We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to a great start!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Ranked #45 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
“Off to a great start!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We arrived at Grand Príncipe Bahía yesterday after a hectic trip, without any suitcases, because they were misplaced by the airline. We were happy to be here, but tired and a little angry. That all changed when we got to the main desk for check in. Ruth welcomed us with the biggest smile and perfect English (I speak Spanish, but my husband prefers English). She helped us through the entire process of getting our bags back and went above and beyond to see we were comfortable and taken care of.

When I came into the lobby today and greeted Ruth, she called me by my first name! It was awesome she remembered. My husband and I are very happy that all this got sorted out.

We've only been here for two days, but Ruth has definitely become our preferred point of contact for the trip. She's been the icing on an already great experience at a very nice hotel with very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,209
    567
    214
    139
See reviews for
1,328
1,700
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Patchogue, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed at this property for 11 days and found everything we wanted and more at this location. Outside excursions were readily available for purchase but there was plenty to do (or not do) at the resort. Very large property sitting on miles of a beautifully groomed beach. Surprisingly, no shells to collect but clear, warm blue water. The food at the resort, especially at the buffet where it is usually just buffet food, was exceptional - themed each night with plenty of choices. Even on the days we made it to the buffet for lunch, we were surprised that the food was not your typical buffet and the service was always ample. The tables were set with tablecloths and cloth napkins - a cut above the usual. We followed the recommendations from previous vacationers and booked the specialty restaurants immediately upon arrival but landed up cancelling one of them because we loved the buffet so much. We're not big drinkers but made the effort to indulge and the beer was light and tasty and the drinks were not watered down. All in all, we decided that we will come back with all the kids some day soon for a big family vacation. We highly recommend staying here......worth it!

Room Tip: All the rooms come with a balcony and spacious sitting room but for an additional fee, you can book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came to this resort after never having traveled to DR before and had only ever stayed at one other all-inclusive and was not sure what to expect.

The resort is huge and well maintained. The staff are friendly and work very hard.

We could not have asked for more beautiful weather.

If ever we come back to Dominican Republic, this will be our first choice.

Just a note to anyone who like to complain: If you go anywhere expecting perfection, you will not find it.

Room Tip: Room accommodations are inconsequential as you will be out and about enjoying all that this resort h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Gwendolin,

All our team working will be motivated with your comments and learn that you had a fantastic vacation with us despite you didn’t know what to expect from your trip.

We wish to see you in the near future and provide you a lovely holiday in paradise.

Greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with dad and two friends mid April. Resort is massive, if that's a problem pick another place. That being said, the shuttles run constantly so there really isn't much walking. We were in the golden section, I highly recommend it. Makes check in and out really easy, rooms are close to the beach and pool and gets you 4 a la cartes. Rooms were all we needed, beds very comfortable,bathroom large and a nice deck. Food is great! Not sure why ppl are saying cold food?? Breakfast was great every morning, fresh omelettes, eggs any style, lots of bacon and fresh shakes(banana shake is great!!) lunch great, with great service. Had dinner in buffet for dinner twice, great both times, 4 a la cartes, all were good, again great service. Mexican and Dominican were my favourites. Wish I had gotten our waitresses name at Dominican, she was fun, great service and we had fun doing the momajuana shots!! Solo?? Waiter at Mediteranean restaurant and lunch at pool was great. He'd go out of his way to say hello to dad, he called him super papa. Donald the man doing eggs/omelettes in Buffett was great, how he did that many eggs with a smile and saying hello amazed me, I wouldn't of been smiling like him. They seem to be a little stingy with the booze at beach and pool by beach, but just ask for more and it's solved. I'd go back for sure and for the first time in 7 years of doing these trips I was not ready to go home at the end of 7 days.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ben,

For all of us it is delightful to learn that our hotel was just what you needed in your vacation. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our premises, helpful service made by the staff, and of course the dinners you did at the restaurants, especially your favorite one, the Mexican.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to host you once again in Punta Cana. Feel welcome to contact us for your visit to prepare all the details before your arrival.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited the resort for 2 weeks over the Easter holidays...it's an amazing resort and would definitely recommend it. Loved the animation team at the Garden Grill Pool (Felipe & Ramon) and lovely to see Iris again at the Punta Cana Buffett. Definitely go and see all the evening shows and join in with the games around the pool (so much fun). Enjoyed it so much we are booking again for next year. It's the only place I've been and actually come home feeling like I've had a holiday x

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

It truly delights us to hear that our outstanding services make you want to stay and provide you an amazing family holiday. We want to take this opportunity to thank you for such positive comments and for praising our great animation team at the pool.

