We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply-Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply-Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This paradise is for adults ONLY! Spiritual regeneration,body enjoyment,mental complete relax.Worldly stylish,amazingly relaxing and friendly environment,spotless everywhere,like in the hospital,literally!Food is multicultural,best quality for everybody's expectations.European sense of style in rooms,landscaping of tropical forest,the service,the beach and a pool.The hardworking Management and the team of hundreds professionals are just for your pleasure 24/7.Excitement and fun to be at this magical Haven on Earth.I was with my mother 76 years old and we were absolutely surprised,that this place is providing full care for people with disabilities and old people,like she has in Toronto,Canada.The service people are very friendly,caring and making You feeling completely Home.I believe this resort brings all ingredients together to make your vacation unforgettably great.The ocean,the beach are perfect and very safe. Bahia Principe Ambar in Punta Cana is simply - amazing 5 stars resort,but I can adding another 2 stars for the spiritual atmosphere,full of service discipline,care,perfect manners and deep relax.Keep up a good job!I am strongly recommending to spend more then 1 week in this resort - the pleasure will be all yours!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Client,

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to learn that you enjoyed an unforgettable vacation thanks to our caring people. We will ensure to pass on you kind words to all our staff members.

We are already looking forward to have you with us again for more than one week.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,930
    1,144
    426
    129
    75
See reviews for
319
3386
55
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We went here in July and were very impressed.

Our room was fantastic, lovely comfy bed, clean bathroom, everything you could want. Cleaned nicely every day with new towels at night, great.

Location was brilliant, 2 minutes from the beachwhich was beautiful with a plentiful supply of beach loungers and umbrellas.

Food was great, buffet offered a great selection for all tastes, service here was usually good but there were a couple of times we felt a bit ignored if we were sitting towards the edge. Neither off us were drinking wine so sometimes our drink orders were forgotten about.

A couple of negatives, we responded to a 'you have won a prize' lraflet posted by the hotel through our door. Because it was an official hotel thing we felt out was safe to reply to. Anyway, it involved a sales pitch for a holiday club which you had to sit through to get your prize. The sales pitch was far too high pressured however and we were mocked for not having enough savings to put down a deposit, this left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth after such a good time.

Another little negative was the 15 dollar entrance fee to the ' dominican show', it's pretty unacceptable to have to pay for entertainment on an all-inclusive holiday.

The staff at the casino are very unfriendly too, we didn't really know what to do and were offered no help whatsoever and made to feel silly, we left after one spin of a roulette wheel.

Having said that though, this is a fantastic place, very luxurious with an overwhelming majority of great staff. Would love to return one day, just avoid the casino, dont respond to the 'you have won a prize leaflet' and dont pay the 15 dollars for the entertainment!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Stuart,

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other on TripAdvisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you once again!

All-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar for 10 days on our honeymoon. The resort is gorgeous! Our room was beautiful. The room was very clean, as well as the resort. The entire staff was so amazing. They are all incredibly hard working, and I felt they really did give great service, even though I noticed many people did not tip them, they did not treat any of those people with any disrespect. I will say the only thing I did not love was the food. I know that it is hard to please everyone and they cater to a very diverse group of people, I just felt the buffet was lacking. I could always find something I could eat, but there was nothing I would rave about. The Mediterranean restaurant was horrible, not even edible. I would definitely stay away from that place. All in all it was a great place to spend our honeymoon. They always had something going on at the lobby bar at night. If you wanted to do something else they always have shows going on at the main hotel. Do not miss the Michael Jackson show, it's great. I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to learn that you enjoyed a great time together during your honeymoon in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

We are glad to read that you mentioned our incredible hardworking team and the great service they provide.

Hope to welcome you once again!

Your honeymoon in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar from July 26th to August 9th (2 weeks). This was our 4th trip to this section of the Bahia Principe resort (previously stayed in the Punta Cana & Bavaro sections) for a total of 7 visits. Needless to say we love this resort - it is beautiful, clean, the staff and food are great. Our favourite restaurants are the Don Pablo at the Ambar and the Bella Italia at the Esmeralda section. This trip we decided to go to the Galla night at the Ambar buffet and it was fantastic - lobster, king crab, shrimp and for non-seafood lovers plenty of other choices - not to mention the presentation of the food which is incredible. We would like to give a special thank you to our favourite bartenders Murphy & William at the lobby bar (thanks for posing for pictures with us); Christian who is the manager of guest services who greeted us on arrival and took care of us; and to Angel at the front desk who is always helpful and friendly. The staff at the Ambar lobby have been with the hotel for quite a number of years so it is a joy to meet with them time and again and see their smiling faces - it is obvious they love their jobs and it shows in the happy demeanor. Weather was great as well - only saw a little rain on a couple of nights - nothing during the day - it can't get any better than that.

