We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation at a great resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation at a great resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my third time staying at a Bahia Principe resort (the others were in Puerta Plata and Mayan Riveria) and I was once again very satisfied! Rooms were clean, food was fantastic, grounds were very well maintained, and the staff went out of their way to make our experience very enjoyable! A special mention to two gentlemen from the Punta Cana pool bar who provided exceptional service with smiles on their faces the whole week we were there. Hugo and Enrique were fantastic and I thank them for that! We met so many great people and can't wait to visit a Bahia in the future!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Christine,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel and for mentioning the fantastic food, well maintained grounds, clean rooms and the amazing staff, especially Hugo and Enrique. It is wonderful to read that cannot wait to come back to this Paradise.

Warm greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,993
    1,111
    500
    197
    124
See reviews for
1,233
1,573
54
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The resort is fabulous, it is very clean, The staff is excellent, from the wait staff for dining, to the housekeeping staff who cleans your room, the grounds keepers and the shuttle drivers and of course the bartenders are wonderful. A lot of them do not speak very good English but they try very hard to please. We were impressed. Its obvious they want your business, I hope they all get to keep the tips they receive, these people work hard for there money!! I do wish the room safe was included, all rooms should include a safe. Oh and the food! It was excellent and a large selection daily!! Nice job to the people who prepare the food and make sure your dining experience is pleasant... This was a great vacation. The property is a little overwhelming when you first get there, its very large and you need shuttles to get around, we never waited long for a shuttle, and after a day or so, you have it all figured out! and its nice to walk and get exercise, You never feel confined!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Charlotte,

We are glad to read that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation thanks to our outstanding and great selection of food and friendly staff. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and we were able to provide you a pleasant experienced.

Rest assured that it will be a pleasure to cater you once again in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings from Punta Cana,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. The people are amazing. The food was superb. Absolutely no complaints on my part. What a wonderful place for singles, couples, and families.

Johanna and Romona at the front desk were wonderful people. Along with our travel guides on our outback safari excursion (Eddy and Papi). Thank you so much to everyone in the Dominican Republic who made our stay more than we could have asked for

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Samantha,

We are proud to hear that you had an amazing stay due to the amazing people, superb food and the beauty of our hotel.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to continue demonstrating you our commitment to excellence.

Thank you so much for choosing us as your holiday destination.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Resort was fabulous especially the bar tenders Wilson and Felix pool #4. One small thing..... Paying for a room safe? Should be included one room in our party had it included and the other did not.......? Beach was beautiful and staff were friendly and efficient!!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your experience and acknowledge the bartenders Wilson and Felix.

We will be more than happy to have you once again and continue providing awesome vacation.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in villa 15 . Close to the pool and close to the punta cana lobby...so we really didn't care about the size of the place.. It was just more to discover.. We had all of our reservation's met. We found the Garden Grill to being the tastiest food, but the service we received from the waiters in the *Santa Fe * was second to none.I've dined in some really good places,all over the world.Genuine personal service.. Most of our evenings we spent in the lobby bar. We got some great service and great cocktails from 2 great bar tenders * German and Raimi * . Muy Bueno Excellente service. Just a little Spanish the waiters taught me from the Santa Fe... The buffet was full of choices, but I just kept to the food I know. However my wife sampled all sorts of different dishes and said they all tasted great...sunbeds well if ya not fast ya last.. We was up early all the time because the jet lag thing..haha . The beach was awesome.. Yes there was sea weed but it was soon cleared up,in fact they were up before dawn doing it.. I know because I was up a few times to watch the sun come up... This hotel takes pride in itself. You always seen them cleaning ...and they have an army of staff to do it.. We met some great friends there. Casey your a legend..what will I take with me from the GBP is the smile on the faces of all the people who work there.. Would we go again yes but not next year. Going the bahia in Jamaica ... Have fun if ya going.. Sarah *smile your in the Carribean

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Chris,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your visit in our Resort. Thank you for acknowledge the staff and their genuine personal service.

I would like to cater you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in Dominican Republic, Mexico, Jamaica or Spain, and continue demonstrating you our commitment to excellence.

Regards from Punta Cana,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I know this is a little late but I have to comment on how much I loved my wedding. Hearing all the terrible things that have happened to people at other hotels I thought I would share my review from 2010. Huge resort but shuttles run all the time. Beach is one of the best I have been to. Made great for wedding pictures. Wedding coordinators were great. My main reason for booking this hotel was I was able to have a catholic wedding. Although it wasn't on the beach (it was in an open air gazebo off to the side) it was amazing. I wouldn't change a thing. Saw the weddings that they do on the beach and wow. View is amazing. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Joanne,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to celebrate your amazing wedding. It is a pleasure to read that you loved it and all the event was great.

It will be a pleasure to cater you once again and be able to continue providing memorable experiences.

Regards from Punta Cana,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because yew had to take a tram to the beach however trams were always available. The buffet was good but not great. Need a bit more variety but we weren't here for the food. The staff and hotel itself was amazing they couldn't do enough to make your stay wonderful. Look out for Jose Alexis c. At the lobby desk. He is truly a helpful, charming asset to the Bahia principe! Elizabeth at the concierge was graciously helpful as well. There was always something to do and New Years was an amazing special..... Casino was small but a nice activity in the evenings. Would love to return in the future!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool and lobby. No elevators so if you have trouble walking ask for a low flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Suzy,

We are very pleased to know that you experienced a wonderful time at the hotel. It is wonderful to know that you will return in the future, be sure that it will be amazing to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.