We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mostly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Ambar the last week of February 2013. The trip was just what I needed! The resort was very clean and welcoming. It was overbooked but this was not evident for the most part. I would return here in a heartbeat if I could be assured that the service we received in the room is not repeated. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room so would not weigh this heavily in the overall rating because it did seem to be because of our particular maid. We had many things go wrong with the room: the ceiling fan didn't work, the TV remote did not work, the floor was dirty, a bloody tissue was found inside a brochure, we asked to be moved to be closer to the rest of our group (we were part of a group of 11 and the only room not with the rest), we kept being told we could move the next day when our stay was only four days. We didn't get wash clothes for two days, when our linens were replaced at turndown service, we still didn't get washcloths. Our mini bar was not restocked until we complained towards the end of our stay, not even the water! We did receive some compensation from the resort, such as a $100 in money to spend at the resort at the end of the stay after we already had souvenirs, etc. so it was kind of a wash. If we had a different maid, I think it would be a five star stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been share with the General Manager of our Resort.

Thank you for highlighting our clean and welcoming Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,875
    1,128
    416
    126
    74
See reviews for
308
3339
54
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sarnia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

darn had to come home,all most perfect again,few little flinches when ordering a drink from waitress could be 20 to 25 minute wait time.waitress cleaning off tables before dropping drinks off.ordered drink watched waitress with my drink coming my way, she stopped cleaned off tables before dropping my drink off,almost lke she wanted me to wait,no big deal wasen't dying of thirst , .same with swim up bar big waits.stood there and watched 10 new customers get served that came after me,had tip money in hand ready to leave because of no service waiter seen money in my hand then he was happy to wait on me.the poor waiters trucking a cross sand to wait on you almost where faster.but that would not stop me from going back to this resort.love this resort

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at this resort February 10th - 24th of this year. Upon my arrival to the resort everything presented very well. Greeting was great and check in very speedy and efficient. My room was very clean and I was very impressed with everything it provided. The choice of Buffet and a la carte's were exceptional. You had every choice of food and there was never a lack of it.
The grounds were very well kept. The beach was a min walk from the resort and was always clean and the water was great. The pool area was very spacious and always a lot of activity going on. There was never a lack of pool chairs available. As for the gym, this is a important part of my vacation and I was very disappointed with the lack and age of the equipment provided considering this was a 5 star resort. My second day there the pedal fell off the stationary bike which would only take minutes to repair but needless to say that bike did not present it's self for 6 days. The tread mills and the elliptical displays were only in spanish and every morning you had to wait in a long line to use them as there were only 3 pieces available. They removed the all in one home gym and when I asked where it went they indicated it was broken and being replaced, 4 days later is came back with a brand new paint job!! All in all the gym equipment is very old and out dated so I was disappointed.I would like to thank Desire and Bianca who were servers at the pool area, Marcos at the pool,Thomas in Guest Services, the two bartenders in the lobby bar Demicn and Maribel all these wonderful employees made my stay a very enjoyable experience. This was an awesome resort and I have already recommended it to my friends and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the buildings were very close together. In my opinion there really is no bad area for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as efficient check in, clean rooms, and exceptional restaurants. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Please be assured to your remarks about our Gym are taking into great consideration and have been share with the General Manager of our Resort.

Your nice comments will be forwarded to Desire, Bianca, Marcos, Thomas, Demic, and Maribel. They will be delighted to know your observations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the most fantastic vacations.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our 4th stay at Ambar was everything and more that we have come to expect. Every staff member has a smile and willing to help with anything. Our room was spotless, and our wonderful housekeeper kept it that way all week. Anything we asked for was provided.
Food was good at the buffet, service outstanding. The restaurants we went to were all good.
The grounds are breath taking, maintained to perfection.
Jose Lima, GM, Jorge, Antonio, Wilson and all the staff are amazing. Thank you for a wonderful magical 2 weeks in paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms are all great, resort is small so location is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

Thank you for acknowledging Mr. Lima, Jorge, Antonio and Wilson, who will be very happy to learn that they contributed to create a wonderful magical two weeks in paradise.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For those who don't want to read much:
GREAT! GO THERE! You wont be disappointed!

For those who want to know more details, follow the lines:

I've been to some really great places in the Caribbean, like Cuba, Guadeloupe, The Bahamas, Key West, but never to the Dominican Republic before. We chose this hotel because of the many great ratings on tripadvisor and did the right thing!

The Beach- the very reason we came here. And we weren't disappointed at all. Marvelous beaches, almost white sands, coconut palm trees and warm crystal clear water. Perfect.

