We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at Ambar and some helpful advice/tips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Ambar and some helpful advice/tips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our third trip to Dominican Republic and our first trip to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

Overall we had an amazing time with no issues at all. A few things to remember and understand about Dominican Republic, the folks that work at these resorts/airport transportation companies etc only make about $300 USD a month, yes you read it right $300 a month. Take plenty of single dollars for tips, they really work hard and deserve the extra money. The workers also work 13 hours a day/6 days a week and a lot of them share a room at the resort [approx 10-12 people a room!] so they only see their own families a few times a week. With that said, if you do encounter an employee that may seem grumpy there is plenty of reason why. However, we did NOT encounter one employee that was not happy to see us!! They were all amazing. And finally, I read some past reviews about service being slow, as I tell ANYONE I have ever talked to about Dominican Republic, you are on Dominican time now and they are a lot more relaxed than other parts of the world [especially North America] so take a few breaths and enjoy your time there don't get uptight if your drink is not filled and you are having to wait on another one!!

On to the actual review. We arrived late afternoon to the main hotel at Luxury, we were then transported by golf cart to the Ambar. This is actually really nice because no big vehicles can get to the Ambar from the main lobby of the 'big' hotel. I found this nice and more personable. Check in was a breeze and we were taken to our room. Room was spacious and cool, we were on the third floor and had no issues with a/c or anything.

We ventured out to the beach and the beach is very pretty, there are quite a few trees where the Ambar beach is. If you don't like all the trees then walk down to the beach towards the volleyball net area, they have a lot more open beach area. However there are a lot more people and tons of kids.

Pool area is amazing although we only went to the pool after 3 and after a long day of laying lazily on the beach. It is nice to round out the day in the pool and chat with other folks there. Our favorite drink at the beach/pool bars was the coco loco. Make sure you try it. Also, if you have not experienced shots of mamajuana then make sure you take a few!! You can buy it to take home at the lobby shops. Speaking of shops, we ventured up to the 'big' hotel main lobby and they offer approx 30 shops [give or take a few] so no need to leave the resort to shop. We walked the shops twice and did a 'free' off resort shopping excursion and overall the shops at the resort was very reasonable. But make sure you go thru all the shops first because there were a few variations on prices, go for the best deal.

We didn't try any of the speicalty restaurants, we don't like to be on a schedule so we ate the buffet every night. Always something new there every night. We ate lunch at the buffet right next to the pool and that always had great choices. If you do decide to try one of the restaurants then email them about a week before to get your reservations in. You can also email about what building you would like to stay in [no guarantee but you can try] we were in building 68 and it was close to the pool yet far enough away to not hear any noise.

We are early risers and turn in early. We did place towels out on the beach chairs about 6:30 am, yes that is early but the sun comes up early and it gets warm quick! We were in the chairs laying out by 8:30 every morning. The sun sets early, around 7 pm maybe? Keep that in mind because this is more of their off peak season.

Tips!! I tipped everyone, I tipped the maid, the bartenders, the bell men, the drivers everyone!! I took a few small gifts for the maid as well. If you have the option to get butler service then do it! We talked to a family who ranted and raved about how great their butler is. When I worked with my travel agent we never saw the option to get butler service, maybe it was sold out? We booked our trip only 1 1/2 months out and we normally book about 5 months out.

Flight out - the airport is a lot more packed than our first visit 6 years ago. Currently there are two terminals for departures. Ours was in terminal one where a lot of the stores are at. There are places to eat between the two terminals and places to buy snacks. This is some advice everyone should know, if your flight is due out of terminal one it is not air conditioned so it gets very warm and uncomfortable. However terminal two is air conditioned. So walk over to terminal 2 and sit there to wait till loading time. Then give yourself a few minutes to walk back to terminal 1 to load your flight!!! That way you are not all sweaty by the time you finally get on your plane. All of the planes are boarded outside so you do have to walk outside and the planes get really warm in the inside until your flight leaves. Best to keep in the a/c as long as you can!