Receive cordial greetings from the Dominican Republic and looking forward to see you again for next year.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I don't like to complain but if there's anything I can say is....I particularly booked this hotel because of the water park. Putting my kids first I love the water park for them. But to our surprise my daughter age 13 was not allowed to use the slides with her smaller brother. Dumb!!!! We wasted our time waiting for the trolly which came within 5 min and a short ride for the kids to be disappointed that they couldn't slide together. But for little kids the water park is very nice.

I had a garden view room, did not like the ground floor. I should have asked for a higher floor. Oh well. The gardens are well maintained and keep your balcony semi private. I was fine with it. We had two double beds and a sofa bed. Great for us 4, comfy beds, my daughter slep on sofa bed comfortably for 5 nights. Her own space. Room size is nice . Tv reception sucked but we still watched. Bathroom is nice. Did not trust jet tub. Rain shower head dirty, did not use. Used detachable head instead, that was mold free. Safe is 4 per day make sure to get during chec in otherwise you will get new keys which I got automatically no waiting. Air conditioner awesome in the room and a ceiling fan. Mini bar with presidente canned beer, orange soda, Pepsi and water included. Can ask maid to replace no problem. Ice had to call front desk. Didn't like that. Had to tip. There is a private pool with cabanas for adults only. Did not use. I'm with family. Walk to the beach about 10min I didn't mind. Trolly passes frequently from 530am to 3am. Food was better on most days. Breakfast buffet varies but lunch time is same , burgers yuk, hotdogs ok. Fries good, many salads and desserts, fruits. Dinner was great. Was given reservations for 3 restaurants for a 5 night stay. Call 1 week before arrival for reservations.
I liked that there were a lot of workers maintaining the property. I felt safe to see workers all around. Spring break was not as crowded as I thought it would be bt took some time to find beach/pool chair. Pools bars great. Pool water very clean. Inflatable slides for kids by the pool lots of fun! People are very polite. Loved it great time. Kids even loved the night shows. No transportation to and from airport. 40 dollars each way. Do buy tourist cards online. I passed a long line and got into a cab asap. Hotel about 20 min away. Tours are great did the buggiies and the speed boats well worth it. Beach water had lots of sea weed in most areas but beautiful water still. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if you can and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jocelyn,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know that your kids loved the water park and the entertainment night.

You are more than welcome to contact us for a next visit to any of our hotels that forms our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts family.

Looking forward to welcome you in a heartbeat!

Warmest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have never been to a destination wedding before. The venue from from start to finish was top notch!! (Wedding day) The food at the buffet was excellent. So many choices. The beach & pools were good as well. But....I would never go back there again!! Too many bugs!!! (Mosquitoes, sand fleas and flys) It's a huge resort that relies on trolleys to shuttle you between your room, beach and lobby. Between the beach and lobby there is a swamp (for the lack of better words to describe it) that the trolley travels over. It's stagnate water that smells like sewer!!! It's a breeding ground for mosquitoes!! My husband has traveled to many Caribbean destinations and has never had blisters from bites!! After our second day, we had to go to the resort doctor. His bites had turned into blisters that were filled with yellow liquid and were oozing. (Gross) The Doctor told him that some people have had an inflammatory response to these bites but he assured us it was rare. After looking online it can be quite common. Some mosquitoes will incubate eggs under your skin & that's what happened to my husband. We will never go back!!!!! That (sewer/swamp) needs to be filled in!!! We stayed there April 3-10th 2015.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Jo-Anne,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that we could fulfill your expectations during your daughter´s wedding.

In relation to your opinion about the mosquitoes, let us state you that our rooms and all the areas are subject to strict supervision. In fact, the health and welfare of our guests are our priority and we follow a strict program of cleaning and constant monitoring of all quality standards in our hotel. We follow insects control programs which are carried out continuously.

Our Company has a consultant an international and well-known company named Cristal America, which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures.

Your observations are the most important for us and we really take it in the highest consideration.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.