We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome would be the most descriptive word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome would be the most descriptive word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My spouse and I had not been on a vacation in many, many moons and the Bahai Principe Ambar has certainly set our bar high for the next one. We were there for two weeks mid to late April 2012.

We arrived at noon and were aware that check-in time was not until 3 pm so we just changed into something cool (really humid) and spent some time wandering around the resort to get a feel for where things were - by 2 pm our room was ready.

Our room was amazing - bright, clean and the bar was always well stocked. We did leave a tip for housekeeping - a couple of dollars or sometimes, hair accessories, toothbrush & toothpaste or every children's items.

The room was always clean with beautiful hibiscus on the bed and in the bathroom daily.

We are not Spanish so communication was sometimes a little challenging but you have to remember something about when you are travelling, you are not in your home country so the language can be different depending on what you speak. However we made every effort to try to learn some of the lingo and by making the effort, the resort staff made more of an effort to try to communicate with us if we didn't understand. In doing so, we made more friends and everyone was even more hospitable than they already were.

Couldn't complain about the weather - in the 2 weeks that we were there, there was only one day when it really rained - litterally POURED, up until around 1:30 - after that, the sun shining again.

We pretty much stuck to the Ambar resort itself. Love kids but it was nice not to have any around for the brief time we were there. On the odd occasion when someone not from the Ambar wandered in, they were quickly escorted out in a very cordial manner.

The shows each night were very well done!! Casino was small but then, we were there to enjoy the sun not the inside of a casino.

There are a lot of excursions to do and since we were there for 2 weeks, we did one every second day and all but one was a half day. The most amazing was swimming with the dolphins - out in an ocean setting, only 4 couples with 2 dolphins.

A couple of things to remember:
- pool chairs are on a 1st come 1st serve basis and people would put their towels or belonings on a chair at 7 am and then go off to have breakfast BUT, if you do that before 8 am, security will take your stuff as the pool doesn't open until then
- if you wanted to get some US dollars, the bank machines only give out peso - we had to take a taxi over to the hardrock cafe to go to the casino there to get US $$.
- make sure you take some anti-histamines and maybe some hydacortisone with you. A few people there were getting sand flee bites. I got a few mid-second week and they are itchy beyond belief and really swell up. Had to get some anti-histamines from the pharmacy there (12 for $24.00) - it took the itching away but the bites didn't go away for a couple of weeks.

Aside from that, it was one of the most awesome trips that I've taken. When leaving there is a questionnaire to complete - feedback for them - the only negative thing that we could say is that we had to leave to go home!

Wouldn't hesitate to go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar.

We are extremely proud to have provided you an awesome trip, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. All of our staff will be delighted to learn your feedback.

It’s very satisfying to know that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations and will be a pleasure to welcoming you once again.

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,330
    1,288
    496
    149
    91
See reviews for
368
3,822
65
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Ambar during the last week of Nov. with my husband and my parents. I had e-mailed the hotel 2 weeks before we went letting them know we had recently celebrated our 10th anniversary and we were requesting king size beds for both rooms and the rooms to be close together. All our requests were met, along with a gift on the bed of 2 shirts and a bottle of rum, with a note saying Happy Anniversary...it was a nice touch. The rooms are beautiful and very spacious. The bathroom had a nice jacuzzi tub with a separate shower. There was a sitting area along with the 4 poster King bed. We were in building 62 which was very central to the pool and the lobby. I don't know what the al a carte restaurants were like because we only ate at the buffet for dinner each night. There is a large selection of food and something for anyones taste. I would give the hotel itself a 5 star and the food a 4 star. The place is spotless and we walked around the whole resort. Every staff member we came in contact with was very attentive and happy. Whenever my husband asked for ice for the room it was brought to us within 10 minutes. He also requested more chips in our mini fridge one day, then we ended up getting double each day after that. We played mini golf one day and it only took about a 15 min walk to get to. You can use the trolly system which is pretty straight forward, it just depends if you prefer to walk or not. I enjoyed the pool at the Ambar, but the only change I would make is to have music playing all day. The louder pool is at the Esmerelda, but you also get the crowd and screaming kids, so we opted to stay at the Ambar pool. Overall I would say this is an excellent hotel with great staff who are always working hard. It is a huge resort though, so it depends whether you like the bigger or smaller resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that we could fulfill your expectations during your 10th Anniversary.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays especially because our beautiful rooms, good food and attentiveness from our employees. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and have the opportunity to continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I just spent 10 days in this beautiful resort for our honeymoon! It was absolutely amazing and I'd stay here again! The Ambar is a smaller resort on a larger resort campus. This one was truely adults only while the rest of the complex had kids. It was peaceful and relaxing! The Ambar is also closest to the beach so no need to take a bus to get there like those that stayed in some of the other properties at Bahia Principe. Being at the Ambar had its privelages! We could go to any of the restaurants on the entire property as well as our own-others resorts could not do the same and come to the Ambar. My husband emailed the property a month a head of time to get one of the preferred rooms closer to the pool and ocean but they didn't have any available at the time of check in. They did, however, upgrade us to a corner room ( a bit larger) in building 66 (66201). My recommendation is to stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor because the first floor gets a bit noisy with people pulling luggage and walking through (lots of echoes).