Room Tip: Building 60 is great - near pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you enjoyed a fantastic vacation and please allow us to inform you that your excellent appreciations encourage us to continue providing the most wonderful experiences.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Returned from the Ambar on August 14th 2013..
What to say...Nothing other than amazing...We stayed in block 65 for 11 nights, and having read numerous reviews on this site, can only say that anyone writing bad reviews about this resort must have been staying some where else.
From check in to check out the service was out of this world, the staff from the garden ears to the management were all amazing, and always greeted you with a friendly hola, language was not a problem at all and the all inclusive was truly all inclusive, even major brand spirits etc, the over 18 rule was rigidly enforced, which meant the pool and beach areas where truly relaxing, the beach being like an island paradise..We ate breakfast late most days, so,didn't get to the pool until 10.30, but never failed to get a sun bed with shade, so none of this up a dawn to save a sun bed nonsense..My only worry about travelling here in August was the fact that it was the rainy season, but this was totally unfounded, the weather was amazing, 30c + every day, and the only rain we had during day light was at 5.00 in the afternoon one day, which lasted for no more than 15 minutes, but every one just headed to the swim up bar for mamajuanas lol...
To sum the place up, I have been to all inclusive resorts around the world, but this place takes all inclusive and service to another level, and I would return to the Ambar in a heartbeat...well done all staff for a job well done...hope to see you all again soon....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Steve,

It is brilliant to know that you were delighted with our adults’ only all-inclusive hotel. Our staff members will be glad with your great feedback.

Looking forward to see you in a heartbeat!

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you are looking for a place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy some R&R at a reasonable price, then this is the place for you. Before you arrive, you've got to be prepared and do your research.

Take the "all-inclusive" idea with a grain of salt. You will be tipping everyone, a LOT, and once you do, you'll get great service when you're there. Tip the bartender at the pool $5 per day and he's your friend the whole week; and the drinks are stronger! (His name is Marcos and he is very nice!) Give everyone $1 or $2 for helping with anything you need, and they are truly grateful, as they probably aren't making a lot of money and $2 can go a long way.

Also, "all-inclusive" at the a la carte restaurants isn't really all-inclusive in the true sense, as you are limited to what you can order on the menu. We ate at Miako, the Japanese Restaurant, which was good... very common Japanese/Hibachi fare. We also ate at Don Pablo on the Ambar property. They require a dress code of long pants for men, which actually is nice and appropriate. We were pleased with the food and ambiance there. If you choose to eat at any a la carte restaurants, make your reservations by e-mail, and then check your reservation tickets in your welcome packet to make sure they didn't make a mistake. We had some mistakes that were corrected right away with a guest service representative. If you do eat at any of the buffets, they are good, they cook fresh food, and you can always go back for more! If you have a reservation, and you're not sure where on the entire Bahia Principe property the restaurant is, allow for plenty of time, and ask and ask again.

They do have tram transportation to take you where you need to go on the property. What they don't tell you is that there are 3 lines: Red, Blue and Green... each take you to a different place on the property, so check your map carefully and ask which train is which.

At the pool they do have signs on the pool chairs that say you aren't allowed to save seats in the shade under the umbrellas or huts, but if you put a towel on your chair around 8AM and go eat breakfast at the buffet nearby, you'll be fine. There is an adults only area on the beach as well... we saw plenty of open seats by the beach if that is your thing to do. The pool, however, is very clean and they have activities throughout the day, along with the nice swim up bar!

Nightlife is rather quiet.. there isn't much to do. You can take the tram back to the Bavaro hotel and walk around the shops, go into the sports bar, or take your chances at the really tiny casino. Or stay at the Ambar and sit inside or outside and have drinks. One night of our stay was karaoke night, and it really was a lot of fun. The drinks and music just keep on coming for a few hours and you meet some nice people having a good time. And there's always plenty of drinks. With the immense heat and humidity and being out in the sun all day drinking at the pool bar, you'll be tired by 9PM anyway!

We didn't do any excursions which was fine as we didn't want to run around. Conexion Tours is a good company to book any additional travel and tours through.

Watch out for the people trying to sell the time-shares.. They don't stop and even drop something off in your room to claim a prize from them. If this isn't your thing, just stay away from them.

You can drink the water they serve at the buffets and restaurants. Do not drink the tap water in your room. In fact, we had a sign in our room reminding us that the water wasn't potable. They leave ample bottles of filtered water in the minibar and next to the coffee maker, so you're never short of water.

If you come from the US and use the computers or free wifi to check your e-mail, don't bother. Your e-mail provider will realize that you are trying to log in from the Dominican Republic and shut down your account until you can get back home to fix it. You're on vacation anyway.. who cares about computers and e-mail and Facebook! And when going home, allow extra time at the airport.

