We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Adult 5 star in Punta Cana for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Fall Offers
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Adult 5 star in Punta Cana for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from a 1 week stay from May 25th to June 1st at the Ambar. It's our 3rd time back to the resort and 9th trip to Punta Cana in 15 years. My wife and I have travelled to many Caribbean islands over 15 years and would like to present our thoughts for anyone considering a vacation here. Firstly, we were treated with incredible service by all their staff especially Idelin Mieses, the Guest Services Manager and Antonio (He took care of our check in process). Both Idelin and Antonio are great ambassadors for their resorts and more hotels should employ staff like them.
As for the Hotel, the Ambar is the best combination of luxury, service, dining and value for anyone considering an adults only resort. The resort is part of a huge complex which is much too large for my liking but at the Ambar and the Esmeralda (Family resort), the resorts are smaller and they occupy the section closest to the beach. The Ambar is the only resort that has more than ample space in the beach for everyone, no need to panic to get a beach hut, there is plenty. There are other 5 star resorts along the beach but many of them like Rui Palace and Barcellos do not have any beach huts which will force you to deal with the sun and lack of shade all day.
The restaurants in the Ambar side of the report are great but I would highly recommend the buffet, nothing beats their selection and quality. I would go on but there are too many things too mention but I will finish with this…It’s a great resort and worth the consideration by anyone that is in need of a great beach vacation.

HC
Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: Do not select a room backing onto the main ave where the train travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Client,

We greatly appreciate you have recommended our hotel as the best combination of luxury, service, dining and value for anyone considering an adults only resort.

It is marvelous to hear that you were treated with an incredible service and it is wonderful to know that you lived a real Bahia Principe experience.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, the best only adults 5 stars in Punta Cana!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,274
    1,710
    614
    196
    121
See reviews for
510
4,894
93
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We recently returned from vacation at Ambar where the weather was fantastic and the grounds & beach were spectacular and meticulously cleaned.
We requested a 3rd floor room by the pool and 4 a-la-carte bookings by e-mail and upon check-in were granted all our requests. Further a-la-cartes were reserved with Guest Services in the lobby with no issues. We enjoyed the food at the buffet especially Gala night on Thursday, there was much choice including made to order. Our favourite a-la-cartes were Don Pablo and Garden Grill.
Ambar is the adults only section of the Bahia resort, there was more entertainment, casino, disco and shops at the Tropicana Theatre and Pueblo Principe at the main section or front of the resort. Ambar had nightly entertainment in the lobby in the evenings usually ending about 10:30-11:00PM. There was also a beach party on Saturday May 11 by the beach bar that was alot of fun.
The staff was very very friendly and accomodating and while some don't speak much english we had no problems with communication, a few Spanish phrases go a long way, remember that they serve guests from around the world who speak languages other than english.
We had a chance to meet Jose Garcia Lima, Ambar General Manager a very nice gentleman who is ever present around the resort. We would also like to say Hola to Stormin at the buffet and Christian at Guest Services.
Plenty of loungers with shade at the beach of course prime spots closer to the ocean are reserved very early. We spent our time at the beach coming to the pool in the late afternoon for drinks but walking through the pool area in the morning on the way to the beach all shade loungers were taken.
The only negative would be the service at the snack bar by the pool, inconsistent but overall a great vacation we give Ambar 5/5 and would recommend to those looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jmd,

For all the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar team is a pleasure to know that they have provided you a great and beautiful stay. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to the good service from our employees.

Looking forward to seeing you once again here at your home away from home!!

Best regards,

Customer Service
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My whusband and I visited Ambar (adults only) from April 26 to May 3 2013. Of the four resorts we have stayed at in the DR, this is the cleanest and best maintained. The pool and beach are quite large and clean. The food is typical DR food, not bad but not great, however, you will not go hungry. This is one of six resorts on the same property. Each resort has its own restaurants and pool that Amber guests can use, however, the activities such as the evening entertainment, games room and mini golf are shared and is centrally located. So you have to take a shuttle to them or walk for 20 to 30 minutes.

