We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further! Best of Punta Cana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Turistico del Este, km 28, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
KIDS STAY FREE + 30% OFF
Ranked #25 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Guelph
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Look No Further! Best of Punta Cana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just got back from an amazing trip to Hard Rock Punta Cana. This hotel did not dissapoint on any level. Enjoy the unique Hard Rock vibe throughout. Great for families or couples this resort has something for all!

Check-in: We were there as a group of about 25 so we checked in at the groups lobby section. It was quick efficient and the staff was extremely friendly. Within minutes they had my luggage sent to my room and I was at the room in no time.

Rooms: From the moment you walk in you feel like a Rock star. Every room has a double jacuzzi, minibar, liquor dispensor. There are exceptional bathrooms complete with walk-in shower with dual head rain showers big enough for 3, if that's what you into. I was on the second floor so I had a large balcony with 2 chairs and 2 lounge chairs. There is lots of little touches that complete the room from the ambient lighting to the rock star decor.

Argh, I'm tired of typing so I'm going to Sumerian the rest. Tons of pools, the 3 main centre ones are the best. 10 more to choose from. Food was excellent, better then I thought, not all "typical resort food". Go to the steak house and have a fried tomatoe with cheese.

The main lobby stretches on forever with multiple shops, restaurants, a huge casino. Oh yeah and Oro Night Club is a must do!! It's not included in the all inclusive part but pay and go to this, especially on a Friday or Saturday.

I think there is more but I can't remember......... Oh yeah, the Rock Spa. If you don't checkout this Spa you are a fool! Never done any sort of Spa thing before but it was amazing!!!!

That's it, nothing bad to say, had an amazing time....... Damn it, I forgot about the beach, the Beach is wicked Awesome! Best beach in Punta Cana and I have been 7 times!!

Ok, that's it, for sure this time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us Brucie35, and for taking the time to post your comments!! We loved hearing how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and how you felt like a Rock Star! It’s great to read your check in was quick and that you enjoyed your room with all the perks it has!!! We will now look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our Hard Rock Hotel!!! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,250
    1,584
    757
    344
    257
See reviews for
2468
2446
53
383
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,963)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose this resort because it's from the palace chain and it's relatively new compared to other resorts in the area.

We liked the resort because it offers the followings:
- Nice beach
- A lot of restaurants
- Hotel credits
- Huge resort

These are the reasons that I gave the the two star rating:
- Service we received in restaurants is worse than palace members / legendary members
- Room is not clean (we called house keeping four times)
- Food is not great. One thing that's not acceptable is there was a fly in my red wine.
- The hotel staff always reminds us we just need to pay 16% of service charge when using our hotel credits. Obviously they don't show much respect for this program
- This all inclusive resort has a lot of service and facilities that require additional charge / not accessible for non palace members: Legendary pools / restaurant, restaurant in the casino, complimentary massage for palace members

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Brian R, thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent vacation to our hotel. We do want you to know that we do take your comments very seriously and that we would love for you to contact us directly by writing to: customercare@hardrockhotelpuntacana.com. We strive to provide a Rock Star experience to all of our guests and it is obvious that we fell short in this instance. Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know about your experience! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Amazing room and phenomenal service! Went with a group of friends and had a fantastic time. Everyone there bends over backwards to make you feel like a rock star! The Brazilian restaurant was our favorite, but Zen was good too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the awesome comments about our Hard Rockers, Martha R!!! We are utterly excited to read that you liked your room and had a fantastic stay with your friends!!! It’s good to read you enjoyed our Ipanema and Zen restaurants which are a rave among our Rock Stars!! Visit us soon for another memorable stay! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel i ever went in my life <3 great costumer service , great food , great people !!
The Restaurant Zen was my favorite !! Luis Brea & Jorge Rivera were my server and they were so charismatic :)) Im coming next year !!! From Puerto Rico

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi IsYami, how nice to know that you had an amazing time in our hotel!!! We’re glad you got to experience amazing service in our Zen restaurant by Luis and Jorge!! We’ll be eagerly waiting for your next visit!!! Rock On! SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice and with alot of places to eat, however menu becomes limited once other places closes! The VIP complany that you use for outside trips, will show you pictures and videos of eq that they do not have. The buggies were old and broke down alot. The speed boats were also old and did not go as fast as advertised. Hotel will push you to go to the club but all the good seats will be blocked off and you will have to pay 200 dollars to get one. But they don't tell you that up front when you buy the tickets!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We’re happy to read that you found our hotel to your liking and even enjoyed our nine different restaurants. We’re glad you took some time to share your feedback with us so we can keep improving in all aspects. Thank you very much and we hope you may visit us so you can experience the many changes. SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I just got back from Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana a few days ago and have to admit, I NEVER write reviews, however this experience was unlike anything I had experienced that I HAD to say something.

Firstly, I don't understand a lot of these negative reviews. Either people have some CRAZY standards to which they expect, or they just wanted to vent and get something out of it! Now before I get chastised, I do understand some reviews are valid and I'm not bashing anyone, but to those who complain that check-in took long, because they decided to travel over March break at a 100% occupancy resort, then please, get over it!