Finally, have fun and relax. I kept reminding myself to enjoy every minute of the trip because it goes by fast and you don't want to regret any of the time you are there!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Client,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the all-inclusive program offered in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,011
    1,179
    442
    130
    81
See reviews for
329
3479
57
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The service was good, the staff was always polite and caring,
The room and the outside spaces were always clean and well organized,
The swimming pool was a little bit noisy, but we were never there, I prefer the beach,
The beach was calm and the staff was always there to help, clean and serve drinks,
The tours were very expensive, more expensive than Mexico, in my opinion bad value for money,
The food on the main buffet was always good, we didn’t appreciate the other restaurants,
It’s a fine place to rest, read, eat and sleep :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Marcia,

We are happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations. We value all feedback since is the best way we have to evaluate our daily performance.

We are hoping to cater you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived june 29. Checked in around 6pm due to a flight delay of an hour and a half and a $40 one way taxi ride.(everyone says it should be $25) The staff at the front desk was downright ARROGANT. Nobody told us about #1, the dresscode for the dining buffet area,#2 the fact that you must bring the towels from your room to the pool(when we got to the pool they simply said there were" NO MORE", #3 that you must make reservations upon arrival for every night you will be there bc they fill up fast. When we tried to make a reservation for that evening, the woman at "guest services" told us, even though she was still sitting there, that "it's too late and her system is off." Unacceptable. SO the first night we were forced to dine at the buffet. #4, that the internet in the room does not work. The free internet ONLY works in the lobby. ( unless of course you want to PAY for internet.Wow are they behind in today's world. We specifically asked for a room close to the beach, and NOT on the ground floor. The guy put us in a room on the ground floor right off off the lobby. The room was musty smelling and had awful lighting. At night we couldn't sleep bc of the music in the lobby. We called the front desk and asked to move, but they said the hotel was "completely" full and to come back tomorrow at 2pm. SO the next day at 2, we had to leave the beach, and we were moved to a third floor room. The room was better, but still no water pressure in the shower. Later that night, we were locked out of the room bc they neglected to change the key card, so my boyfriend had to go to the front desk and 30 MINUTES LATER, we were able to get into the room after sitting in the hallway for a half hour. At midnight. the food in general at this resort is just ok, nothing spectacular. My least favorite was the Meditteranean restaurant. Awful. ALso, the buffet doesn't open until 7 for breakfast so if you have an early excursion or flight, you cannot grab breakfast. Sometimes they have coffee made, and if you want to take it to go, they will give it to you in a tiny plastic cup. Yes, HOT coffee in plastic cups. We also went on an excursion with Sol Cana tours.They wanted $100 to take you on a bus to a national park(you don't actually see it, you just catch the boat from there) We got them down to $85 if we paid cash. (THese reps reside to the left of the check in desk in the lobby.) They take you on a speed boat to an island, you spend about 2 hours there, eat at the buffet(which ran out of food too quickly) and on the way back they take you on a catamaran. We had a good time but it was not worth what we paid.They took pictures and videos and wanted us to buy them at the end. So for $85 you basically get a boat ride and some food. Not worth it.
The drinks at this hotel are AWFUL. Sugary, watered down drinks, served in tiny disposable plastic cups. GROSS. Note to maganement: They way you have the service set up in is not in the workers favor at all. You have ten different people waiting on you everytime you sit down to eat, so you don't know who to tip, and there's no inscentive for anyone to give you great service because of this. At most other resorts, you sit down, you have ONE waiter, and they bring you a fake bill at the end. This way, you know how much to tip and your server takes care of you. Not the case here at all. The lobby at the Ambar all adults section where we stayed, shuts down very early. Like 1130pm early. We were bored...so bored, so we went back to the room early most nights and ordered room service which is HORRENDOUS. Burgers, hot dogs, fries, REALLY? What a gross selection... not what i paid $1200.00 for. We also ordered a movie (because the stations are mostly in Spanish) and were charged for that. The mini bar was practically empty, with 3 waters, 2 can of beer, and one small bag of chips. Oh, and a nip of whiskey and one of vodka. Pathetic for an ALL inclusive resort. Lastly, we went to check out at 1220pm and tried to hit the lunch buffet before a 12 hour day of traveling. We walked in and were told it was not open until 1230. We told thm that we were leaving and wanted to grab some lunch but they didn't really seem to care, so we left with an empty stomach. Needless to say, we won't be returning. EVER. Not even if it's free... and I will make sure to warn friends and family. Go to MEXICO instead.. Cancun, playa del carmen, mayan riviera. You can't go wrong. People are eager to serve and the resorts there are amazing and your experience will be realxing. We felt stressed half of the time we were here. By the way, it's $40 each way in a taxi.

