We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at the Ambar with two girl friends and we really enjoyed this resort! The room are nice, the beaches are clean, the water is beautiful, the staff is nice (they’re even nicer if you interact with them and/or [try to] speak Spanish to them), the other guests are friendly, and the best part- no kids! This is an adult only, all-inclusive resort (including the beach area) and not having kids around made our 6 days so much better.

We felt safe walking around the resort at night and were very happy we chose to stay here!

Only one negative thing happened on our trip: the front desk employee forgot to give us our wrist bands on our first day. When we realized this, we went back to the front desk hours later and the front desk attendant said he DID give them to us, but he would issue us replacements and for us not to lose them again. Umm..he never gave them to us! Instead of scolding us for his mistake, he should have apologized for forgetting to issue them to us or should have just given them to us nicely. Oh well.

Tip: the best restaurant is the Don Pablo (French cuisine) and the snack bar near the pool serves good food.

Room Tip: the best restaurant is the Don Pablo (French cuisine) and the snack bar near the pool serves good fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as nice room, clean beach, beautiful water, nice staff, and our only-adults Hotel. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,335
    1,291
    498
    149
    91
See reviews for
368
3,827
65
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Ambar from 2/6-2/13. This was our third time at Ambar, and we returned after a couple of years because our great past experiences. We booked our vacation about a year before through an online agent. When we arrived, we were told Ambar was overbooked so they had a room for us steps away at "Bravaro" for 2 nights before they could put us into Ambar housing. We would have all the same Ambar privileges except our room was a standard room located in "Bravaro". They would give us a hotel credit of $200 per night at a total of $400., and they would move us after the second night. We would have rather had them credit our credit card for $400, but they wouldn't. Then we started to book our dining a al carte restaurant reservations for our 7 nights at the Guest Relations desk. At first they only wanted to book the first 2 nights, but by this time, I became a bit more insistant, so they indeed allowed us to book the full week at that time. The represensive here was not accomodating until we asked him to refer to the Lobby Desk representatives. I also had to remind them to give us our $400 credit certificate so we could balance our bill at the end of the week. I have to say our Bravaro room was very nice and located right next to Ambar. (I saw many wristbands matching the brown ones we were given, so I am thinking they used this entire Bravaro building complex for Ambar overflow.) Anyway it took away some beach time when we had to move and live out of our suitcase for 2 days, but the resort is still the best except very crowded and of course overbooked. While traveling on the tram other people related their stories of the overbooking disappointments. One man said he slipped a $100 to the lobby desk clerk and all of a sudden an Ambar room became available. He saw a woman making some noise and a bit of a scene to get her Ambar room. I guess we just accepted their excuses. So my husband and I got 2 massages, and we bought other things we would not have otherwise wanted or needed if we didn't have the hotel credit. Be sure to ask where you can charge to your room for purchases because only a couple of their stores allow it. One store is located right in the Ambar Lobby. Other things that pleased and disappointed us was that they removed a lot of tropical growth from the beach area to add more palapas and loungers. Good and bad I suppose, because It was never a problem to find shade and lounges, but the natural beauty was diminished. Many restaurants are opening a half hour earlier to accomodate more people. Reminder the "Seafood Gala" every Thursday evening---no reservations required---get there by 6:30---any later and you will wait in line. The Ambar Lobby gives you free WiFi, bring laptops, smartphones, and tablets. The inroom safes are plenty large to hold all your electronics. The Lobby becomes loud and crowded at night with lots of entertainment/and music. This was another unwelcome change. Ambar has become loud and crowded. Request a quiet room away from the tram and/or Lobby area. Most people are from Russia, and Canada. About 10% from USA. Food is the best for an all inclusive. The snack bar near the beach is beautiful and you can eat outside in February. So except for a couple of burps...disappointments...Ambar delivered a great vacation, and I'd recommend it to others....Just be aware of the overbooking, and crowds. Would we return...probably.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving our services for our guests.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially our Wi-Fi and rich gastronomy offer.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and be able to change any negative perception, demonstrating you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was our second stay at Principe Ambar and it was the best - so far :)...
We were met by Maurice Cleane who showed us our room and gave us very clear and precise information about our stay in the resort. Then every time we met her at the lobby, she asked about our stay and offered assistance.
We stayed at a 60000 block, and we liked our room, it was very quite. Our housekeeper Carmen and others did outstanding job - the room was always very clean, plenty of towels, minibar supplies, etc
Special thanks to Jose - he did a wonderful job teaching us Tai Chi, Pilates and yoga.
He is a very good personal trainer - effective, professional and very flexible :), explaining everything in a detailed way and showing it immediately.
The service at restaurants was great and the food was good, especially at Don Pablo.
We also would like to thank Jose Garcia Lima for helping us to make this vacation special(it was our anniversary), and unforgettable.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good at Ambar. We preferred ground floor closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Anniversary. We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