Strong Points
Very Clean, relaxing, quite

Week Points
Activities are shared and are 20-30 minutes away or take the shuttle. Need reservations for the restaurants other than the buffet. Internet browsing is only free in the lobby, you have to pay if you want it elsewhere or to get email on your phone.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over Memorial week. We stayed at the Ambar, the "adults-only" hotel, which is part of the 4 or 5 hotels at the complex. The place is huge, and there is something going on within the complex all the time. However, I don't understand why the hotel feels that playing music at the pool at the adults-only section would bother the "adults." Really? The only time there was any type of music playing was during the 2 or 3 20-30 minute zumba and/or water aerobic sessions. That's it. If you get close enough to the swim up pool, there is a little quiet music playing in there, but as far as the entire pool area, it was QUIET, and there were NO activities. They could take a lesson from Sandals... where we ALWAYS had something going on at the pool area.

Pros: Huge complex and with a lot of different activities throughout. Trolleys are constantly going back and forth, so you can head to the Bavarro area (largest) where there is a theater, casino, shops, sports bar, etc.

Really big pool. Huge. Never felt crowded in the pool at all, even by the swim-up bar.

Buffet food pretty darned good. There was a large selection each night. Hard not to find something you would like.

Nice beach area. Clear water, not a lot of sea grass. You can walk for miles in either direction.

Large rooms. Huge bathrooms. I found the mattress very comfortable.

CONS: No music or activities at the adults-only pool. If you want more upbeat fun, head to other pools, but then there are screaming kids Also pool kind of rolls up the carpet @ 5:30 (including the bar). Would have liked to be able to swim in the evening.

Ala carte restaurants: Um... not good. 24-hour food poisoning after eating at El Olivo. We met a lot of people who ate at various Ala-carte restaurants, and the only good review we heard was of one of the Japanese steakhouses. We actually cancelled our reservation at Don Pablo after hearing someone else's review (and my previous night's intestinal issues).

Air conditioning - on the third floor, it was practically non-existent. Very hard to sleep. I did talk to people on the first floor, and it sounded like it was cooler down there. However, we heard from others that they had to get fumigated for bugs. We had no problem.

We requested a particular building months in advance, as well as e-mailing before we left. We did not even get close to a decent view. Very disappointed, especially upon hearing of people who did NOT request anything who were given very good rooms with nice views.

Drinks: VERY watered down. Ask for whatever you get with a "shot" of the same liquor on the side. They have to give you the better version, because you're going to drink it directly. Or stick to beer, because the mixed drinks (particularly the fruity, rum types) the alcohol was non-existent. I shouldn't be able to drink 5-6 on an empty stomach and feel nothing. Also, room supposed to be "stocked" with liquor. A mini-bar size vodka, scotch, and rum. Only one of each. Not exactly what I'd called stocked.

Maid service: spotty. We are tippers. We tipped the bartenders, the buffet servers, the bellmen, and our maid. We got nothing refilled in the room. Not even our little mini-bottles. Had to go up to the front desk and ask for those, as well as coffee. We finally stopped tipping the maid. Very frustrating. Some people got towel animals (this is not a requirement for me, but still... why some and not others?) and everything re-stocked.

Get up EARLY to reserve pool chairs, or chairs near the ocean. There are plenty, but if you want ANY shade, you better be up by 7:30-8 am. We were, and almost ALWAYS missed out getting front row chairs by the ocean, or shady spots by the pool.

IGNORE the dress codes. My husband (who HATES dressing up on vacation) packed a collared shirt, long pants, and closed-toe shoes because of the dress code for Don Pablo, as well as the "Gala Night" where Lobster is the main focus. It was VERY hot and he was very uncomfortable. While waiting for our "reservation" for the GALA night, we watched tons of men walk in wearing flip-flops, t-shirts, and shorts. We even questioned the people at the door as to why they were being allowed in with the incorrect dress code, but all they said was "it is fine." I did hear that Don Pablo turned away someone who had on shorts, but as far as the Thursday night "gala," don't worry about it. Also... it's not as great as it's cracked up to be. You wait in line for a grilled half lobster. Some were not cooked all the way through. We were disappointed.