We were up every morning by about 7:30 at the pool to read and stake our claim on in one of the lounge chairs so that we could have some coverage from the sun. A note-do not leave your items unattended prior to 8am because the "pool chair police" will remove your items because you can't reserve or lay your stuff down until after the pool opens at 8am.

Breakfast was traditional buffett and was good-I recommend putting in a waffle station! Don Pablo and the japanese steakhouse were our favorites. We didn't like El Pescador or the BBQ restaurant and wound up going to the buffett that night after a few bites. I recommend emailing your reservations at least a week a head of time because you will have difficulty booking them when you get there! The poolside restaurant was great for lunch-it was buffett style and had a variety to offer-I loved the pialla!

The bed was a bit firmer than I'd like and the pillows were not the greatest. The room was always well taken care of and we were suprised to flowers, champaigne, and a bubble bath in our room one night and then another night of rose petals and a beautiful heart on our bed another night. We tipped our housekeeper daily and he kept our room stocked with the pepsi-light and water! I always wondered though what the ice bucket was for because we never found the ice machine! The rooms were somewhat warm but we had them come take a look at it and then no issues. We recommend making sure that the patio door is secured shut-if not it will turn the AC off. Also, to keep the room cooler-open the closet door (there's a vent in there that seemed to help keep ours cooler). We left one key in the power slot by the door and the housekeepers didn't mess with it or remove it to conserve energy so our room was nice and cool every time we came back to the room.

The beach was always well maintained and for those that mentioned seaweed-well it's an ocean and waves do bring it up occasionally but we didn't have anything major prevent us from enjoying our time in the water. Every morning it was raked up and we barely had any floating around us in the afternoon.

Getting around the property was fairly easy-they gave us a map and we used it occasionally to get to the other side for dinner but for the most part we had no problems. We took the "bus" up front to do some shopping and look around as well.

I wanted to say thank you to the staff at this resort for making our honeymoon amazing!

Room Tip: Corner suites in building 64 are prime. Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Customers,

Receive warm greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We truly appreciate all feedback so we thank you for taking some of your valuable time to post a review about your honeymoon at our Luxury BP Ámbar.

We are more than satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay at our hotel and, that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the professionalism and friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to our Luxury BP Ámbar staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at our Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort.

Kindest regards from Bávaro!!

Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went on our Honeymoon the dates of Oct. 21- Oct. 27 2012. We LOVED this hotel and resort complex. We stayed at Ambar because we wanted an adults only experience.

Only down fall was the rain. It rained 3 out of 5 days. This also happened to be the time hurricane Sandy was traveling through the tropics. We didn't directly get affected just rain and overcast.

The main pool area for Ambar was never busy and always had availabe seats and a large pool bar. It was really beautiful at night with the lights around the pool. The beach was even nicer. Of course the section right in front of our hotel was adults only. There were a few topless women and lots of European men in really small swim undies.

The food was ok. We always had good service. The wait staff was great and always helpful. More staff to help make dinner reservations would be helpful.

The sports bar at the main Bavaro resort was nice they had Karokee every night but Monday. They also have a small casino and a disco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Customers,

Receive warm greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our Luxury BP Ámbar. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your Honeymoon.

We will be more than happy to welcome you once again at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro to experience the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services and facilities.

Best Regards from Bávaro!

Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful adults only section of hotel within the very large GBP complex in Punta Cana. Lovely larger jr suite rooms. Close to the beach. Lots of space between beach palapas. Spotlessly clean at all times. Very pleasant staff. Great Tai Chi and yoga classes right on the beach. Excellent Zumba dance class every day by the adult pool. delicious food but varied service. Gorgeous grounds! The gardeners do an amazing job! Congrats to all. Only difficulty was finding a trolley for a ride. This property would not be suitable for physically challenged travellers. Especially at night. Lots of long walks to things, especially the theatre productions. Ensure to take a fan and a flashlight! A little unnerving for solo female travellers. The ocean and beach were amazing!
I would go back, but definitely never during high season. It would be crazy busy! It was still quite busy in November. All the other sections were very busy. Quite a surprise.