Overall, we had a very nice time at the Ambar for a long overdue get away. Are there places better? Sure! Are there places worse? Absolutely. At the Ambar, you get what you pay for. Everything is good. Not excellent and not bad. It's good. If you want nightlife, you're not going to find it here. If you know some Spanish, it definitely helps, as there are language barriers that can cause frustrating misunderstandings, but the workers have a knowledge of basic English, and for most of the workers we came in touch with, they do try to speak and help.

So, if you're looking to just lounge around all day by a pool or the beach and be lazy and get cleaned up to have a nice, relaxing dinner and an after dinner drink and conversation, then that's what you'll get. Overall, you have to make the best of your trip and do what you feel is best.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room by the pool/beach. We had building 60 and it was a perfect location. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. Rest assured that your observations have been treated with great interest.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar resort for 8 nights ending on August 12. We visited with our two adult daughters and had two rooms.

The Resort: Gran Bahia Principe in the Dominican Republic is a very large, four-resort complex. The Punta Cana and Bavaro resorts are the older properties and Esmeralda and Ambar are the newer ones. Ambar is adults only (over 18). PC is located away from the beach, as is much of B. All of the resorts have their own beautiful pool areas, but PC and B will require a walk or tram ride to the beach – not terrible, but be aware. E and A are oceanfront.

Advance requests: A la carte restaurants require reservations. You can make them after check-in, but a better way to get at least some of them is to request them by email in advance. Go to the Bahia Principe website for their email address.

Arrival: Note that transportation from the airport takes about 30 minutes and you will be dropped off at the Bavaro resort’s lobby. From there, a tram quickly takes you to the Ambar. Franklin checked us in and we were provided a welcome drink in the process.

Rooms: The complex has about nine buildings for the guest rooms, each three stories high. No elevators, but we had no problems with the steps. The rooms were tastefully decorated, average size, well-equipped, and spotlessly clean. Maid service was excellent. Air conditioning in the room was fine, TV had a number of English-language choices, and the mini-bar had a small assortment of water, alcohol, and snacks. 24-hour room service has some limited selections – the one time it was used, it took about ½ hour.

Beach: Outstanding! Soft white sand, warm and clear aqua-colored water.

Palmyra Buffet: Air conditioned, like the a la carte restaurants. However, all of the restaurants would be more comfortable if a few degrees cooler. This main buffet is very attractive, generally good service, and the food selections are large and well-prepared.

Beach snack bar: Snack bar? Actually, it is a very nice buffet. This is the open-air exception to AC in restaurants elsewhere in Ambar.

A la carte restaurants: All of the following have AC. Some of the a la cartes require long pants for men, so bring a pair or two. Don Pablo, Portofino, and El Olivo were excellent on-site choices. Excellent service, attractive surroundings, and high quality food choices and presentation.

Pool bar – We only used this a little bit because we go to the beach. Bartenders were fast, efficient, and friendly. Good drinks.

Lobby bar – More formal. Whether getting drinks from the bartender or the waitress, the service was good, fast, and the drinks were really good. While the lobby is open air and a bit warm as a result, it is a beautiful area and makes an especially nice stop for evening drinks.

Spa: My daughters each got a 30 minute massage as a result of our attending a sales pitch. They loved them!

Entertainment: The mostly young people who perform in the various venues we attended worked very hard in hot weather under lights, were talented, and put on very good shows considering it was included in the overall cost.
Lobby – Pleasant but the song selections were often older than the Beatles! One night was karaoke. Three free computers are available for guest use. Another night there was a beach party (at the beach) that had much more upbeat, current tunes played on a PA system.
Pool - We were not here very much, but saw Zumba going on several times and there was always some music.
Theatre Tropicana – This is the main theater for the complex. Take the tram (easy). The performances vary each night. “Michael Jackson” was very good. “International” was also very good with demonstrations of the dances of various countries. The “Gala” was themed around pretty girls in sexy outfits performing a variety of dances. The last show we saw was the circus. It was pretty good, but less so than the others.
Principe shopping area – There’s another open air theatre here that has shows, but we did not see any there.

Staff: The staff is hard-working and most of them are very friendly – some especially so. Several staff members recognized us, greeted us (sometimes by name!), and often brought our drinks before we even ordered. Lots of smiles and personal attention. English-language skills are a bit limited, but not a problem. Memorable staff members were Juan (two of them), Francisco (two of them, too), Felix, Carlos, Nataly, William, Wander, Billorki,

Overall: This was a great vacation. Outstanding beach, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and very good food and drinks. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ernest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great vacation thanks tour our services. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.