BRING LARGE CUPS. They sell them in the gift-shops, but they are $15 each. Otherwise, the drinks come in TINY plastic cups that you can drink in 3 sips... everyone onsite had either brought, or bought travel-type mugs. They'll make your drink in them, no problem.

All in all, because we met up with a lot of new, fun people, we had a blast. The resort has a lot to offer those who don't want to go out on an excursion and just stay on property. I actually would go back, but would INSIST on getting a better room. We are the types to sit and have coffee on the balcony in the morning while it's still a bit cooler, but we were overlooking a service road and the tops of palm trees. It was awful.

There are very good shows (circus and Michael Jackson especially) and for late-night there's a sports/karaoke bar, disco, and casino (small). It's easy to get around with all the trolleys onsite. I hear it's only a 15-minute walk up to the Hard Rock hotel/casino, but we didn't go there.

We did so the Saona Island tour. I wouldn't recommend it. It was TOO LONG, and the pictures of the island are NOTHING like what you encounter. It's packed full of tourists, and the beach is VERY rocky. I cut my foot. I wish I would have known to bring water shoes. Stopping for starfish was cool, but kinda weird. No one could really "find" any. The guides mysteriously appeared with them. We took our own pictures, which was cool, but heard from others that they wouldn't allow them... they had to use the tour photographers (and then pay for the pictures). They feed you on the island, and I actually found the food pretty authentic and tasty. And there was plenty of rum. Some tours take you out on a catamaran, and then back on a speed boat. Find one that does the opposite. It's too early to pound rum and dance with the people on the boat so early. Better to have the catamaran on the way back. And NOT stop at some tacky "shop" on the way back. We were exhausted by the return having been gone from 7 am to 7 pm. By then, all you want to do is get back to the hotel. We did the tour with "Tourissmo" if that helps your decision.

The grounds are very nice and well-kept. The buffet food was very good, in my opinion. A different theme each night. I'd say the "chinese" night was not too great, but all in all, you won't go hungry. If you're a dessert person, there are tons of choices. They offer wine at dinner as well. Nothing spectacular, but definitely drinkable.

Most of the employees were extremely friendly. The area was great. The beach was great.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the biggest balconies. The closest buildings to the ocean are 67, 64 and 60 (all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sherry,

Thank you for sharing this detailed feedback which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. Rest assured that all your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in Dominican Republic, Mexico, Jamaica or Spain to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here May 10th – 24th to celebrate our 3rd anniversary and my 30th birthday, as the title says it is a very good hotel but there are a few things that need to be improved.

First off the reasons you should book this hotel.

The food and choice of restaurants are amazing. From the buffet up to Don Pablo there really is something for everyone. The buffet breakfast is excellent from a full cooked breakfast (American style; crispy bacon, pancakes and maple syrup etc), two omelette stations where you can choose your fillings, fresh fruit and yoghurt, to a pastry and doughnut station. You will definitely find something here you like to start your day. The buffet has a different theme every evening including Mexican, Spanish and Dominican cuisine. But they do still have regular food every night as well like steak, chicken, fresh veg, burgers and chips etc. if you don’t fancy the theme. For us the three best ala cartes were Garden Grill, Maiko and Don Pablo. At Garden Grill as with most of the ala cartes you place your order for you main meal and then go to the buffet section for your starters and this is where you know you’re in for a good meal. They have huge coconut battered shrimp, mozzarella sticks, chicken wings, soups, salads the list goes on but it is all very good. But don’t forget to leave room for your main as my wife and I both agree that the steak is one of the best we have ever had! I also had the ribs on another visit and they are very good also. The Maiko (Japanese) was a very nice surprise as when we arrived we were seated at one of the show tables where the chef prepares and cooks the food in front of you. This was a first for us and it made the night as the chef was very good and funny. We went to Don Pablo twice during our stay, once for my birthday and once for our anniversary, and it is a great restaurant if you have something to celebrate. The food was good but what makes the night is the whole pomp and ceremony of the evening from getting dressed up (men must wear trousers, shirt and dress shoes) to the atmosphere of the restaurant, and even how they bring your food out with the big silver covers over it then reveal it to you at your table. The first time we went the service was a bit lacking but the second time it was excellent so it can be a little bit hit or miss. There were a couple of issues with dining at this resort but I will get to them later. First more of the good.