Room Tip: Request a room close to pool and beach. Building 65 was great! Very convenient to everything within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Customer,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire staff working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay at our Luxury BP Ámbar and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon...

Best regards from Bávaro!!

Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back from a week of fun in the sun at the Ambar. Thanks to Brooklin and the other Trip Advisor experts for helping me choose a great resort! I was extremely happy with the choice and would go back in an instant.

Arrival -

Booked a private transfer using Caribbean Dream, they were on time and waiting as promised, I highly recommend. Got to the resort in about 25 minutes. Within seconds of arriving at the Bavaro we were loaded onto one of their trams and driven to the Ambar. Check In was seamless and room was ready at 4pm.

Went to guest services and my reservations were already made (emailed them ahead of time) with my requested selections. They handed me my slips and I was off to the room.

Room -

Requested a building by the pool, but ended up in 64. This was perfect since it was close to the pool and lobby. All buildings are close to everything. Note, there are no elevators and the first floor hallway can get loud. Second floor worked out well for me. Room was clean, well stocked mini fridge. Wasn't the coldest fridge but things got cold overnight. They provide a couple of cans of Presidente, some pepsi products, water, nips, etc. They were happy to fill it with whatever you request (we did tip well). Beds were pillow top and comfortable. Pillows were fine. This is an all inclusive in the Dominican, the negative reviewers must have crazy high expectations. (I am Marriott Gold and my back was much happier at the Ambar!)


The Pool Scene -

Headed right to the pool bar and met some of the friendliest, chill people I have encountered in a while. In fact, within 10 minutes, we had friends for the week! There were a lot of Europeans (primarily Russian and German) along with tons of Canadians. The big joke was calling it Punta CanaDA!

Good selections of Rum (Brugal, Barcelo, etc) Presidente on tap. Mamajuana shots for all. Frozen drink machines, etc. Not as top shelf as resorts I have stayed at in Mexico but I am a realist and feel that I got decent drinks at an unbelievable value. Pool bar was always hopping, there was music every day at the pool, zumba, bingo, skits, etc. I am shocked that people thought this was boring. We had so much fun at the pool! In fact, with our Ambar bracelet we had access to the other resorts and took a self-made "tour" of the pools and bars at the Esmeralda, Bavaro and Punta Cana and thought the Adults-Only Ambar had the best vibe. The Esmeralda pool seemed a bit nicer - Think South Beach, but there were kids...

Pool closes at 6pm, but on several nights we stayed in until 6:30pm or so and it was dark by then.

Beach

Beach was very nice. Lots of chairs, never had an issue. Waves were a little rough (yellow flag). Had a few good sessions bouncing around in a tube. Nice little bar with drinks is available.

Food -

Buffets were good. In fact the rotisserie chicken at Las Brisas by the pool was amazing. There were plenty of salads, veggies, pasta (sauce is a bit "chef boyardee"), nachos, soup, burgers, hot dogs, etc. At the main lobby (Palmyra) buffet, there was more of a selection (steaks, lobster, crab legs, etc). They also have a made to order pasta section with four sauces. Breakfast was great. Traditional American style with eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, toast, muffins, fruit, and much more. Went to lunch at Palmyra for the first few days, but then decided to eat by the pool and was just as content.

I thought that the a la cartes were hit or miss. Started with Bella Italia and it took over 2 hours. Kind of a long time when you've been sitting in the sun with drinks all day. Food wasn't anything special. In fact I thought the selections were a bit too far from my expectations for Italian food. (Fried gorgonzola, fried artichokes, etc. My dinner ended up being a deep fried chicken cutlet, stuffed with cheese and spinach). But hey, I am from the Northeast so I know good Italian food! I ended up cancelling Portofino and El Olivio based on my experience at Bella Italia. Garden Grille and Santa Fe (Tex-Mex) were more to my taste and I enjoyed the appetizers and steaks very much. I recommended to friends and they agreed. Don Pablo was very nice, the filet mignon was perfect. Order the bananas foster and they will cook them with flames at your table.

If your primary activity for the evening is dinner, they you can have a nice leisurely meal at the a la cartes. For me, I preferred to spend less time eating and more time at the lobby bar. Either way, the food was good at both. For more choices, choose the buffet.

Didn't try room service.

