We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first time to the DR and we were extremely impressed!! We traveled jan 16th-23rd for a two week honeymoon. We loved staying on the Ambar side (Adults only) and thought the service and staff were exceptional. Everyone was super helpful, friendly and accomodating. Our room was cleaned more than once a day, our fridge stocked and the grounds and gardens were kept in immaculate shape! The poolside and beach were fabulous. We loved having the individual littlel huts and the quiet/private Ambar beach. The beach workers always helped us find chairs even when the beach was full...Thanks Yayson:)
Overall our trip was amazing and we highly reccommend the resort to anyone traveling to Punta Cana!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor. If I got to choose for the next time I would probably pick the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Honeymoon.

It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to Yeison.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,077
    1,609
    589
    182
    111
See reviews for
483
4,655
83
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ambar which is part to the Principe. Way to big! could never find a chair on the beach or at the pool. Room service was poor service they will bring any alcohol brevage to your room excluding the all inclusive wine.
Its a beautiful resort but not for relaxation unless you want to spend most of your time in cart travellng to and from.
Also, VIP "time share" harrassed everyone. I really was disappointed and the food was just OK, I understand Dominican is a poor country but the resorts are not poor!
They need to focus on the consumer more.

I will not return.

Room Tip: Rooms close to pool and main level cause other floors have a big cement wall you cant see past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We regret to hear that your perception about room service was not positive, however be assured that your comments have already been brought to the Food & Beverage Manager attention.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at the Ambar with two girl friends and we really enjoyed this resort! The room are nice, the beaches are clean, the water is beautiful, the staff is nice (they’re even nicer if you interact with them and/or [try to] speak Spanish to them), the other guests are friendly, and the best part- no kids! This is an adult only, all-inclusive resort (including the beach area) and not having kids around made our 6 days so much better.

We felt safe walking around the resort at night and were very happy we chose to stay here!

Only one negative thing happened on our trip: the front desk employee forgot to give us our wrist bands on our first day. When we realized this, we went back to the front desk hours later and the front desk attendant said he DID give them to us, but he would issue us replacements and for us not to lose them again. Umm..he never gave them to us! Instead of scolding us for his mistake, he should have apologized for forgetting to issue them to us or should have just given them to us nicely. Oh well.

Tip: the best restaurant is the Don Pablo (French cuisine) and the snack bar near the pool serves good food.

Room Tip: the best restaurant is the Don Pablo (French cuisine) and the snack bar near the pool serves good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as nice room, clean beach, beautiful water, nice staff, and our only-adults Hotel. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
25 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Ambar from 2/6-2/13. This was our third time at Ambar, and we returned after a couple of years because our great past experiences. We booked our vacation about a year before through an online agent. When we arrived, we were told Ambar was overbooked so they had a room for us steps away at "Bravaro" for 2 nights before they could put us into Ambar housing. We would have all the same Ambar privileges except our room was a standard room located in "Bravaro". They would give us a hotel credit of $200 per night at a total of $400., and they would move us after the second night. We would have rather had them credit our credit card for $400, but they wouldn't. Then we started to book our dining a al carte restaurant reservations for our 7 nights at the Guest Relations desk. At first they only wanted to book the first 2 nights, but by this time, I became a bit more insistant, so they indeed allowed us to book the full week at that time. The represensive here was not accomodating until we asked him to refer to the Lobby Desk representatives. I also had to remind them to give us our $400 credit certificate so we could balance our bill at the end of the week. I have to say our Bravaro room was very nice and located right next to Ambar. (I saw many wristbands matching the brown ones we were given, so I am thinking they used this entire Bravaro building complex for Ambar overflow.) Anyway it took away some beach time when we had to move and live out of our suitcase for 2 days, but the resort is still the best except very crowded and of course overbooked. While traveling on the tram other people related their stories of the overbooking disappointments. One man said he slipped a $100 to the lobby desk clerk and all of a sudden an Ambar room became available. He saw a woman making some noise and a bit of a scene to get her Ambar room. I guess we just accepted their excuses. So my husband and I got 2 massages, and we bought other things we would not have otherwise wanted or needed if we didn't have the hotel credit. Be sure to ask where you can charge to your room for purchases because only a couple of their stores allow it. One store is located right in the Ambar Lobby. Other things that pleased and disappointed us was that they removed a lot of tropical growth from the beach area to add more palapas and loungers. Good and bad I suppose, because It was never a problem to find shade and lounges, but the natural beauty was diminished. Many restaurants are opening a half hour earlier to accomodate more people. Reminder the "Seafood Gala" every Thursday evening---no reservations required---get there by 6:30---any later and you will wait in line. The Ambar Lobby gives you free WiFi, bring laptops, smartphones, and tablets. The inroom safes are plenty large to hold all your electronics. The Lobby becomes loud and crowded at night with lots of entertainment/and music. This was another unwelcome change. Ambar has become loud and crowded. Request a quiet room away from the tram and/or Lobby area. Most people are from Russia, and Canada. About 10% from USA. Food is the best for an all inclusive. The snack bar near the beach is beautiful and you can eat outside in February. So except for a couple of burps...disappointments...Ambar delivered a great vacation, and I'd recommend it to others....Just be aware of the overbooking, and crowds. Would we return...probably.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving our services for our guests.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially our Wi-Fi and rich gastronomy offer.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was our second stay at Principe Ambar and it was the best - so far :)...
We were met by Maurice Cleane who showed us our room and gave us very clear and precise information about our stay in the resort. Then every time we met her at the lobby, she asked about our stay and offered assistance.
We stayed at a 60000 block, and we liked our room, it was very quite. Our housekeeper Carmen and others did outstanding job - the room was always very clean, plenty of towels, minibar supplies, etc
Special thanks to Jose - he did a wonderful job teaching us Tai Chi, Pilates and yoga.
He is a very good personal trainer - effective, professional and very flexible :), explaining everything in a detailed way and showing it immediately.
The service at restaurants was great and the food was good, especially at Don Pablo.
We also would like to thank Jose Garcia Lima for helping us to make this vacation special(it was our anniversary), and unforgettable.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good at Ambar. We preferred ground floor closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Anniversary. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

Please be assured your comments will be forwarded to Maurice, Jose, Carmen and Mr. Garcia.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My daughter and I did a girls vacation there a week ago and we had the best time. We stayed on the Ambar side of the resort which is adults only and it was amazing. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. Yeyson was the young man who took care of my daughter and my every need and he was amazing. We are ready to book again. So much to see and do while you are there also. It is a beautiful island with many different areas to explore. We went to many of the specialty restaurants and they were all amazing. I can't say enough good about this place. Can't wait to go back again and again.

Room Tip: We had a jr suite, close to the pool and it was convenient and had turn down service every night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Yeyson.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We travelled Jan 26 thru Feb.4th. This resort is definitely top knotch. We arrived at the GBP Ambar , reception and check in was easy , the room was perfect, but the best was welcoming staff. The grounds staff,house keeping staff, service staff in the restaurants made you feel like a most welcome guest. The people at guest services were extremely helpful in arranging reservations for dinner or tours. As everyone states this resort is very clean . The food was enjoyable, we dined everywhere and the food was very good. We would recommend this resort ,you won't be disappointed . It is hard to please everyone ,but I am sure most people enjoy this lovely resort. Congratulations to all the staff at the Ambar, and a Big Thank You for giving us some beautiful memories,we will return.
Many Thanks
David and Judy Hamilton Ont. Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as perfect rooms, welcoming staff, grounds and enjoyable food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to take this chance to thank you for recommending us and please be assured it wonderful to hear you are considering returning.

We will be looking forward to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.