We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE perfect location for a destination wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE perfect location for a destination wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We started out with over 2 dozen resorts and narrowed it down to this one because of their friendly & timely customer service and TripAdvisor feedback. Contrary to destination wedding advice, we felt there was no need to visit the resort as the reviews and photos spoke for themselves. Because of a family emergency a mere month before the big day, we had to reschedule our nuptials. The wedding department (Rossely, Lady Mar, Ligia) was outstanding, caring and supportive. Without question or penalty, they were able to accommodate our wedding in mid-July! When it came to choosing details for the wedding, everything was so easy and efficient. We were blessed with a beautiful ceremony and a crowd of new guests/friends we met at the pool. We had our wedding on the beach and the reception was in a separate room at El Pescador. The DJ and service was fabulous. We met our wedding photographer that day and the photos look like they belong in a magazine.

Ambar is the most amazing resort we've ever seen. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are gorgeous - I have nothing negative to say about the place. We never got tired of the buffet - the freshly prepared food is delicious and there is lots of variety and vegetarian choices. Don Pablo and the Italian restaurant at the newly opened "Esmeralda" section were our favorite (you must make reservations for non-buffet locals ahead of time). We also used the spa services at Ambar - loving, fun ladies there.

The entire resort is GINORMOUS. It took us 2 days to learn the tram system. It was frustrating at first, then funny as we just hopped on any tram headed the direction we thought we were supposed to go.

We stayed for a total of nine days and got to know quite a few staff. They work so hard - double shifts, 10 days in a row. Service is always warm and with a smile. If you speak Spanish or make an effort to speak Spanish, it is well appreciated (if you don't know the language, never fear - staff we've met know 2-4 languages). We brought many $1 bills and were not stingy with tips. We tipped the maids daily and they always left us extra water, beer and alcohol.

Try to venture out to Saona Island - the day trip is well worth ~$85. You travel with a very knowledgeable guide, take a catamaran to the island, which is all inclusive food/drink, dancing, etc. A speed boat brings you back to the landing and you also stop to check out giant starfish. We also went on the snorkeling/shark/ray excursion.

We're definitely headed back to Ambar and want to explore more of Dominican Republic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,824
    1,496
    555
    171
    103
See reviews for
443
4,369
79
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Loved this resort, pay a little extra and stay at the ambar section which is for adults only. For families there is the esmerelda which we did not stay in but which looked amazing as well. The food was very good, the service wonderful, the staff helpful and welcoming. We would definitely return. The entertainment was amateurish but the staff try their best, you can choose to skip this. The beach is lovely and nicer than some of the other resorts nearby. Shopping available on the resort, shops pricey , stands you need to bargain, be prepared to walk away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We went to Ambar to celebrate my brother-in-law's retirement. What a place. We loved the Micro-cuisine at dinner time. Beach was beautiful. Food was delicious. Staff was really nice, Pool was beautiful. The junior suite was beautiful, clean and loved the size of it (in the tower). I would not recommend a communicating room if you want to sleep at night and you have neighbors that come it late, but very late, you can almost follow the whole conversation and it is the same for the doors of the rooms which make at lot of noise if they are let go to close. The complex is very big but there is a shuttle that brings you around. I would recommend this hotel and loved the fact that it is 18 and up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

stayed sept 26 to oct 3, despite 5 days of rain we had an amazing vacation. this place is very clean and im talking everywhere even the public washrooms ,the food is very good and the rooms are first rate. service is also good. the resort is huge but i had everything i needed on the ambar side of the resort. great job to all the staff at the resort i will be back.thanks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The hotel was clean and beautiful, beach was fantastic, food was excellent, rooms were spacious and clean. The only complaint I have about The Ambar is that the bars close early. We got married there last year and it was fantastic. The wedding cake had the best frosting I have ever eaten, my flowers were gorgeous, the trio that played was lovely, the gazebo was perfect. We are going back again this year for 2 weeks this time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Beautiful Resort, great location, beach was fantastic. Adult only section, meant that pool area was fairly quiet for the whole week. Did not see many animation staff members for the better part of the day. If you are looking for a more active resort, this is not the one for you, definitely a place to go and relax, you do have the option of visiting other sections for a change of pace. I would not consider this resort a five star, lobby bar closes at 11:30pm nightly, the 24hr grill section leaves a lot to be desired, no decent cappucinos to be found anywhere, a 5 star resort should not be using powdered coffee and passing it off as an expresso. I have received better selection at a Cuban 4 star resort. Staff were extremely friendly, and food was great. Recommend this hotel for those who are truly looking for a place to just relax.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I had a very good time. THE STAFF MADE IT GREAT. They are sweet and helpful and really seem to care. The hours they keep is ridiculous though. Almost everyone we spoke to work 10 hr days minimally and work 6 days a week. Only one day off. Still, they work so hard and try so hard to please. They always smile and say HOLA to you.

The food we weren't so keen on. But it wasn't terrible ... it just wasn't all that appetizing to us. However there was lots to choose from...but some was very repitious. As for the ala carte restaurants ... Don Pablo restaurant was the best and the lobster was the best my husband ever had. Portions were small at this restaurant however ... the good thing was that you could always order more if you were hungry :)

Of course it was super hot and muggy (it is the tropics after all!) but it was so hot at times I found it a bit much to take. I imagine if we had been there longer our bodies would have begun to become more accustomed to it.

Strange thing was that out of all the people I met, I seemed to be the one most affected by mosquitos. I was bit from my knees down a total of 58 times (I counted them the day I arrived home). It began the first night when I had around 10 of them. This wasnt the hotels fault at all ... it was something about Punta Cana and me!! Very strange. Especially since my husband did not get one bite and we did all the same things. I use no perfumes or lotions, we used the same soap and ate the same food most of the time. I met only one woman there who was getting bit like me ... and she had nowhere near as many as me. What I would say to anyone exposing their skin (legs) at night ... use deet bug spray on their legs !!! My husband always wore long pants and closed in shoes ... and I wonder if that was why he was okay.

Otherwise fabulous fabulous fabulous and yes, we would recommend the hotel to people and will very likely visit again sometime.

Go and have a great vacation!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.