Nightlife

Lobby bar is open until 11:30pm and is nice and busy. There is music at night, and some dancing. Drink selection is better than the pool. If you want to stay later, just order a few extra drinks at last call. It is true that the theater and pueblo principe are a bit far, it was no more than a 10min walk. Anytime we wanted, there was a shuttle waiting at the lobby to take us. Never tried the bus stops.

The Pueblo Principe has an outdoor show at 11pm. There is tons of shopping. There is a small casino, Karaoke/Sports Bar and a disco. The Karaoke/Sports bar closes at 1. It was fun, but they do sell some beers for an upcharge and may try to tell you there is no Presidente (there is!). Disco opens at midnight and was a blast.

Theater is currently doing one 9:45pm show. Stopped by Michael Jackson and it was good but very crowded. Get there early and you will be fine.

Staff

Staff was awesome! Desiree, Elvis and Domingo at the pool bar were incredible and made the trip! Enerolisa at the lobby bar was great too. Front desk and guest services were also very nice and courteous. Have fun and they will love you and treat you like kings and queens. My guess is that they just don't bend over backwards for complainers.

Spa

Spa was ok. Kind of small. Paid $70 for a 50 min Caribbean Relaxation Massage. No real "spa" to hang out in afterwards. We drove by another huge spa at that Bavaro. You may want to try that spa for more options, not sure.

Overall

I have been to six all inclusives in Mexico (Barcelo, Iberostar) and decided to try something different. I was happily surprised by the Ambar! Grounds were immaculate. Has a smaller "feel" than the big resorts I have stayed at in the past. The staff and other guests were amazing, the food was better overall than what I encountered in Mexico. I gave this 5 stars because it far exceeds what I expect at this price. I read all the reviews and I would say the experience was much better than I thought. Heck, we were with friends that previously stayed at Fountainbleau in Miami that also loved it.

If you want an amazingly beautiful resort with great people for an very reasonable price look no further. If you are a diva that will only drink Patron and want a private cabana, keep looking!

Room Tip: For light sleepers choose a 2nd or 3rd floor. First floor hallway is a main thoroughfare to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Please allow us to affirm with your comments that our staff is providing our guests with the natural, warm, and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Thank you for highlighting our personnel and please be assured that your wonderful observations will be forwarded to them.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we exceed your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back again and again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Ambar section that was adults only. It was a wonderful vacation! Our butler Maurice (Clee-ann) was an angel! She was very attentive to us, checked in with us daily and addressed our every need. It was great to have such a wonderful person to help us. There was definitely a language barrier with many of the people, but Maurice saw to it that we understood everything and created a fantastic trip for us. It was our anniversary and she set up such a romantic scene in our room with a bubble filled jacuzzi and rose petals everywhere. It was candle lit and she treated us to a bottle of champagne! What a terrific butler she was. Everything went so smooth and the resort is clean and food was good. The beaches are beautiful and the water so clear and turquoise. I read some of the reviews before we went and I was a little leary about some things. But, all that disappeared within our first hour there. Yes, there was seaweed that washed up on the beach, but the resort personnel clean it up immediately...it's mother nature and can't be helped. The food was full of variety. Yes, there were things that we didn't care for, but I find that at home too in restaurants. We did not go hungry and there was always something we could find that was delicious. The pool entertainment was awesome too. Marco and Yannette (I think that was her name) were so entertaining and engaged the audience every day. They made it fun to participate in all the games and dancing and zumba! WE HAD A BLAST! The resort is big, and while that seemed to be a complaint in some of the reviews that I read, we did not view that as a problem, but as a plus. There was always something to do if you wanted to participate. If not, there were quiet places as well. The shuttles ran so frequently, we never waited more than 5 minutes for one. However, most times we walked because we enjoyed the scenery and needed to walk off the big meal! lol All in all, this is a 5 star resort and the best of the best with the best people working there. They all were attentive and tried very hard to please the guests. We will go back, I'm sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Anniversary.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the attentiveness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Maurice, Marco and Yannette. They will be very delighted to learn your observations.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 pool Sun terrace with sun umbrellas and loungers Relaxation zone with Bali beds Outdoor Jacuzzi BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additionalcharge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffetrestaurant 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars 1 snack- bar Gazebo de bodas Smokers' lounge with bar service (cigar menu with additional charge) Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms 528 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Ceiling fan Air conditioning Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making machine Minibar Safe Butler service 24 hour room service Evening turndown service Pillow menu 2 disabled rooms for a maximum of 3 adults Prime location right on the sea front Exclusive lake-style pool Aroma menu WiFi (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.