We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Turistico del Este Km.28 No.74, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I traveled, yet again, to the hard rock PC in August; as we had several requests from friends that were traveling with us wanting to go for the first time. We caved in, and traveled to the HR again. The trip was awesome, as usual. The rooms/views were excellent, and we were able to use the VIP areas with our premier membership this time, which was a treat! All the restaurants were open, minimal construction; the golf course was a blast and well-manicured! Room service was about 30-45 minutes, but they delivered always with a smile and were always helpful to make us happy.
We actually were married at the Cancun Palace in 2011, and it was a very large wedding!

We decided to have our 2 year wedding vow renewal one of the nights we stayed at the Hard Rock, it was held on the beach. It was a very small ceremony, but pulled together so well. The weddings department here goes out of their way to make each and every vow renewal and wedding ceremony, large or small, seem special and also very attentive to each detail. They picked up the ladies on the golf cart and drove us all the way over to our ceremony location where the men were waiting. There were only 6 of us total. My husband and I were able to renew our vows in a simple, romantic ceremony overlooking the water. It was amazing. We even were able to obtain a free cocktail hour, which had way too much food for all of us, and was fabulously done and very delectable as well.
The hotel never ceases to make us happy. We recently traveled to another country staying at another hotel brand and part of the trip my husband and I remarked to ourselves that we really missed being at the palace, and being pampered; as we realized that this is our true travel style! If you are interested in booking a wedding, feel free to send me a PM. I have special member rates and would be happy to let you book under my membership free!
Hard Rock/Palace Resorts we will be back to visit you very soon this year again!
Hey, your vacation perception is all about your attitude! We always go with a positive mind, and try to overlook the silly small stuff!

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor if you can. Better Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We’re pumped to read that this was your second visit to our hotel and that you enjoyed it to the max, Icanonmous! It was an honor for us to have you renew your vows in our lovely beach along with some friends. It sure does sound that it was special, romantic and that it’ll be a night to remember. Come back soon because we sure can’t wait to Rock your socks on your next visit!!! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,904
    2,097
    982
    406
    287
See reviews for
3,258
3,328
75
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Enjoyed our trip but want to give a special shout-out regarding Maria Flor the hostess at Cafetto.
Her big smile greeted us everyday. She is definitely an asset to the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino. The beach is beautiful!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for sending us your comments, SpammyPammy you truly are a Rock Star!! Thanks for the lovely words about Maria Flor from Cafetto! We sure can’t wait for your return trip! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Loved this hotel.... We got everything we were looking for. It really is an "All Included" service... and a good one. Beach, pools, room, restaurants... all good. Staff is extremely friendly, even more if you speak spanish to them... You really get for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hiya Rafael V, it sure does sound like you had a marvelous stay in our hotel! Great to read that you received the Rock Star treatment and enjoyed it! Please come back any time to Sunny Punta Cana!!! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Spent 7 days (Jan 8-15) with our son and his girlfriend. Beautiful grounds, pools, beach and buildings. By the second day we were planning a return trip in March, but that was about to change.
FOOD; Definitely plenty to choose from but it was just average. Usually overcooked meats. The steakhouse (Toro) was probably the best and we did eat at the Marketplace buffet ev ery morning--great selection, probably the best breakfast buffet I've seen. Vegetarians would like the Hard Rock--great salad and fruit selections.
ROOM; Islander Jr Suite was great--jetted tub in bedroom, large shower, king bed, big balcony and terrific mini bar that wasn't mini! Beer and softdrinks replaced daily along with bottles of wine (passable) along with fifth bottles of rum, vodka, tequila and whiskey! A drinkers heaven.
POOLS; On our first day found the adults only Eden pool. It was what convinced us to want to return. Hammocks, large swinging platform "beds" to lay on and a great staff. Juan Contreras the bartender and the waitresses Juana,Maribel and Solange were great. But then it fell apart--returning the next day we were tol it was being closed for a private event. And the next day and two others..One day after being told to leave we went to another small pool and that was closing too. On to another small pool to be told it was closing at 4 pm because they had to set up for "romantic dinners." There are large pools with swim up bars and music and that is what we were trying to avoid. On the day before leaving, Gerardo De Groot,an operations assistant manager stopped to talk to us at the Eden pool and apologized to us and others and was somewhat accomodating but we aren't sure about returning there to find the same situation.
CASINO; Table games and lots of slots and a big night club (cover charge) and we planned to go our last night until we got to the door to find it was closed for a PRIVATE EVENT!!

