We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #45 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location, rooms were comfortable, clean, and roomy. Grounds were beautiful. Beach was clean and ocean was welcoming. Could have done without the constant badgering of the merchants walking around, they became a bit annoying. Reception desk was very helpful, Elias was helpful and humerous. Stay away from the Spanish restaurant - terrible food and service and make your reservations right away because they go fast for the specialty restaurants. The no reservation buffet had a nice variety of foods and the wait staff was very friendly. The cooks (especially the guy making omelets) were not as friendly in fact quite rude. My favorite person at the resort was a petite beautiful Guest Relation Specialist named Anyeli (hope I spelled that right). She was so helpful and worked so hard to help everyone and always had a smile on her face. She is worth her weight in gold - actually more since she is so tiny :)
We will definitely go back and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Barb,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your honeymoon destination. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,134
    1,225
    575
    217
    142
See reviews for
1,350
1,721
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at this resort royal golden this time we booked 3 rooms which we requested they be together well we were all in same villa closest to beach ....perfect we stayed dec13- 20 so things were getting busy yes this is a big resort but very easy to get around we never met any staff that didn't have a smile or say ola to us we were always treated great we did 5 a lac arts all of which were great we did have one incident with our rooms but after talking to Edward in royal golden office was taken care of immediately after which he checked on us twice to make sure all was good yes there is language barriers but by being patient and friendly things get figured out lobby and pool bars are kid friendly so if you want alcohol drinks you have to tell the bartenders they to are always smiling and very friendly all in all we as a group of 6 adults and 2 children under 10 years we could not have asked for a better holiday than we had here our thanks goes out to Edward at royal golden and all the staff at Grand bahia principe punta cana

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.
It is wonderful to know that you experienced a pleasant stay with us and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you any time soon at any of our All-inclusive Luxury Hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best Regards from the Caribbean!!


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have just returned from the beautiful Dominican Republic! I went with my family and we stayed from December 13th - December 24th. The resort was huge!!!! Definitely the biggest I've ever stayed in. It was more like a small town than a hotel. This wasn't a problem for us as we enjoyed walking round the beautiful grounds of the hotel. If you are in a bit of a lazy mood there are regular buggies that can drive you from A to B.

The staff are all really really friendly especially the animation team!! (Kelly, Victor etc) They are all so much fun and do there best to ensure you have an awesome time! I would say the main activities around the pool start from around 12 -1. Darts, sea aerobics, bingo, pool side games and much more!! I'm in my early twenties and I loved the pool side games from Miss bikini, drinking competitions, water games etc. The entertainment in the evening from 8:50 were also superb! Definitely recommend the Micheal Jackson and the acrobats shows!!! Then later on in the Bahia Principe square there are usually some fun games going on from Miss Bahia and Mr Bahia. Some nights there was just live music and dancing so we stayed in the lobby bar for some cocktails!!

The food is excellent the buffet has a variety of choices to suit everyone. There are also plenty of restaurants - French, Japanese, Italian, Mexican, BBQ and Dominican.
The Japanese one was amazing, the chef actually cooks in front of you - It's definitely worth going for the experience!! Wasn't too keen on the Mexican as I ordered chicken supreme and got chicken with chocolate (Literally!) Apart from that all the other restaurants were delicious and very good service.

Our room was really nice, except a few days we had some wildlife (cockroaches and beetles) too but that was only a few occasions and I think you have to expect that if you go to the Caribbean. Apart from that the room was really clean and left spotless. The water pressure on the shower was a bit low but we soon got used to it.

Overall, it was an excellent holiday and would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a large complex with plenty of fun and entertainment!!! The beach is beautiful with clear blue sea and there is plenty of water activities to do if you wish.

There are loads of mosquitoes so make sure you bring plenty of spray!!!

Take me back to Dominican Republic!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Emma,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts for your second visit to Punta Cana. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed a fantastic family holiday.
Thank you for recommending us and for mentioning our very good food, a la carte restaurants, and our animation.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards from Punta Cana!!


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe in March 2009, not 2013. It was top of the class in hospitality; starting from the rooms were very clean, the beds were huge and very comfortable and the washroom were very big and had all modern facilities, the restaurants were also very clean and the food was exceptionally great tasting. The staff were all very polite and friendly and made us felt very welcomed. The Grand Bahia Principe is located close to other Grand Bahia hotels which I visited and also felt very welcomed. And lastly, the white sandy beaches were always kept clean for the tourist. I will definitely stay at the anyone of the Grand Bahia hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Liztra,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards from Punta Cana!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Be ready for a very large complex of four hotels, with three public transportation lines (5 stops each). Capacity up to 6000 person. Between beach and reception is probably 1.4 km walking distance.

Absolutely clean public and private areas, employees cleaning, polishing, painting etc. all the time. Food in buffet area above average. Room safe for free. Beside what is listed below was above average.
I believe, there are some cons....
huge resort, hardly accommodating number of guests on beach, which is relatively narrow and very crowded with sun beds. Constantly cleaned and groomed.
You can not read anywhere in resort, with exception of beach..... very little light in reception area, even in rooms lights are not very (or probably very) efficient.
Evening entertainment was rather substandard, considering size and number of * hotel.
You pay premium drinks , i.e. Kahlua US $ 2 - between US $ 2 up to US $ 9. Similar it is with once a week show (Caribbean Night) US $ 15/person.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments regarding your experience during your last stay with us. All feedback from our guests is valued and be assured that we will never cease our efforts to comply with our guest’s needs and expectations.

We would like to cater you once again in Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went as a family to this resort, the two of us and my kids Camila and Santiago. Definitely it is big resort with villas from 1 to 90 with an average of 12 rooms per villa. The property is in great condition...the gardens, pool, beach, restaurants, lobby..etc every thing was clean and in really good shape. The people who work at resort is the most valuable asset they are always smiling and trying to do their best to accommodate your requests. I will try to mention most of the people who made our trip enjoyable: Martina,Derni, Manuel and Wellington, at the Buffet Las Orquideas. Manuel at Tropicana theater's bar. Santos at the Beach bar. The lady who took care of a our room. The lady on charge of the towels at the main pool (the one who saw a peruvian soap opera). For sure there were so many more people who make our trip a great memory...sorry for not recalling your names but thank you so very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts for your first visit to Dominican Republic. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed a wonderful family vacation.
Thank you for your nice comments and for highlighting our good food, polite staff, beautiful beach, and meticulously maintained premises.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Looking forward to seeing you in the future!
Vianca Graciano

Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family choose this resort for our dream family getaway. My family of 6 was told one week prior to our departure that our rooms would not be in the same area as we had booked. They wanted to separate our rooms, putting my 85 year old mother and 16 yr old child at the other end of the resort. This is not what was confirmed to us when we paid 3 months ago!! Needless to say a few days before leaving they are still struggling to accommodate our family needs. We have been forced to tell my mother that she could not come because as of 3 days ago they could not fulfill there booking, but they have been paid in FULL. We are stressed and not looking forward to going because so far they have failed to provide us with acceptable alternatives!!! There resort Manger Mr.Roberto offered us a couples massage for compensation for ruining our family dream vacation!! Will advise how things work out. So far HUGE mistake to trust or consider The Grand Bahia Resort for a family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear PK,

We are sorry that the above situations mentioned have tarnished your stay. Please allow us to inform you that rooms assignment are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact petition.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us that are really important since the help us to improve constantly our service.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.