We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto High park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hi,spend 2 weeks from 15-29th of June in this magnificent paradise..Excellent location and superb hospitality.pool area is fantastic,grounds are kept very clean .food in general very good service the best you can get great people all around beach area very quiet and clean .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Client,

We are delighted to learn that you consider our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection hotel as one of the best. We are proud you find worth to acknowledge the superb hospitality in this magnificent paradise.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you once again!

All-inclusive luxury hotels on Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,063
    1,199
    450
    133
    85
See reviews for
337
3535
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for a romantic get away and we chose to come here i must say we got more than what we expected. We spent 6 days here and they were some of the best days of our lives. The food was awesome always something diferent and more than enough. We arrived on gala night and it was all you can eat lobster and seafood. The beach was great, the pool area was awesome. Everyone went out of their way to please you, never a dull moment. There are 5 hotels here, the Ambar being the luxury one, however you can go to all 5 of them. Every night we went to the theater or the pueblo area and it was a blast. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The closest rooms to the beach and pool are in buildings 70, 69, 68, 67
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Client,

It is very exciting to hear that you had some of the best days of your lives in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. Additionally, it is a pleasure to know that we surpassed your expectations during your romantic getaway.

We hope to have the honor to welcoming you once again and thank you personally your comments.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights, 5 days. Check in was easy, they were strict about the 3pm check in and weren't overly friendly or helpful. We were allowed to have drinks at the lobby bar while we waited. We had to re-register for our dinners and were given dinner reservations under someone else's name in our packet. We had no problem getting the restaurants we wanted though.

Room: clean, shower grate was broken. Ants from the flowers being placed in the room. Mini-bar was consistently restocked. Only downside was the rooms weren't cleaned until around 4-5pm when we would come back to get ready for dinner and shower.

Food: The main buffet at the Ambar had some staples there every day (salad, cold cuts, pasta). They had relatively few native Caribbean dishes which was a big disappointment. Thursdays are the seafood gala and you need reservations for the buffet that night. The lobster had a strange taste and was overcooked. We also ate at Don Pablo and left after the appetizers because the taste was off. Bella Italia was actually not bad and the Japanese restaurant was very good for being on a resort. Overall, I would give the food 2 or 3 out of 5.

Service: Service was great. Servers at the pool did a great job and getting drinks. Didn't have to wait too long at the bar either. The servers at the buffet always ensured my champagne or drink of choice was topped off.

Spa: The spa was slightly an awkward experience at first because of the language barrier. We got the special 95$ per person for body scrub and 1 hour massage. I only wished that they gave a deep tissue as advertised.

Overall the resort was quiet, relaxing. My biggest complaint is being bothered at the pool and beach to buy excursions or other goods that were being sold on the beach. Also BEWARE of the Bella Mare "excursion" shopping trip that guest services tells you about. We asked about local shopping and food off the resort and was told there was a free shuttle that gave you 1 hours worth of time. It ended up being a scam they shuttle you to these tourist gift shops no different than the ones our the hotel so it ended up being a 3 hour waste of time and we missed our dinner reservations that night.

Room Tip: We were in 70, near the spa, buffet, hotel lobby, and don pablo. It was very quiet and although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Desiree,

We sincerely regret any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Guest satisfaction and quality service is what we strive for. With this aim in mind, feedbacks such as yours are very important to us.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I normally do not write reviews this quickly but I just couldnt pass up the opportunity to write about out great vacation to Punta Cana. We stayed at the Bahia Principe Ambar from July 17-21. This was our babymoon and I knew I wanted a relaxing adults only resort. First of all this resort is HUGE!!! It consists of multiple hotels and you're free to go to either hotel by one of there trolleys that runs every few minutes. The bus from the airport will drop you off at the main hotel "Bavaro" from there you have to wait for a trolley to take you to Ambar which is less then a 5 min drive.
Check in was pretty bad, our room wasnt ready so we ended up eating lunch and walking around. We came back and it still wasnt ready. Finally after an hour of waiting we got out room. It was room 61311 in the 61 building. Great location! Close to the pool and beach. The room was clean and spacious, the only complaint was the toilet seat was cracked but we complained about it and it was fixed right away. That day we made resevrations to the palymar seafood buffet which is on Thursdays and we also made reservations to Takara but never ended up going because we didnt like to be on a schedule and the buffet food was always really good! My husband is one picky foodie and he enjoyed everything at the buffet which was a great surpise for me :) We always ate way too much. Even I had lots of choices being pregnant and all! The desserts were delicious and there was always something different to chose from. There was an abunance of alcohol everywhere! Unfortunately for me I couldnt partake in tasting these yummy drinks but my husband did enjoy them very much. He stuck with his mojitos for the most part and said they were yummy.
The beach is gorgeous!!! With Ambar you will always find chairs and have your own umbrella made out of palm trees which is usually extra $ at other hotels we've stayed at all over the carribean. I was able to stay out of the sun without having to worry about fighting over an umbrella spot ;) The breeze by the water is heavenly and the water is a nice cool temp. We absolutely loved how quiet and relaxing it was and spent our whole day at the beach ever day. The pool is nice too but the water is as hot as a hot tub and we usually ended up in the pool after 7pm when it started to get darker and too windy at the beach. My husband and I dont really understand the point of going on vacation and haging out at the pool all day! Go to the ocean,its 100 times better!!! I also believe the pool bar closes at 7pm and they only servce beer starting at 5:30pm. Not sure what time the beach bar actually closes because we were always able to get drinks but I think 7ish. The staff at the hotel is great, they're always very friendly and work really hard and really long hours, we saw the same people there early morning for breakfast and then later on for dinner.
Be careful of the beach vendors that walk around they do sell knock off stuff. If you plan on buying anything just take the trolley to the Bavaro hotel and stuff there is usually a few $ cheaper then the Ambar. Also the beach has quite a bit of topless women and thong bikini's since most of the vacationers there are not Americans which for them this is normal (lots of europeans and south america vacationers). My husband enjoyed that part as well, ha!

