We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live from the Grand Bahia Punta Cana!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Areana Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua, Higuey-Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Live from the Grand Bahia Punta Cana!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Sitting in the lobby bar on our 5th day here-having a fabulous time! This is our 3rd visit to the DR ( 1st trip stayed at the Iberiostar Grand, 2nd trip Majestic Elegance). We are so pleased with this resort! Stayed in the Royal Golden section (3112) of the resort. The service has been fantastic, decent food and drinks, immaculate grounds, and gorgeous beach. Already planning our next visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Christine,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an unforgettable experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,637
    911
    420
    165
    108
See reviews for
1023
1330
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really like the hotel, the food and the service. The shows, every night it was a new and different show, they also have a very nice show for the kids. we were able to relax, and also have a grait time, I recomend the SPA for $60 dollar we have a 30 mn massage which i found very affordable for a resort.
overall it was a magnific place to stayed for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mercedes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and for acknowledge our food, service, kid´s show and spa massages.

We hope to cater you once again in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana and provide you a dream vacation in paradise.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the gran bahia principe punta cana from the 29th June till the 13th July and had a fantastic time! We travelled with first choice who were brilliant from booking, flights to holiday itself and the first choice in resort rep pinky is terrific! On arrival we were upgraded to the royal golden setion of the hotel which meant we were really close to the main pool and beach and got 4 a la carte visits per week (which you don't really need as the buffet resturant is great).

The rooms were big and spacious and kept very clean. Staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and always keen to help, also I have never stayed in a hotel where the staff are so busy all the time from the gardeners, housekeeping staff poolside staff to waiters you never see anyone sitting around doing nothing! The hotel is stunning and very well kept.

We travelled with my parents and our 3 children and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We went out on the outback safari, saona island and adventure boogie trips which were all amazing and allowed us to see more of the beautiful dominican republic but the hotel has so much to do we could have spent our whole two weeks there! Will definately be back at this hotel soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us. It is an honor to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and to know that you are considering coming back to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.

We are hoping to welcome you soon and please don´t hesitate for a future stay in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Yours sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel, really clean, good food, great beach. I have to say though that the staff doesn't speak English well and if there are problems during your stay there, it will be difficult to solve them. Also, there is nothing outside the hotel. I say that because if someone wants to get out of the hotel has to take a taxi and the closest city is about 30 minutes away. You have to make excursions to see the surroundings and they are rather expensive. At least for people like us, who come from Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Chrisanna,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was excited to be vacationing at Grand Bahia Principe in Punta Cana. This was my first experience at an All-Inclusive, and all I wanted to do was go home from the minute I checked in. This was to be a family vacation (there were 4 of us), but the hotel decided to put us at opposite ends of the resort. With no "working" phones in the room, we could not even find each other. Then they gave us a room with a single bed, rather than the two queens we requested. When asked to be moved the actually said there was a couch. The next day when they did move us, we got put into a freshly painted room. It was uninhabitable. Finally on the third move we got a decent room, but not nearly the quality of our friends, who by the way we can't visit because we are not "allowed" in their part of the hotel. It is now Day 2 in Punta Cana and I would much rather be home. I can't wait until vacation is over!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Debra,

We truly appreciate your feedback; therefore, we would like to invite you to approach our Guest Service Department at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, in order to analyze the points you mentioned on this review. Our guests´ opinions are very important for us.

Please rest assured that we are taking your observations into great consideration.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff are outstanding! The customer service was outstanding! If your child is not a baby or toddler, you may want to select another hotel... Our daughter is 12 years old, we didn't see many other children within her age range at this hotel. Activities for her age group seemed limited... So she hung out with us all day. We were disappointed by the night life at our hotel. There was very little entertainment, limited opportunites to listen to traditional island music. We felt deprived of cultural immersion... My family has decided that if we ever get back to Punta Cana, we would select an adult hotel in hopes of more activities.

Room Tip: I hated being placed on a third floor (top floor) walk up... You might want to request a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Linda,

We are glad you find worth to highlight the outstanding customer service in Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

We really hope to consider coming back to one of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks at the Gran Bahia. Me, my husband and another couple went for our first trip to the Dominican. We had the most amazing time and would return to Punta Cana again in the future. The hotel/resort was lovely. When we arrived we were checked in and taken to our room and had been upgraded to the golden section this was a nice unexpected extra not sure if it would be worth paying for but we enjoyed the benefits having the extra a la carte meal plus our room was closer to the main pool and beach. The rooms were nice, big and clean. There were little balloon decorations in the room a nice little touch. Rooms were cleaned daily. There are five hotels in the one resort so as you can imagine its a big complex. Its easy to get around there are different bus/train type things to transport you around the resort we used these but also enjoyed the walk around as it was nice grounds to walk through. You get a map on arrival plus there's loads of maps around if you need them to help you find your way. We used the main pool and the beach both were amazing. Not the best sunbeds but not an major issue! On the beach you can do different watersports we went parasailing which was a fab experience with great views. The entertainment team would be on the beach and the by the pool later in the day with different games/dance classes. There were plenty of choices for food with several a la carte restaurants Buffett and snack bar. Breakfast served in the buffett had lots of options plus if you want fresh eggs there were 2 stations making them. Lots of choice for everyone. At lunch we mainly ate in the snack bar we liked the food there and they had lots of different choices to choose from there was also the option to have lunch at the Buffett which had more to choose from. As we were in the golden section we had 4 a la carte meals each week our favourites being the Japanese which was a great experience also the Italian, garden grill and the BBQ. We made our reservations one the first day for all 8 restaurants as they seem to get booked quick. The Buffett was generally nice we received some good service and they have different themes each day so gives a good variety. The only issue was that during our second week they got busier and the services became very poor. On one occasion we didn't even get offered a drink with a meal needless to say we weren't very happy about it. As it went quieter again the service improved. After our meals we went to the lobby bar as we ate slightly later the shows were already mid way through so we didn't go to them. The service in the lobby bar was brilliant and there was a nice atmosphere. The Thomson rep (pinki) was great. More than helpful and always friendly. We had the best holiday in a great resort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure and a great compliment to know that you experienced an excellent tropical vacation in Punta Cana.

Please feel free to contact us prior your next visit so that we can take care of the details concerning your stay.

Looking forward to seeing soon!

Best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.


Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Areana Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua, Higuey-Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.