We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden not worth the extra $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Golden not worth the extra $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at this resort from Nov. 29th until Dec. 6 2012.
Our arrival was not very well done as we were herded onto the shuttle where we sat for 40 minutes not even offered a drink or shown where the Golden reception area was, Once we finally got to our room which was well after check in time it was still being cleaned. We could not operate the safe as we had to go back to the Golden Lobby to pay and activate it.

We have stayed at several of the Gran Bahia resorts in Mexico and Jamaica and had things included in our stay that we did not receive here. We had to pay for our safe which we did not ever have to do before. In Mexico we received flowers, champagne, a fruit basket and T Shirts.

At this resort we had to ask several times for tee shirts and the staff were very rude about it. They wanted to know if it was a special occasion or something. The staff in the golden lobby and internet room were not at all friendly. Once we got the tee shirts they were two sizes to small anyway. They never bothered to ask about sizes.

Most days when we returned to our room after 5:00 it was still not cleaned and most days we just asked for towels- those poor ladies are over worked. We tipped her well any way as we felt bad for her.

The only extra thing we received for the price of the Golden was a fourth ala carte.

The Japanese was great but the Garden Grille and the Gourmet were barely passable. They did not even have a decent appetizer selection this part had very little to offer.

Since we have stayed at the Gran Bahia so many times we felt like we did not really get the value for our money. Some of the staff were friendly but for the most part they could care less.

When we checked out the one fellow in the Golden (Igor) who previously had been pretty rude to us said next time you come back you can get a black bracelet for a VIP. I would have thought since we were loyal clients we would have been given some kind of perks that trip. This was our fifth trip to a Gran Bahia.

We may consider going back but the other Gran Bahia's and staff were certainly more accomodating and you felt like the upgrade to Golden was worth it but certainly not here.

Room Tip: We were near the beach which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding your comments about our staff let us inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department. Your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention.

We have contacted you in private asking for you to please provide us your contact information in order for our Golden Club Manager address you directly, and this way analyze each of your observations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    1,042
    466
    187
    115
See reviews for
1,167
1,496
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very beaatifull and the room are very clean. The staff is very friendly and hellpfull. Jiancarlo castro from guest services its so hellpfull and ask me if every thing is ok. The bar are very nice. The pool very clean. This place is amazing. If you going punta cana dont forguet bahia principe i will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience at Punta Cana, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the good aspects such as clean rooms and great staff. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff, especially to Jiancarlo.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel ! Great service- staff is extremaly friendly. Lots to do- food is very good aswell. We were in a group of 40 and were treated super well . Jiancarlo castro from guest services was very helpful- ask for him!

Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff. They will be very happy and delight to learn your comments. We appreciate guest comments and suggestions, now that is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience.

Thank you for acknowledging Jiancarlo, who will be very happy to learn that he was able to contribute in creating a memorable experience for all of you.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The room is very good, the food is very good and variety , jiancarlo Castro from guest services is very informative and very knowledge, very friendly and professional,the beach is very cleaning, the chair is all ways put out for you, the shoulder. All ways wait,the area in this hotel are very cleans the staff in general is very friendly, definitely I will come back.

Room Tip: Courier suite sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel.

We are proud to hear that you had an excellent stay due to the friendliness of our staff members, especially because of Jiancarlo. He will be delighted to learn your comments.

It’s very satisfying to know that we were able to meet your expectations and will be a pleasure to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time, the service was perfect more then expected. The restaurant a la Carte was excellent. We had a great service with our Friend Doralis the best in the west.
we did a lots of walking but....was good for the health. the beach....wow...

Room Tip: The royal golden is just what you need :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good stuff, such as friendliness of our staff, nice beach, and excellent a la carte restaurants. Thank you for mentioning Doralis, she will be delighted to learn of your comments. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very beautifully the room is very clean the garden is very clean maintained the staff is friendly we received
More than we expect we have to say thank jiancarlo Castro from guest service I will come back thank thank

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to Jiancarlo.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon and have the opportunity to continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Firstly this is one BIG hotel, I think someone said it has 4-5000 guests. But don't let that put you off, the hotel was clean, the service was excellent and the food was simply amazing, especially given the size of the hotel.

It has its own bus system running around so its easy to get around. The staff were polite and generally it was a very nice hotel.

One big advantage is that this hotel has an amazing night club, it plays great music and has a great night life.

It does have a small beach though, and I am a wedding photographer and I was amazed that they only allocated a very small amount of the beach for weddings and yes we did have wedding pics with Mr Speedo in the back ground.

I would certainly return to this hotel for a personal visit.

Room Tip: Really not sure, I think all the rooms are the same, and there are lots of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as clean premises, excellent staff service, amazing food, bus running system and wonderful night club.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.