We did end up doing the Carribean Festival tour which included snorkeling and swimming with sharks and stingrays. Hansel took our water camera and ended up taking some amazing pictures with it, he was awesome! Overall I dont know if I would recommend this tour just cause its $104 pp we got it down to $99pp and the only part we really enjoyed was the snorkeling. The sting ray part sucked, its a few men handeling 1 stingray and all you can do it pet it for a min and move on. We've been to the Cayman islands and the sting rays there just come to you in the middle of the ocean which was an awesome experience. The shark part was pretty stupid too, you just swam around in a pool with nursery sharks.
We had an issue with getting our return voucher because Pedro from VIP decided to take the afternoon off on the day we were supposed to see him and there was all sorts of confusion as to where our voucher was. We finally found it with a bell boy which wasted an hour of our day. We were not very happy with him.
Overall it was an amazing vacation, very relaxing and beautfiul. We didnt want to leave and will definitely be going back sometimes in the future and thats not easy for us to say because we dont usually go back to the same location twice :)

Room Tip: Building 61 is a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Luxury Bahia. Make sure you stay on the Ambar side for an adults only experience. Buildings 64 and 67 are best because they are footsteps from the pool. We had the BEST experience at the pool with bartenders Alexis and Miguel! They were entertaining, courteous and amazing. We spent more time at the pool bar than the Beach because of them. The cleaning staff is EXCELLENT! They are honest and polite. Rigoberto cleaned our rooms at least twice daily. The buffet food is just okay. I would make reservations at the restaurants on the first day of arrival because they book fast. The snack bar is awful, so try your best to make it to the lunch buffet which is pretty good. Overall we had an amazing vacation. The food could definitely improve but if you get dinner reservations you will be satisfied. You can't leave without visiting Alexis and Miguel in the pool bar!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Lisa,

We value your opinion about your recent stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. Guest experiences are the key ingredient to analyze our daily performance and help us improve our services.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Ambar 7/13-7/20. This was our first trip out of the country in 28 years so it was a second honeymoon for us. After much online research and spending hours reading reviews and watching youtube videos, I finally decided that Ambar met all of our requirements. I must say, we were thrilled with the resort. The staff were welcoming from the moment of arrival. Roberto, our butler, was extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds, pool, and beach were immaculate. We emailed ahead of time and requested a room close to the beach and pool, and they accommodated us by placing us in villa 60. It was perfect, only steps to the pool and beach. The food was good, however, the a la carte restaurants had slow service. My dinner at Don Pablo was superb, but Portofino was disappointing and we actually waited so long at El Olivio, that we walked out and went to the buffet. The lobby was a fun and pleasant gathering place at night. The room was beautiful and the maids kept it clean. The only negative on the room was there were a few ants around the bathroom sink. They probably came from the pretty fresh flowers they placed around the sink and tub. Also, the shower had an unpleasant smell. We would definitely recommend this place and would love to return in the future. This resort seems like a top-notch company. They are constantly cleaning, painting, etc. to keep the resort beautiful. The staff is so friendly and work so hard that we made sure we tipped well during the week. Please plan on tipping when you are there. All adult atmosphere was wonderful and very relaxing. Great time to get away and relax and enjoy the beautiful beach. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Building 60 is closest to the pool, beach and shuttle stop. Ideal location, and only about a three m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Nancy,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection as your holiday destination. We are proud to read that you were thrilled with the resort and to learn that had a relaxing stay in paradise.

Hoping to cater you in the near future!

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just returned from Punta Cana on Sunday. The Bahia Principe Ambar hotel and resort are awesome.Everyone, and I mean everyone, of the staff cannot do enough for you.
Bianca and Desire the waitresses around the pool were lovely,always smiling and so happy to serve you all day long. Leonardo who was the Maitre 'd' in the snack bar next to the pool was great, so efficient, courteous and helpful, as were all staff. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
It's a pity, for us however, that it is so far away from Bonnie Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to learn that you had a fantastic holiday in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, thank to our courteous, helpful and amazing staff. They will be happy to hear that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you for recommending Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.