to chat with! Tomas at the ship bar was fun and attentive. Bring a light sweater or shawl because the evenings get a little chilly.
Butlers- Gomez was very attentive and always around! Thanks for the dance lesson!
Tour desk- we booked 2 excursions. The ATV was good but very dusty. bring your own bandana as they charge $5 for one. Educational to see the true countryside and Macao beach. Swimming with the sharks and rays was a little disappointing. So many people and very rough waters. The cruise to the Caribbean side was beautiful though and the crew a lot of fun.
Beach-simply beautiful.

All in all a great trip. We would definitely come back, but might try the Caribbean side next!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, and his team, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for posting a comment about your experience on Tripadvisor.
We want to express how pleased we are to read that your holiday among us was relaxing. One of our goals as an Iberostar Grand Collection Hotel is to ensure exclusivity and calmness, so our guests can enjoy a relaxed and pleasant stay. We have congratulated Kennedy, Lely, María, Rosy, Leidy, Thomas; Gómez and Elias for making your holidays especial.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again and remain at your disposition for further assistance.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I have never returned to any hotel a second time but that was before we visited the Iberostar Grand Bavaro for the first time last year. This resort has absolutely everything you would want in a number one resort - great beach, lovely clean rooms, impeccable attention to detail throughout the property, food that is both excellent in quality and wide in variety and selection. More than that is the friendly and obliging staff, the final topper to a great stay.
We met so many people who, like us, have returned again to the resort. What more can be said than when people spend their money to return to the same place.
I urge you to visit the Grand Bavaro. You will not be disappointed. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Bill B.Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we thank you for having taken time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel premises and for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro once again for your holidays.
We are much honored to acknowledge your motivating lines referring our excellent service and varied gastronomy, especially as you stated in your review that you are not used to visit twice a hotel as you did with us. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We will be glad to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just have to say this is one of the best beach hotels that we have ever stayed in. Upon arrival the customer service was excellent, the rooms perfect, restaurants superb and the location and stunning beach heaven! We were totally spoilt from beginning to end! The only downside was that we stayed for just a week, but will be back!!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view room, swim up rooms are round the side of the hotel overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you felt as a “Star” from the first moment you came into our hotel premises. In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable experience to our beloved guests.
We are waiting for your next visit and remain at your disposition for any assistance prior your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can't say enough about this resort. I went with my daughter for a week just to get away, relax and spend some quality time together. I read many wonderful reviews and the Grand Bavaro lived up to my expectations. Everything from the service, the staff, the food and the accommodations was excellent. I have to say, the food at the Grand Bavaro was so plentiful and the buffets for each meal had such a variety of food to accommodate all tastes. We got to experience three of the four restaurants on the premises and each one was better than the next. The only down side is having to take off those extra pounds once you get home. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean or the pool are the most desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro for your holidays. In the name of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we also thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
For the whole team it is motivating to acknowledge that your expectations based on the reviews posted by other “Stars” were met during your visit to our hotel premises. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our valuable costumers and to offer them an exquisite gastronomy.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the best of the best vacations!! I can't think of anything negative to write, the people, the food, the room, the beach ... Perfect! Our Butlers Andruly and Kelvin were exceptional! Kelvin even found me a curling iron on day 2 when mine broke!!! The afternoon free massages by Margarita and Yanna and Maria were icing on our cake! The guys Boom boom and Ricardo were amazing too...after day 2 they knew your name by heart and addressed you as a friend! I am truly looking forward to returning to this resort and this wonderful staff... I have so much I could share about how perfect our trip was...but, soon enough if you choose this resort you will learn on your own!! I'll be glad to answer questions if you message me... We normally don't return to the same resort twice ... This one will be an exception!! 51 weeks til our next vacation!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7213... The view and location was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mr. Stefano Baratelli, hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your holidays and for taking time to post a review about your experience with us.
We want to express you how pleased we are to acknowledge that the excellent and personalized service provided by our friendly staff ensured you a memorable experience as we aim in Iberostar Grand Hotel Collection. We have congratulated Kelvin, Andruly, Maria, Yanna, Margarita, Ricardo, Ayendi for contributing in the achievement of our goal during your stay.
We will be more than glad to welcome you; please do not hesitate to contact us in advanced before your next visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Service, service, service... From the time we stepped out of the taxi and we handed our cool towels that smelled heavenly until the time the GM said goodbye we were in the lap of luxury!!! We had some great dinner a number of nights at the Japanese restaurant with Jose the greatest chef!!! He even remembered that I couldn't have garlic after the first dinner and was careful to prepare my food to my liking while still making sure that everyone else at the table got the full experience that they desired! Cornado was a great server who learned our likes and dislikes quickly!
Ortiz took great care of us anytime we saw him. He was always there to make sure all of our wants were fulfilled... Including when the buffet ran out of Guacamole (the best by the way) he went to another restaurant and got me a large bowl!!! The bartenders and pool hostesses were great too especially Rosy and Maria, they learned who we were, what we liked and how long we would be there. We will definitely be going back and are planning to checkout some of the other Iberostar Grand resorts in the future!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro for your vacations and for taking the time to post a review about your stay.
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Stefano Baratelli and his team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to acknowledge the way you highlighted out the excellent service provided by our friendly staff and our varied gastronomy. Both aspects are part of our guiding principles in Iberostar and the key of our success. We have Conrado, Rossy, Ortiz, José, and María whose service made you feel as a “Star”.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.