Positives:Beach is gorgeous. Angel at the front desk is wonderful, Abraham in the dining buffet area is wonderful, and Christian at the barbeque restaurant(lunch buffet) was wonderful...They were all very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you on the ground floor. It smells and it's noisy. We were in building 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Caroline,

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We feel so sorry to hear that our service has not reached your expectations and we deeply regret any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

On the whole, this is a pleasant enough hotel. As others have said, the gardens are lovely, the rooms are kept nice and clean (although the chairs in the room were very tacky, could do with a proper clean, probably sun tan lotion sticking to them). Our room was never cleaned at the time we requested which was between 10.00am and noon. Sometimes it was after 4pm before they were touched. The air con was not up to scratch, room was quite warm all the time. Sometimes the mini bar was not properly refilled. English channels on the TV were mainly news channels.

Restaurants
I do'nt not like the way you have to book the al la carte restaurants in advance through customer services. I prefer to turn up and wait for a table. I found customer services mostly to be very aloof, if you were not a privilege customer, they were not that interested in you. The al la carte restaurants were ok. The buffet could do with some improvements, the food was luke warm and on occasions cold. This needs to be sorted.

Pool
A nice, pleasant and clean pool, spoilt I'm afraid by noisy Americans at the swim up bar. Sorry guys, but you need to tone this down a good bit. Also one of the bartenders makes the most stupid noises I have ever heard, Alexis WISE UP and act your age not your shoe size.......;

I will not go on any further and repeat what others have already said, I would not class this as a 5 star but more a 4 star hotel.

I would not return to this hotel as I have stayed at better all inclusives in the Carribean in saying that we did have good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Cathy,

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I went to Punta Cana for our first vacation in 20 years without our children, and we had a really nice time. We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Ambar which is all-inclusive and Adults only. There's 3 other hotels in this resort that you can visit also, but the ones with kids are not allowed to come into this hotel or pool. The rooms were spacious and very clean, the pool was huge and beautiful, and the swim up bar was very nice...the drinks were good! The buffets and the restaurants all had pretty good tasting food, although the food that should have been served hot was always just slightly warm or sometimes cold. The service at the hotel and the restaurants was very good and the grounds around the hotel were very beautiful and well maintained. The ocean was close to the pool and the white, sandy beach was amazing! The reason I have "Butt" in the title is that even though my husband and I never drank the tap water, we both ended up getting an intestinal virus and so did almost all of the people we met there. We met a really nice family of 10, and by the end of their week, all 10 were ill with the virus that causes diarrhea. When we got home, our doctor prescribed Azithromycin antibiotic and that really seemed to help. Would I go back? Yes...we had a fabulous time, but next time I would take some antibiotics along in my suitcase! By the way, they do have a pharmacy there that sells Pepto and Immodium, but save some money and take your own!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Nancy,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Hotel.

Regarding your comments about your experience, allows us inform you that our hotel follows a very strict hygiene, quality and security program monitored by the international company Crystal.

Anyway we remain at your disposal for any question or assistance you may have.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ambar from June 15th- June 29th. We had a fantastic time. We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel. From the the moment we arrived we were greeted with fantastic staff. Teresa in the lobby was the first person to see us and offer us a drink, we found her so pleasant and happy after having just arrived. Our room was great, we were in building 66, which was very close to the lobby. My husband is very active and found the gym and daily volleyball to be right up his alley. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of food that was available at the buffet daily We went on a day trip to Saona Beach with a catamaran and had a fantastic day. We did not actually go into the pool but spent everyday at the beach. All of the staff at the beach were fantastic, but....we have to give special mention to Kelvin as he made our whole trip. We needed to relax, and that's exactly what we did. we went to the bavaro a couple of times and enjoyed their buffett...as we met new friends and enjoyed their company there. Having never been to the Domican before, my husband and I are now planning next years trip to visit the Ambar again to enjoy ALL that it has to offer... HAD A FANTASTIC TIME...we tell everyone we meet to go to the AMBAR!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Client,

Rest assured that your wonderful comments will be forward to Kelvin. He will be excited to hear the he made your whole trip. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and we are glad to learn that you had a fantastic time with us.

