We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock Punta Cana” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Turistico del Este Km.28 No.74, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
bedford nh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hard Rock Punta Cana”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Tiny ants all over the bathroom---trouble getting any help with bags and room location---horrible food---terrible drinks---a gym schedule that they refuse to honor (classes scheduled but they don't do any of them even though the gym is staffed--they tell you to use the treadmill). Reservation for 8PM at the Zen Rest. didn't get in until 9:30 ate at 10:30. Go to their siser resorts in Cancun everything is excellent.

Room Tip: ....if you are in the back-- near the lobby you have a long walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear gblier123, we regret you that had a less than pleasurable experience; we apologize for the inconvenience with the room. We’re more than certain that if you would’ve requested help from a bellboy we would’ve been more than glad to help you with your bags and getting you located to your room. We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy the food and drinks provided in our nine restaurants and different bars, we strive to give our Rock Stars the best and we’re sorry if you felt otherwise. A hotel of our style and size isn’t for everyone, but we are glad that you gave us a try. ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,904
    2,098
    982
    406
    287
See reviews for
3,258
3,328
75
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The resort is beautiful. We stayed in the Presidential Suite oceanfront. the view was amazing. Our rooms were good but you could tell they were a little bit old especially in the bathrooms. The service in every restaurant we went to was terrific! Everyone went out of their way to make it a good experience for us. Our only major downside for the trip was that the poolside staff and bartenders were not friendly. It really took away from the atmosphere by the pool. Even at the members pool, the staff seemed miserable and seemed put out to get us a drink. Also, the kids club was very disappointing. We did not feel comfortable leaving our child because we were worried about security and supervision within the two rooms. Overall it was a good trip with great food. An extra thank you to the staff at Zen for making a special birthday celebration!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We’re thrilled to know that you decided to visit our hotel for your birthday bash dieselnator!!! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed our resort and that you enjoyed your presidential suite. Waking up every morning facing the ocean and the beautiful Caribbean sun is priceless!! We’re happy you enjoyed dining in all of our restaurants and enjoyed the service provided there!! On the other hand, we downed to know that you didn’t enjoy the service given by our Hard Rockers by our poolside, we want to let you know that we already spoke with our Quality Manager to use your fair feedback on regards of them, as it's crucial for us to evaluate it and use it to grow as a company. We hope you can come back and stay with us near the future so keep on Rockin’ ‘til next time!! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I have been married 10 years and never been on a real vacation. We had friends who raved about Punta Cana and decided to bite the bullet so to speak.

When we arrived, we were greeted by drinks and friendly faces. When we booked, we upgraded to the rock star package and it was worth every penny. Our room was an upgrade and we had a beautiful view of the ocean and one of the pools. We did overlook the conference area and there was a wedding or conference every night except 1 that we were there. They were loud, but they respectfully shut it down at 11:30 every night and it wasn't an issue at all for us.

The rock star package also came with a personal butler. Our butler was named Verenese. She was amazing. She handled dinner reservations every night and booked anything else we needed. She was also essential when our shuttle didn't arrive to take us back to the airport. Since we don't speak spanish, we never would have been able to figure out where the issue was. Not to mention she arranged a beautiful private dinner as a surprise for our last night. Matter of fact, every member of the staff was very sincere and kind (except the gift shop... terribly mean ladies in there). We were constantly greeted with an "hola" as we walked past any employee. We truly felt like they cared about our stay and cared if we were enjoying ourselves.

The property is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are maintained impeccably. We saw the crews working day and night to make sure everything was perfect. Our room was huge with a large jetted hot tub, dual shower head and a nice deck. The maid staff was amazing. I wish I knew the name of our maid because she was so nice and so thoughtful. Every night they made rounds with turn down service, delivering the newsletter for the next day and chocolates. We also received a few other little gifts in our room throughout our stay. We were stocked with water daily, giant bottles on the counter and littler bottles in the fridge. Our mini bar was stocked upon request.

The spa is amazing. It was beautiful and so relaxing. My husband and I had a couples massage and I had a facial. Both were magnificent.

We went to the casino every night we were there. The drinks are not inclusive in the casino and are $10 so we never stayed long. It was on the small side but very nice and we won all our money back the last night we were there so we can't complain at all!

The food was good! We ate at Zen twice because it was so good and the hibachi style was fun and entertaining. We ate at the buffet a couple times for lunch and most every morning for breakfast, it was consistant and really good food. We ate at Ciao once and the Pizzaria once. Both were surprisingly authentic and tasty. We had read so many bad reviews about the food, we were very pleasantly surprised. We aren't big "food" people so we didn't care if we ate chicken tenders every night and went home. It was nice to actually enjoy our meals and look forward to them. Our private meal arranged by our butler that I spoke of earlier was literally the best meal of my life. I believe it was catered by the Brazilian restaurant. It was absolutely amazing. Room service was consistent. The coffee pot in the room just didn't cut it for me, so we had room service bring us coffee and milk most every morning. We had lunch twice with room service and it was very good both times. There was never a line or a waiting list for any of the restaurants.

