We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Three for Me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #15 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brantford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top Three for Me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This beautiful hotel, located very close to the airport, is 5+ stars. From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with smiles and courtesy. Every square inch of the property is clean, we dined at all the al a carte's, the buffets and no bad experiences. The food, atmosphere and the staff including Christian, Jackson, Maria, Juan and so many others made our stay so enjoyable.
We never return to the same hotel, this time we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the 69 block, its location is perfect. Very close to the beach and pool and withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. Thank you for mentioning some aspects as our gastronomy and especially some of our staff.
You are welcome to contact us for a next visit in order to prepare everything prior to arrival. In the meantime we wish you all the best.
All-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,828
    1,501
    556
    171
    103
See reviews for
444
4,376
79
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We chose this resort based on good reviews, and price compared to other 5 star resorts in Punta Cana.

This resort is an attached large compound of multiple Bahia principe resorts.

1st impression was unbelievable. We were greeted at Ambar lobby then moved to a 3 star room in an attached resort. We couldn't believe that this was what we paid for. Thanks to another couple that had stayed there before, we found out we were not at Ambar and they were going to see what was happening. Well the resort was overbooked, and we were offered a shopping voucher for our troubles. So not a good 1st impression for us, we will pay more to go to another 5 star resort next time.

My ratings based on a 5 star level

Hotel grounds 4.5 - very nice grounds, lush and clean.

Hotel Ammenities 4 - felt a bit crowded, nice beach, lack of poolside chairs, we actually went to other resort in compound so 2 couples could sit together.

Food 4 - Don Pablo is excellent. Get rid of reservations and make all al a carte restaurants compare able for 5 star.

Service/Staff 4 - definitely didn't feel special, or 5 star service, when booking a la carte restaurants we were pretty much told only times we could go, no choices. Poolside or beach service was non existent compared to other 5 star resorts.

Rooms 4 - make sure you get a proper room you paid for. Read in review that people emailed request for specific room, and did so in Spanish. They promptly replied that they would try. Well they overbooked, which really I should rate a 3 star, but if you get the proper room it is clean and nice. Not real 5 star luxury, but definitely 4 star.

Time share presentation at Esmeralda (pitched in the lobby) FYI - they push to get you to go for a presentation. Definitely classes down the resort.

You had to travel to other resorts in the compound for your a la carte dinners which were not adult only. A bit disappointing that reservations were required and limited. Other than the Don Pablo (servers knew what they were doing her and tipped well), we ended up eating at the buffet. The other restaurants should not be affiliated with the Ambar, and really bring down the level of cuisine available. The buffet is very good, and almost the same as the 3 star resorts in the compound. Ambar gets larger selection, with premium cheeses, caviar, sushi for example. There is good selection, and always easy to find something.

Summary - if you want a nice clean resort that is a 4 star or 4+ this is decent value. If you want 5 star service, pay the extra for a real 5 star hotel. You get what you pay for, and we felt at the end of this vacation that we should have spent the extra 400 per person for a better hotel. From a poor 1st impression to a useless shopping voucher, that really didn't make up for the hassle in the beginning. Lucky the other couple said something to us or we might have just stayed in the musty 3 star room we were given on arrival.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

We would like to cater you once again at Dominican Republic to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Kindest regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was an amazing resort! So happy we chose the Ambar! Every bar, every lobby, all the pools were kept in pristine condition. The staff were amazing. I learned to speak Spanish from the happy helpful security staff and the great people from the lobby bars and restaurants, who are multilingual. A wonderful resort, staffed by the nicest people. From the ladies that cleaned our room to the senior management, everyone had one goal; to make sure we enjoyed our one week in paradise! I did meet a few people that were not as happy with the resort as we were; but it is mainly their fault because of the reasons I will list below. Take note fellow trip advisor readers, if you want to enjoy your stay, plan 10 days ahead.

#1 email a room reservation. I personally asked for...
Building 60 - 60301 or 60308
Building 64 - 64301 or 64308
Building 67 - 67301 or 67308
These are the huge corner rooms that are close to the pool and beach. I ended up with 61301, a huge corner room with a big balcony, king bed, jacuzzi tub and spacious shower stall with a rain shower head and a wand shower head, which was great for washing the powdery white sand out of our butt cracks, lol! Also, if it's your birthday or anniversary, let guest services know, you will get a lovely gift, and extra room decorations.
#2. Book a la carte reservations for every night 10 days before you arrive. Don Pablo, and Le gourmet were the best. Note, if you see the cheese and cracker tray kept at the front of the restaurant at Le Gourmet, don't help yourself, I was very politely told that it was a desert option, not a buffet, as were 2 other guests after me. The Japanese were tepanyaki style and very good. Great Italian food at il Capicio, I recommend the lasagne. The Garden Grill is a steakhouse, get the sirloin, the eye of round was thin, looked like a cheap pork chop, not recommended.
#3 bring a small flash light. The room safe is in a closet in the hallway to your room. They have wisely used the low wattage energy saving light bulbs throughout the room, and if you want to be able to see what's in your safe, a flashlight or a smartphone with a light comes in very handy.
#4 haggle with the vendors, low-ball them. There are hundreds of them, so don't pay full price. Eg; cohibas, vendor wanted $120, I payed $8 US dollars, mamajuana wanted $40, I payed 10, souvenir jewery, wanted $230, paid $60. They are everywhere, so if you don't get the price you want just start waving at another vendor, the price goes down dramatically!
So in conclusion, I would recommend the bahia principe over any other resort. An amazing place! We will go back again and again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Robert,

