We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“october2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
“october2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

excelent holiday, rooms clean and air con great, maids excellent, 1 dollar tip per day left in the room helps, lol. food out of this world but could be a bit hotter, plenty of choice, restaurant staff very helpful and friendly. barservice outstanding although a bit slow, plenty of beds around the five pools and beach. transport every 3minutes takes you around hotel as it is absolutely huge. try to use the main buses and not the smaller ones around the outside perimiters these go over too many speed bumps. photos dont come out very well from on site photographer. wi fi free for one hour in hotel lobby, not very good connection. be careful of village shops as tried to charge us £125 for 3 t shirts!!!! hotel only takes us dollars or dom pesos, will not change any english money. atm machine in lobby only pays out pesos and machine not in english. hairdryer in rooms good. iron and ironing board in wardrobe

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    1,012
    456
    183
    113
See reviews for
1,138
1,455
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I do not have any complaints. The room was great it was ny 7 or 8 time at the same resort,
I was a wondeful vacation. The staff was very friendly and allways helpful. The room was clean. The buffet was very good. I never had any problems .

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Seventh time in Punta Cana.
This hotel is huge! But easily accessible through the hotel transport around the site, we have three children one is 7 months and was in a buggy that could easily fit on the transport, which really helped us.
The customer service and hotel itself was amazing!
Special thanks to Carlos the assistant manager who helped make our stay very special!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I don't know if this hotel is old or something but it really have maintenance issues. The air conditioner in the room doesn't have the capacity to cool down the room, the refrigerator heats instead of cool, the shower gets broken and the telephone doesn't work to give the information in reception. I made three advices in reception and then they fix the shower but nothing else. It amaze me. And now i found a blood stain in the bed...gross..

Well, besides of that the hotel is very expensive in comparation to the neighbors, the train to carry the customers to the beach never works...If you doesn't want to waste your precious vacation time the best is to walk. The only one thing very nice is the quality of the food in buffet and restaurants, very good in comparation to anothers hotels near.

Room Tip: Please choose a room near the reception. In Punta Cana or Bavaro hotel of bahia principe, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear David,

We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments and suggestions regarding your experience during your last stay with us.

We are glad you find worth to mention as is our good food.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this property and on the second night of our stay our room was burglarized while we went to eat dinner. There was no sign of forced entry and obviously a duplicate key card was used to access our room. All my clothes except the dirty ones plus my shoes were taken from our hotel room. In addition, my cellular phone, the kids' Ipad, my wife's Louis Vuitton travel bag, plus ~200USD (in small bills that were to be used for tips) were taken. The rest of our belongings were thrown on the beds and on the floor as the burglars went through all of our luggage looking for anything of value. We called the concierge (yes we even had concierge service) and he was not worried at all. Although we asked for the police to be called, he eventually sent security which was a guy on a scooter along with some concierge service representative to investigate this burglary. They feigned indignation while observing the magnitude of the burglary. We asked again and again for the police and we were given assurances that the police will be brought in the next day. The next day we met with several members of the hotel's management which upset us with their incompetency and lack of care. And they refused to answer if the police will come on the property to investigate the burglary. Nothing was offered as compensation for our loss except a $300 voucher to purchase some T-shirts and other needed items off the hotel's gift shops. Needles to say that the gift shops on this property do not have many clothing items for men. But if you want to buy alcohol or cigars, that is when the voucher can come in handy. So we spent about $150 buying a few men's T-shirts and some beach slippers and we were literally forced to buy booze with the balance of the voucher as any unused portion of the monies would be forfeited.

The following day we met with Felix Sanchez, which introduced himself as the hotel’s general manager. He immediately distorted our story, and told us that there is not much he can do as we refused to go to the police. However, the hotel's chief of security and the concierge service representative were part of this meeting so we confronted them in front of their manager about this blatant lie as we requested on multiple occasions the police to investigate this incident. At this point Felix Sanchez asked for the burglary report we filled at the time we received the $300 voucher. A 3 inch thick folder was produced and he started going through the incident reports that were filed in reverse chronological order. About 30 reports later he found ours... I asked him how many burglary reports were in the folder that he had in front of him but he refused to answer. Nothing else was offered, except more false reassurances that the hotel through its Customer Care would do its best to compensate us for our loss. Subsequent meetings with Felix Sanchez, and even his help in providing a taxi and so I could go to the police and report the burglary, proved in retrospective that all he wanted was us to be off his property. Even Customer Care sent us an email that they could not do anything about the "alleged" incident that we reported.

Long story short, we should have not stayed on this property. We are well traveled with a 40 year history of staying at hotels and even motels across multiple continents, and this was our 1st time having our room burglarized. We will certainly not stay at Bahia ever again. As I explained to the hotel's management I cannot put all my clothes in the safe because Bahia's staff is dishonest and desperate.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

We are writing you regarding your stay at our Resort. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We are very concerned about the reported situation and, we sincerely regret if the circumstance mentioned may have affected your vacation experience.

Indeed, this kind of situation is not common at our Resort and, we do understand what this loss means and the inconvenience it may have caused. Nonetheless, we assure you that we did take all the possible steps.

First of all, we would like to assure you that our Customer Service department always investigates all the details of the claims received from our different clients in the interest of replying with the most accurate information, in order to be able to offer the fairest solution to the situations encountered.

It is important to remark that as soon as we received the report telling us about the alleged loss, our Security Department went to your room immediately, in order to start the proper investigation.

Kind regards,

Aynes de la Cruz
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited Grand Bahia Punta Cana for the first time in late September . The resort is absolutely beautiful. It was an amazing and relaxing trip. Staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs.
The buffet offered a variety of good food. Staff at the buffet, Franklin, Esteban, Janet and Emile were attentive each time we visited.
Other than a smell of mildew from the bathroom the room was comfortable. The maids cleaned daily and replenished clean linen and towels.

Con - the timesharing presentation. We were told it would take approximately an hour however it lasted almost the entire day. Don't get involved unless you're serious about purchasing.

Room Tip: Book a room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts for your first time to the Dominican Republic. It is wonderful to read that the trip was amazing and relaxing.

Thank you for highlighting the friendly and accommodating staff and also the great variety of food!!

Hope to seeing you one more time!!

Warm greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was at this hotel the end of September and had a fantastic vacation. This hotel has a lot to offer. Upon arrival we were told our room would be a 3 hour wait, but within 30 minutes were in a great room. After moving into the room we noticed small bugs but didn't let them ruin our time. Carlos the assistant gm got it taken care of immediately. The food was fantastic an there was a great variety of a la carte restaurants of which we tried most. The pool was great although you had to get up at the crack of dawn to 'save' your chairs. Beach was also very clean, minimal seaweed and what did was up was cleaned.

A vacation is what you make it, if you go in expecting a horrible time that is what you will get.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will likely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Keri,

As you are an especial client for us, your opinion represents an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

It is wonderful to read you had a wonderful vacation at the hotel.

You are welcome to contact us for your next visit in order to prepare all the details to provide you another nice experience.

Warm greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.