Please be assured your comments will be forwarded to Maurice, Jose, Carmen and Mr. Garcia.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My daughter and I did a girls vacation there a week ago and we had the best time. We stayed on the Ambar side of the resort which is adults only and it was amazing. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. Yeyson was the young man who took care of my daughter and my every need and he was amazing. We are ready to book again. So much to see and do while you are there also. It is a beautiful island with many different areas to explore. We went to many of the specialty restaurants and they were all amazing. I can't say enough good about this place. Can't wait to go back again and again.

Room Tip: We had a jr suite, close to the pool and it was convenient and had turn down service every night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Yeyson.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We travelled Jan 26 thru Feb.4th. This resort is definitely top knotch. We arrived at the GBP Ambar , reception and check in was easy , the room was perfect, but the best was welcoming staff. The grounds staff,house keeping staff, service staff in the restaurants made you feel like a most welcome guest. The people at guest services were extremely helpful in arranging reservations for dinner or tours. As everyone states this resort is very clean . The food was enjoyable, we dined everywhere and the food was very good. We would recommend this resort ,you won't be disappointed . It is hard to please everyone ,but I am sure most people enjoy this lovely resort. Congratulations to all the staff at the Ambar, and a Big Thank You for giving us some beautiful memories,we will return.
Many Thanks
David and Judy Hamilton Ont. Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as perfect rooms, welcoming staff, grounds and enjoyable food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to take this chance to thank you for recommending us and please be assured it wonderful to hear you are considering returning.

We will be looking forward to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelram
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Although I've been to DR many times (my parents are Dominican), I had never been to Punta Cana. Unfortunately, my family and I have stayed at our fair share of mediocre hotels in DR, so I wanted to make sure that that we did our research and found a great hotel. Did we hit the jackpot!

Our stay was incredible. Amazing customer service, delicious food, tasteful/spacious rooms, beautiful pools and great entertainment. It's small enough were you can walk everywhere within the resort. If you want to go to see the shows or go to the club, you'll need to take a trolley.
Only two watch outs:
1. the gym is very small and gets very crowded, especially when it first opens in the morning
2. the beach had seaweed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our amazing service, delicious food, spacious rooms, beautiful pools and great entertainment.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoney creek, Ontario Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff at the hotel were second to none. Everyone was friendly and eager to help you in any way they could. I liked the all adult atmosphere. It was quiet and peaceful and we stayed in Building 63 and the music didn't bother us at all. The room was always spotless and the pool area was beautiful and spotless as well. It was like the botanical gardens at this resort and the ambiance couldn't be better. I would stay here again for sure as they treated you as royalty and tried to solve all of your quires. It certainly is worth the money as you will have a great time.

Room Tip: I would like to have stayed in building 64 right near the pool area but there were no rooms availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as friendly staff, spotless rooms, beautiful pools and lovely grounds. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and we are glad to have provided you a relaxing vacation. It is a pleasure to hear you are considering visiting us again.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for recommending us.

We will be looking forward to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.