We would be absolutely delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We returned from our trip four days ago. Thought I would grade the resort as I grade my students!
Check-In/Room assignment grade: "B"
I gave this section a grade of "B" because although check-in was smooth, we were only at the Ambar desk for about 5 minutes and were met with a cool cloth and tropical drink- the corner room we were assigned was a disaster. We are not that picky, We looked past the broken drawer on the dresser and even looked past the broken balcony door, but when there was no hot water, we called the front desk and asked to be moved. They quickly sent someone up to move our luggage which was great. When we got to the second room, the bellboy could not open the door with the key provided. He sent for someone else....He fiddled with the lock for another 10 minutes and then sent for someone else....he couldn't get the door open and ended up entering through another guest's room and all I can imagine is that he climbed from their balcony to open the door. Then they had to send someone up to change the entire lock.
After traveling for over 12 hours,,,,the last thing we wanted to do was wait another half hour for the lock to be changed. I guess if anyone, other than the bellhop would have apologized, it would have been okay. But no one acted as if this was any type of inconvenience.
Room grade: "B"
The rooms are large. I think they are starting to show their age a bit. Nothing is nasty, but just a little worn. The TV is the smallest I have seen in a hotel room. Our remote didn't work, but we didn't even call to complain. We were on the second floor of Bldg. 64.which was a nice location. The room was always cleaned at the time we requested (you fill out a card requesting a convenient time for cleaning) The air conditioning was great....nice and cool every day. The mini fridge didn't really keep things cold, but it was serviceable.
Beach grade: "A+"
Absolutely beautiful beach. Miles of sand and clear water. There are palm trees lining the beach so you don't see the usual resorts. The Ambar beach is kept beautiful. They constantly rake the seaweed. There are plenty of palapas, but the towel game is crazy if you want a front row. One morning we we up early (5:30 am) and decided to watch the sunrise on the beach. There were already people reserving front row chairs. So we ran back and got our towels and reserved one. Honestly we preferred a location in a few rows back though because of the strong breeze. There was good service on the beach if you wanted a drink, but someone else suggested that you bring a large cup with you and I would reinforce that suggestion. The cups are 10 oz and they really don't hold much! It is also easy to walk to the beach bar and get your own drink. The pool was a little loud for us, but there were a lot of people who seemed to be having a great time. They had Zumba and games. Not our thing,,,,really hate organized activities, but some people like them and I think they try to keep things going.
Service grade: "B"
The people you encounter daily such as wait staff, bartenders, maintenance and cleaning staff are absolutely amazing. They are always smiling and happy. Always greet you with "hola" and make sure that you are doing great. We always tipped the staff from housekeeping to waitstaff, but I think that everyone was treated the same, whether you tipped or not. I think you should tip the staff. They work very hard and definitely deserve it. We always asked for extra water and received it each night.
The only reason that I didn't give a better grade was that the front desk people are completely detached and seem to be annoyed by any problems (such as a room change request)
Also, upon check in we were not given bracelets and went an entire day without one. We didn't know that you needed them because this was our first all-inclusive. The front desk seemed really put out by this. It was their fault, but there was no apology even though we had to wait in line to resolve the problem. I really think that the waiters, waitresses, housekeeping and bellhops should train the front desk staff on customer relations!!!
Food grade: "B"
As I said, this was our first all-inclusive, so we can only compare it to food on previous trips. I thought the buffet was good. It isn't great and we never walked away saying something was "awesome" but we never walked away hungry either. The presentation is quite nice and the buffet is kept spotless and stocked. We tried three ala carte restaurants. The first was Don Pablo's and I know others have liked it, but we didn't think it was too good. I had a filet and my husband had bass. Not great, but maybe this is what all-inclusives are like...I don't know.
We also ate at El Olivo and this was my favorite. Not stupendous, but we both liked the food the best of the three. Garden Grill was nothing special. Lunch at the beach buffet was very nice and casual. Great guacamole at the beach bar buffet!
We still have not decided if an all-inclusive is our type of vacation, but I think that the Ambar does a good job of making sure that everything is as nice as possible for their guests. Train the front desk staff a little more and this would truly be a great place.
Overall Ambar grade: "B+"

Room Tip: Bring your own cup for drinks! Bldg. 64 for centrally located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.

We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction, and please allow us to inform you that your opinion is one of our top priorities because they assist us with elevating our service standards.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in the Dominican Republic.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.