The Food - the main restaurant is classic buffet style and offers everything one might wish for. Especially worth mentioning are two categories: fruit and sea food/fish; every day we had (bfast, lunch and dinner) Pineapple, Maracuja (passion fruit), Papaya, Banana, Mango, Melons (all sorts!!), some apples and grapes, though as decoration mostly; Banana grows (as well as the Mango) in the own backyard and comes as cake, juice, fried, baked, mashed, cooked, glazed with sugar or chocolate and as whole fruit of course;
Everyday we had shrimp (in every style possible, pls. refer to Forrest Gump movie for details), salmon (smoked, steak, filet, ....), tuna (salad, steal, ...), a variety of mussels and crab meat, and some days even lobster. Caviar in the morning, although only in our first of two weeks.
What a treat!

The Hotel Resort exterior - the gardening is amazing, there are exotic plants everywhere decorated with nice little details (rocks, shells, "antiques"...), the paths and paved ways are extraordinarily clean, as are the meadows in between. The whole area is a showcase and excellent example of cleanliness and hygiene. This goes especially for the beach and pool area and its facilities (the last time I've seen this meticulously cleaned toilets/restrooms was in Disneyworld!). Simply perfect!

The Hotel Resort interior - what I wrote for the exterior goes for the interior as well. Our room was maintained meticulously and decorated lovely (see pic), the whole mini bar refilled everyday (included!) with everything you might wish for. Still, here are (for the first time) some downsides: room walls are too thin, you can hear your neighbors when they speak/discuss/quarrel louder or pack suitcases at 5am. Door is too thin, so everyone slurping around in sandy flip flops can be heard. :(
And something rather disappointing for an 5-Star resort is the not so constant warm water flow when showering between 6 and 7pm, i.e. when everybody returns from the beach. So, this time an "almost perfect".

The People: this resort hosts mostly English speaking guests, mostly Canadians (who don't miss a chance to show that they are Canadian) and Americans (about 80%) and some Europeans (Swiss, Swedish, French/Belgian, Polish...);
luckily there were only a few Germans :) in my experience they are the ones getting up early in the morning to reserve their beds at the pool and the beach by putting their towels on the beds... but there was no need for making reservations of that kind - especially at the beach you will find plenty of available beds and umbrellas, even later during the day;

A word about the management and the staff:
Dear Hector, Emilio, Yairis, Melania and all the others - you are great! Thank you for everything!
We had the pleasure to meet the managing director of the Ambar on occasion. He is a very intelligent man, a real professional in the hotel business, speaking several languages fluently (English, Spanish, French, German!!).

One last thing, and I am not even sure if I should write it, but she made me sooo angry...: if you should have a complaint, address the front desk, NOT the customer service clerks. They are nice and friendly (thank you Tomas) but all they do is to call Ms. Idelyn Mieses, who is supposed to be the chief of customer relations, but it's not worth the time speaking to her. Whatever you say, she will make it sound like you are to blame, in other words she takes you for a fool....

Again, if you want an excellent resort in the Caribbean, consider the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar (Luxury Principe Ambar), it is worth going there!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

Your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to the good service from our employees. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to Hector, Emilio, Yairis, Melania and Tomas.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

At the risk of repeating all of the previous glowing reviews, let me say, they are correct! The Ambar is great in many ways, the staff, the food,(mostly), the drink service, the rooms.

The pool:

Security did the right thing each morning by picking up towels from chairs before 8. We went down early but one of our party stayed with the chairs. That system worked fine. The bar staff worked fast and poured a good drink. They do have better liquor there than most have mentioned, you just have to ask.

The food:

The main buffet was great. The two by the pool, hit and miss. We ate ala carte at Maiko, which was just ok, the Italian place at the Esmeralda, (which had a neat appetizer buffet along with the main course). Very good. The third place we ate at was Don Pablo, the best of the three. Lobster was very good as was my wife's filet.

The room:

Perfect. The AC struggled to keep it cool but by the time we went to bed it was very comfortable. Room service was prompt and will bring you extra of everything. You will need more water than they initially supply. We had a corner in the first building, 63301, and it was very large. Noise wasn't an issue.

The staff:

Everyone was friendly, they worked very hard to make sure all the guests were having a great time. (Special mention of Santa, who worked both the breakfast buffet and the night bar.) Extremely friendly and efficient. No one pushed for tips but they deserve all you can budget.

I guess the last thing to be said is that while it was our first time, we had already decided by day two that it wouldn't be our last.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such nice comments to all our staff, especially to Santa.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Four couples spent a week, and overall a good all-inclusive resort. The best grounds we have seen in any resort; and the beach was perfect. Food and drinks were good to average; service was good usually; sometimes slow around the pool. Make restaurant reservations as soon as you get there. Golfing if included in your package ~ watch out! It cost $190 for two people; club rental was $40 each; and cart was $55 each, even though we only had one cart, haha. Nice course though. Outback Jungle excursion was worth the cost if you want to learn about the people and see some of the Island. Jorge in the lobby will take good care of you. Marcos and Jose were fun Zumba and water aerobic teachers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.