I realize things like food quality can be more important for some (like us) than others. You certainly won't starve there. And the staff is friendly. If you speak Spanish that is a plus because there were some "no comprendes"
We also found the highly touted Simon's Mansion to be overpriced considering the quality of the food.
The property is large but the shuttles everywhere are frequent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello zjr, thanks for letting us know that you stayed in our hotel this past January. We’re pleased to read you liked our luscious grounds and lovely beach. It’s great to read that you all enjoyed our Toro Steakhouse and the suite you were appointed to. Thanks for the compliments to Juan, Solange, Juana and Maribel from our Eden pool. We were pained to read that you were inconvenienced by the closing of this pool during some days of your stay; we’ve shared your comments with our Vibe Manager to ensure that this doesn’t occur. We thank you once more and we urge you to give us another try so we can truly impress you this time around. SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here for a week for a business conference in January 2014. We had 1,700 attendees.

Pros:
* Beach is gorgeous. White soft sand, turquoise water.
* Most of the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful.
* Weather was beautiful.
* Landscaping is pleasing and well-maintained.
* My room was stylish and clean except for the shower grout, which seemed moldy. There was a giant jacuzzi in the middle of the room. I would prefer more moving-around and chill-out space.
* Wi-fi was fast and reliable even with 1,700 conference attendees and who knows how many other hotel guests. I really appreciated this.

Cons:
* The quality of the food in the buffets was extremely poor except for some of the fresh fruit sometimes (papaya was delicious). Most of the food at the buffets they provided for our conference or in the restaurants at breakfast and lunch looked and/or tasted awful. I was hungry most of the week. I ate at Simon Mansion, which you have to pay extra for, and even that was only so-so.
* Dozens of people from my group came down with serious intestinal problems and some of them ended up in the hospital. I saw hand sanitizer in a couple of restaurant entrances. It should be EVERYwhere in a place like this, just like it is on a cruise ship. At the buffets there should be signs saying "Please enjoy your meal after you sit down a table." I saw people snacking straight from the buffet.
* Walking past a couple of the canals, there was a gross sewer smell. In other places there was a garbage smell sometimes.
* Air conditioning in the meeting rooms was cranked way too high. It was freezing in there. Bring jackets and sweaters if you'll be in meetings.
* The Roxy ballrooms (especially Roxy 1) had a really bad moldy or mildew odor.
* There were multitudes of tiny little ants and some other kind of micro silverfish-like bugs all over my hotel room throughout my stay. They even got into my computer bag and were crawling all over my laptop.
* Late at night a couple times I smelled an acrid burning smell, as if a large quantity of garbage were being burned. One night the smell was particularly strong and the air was thick with smoke.

Bottom line: avoid this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to send in your comments, 81FrequentT81. While we’re very happy to read how much you enjoyed the service from our team and our gorgeous beach, we were disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced while you were with us. Our main priority is to ensure that our guests have a Rockin’ experience and we’re pained to learn this wasn’t your case. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back a second time to ensure you have the best Rockin’ experience possible. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the property in the future. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Want to be treated like a Rock Star? This is the place. The VIP plan gives you access to a dozen great restaurants, great food and drink, many, many pools and the pristine beach!!!
Also, ask for Manuel Osorica in the Ciao restaurant. He's the best!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay as far away from the casino and shopping as possible. Drunk loud people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We’re so happy to read you had a Rockin’ time, Stephen S! We’re glad your vacation was amazing and that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Thanks for the hat tip to Manuel from Ciao! Come back again soon, paradise is waiting for you! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The resort is amazing the treatment you receive is amazing. Everyone is much fun there was so much to do. I don't have one bad thing to say employees were all so friendly and helpful. Thank you to Manny Ayala with security staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hey there Rock Star, it was nice having you both in our hotel!! We’re elated to read our Hard Rockers caused such a good impression on you Angel G! Thanks for the shout out to Manny! We can’t wait to see you soon! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Address: Boulevard Turistico del Este Km.28 No.74, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1,787 room Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana is situated on pristine sugar white sands stretching 121-acres along Macao Beach in the Dominican Republic. Hard Rock's first all inclusive hotel and casino exudes lavish five-star amenities and personal service to create the ultimate rock star getaway. Among the resort's many offerings are luxe accommodations, the signature Rock Spa(R), 18-hole Nicklaus designed golf course, iconic music memorabilia and a larger-than-life Vegas-style casino - the largest in the Dominican Republic, featuring Oro nightclub. Guests also enjoy 15 expansive pools, four swim-up bars, a kids pool and lazy river. A variety of gourmet dining options are available through the resort's nine restaurants, with Simon Mansion & Supper Club by the famed Rock n Roll Chef Kerry Simon, which opened in 2013. The property also features more than 65,000 square-feet of flexible event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Punta Cana
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.