ROOMS!
I was staying in a Junior Islander Suite and it was monstrous! The 2 person Jacuzzi, the large balcony and the liquor dispenser were great and the mattress was super soft and slept VERY well. Having a safe and WiFi for free as well is something that most resorts don't even offer.

POOLS!
13 of them! You NEVER have to wake up early to reserve your seat because there's SO MANY!!! Each of them have a theme, and the music is always playing! Water is the perfect temperature and having snack bars along the beach is great as well, so you don't have to walk all the way back to the lobby to get a snack!

ENTERTAINMENT!
TOP SHELF LIQUOR! I could stop there, because it's nice to drink things I've seen before like Grey Goose, Johnny Walker, Crown Royal, etc... The Sun Bar, Moon Lounge, Eclipse Terrace and the Casino are great ways to unwind, and there's always a live band, or karaoke to pass the time. Unlike other resorts, the party doesn't stop at 10PM, when Oro nightclub opens up at night, the party REALLY gets bumping, all the way till almost 4:00AM! I'm from Toronto, and Oro beats all the clubs we have up here!

RELAXATION!
Rock Spa! Huge, Giant, Enormous, GINORMOUS! The most comprehensive I've ever been inside, and you can use your resort credit towards those services. To those people who complain you have to pay a service fee on the resort credit.. GET OVER YOURSELF! They're giving you free money, that you pay a small fee on. The Eden pool was nice for an adult only retreat, but watch out for the European bathers (yes it means what it means).

FOOD!
9 Restaurants to choose from, and NONE require a reservation. Just walk in and be seated. Unlike other resorts which limit you to a few a la carte options, this is unlimited. For an all-inclusive, the food is above average. You're NOT going to be eating at a 4 Seasons or a Vegas resort, but for an All-Inclusive, VERY AWESOME!

SERVICE!
Little extras like having someone open a door for you (literally every door) and always people smiling, I never felt uncomfortable. Also, for a Dominican resort, there are a LOT of English speakers. I've had language barriers to get through when dealing with other resorts, but apart from the cleaning staff, you can get by easily here!

Overall, I give it a 4.9 out of 5 (as nothing's perfect), but for an all-inclusive, it's one of the closest to perfection you can get. Something for everyone, families, singles, couples and groups.

AWESOME JOB GUYS!

Room Tip: Beach lovers should get a Caribbean Sand Suite. Honeymooners should go Concierge. Families should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the awesome comments about our Hard Rockers, Martha R!!! We are utterly excited to read that you liked your room and had a fantastic stay with your friends!!! It’s good to read you enjoyed our Ipanema and Zen restaurants which are a rave among our Rock Stars!! Visit us soon for another memorable stay! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I chose this resort in Punta Cana due to the great Trip Advisor reviews. Although we had a good time, there were a few problems with the hotel.

Pros:
Huge property
Always easy to find somewhere to sit under an umbrella
Casino/bars/clubs all inside
Nice rooms
Double Bath tubs

Cons:
Lots of construction on the beach. They're building a barrier wall so the water will be more calm.
Rough beach. Will be better once the barrier wall is built.
Not walking distance to anything,
Not a lot of day time activities like cooking class or dancing class, etc.
Top shelf alcohol did not taste like top shelf. We drank gray goose all week and never even felt a slight buzz.
Mixers for alcohol was not good. Way too much sugar.
Food wasn't that great, especially for lunch time.

We still had a great time here, and compared to other all inclusives, the night life was better due to the "mall/casino/bar/club" strip they had there. I think if the quality of the food picked up and the construction was done, this would be a great choice.

Please note the property is HUGE. There are trollys to take you around, but you have to sit an wait for them for a while. For those that have problems walking long distances, please take this into consideration.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi MsSjvivi22, thanks for the comments you’ve provided!! It’s great that you spent your summer vacation with us! We’re pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and even got to roll the dice in the Casino and Party like a Rock Star in our different clubs!!! We’re grateful for the feedback you’ve given us, we work tirelessly to ensure that Rock Stars like you go back home with happy memories and we’ll be sure to pass the feedback along. Once again thank you and we’ll be thrilled to have you back soon! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Punta Cana
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Resort All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Turistico del Este, km 28, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1,787 room Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana is situated on pristine sugar white sands stretching 121-acres along Macao Beach in the Dominican Republic. Hard Rock’s first all inclusive hotel and casino exudes lavish five-star amenities and personal service to create the ultimate rock star getaway. Among the resort’s many offerings are luxe accommodations, the signature Rock Spa®, 18-hole Nicklaus designed golf course, iconic music memorabilia and a larger-than-life Vegas-style casino – the largest in the Dominican Republic, featuring Oro nightclub. Guests also enjoy 15 expansive pools, four swim-up bars, a kids pool and lazy river. A variety of gourmet dining options are available through the resort’s nine restaurants, with Mansion by Simon by the famed Rock n Roll Chef Kerry Simon, set to open in 2013. The property also features more than 65,000 square-feet of flexible event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.