We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday - Recommend the Hotel Highly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Coalville, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday - Recommend the Hotel Highly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I returned from a 2 week stay at the Ambar on 26th May and must say that although we have stayed at a lot of the Bahia Principe resorts around the world, this was the best we have visited thus far. Perhaps this was because this was the first Don Pablo (Luxury) hotel we have stayed at in the chain.

As you will read from other reviews, the Bahia Principe is a huge complex consisting of 2 very large hotels (Bavaro & Punta Cana) and on either side 2 smaller, "higher grade" hotels, the Esmeralda and Ambar.

The Ambar is an Adults only hotel and the Esmeralda is a family Hotel. I like the size of the Ambar in that it is more intimate and everything is within 5 minutes walk which is great.

We were in Block 65 which was dead centre of the Ambar hotel and an ideal base. I would recommend a room in the 2nd or 3rd floor as the ground floor could be quite noisy due to people walking to and from the pool area, particularly in the morning.

All in all we had a great holiday. Food good, rooms spacious and clean, Pool and beach areas kept beautifully clean. You could tell the difference when walking along the beach when you left the Bahia Resort as immediately the beach became more littered with rubbish and seaweed which were not cleared away by other Hotels as well as the Bahia (RIU & Iberostar). one note on the beach area - great for swimming and watersports but no good for snorkelling as there are no fish to be seen.

We ate 50:50 between the A la Carte restaurants and buffet and enjoyed them all. We went to the oriental restaurant at the Esmeralda and the Garden Grill and Japanese restaurants in the Punta Cana/Bavaro hotels, as well as the A la Cartes on site in the Ambar, and enjoyed them all. Just a note that only the Don Pablo restaurant required men to wear long trousers, the others were all OK to wear smart shorts. If I were being picky, the Room Service menu was not as good as we have had available in the Dreams Resorts, although the food when delivered was of good quality and warm.

The pool area as I have said is good BUT the one failing appears to be that when the hotel is full, there are insufficient sun beds with shade. The result was that as we approached the US Memorial Day / UK Spring Bank Holiday weekend and the hotel filled up, you had to be down at the pool at 06:30 to ensure you could get a sunbed with shade which was a real pain! There were plenty of sunbeds available, just not those with shade. On the beach though there were plenty of beds with shade.

I would recommend the hotel to any adults to stay at, as we really appreciated the fact that it was an adults only hotel. We just wished though that some of the younger adults visiting from North America acted a little more maturely and did not insist on being so rowdy in the pool bar area as this did spoil the more tranquil feeling of the hotel which was enjoyed before the groups started turning up for the Memorial Day weekend.

Special mention of Blaudia in the Buffet and Don Pablo restaurant who seemed very efficient in her job to make sure every one was being seated and served efficiently. Also to mention Bianca who provided excellent pool drinks service "with a smile" which must be hard walking around all day in the tropical heat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sooty,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar as your holiday destination.

We would like to thank you for recommending us, sharing your experience, and for highlighting our fantastic personnel. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to Blaudia and Bianca, who will be happy to know that they were beyond expectations.

Best regards,

Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,333
    1,289
    497
    149
    91
See reviews for
368
3,825
65
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The most frustrating part of this vacation was the amount of time we spent in the lobby of the resort, either:
a) having to come back to the front desk over and over again waiting for the "manager", or checking on the status of the king-bed suite we were promised
b) getting scheduled for dinner at one of the ala carte restaurants (don't let them tell you that the restaurant you want is fully booked). Every night we ate at different restaurants and a majority of them were 1/2 to 3/4 full at most

We believe that we got second-class treatment since we booked through cheapcaribbean.com. My word of advice: don't let them relegate you to a double-bed suite if you indeed requested a king bed when you booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay at our hotel. Please be advised that room’s petitions and dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request.

We regret if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to. We are really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort it's huge and the people are so helpful and friendly . The a La carte restaraunts are gorgeous the food is fab especially don Pablo the lamb steaks I could eat all day , and the Asian is fab too , the buffets are nice but do get a bit repetitive but I think they all do wherever u go I think it's better to pay a bit extra for the Ambar so u can have as many a la cartes as you want . The pools are huge the Ambar is adults only which is great no one else can use them except Ambar guests but we can choose another 2 the esmerelda and Bavaro , the beach is the best crystal clear water and white sand you can walk for miles they is a fleet market about 30mins walk on beach it's ok and you can haggle which is good . Overall I would go again it was gorgeous .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Nicola,

We are extremely proud to know that you enjoyed an absolutely amazing stay at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resort as holiday destination.

Looking forward to seeing you soon in the Dominican Republic!

Kindest regards,

Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Been at the Ambar 4 times already (the last vacation February 2013 for 2 weeks) and planning to go back in August. It's an amazing place with such wonderful people. No matter which house you choose, they are all so close to everything.
The Michael Jackson show is great, but I would really like to have some nightly entertainment though right at Ambar. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there, and we were really surprised when we got to our room at night and found a large ribbon on the door with "Happy Anniversary" written on it, and the bathtub surrounded with flowers and filled with bubbles.
Our European friends and family from Europe joined us there for the celebration, and they were also very happy with the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Rosie,

We are proud to read that you were satisfied with the service from our staff, and even more, we are delighted to know that you were really surprised with the Anniversary details from our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar team.

Rest assured that we are already looking forward to have you with us again.

In the meantime we wish you all the best!

Regards from Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent variety of food and beautiful presentation. Felt like I was on a cruise. Enjoyed the fact that I was so close to the beach at the all adult Ambar. We were able to go to the adjacent properties to see the shows, try different a la carte restaurants . The a la carte restaurants were excellent and unlimited. Most resorts limit you to 2 or 3 only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Client,

It is wonderful to hear from you that you enjoyed the fact that you were close to the beach at our adults’ only hotel, Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar. Also, we would like to thank you for highlighting our excellent food and a la carte restaurants.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the Dominican Republic!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sixth visit to the Ambar and would recommend everything about it. We are beach people and the adults only area is great and never a problem to get a chair. The water is crystal clear and lovely sandy beach. Usually hit the pool area late in the afternoon for a drink and no problem finding a chair and pool bar great. The food very good at the buffets (always seemed to be replenishing and cleaning and found presentation very nice also), also went to the Don Pablo (best filet ever), Italian (Portofino) --also tried the Mexican . The service was good and a very good selection overall. The room was very clean and comfortable and no issues at all. Really enjoy the bar area/lobby in the evening as some nights had very nice music/dancing. Went to the Michael Jackson show and the circus show and both were good. Check in and check out were very good as no long waits and front desk were friendly--we arrived before check in time however room was ready which was great as a lot of places you have to wait. Used the gym regularly and a bit small and crowded a few days however could go to the larger gym at the Bavaro?? if you want.


A great relaxing vacation at a well run resort and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've had the luxury in spending 14 days in this wonderful resort (May 12 to 26). SERVICE is great, very nice and mature environment (gardens are so well maintained). Our Butler Emmanuel is our Best man!
Not to forget the other staff members who make you feel being part of their world. Room was also excellent, being on third floor, last unit before beach... could not ask for better spot. For sure, it will be a repeat vacation next year :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Roger,

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience at our Complex.

It is wonderful to know that you experienced a wonderful time with us and it is a pleasure to read that you are considering coming back to our Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,

Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.