The beach is probably the best we have been to. Beautiful sand and clear water plenty of beds and palapas, although the front 3 to 4 rows fill up very quickly so you do have to get there early (6.30ish if you want the very front row). We did get there early in the morning because the closer you are to the sea the more of a breeze you get which was a must for us as when we walked past some of the beds further back it was absolutely stifling I don’t know how people could stand it all day. The staff on the beach are excellent, they are always cleaning or raking the sand, the servers are always happy to get you more drinks, there are even people who come and brush the sand off your feet and beach bed, we normally had Miguel who was probably the happiest and most friendly person I have ever met in my life. There are also lots of activities if you want them like windsurfing, kayaking, speed boats and parasailing. A tip for the beach is take a bubba keg (insulated mug) as the cups they give you are quite small and get warm quickly, also the beach servers will fill them up for you.

We didn’t go to the pool during our stay as whenever we walked past it was always crowded and it seemed like it was the place all the loud and obnoxious people congregated.

The grounds at the resort are spotless they must have an army of gardeners/grounds keepers to keep it at the high standard it is. Also the buildings are very nice especially the lobby where we would sit and relax most evenings with a few drinks.

There is an onsite 24hr doctor and pharmacy which wouldn’t normally be a stand out selling point for me but as I had to use it I think it is worth a mention. On the first day I got an ear infection so I went to the pharmacy and told them that I usually have a certain antibiotic, next thing I know I have a bag full of that antibiotic and some pretty strong painkillers but my wallet was $50 lighter. I must have been cursed this holiday because a few days later I got a bad back where I could hardly walk so went to the doctor this time and after a half an hour, a syringe full of muscle relaxers and $400 I was on the road to recovery. It is worth a note that if you use the doctors you will likely have to pay for your treatment yourself and then apply to have it reimbursed by your insurance when you get home so it’s probably best to take a backup credit card. Nonetheless the service was very good.

Lastly 99% of the staff are incredible, they will do anything for you, are always happy and smiling, always make you feel welcome and even get involved with a bit of banter with you.

Unfortunately that leads me on to the other 1% of staff and the other things that took this holiday from a 5 star review to a 4 star.

After checking in we got to our room and looked to check that our restaurant reservations that we pre-requested 7 days before arrival had been made to find that only 1 of 6 of the requests were when we had asked for the others were 2 or more hours out or completely a different day. Now this isn’t really a complaint more of an inconvenience but it leads to my next complaint. We decided to go to guest services to rearrange our restaurant choices as we don’t like eating late and most of the ones they gave us were after 8pm. Anyway after a trip to the bar we were just about to sit down with our drinks at the guest services desk. My wife put her drink on the glass top desk and I was about to do the same when Tomas the guest services guy started huffing and puffing, forced the glass back into my wifes hand and started polishing the table before throwing down a couple of coasters that he kept in his draw and rudely asking us what we wanted. I am normally an easy going person but this got my back up straight away. Unfortunately this experience only got worse as Tomas was the rudest most unhelpful staff member I have ever come across on a holiday. I don’t run hotels but surely you don’t want someone like this in a face to face customer service role? In the end I just had to walk away before I said or did something I would regret. This may have been the worst case but unfortunately he wasn’t the only staff member who seemed to despise the people who have spent thousands of pounds to be at this hotel. Don’t get me wrong like I said before 99% of the staff here are exceptional but it only takes the 1% (especially on your first day) to dampen your mood.