We feel so proud to read that everything was absolutely amazing and to know that you were really happy to choose for your vacations our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

We would be absolutely pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
All-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was a wonderful family getaway! Beautiful resort, sparkling beaches, spacious luxurious rooms but the best part of the stay were the people at the resort. Warm and outgoing and always with a smile, truly unique. I was so impressed I complimented the manger at our resort about them.
Overall the food was good. Breakfast was great and lunch and dinner were pretty good. Drinks were good but sometimes a little watered down. Compared to the other resorts on the property this one seemed more upscale and more relaxing.
I would definitely recommend it and go back in a minute!

Room Tip: Close to the pool but not facing it directly. Allows quick trips to the room without the pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Customer,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that we exceed your expectations during your visit to Dominican Republic. It is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort. Please be assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again. Thank you for recommending us!!
Looking forward to seeing you soon at your second home!!!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Best Regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We just returned home from a week long vacation and we loved every second of it!
The resort grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms were beautiful and clean however we had a slight problem with the drainage in our shower but it really wasn't a big deal.
The staff were great all week long, we would like to give a special thanks to the main bartenders in the lobby Murphy and William , these 2 gentlemen were top class guys and made our experience that much better. In our minds all resorts should have head bartenders like these two guys!!

Todd and Ashley from Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for mentioning our clean Resort, nice rooms and friendly staff especially Murphy and William, please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to them.
We hope to welcome you once again for more days to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana


Best Regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Traveled with other couples from our company, it is an annual trip,hopefully the destination next year is elsewhere. We witnessed the treatment of the couple with the working dogs, the depiction given is accurate. Language barrier is significant, room service is a joke. My wife ordered 2 club sodas and 2 bags of chips, 3 hours later the club sodas arrived, the next day the chips showed up. The in room frig will keep drinks at room temperature at best. Getting into the on site restaurants is difficult and you get the feeling they want you to eat in the buffet. We were continually told the restaurants were booked, yet when we checked with other patrons they would report that the restaurants were less than half full.The rooms have no peepsite in the door and no limit lock to be able to answer a knock without opening the door. If you order a tropical drink be sure to request that they add alcohol, there is one brand of beer, draft only.If you need to use the internet good luck, they offer it in the the room for $50.00 for the week, poor conectivity. The positives are we had great weather, the poolside service and beach service was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Kind regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hubby and I spent 11 nights at the Ambar at the beginning of January. So nice to get away from the gloomy weather in the UK. We have never been to the Dominican before but have been to Jamaica and Antigua with the Sandals group. Considering what we paid, we weren't expecting Sandals standards/quality. However, we feel we got the same, if not more, at the Ambar.

The only criticism, and this has nothing to do with the hotel, was the lack of First Choice welcome on arrival at Punta Cana airport. We found no one from First Choice to direct us to our transport and we wandered around trying to find the right transport. Thomson (same group) directed us to the car park but there were hundreds of coaches/cars and no First Choice signs to help. We eventually found our coach, with help from other tour companies.

Having read previous reviews, I e-mailed the hotel 10 days ahead, our room and restaurant requests. The room was perfect over looking the pool and on the corner of the 2nd floor and decorated to celebrate hubby's birthday. No problems with air con or safe and cleaned daily. Mini bar not replaced daily, but that didn't matter as the drinks were so freely available from morning to night.

The beach is wonderful. We walked for miles most days. No rocks or pebbles, just pure sand. The sea was fairly rough, due to the wind at the time, but still lovely and warm.

All the staff worked so hard. Always welcoming, whether you tipped or not. Bianca at the pool bar must walk mikes around the pool every day, with a smile on her face, making sure that everyone has a drink. Daniel, the young security guy at the pool, was often seen helping with any queries and making sure that the Ambar remained adult only. Yes, there are a lot of holidays makers from the USA and Canada, but they were all friendly and just enjoying their holidays.

A lovely holiday and we are planning our next at the Ambar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

We have shared your positive comments with our team working and they are delighted to know that their great service and hospitality are appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Warmest regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.