Don’t expect the restaurants to open on time, most of the time it is only 5-10 mins which is annoying but not too bad but we were booked at the takara for opening at 6.30 and they didn’t open until 7 with no one coming out to explain they were running late. Again not really a complaint but standing around in that heat it would have been nice to know what was going on and maybe someone to come out with some cold refreshments.

There were a couple of problems with the room, firstly the aircon was pointless. I think the fan above the table cooled the room down more than the air conditioning so the room was usually quite uncomfortable, I don’t know if it was a fault with our unit or if all the rooms are like it but it will have a massive effect on whether we would return to this resort or not . Also the sound proofing between connecting rooms and hallways was non-existent. Our room had a door connecting it to the next room and basically we could hear everything they said. Also you could hear every time someone closed their door on our floor and when people are coming and going at all hours it does get very annoying.

This is by no means a comprehensive list of all the pros and cons of this hotel. But I do hope this review shows that you will have an excellent time here if you don’t let the small annoyances bother you too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Marc,

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

We greatly appreciate all your comments, which have been taken in the highest consideration.

As well, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to being able to welcome you once again at our Complex...

Best Regards,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a two week stay at the Ambar from May 17-May 31. Just to put things in perspective we been to about 15 different All Inclusive in the last 10 years. Some resorts we have stayed at in last few years; Riu Sante Fe, Cabo; Riu Varadaro, Riu Emerald Bay; Royal Hideaway Ensenachos; Sandals Princess Del Mar, Varadaro; Ocean Sands, Punta Cana; Majestic Elegance, Punta Cana; Ocean Turquesa, Mayan & Bacelo Maya Colonial. This was the best all-inclusive experience we have had to date for all around service. We have zero complaints and nothing but praise for this property and would recommend it based on our experiences.

The staff did an excellent job meeting our needs from the moment we checked in until the moment we boarded the bus to leave. Service around the pool or on the beach was excellent and consistently reliable every day of our visit. We use medium size Bubba mugs and our waitress was always back prior to finishing our drinks. I generally don’t drink very much during dinner but the waiters were constantly topping up both our water and wine to the point I needed to start covering up my glass if I wanted to make to the lobby for a wind down. Service at the lobby continued the same level.

The food was excellent overall – I had heard that the Don Pablo’s was a favorite so I booked reservations there for multiple evenings. I heard others had issues booking reservations where as I had no issues whatsoever. We arrive after 7:00 the first day and when I tried to book reservations I was told I needed to come in the morning. I came back the next morning after breakfast, I believe around 8:30AM made reservations for next 7 days with all my times between 6:30 & 7:15. I had been there for about 6 days when I booked for the remaining 7 days. We really enjoyed Don Pablo’s (I ended up trying everything on the menu); Mediterranean was also a favorite as was The Grill. We had Japanese one night which was “OK” & one meal at Portofino. The buffet is varied and delicious! We had dinner at the buffet on only two occasions with one of those being Thursday Gala evening. By far the best desert selections I have ever seen at a buffet and I couldn’t help myself from over indulging. I always wait to be seated at the Buffet and therefore never went without service.

The beach was pure paradise. We walked down to the market area on a couple of occasions to try and wear of some of those great deserts. There were ample loungers with cabanas available with a nice breeze to help with the heat. The beach in our section was cleaned every morning to expose perfect white sand and turquoise waters. While walking the beach it was obvious that the other resorts weren’t as meticulous or as neatly kept. I prefer the pool and again we had no issues getting a lounger around the pool and on most occasions we were able to get one with an umbrella. We generally arrived around 7:30-8:00AM in the morning. Service around the pool was excellent and after the second or third day Bianca had our drinks and routine down pat. She definitely was my wife’s favorite waitress.
We had minor mix up with our room as we were given two beds to start but we had that fixed by the next day. We started out in building 64 & were moved to 62. I have heard about certain buildings being better but didn’t really see much of a difference. You’re either closer to the lobby or closer to pool but still within a very short walk of either. The rooms were clean and housekeeping did a great job keeping it that way. The air conditioning work well. I like my room cool and never had an issue. Like others have said they have a turn down service and every night we received fresh towels and our chocolates. The mini bar was stocked daily, I like to drink lots of water and the fridge was kept full with lots of water.

We made it to a couple of evening shows at the theatre, A Michael Jackson show one evening and the Circus type show another evening. Both were entertaining. We did visit the Lobby bar every evening and there was some good entertainment there as well. Generally we like to call it a night by 11:00 or so no late night partying for this trip.
Overall everything either met or exceeded our expectations. Like always we met many great people and had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. We have always talked about staying at an all inclusive for 10 days as 14 would be too long. I can now say from this experience that 14 days was not too long. I would not hesitate to re-visit this resort and recommend it for those who want to relax, have fun with friends whether young or old.

Special thanks to a few: Abraham, Felix, Braula, Francelina, Billorky and Willis

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Anthony,

We feel so proud to read that this was the best all-inclusive experience that you have had. We are absolutely delighted to know that you praise this property and recommend it based on your experience. It is an honor to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you once again!

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, your hotel in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Here's how it went...

We live in central Ohio so we flew direct out and back into Cleveland. Spent 10 very nice nights at the Ambar.

A la carte restaurants were very good. We especially liked the Garden Grill and Don Pablo. The 2 mediterranean places were not bad either. Didn't care for the sea bass though. Very fishy taste.

Buffet was great for breakfast. Loved the omelettes. Very friendly guys making them. Had the buffet on asian night. I really liked it. Wife is not fond of that kind of food though...

Had lunches next to the beach. Both places. The Ambar one probably had slightly better food but both were very nice and very good for lunch. Lots of variety. Lots of fruits and vegetables.

Our room was nice. Top (3rd) floor as requested. About equal distance from pool to lobby. AC was not cold enough though. Just couldn't seem to keep up. Need to try to improve it. Others had the same issue so we didn't worry about complaining. We just dealt with it and went to bed with no covers on us. Also, the doors to the hallway slam and you cannot close them quietly no matter how hard you try. I wore ear plugs the last few nights.

We got awakened every morning around 7:00 by the smell of cigarette smoke. Not sure if it was coming in from outside or from a room near us. We don't smoke and we're not used to smelling it, especially at 7AM.

The pool was nice but the water was very warm. If you stayed in too long you would get really cold once you got out. Nothing can be done about that though.

The pool bar was really fun. Yunior was awesome. And on the last day I think it was Alexis was really cool as well.

The service everywhere else was pretty good. Sometimes it was slow. The ambar seemed to have slightly better service that restaurants in other areas of the resort.

The beach is incredible. One can walk for miles each way. One day we walked to/from the Grand Palladium. Pretty far. Took a couple of hours I think. Beautiful the whole way.

The activities schedule was not accurate, including the evening entertainment. Times were incorrect as were the actual entertainment. So we missed some things we might have liked to see. The circus show was the best. Michael Jackson was just OK. Gala was good. Grammy's was good.

As noted above, the service was just OK outside the Ambar. It wasn't bad but it wasn't all that great.

In the Ambar lobby area, no smoking allowed. In the other lobby areas, it's allowed. Just keep it in mind whether or not you're a smoker.

Overall, this is a solid 4 star resort in my opinion. It's not the best we've visited but it's above average. Most people will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to learn that you spent ten very nice nights at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection.

In the name of all of our staff members we would like to thank you again for vacationing with us and we hope you could consider giving us the opportunity to host you again in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
11.4 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#13 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 9,928 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.