We spent most of our time by the beach or in one of the many pools. The service was very, very good. We never had to try very hard to catch a servers eye and we were served promptly. Even though gratuity was included in our package, it didn't feel right so we brought a hundred dollars or so in ones and went through all of it. The servers were very gracious and we didn't have feel bad asking for what we wanted.

We went on one excursion, it was not through the Hard Rock. We went on a ATV tour. Next time I will definitely take the time to look at all the different options for excursions. We didn't know how many options there were until we started talking to other people.

The beach was beautiful. We had so much fun jumping waves and ending our days reading a book to the sound of the waves.

We definitely will come back, only next time we will be bringing our kids. They have an ice cream shop and a free arcade. We also noticed a child watch/play area and a kids pool. We can't wait to share this with our kids!

After reading other reviews, we were a little nervous to go but we were right in assuming that only people who want to complain actually leave reviews so I wanted to make sure I got my review in. Thank you Hard Rock! We will see you again very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hey Misty W, we’re excited to know that you were able to escape the winter and enjoy our tropical weather! You’re a Rock Star and our hotel is your stage and we’re glad that you got to jam it all out!!! It's our priority to ensure we are providing only the best of the best. We’re thrilled to know that you were able to enjoy our grounds and our terrific spa. You could stay all day in there being pampered and spoiled in our spa since every Rock Star needs some time to relax. Thanks for the shout out to all of our Hard Rockers especially Verenise. She is truly a wonderful person who will make sure you have a good time! Our Hard Rock family is looking forward to rolling out the red carpet for your next visit soon!!! Stop, Rock and Roll! SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I originally went to the Hard Rock with a group of friends in November, and as soon as we returned back to the states we booked another trip for Presidents Day Weekend. We enjoyed our trip back, as much, if not more, then the first trip. Because it was our second trip back we knew the grounds pretty well, (which on your first trip can take some getting used too) knew what restaurants we wanted to go to for dinner, and which places had the best breakfast! Hard Rock didn't let us down. Everything was great! We stayed in building 8B, and had two rooms on the same floor. The front desk staff was super flexible/helpful in getting us rooms near each other, even during a very busy time at the hotel. (February School Break for New England) The location of our rooms wasn't ideal but we didn't mind walking to get to our destination, or waiting a few minutes for the tram.
The staff again was AMAZING. For example, I have Celiac's Disease and cannot eat wheat or gluten products. I was extremely nervous that I was going to pay for an all inclusive resort and spend the week eating fruit and salad. This was NOT the case. Everywhere I went the staff went above and beyond to make sure I had something of substance to eat. Before our first trip I had researched and seen that there was a Hibachi restaurant, so I brought my own soy sauce, in hopes the staff would take pity on me and cook with the Gluten Free Soy Sauce! Not only did they cook the last time, but they REMEMBERED us the second time and were MORE THEN WILLING to cook with it again. The manager even came over and took a picture of the bottle to see if they could order some for the resort. I was so happy. It's not everyday someone with a Gluten Allergy can eat the same as their friends, so it was a nice treat. Thank you so much to the Zen staff for making my night! I wish I knew the chef's name, he was AMAZING!
The entire resort lost water due to a pipe bursting in town. The staff did their best to make sure everyone was comfortable, had enough bottled water to clean up, and promised to keep everyone informed as to when the problem would be fixed. People were very upset over this but what were they supposed to do? It was not their fault the pipe broke?
I strongly suggest staying here! We are planning another trip back very soon! We feel lucky to have a place we feel safe, comfortable, and our treated like true Rock Star Royalty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Haha! Thanks for the comments Kate102683, we are so glad you had a great time with us!!! We’re delighted to know that you and your friends felt like royalty for the second time around!! Our team members are the key to our continued success and we are taking much care to emphasize the importance of their role to you, our Rock Star. We will pass along the comments you've provided, so thank you for the awesome shout out to our Hard Rockers from the Zen restaurant!! We’re head over heels from reading that you liked our hotel amenities and that each restaurant made sure that you had something good to eat. We’ll be in the lookout for ya and we hope you visit us soon!! LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the time we arrived till departure, everything was first class.
Toro and Ipanema restaurants were the best in our opinion. The ice cream place was great, and so was the little coffee/bar outside of the casino that had great little deserts!

They have a ton pools, all close to each other, with swim up bars. The food at the pools was tremendous. The activity staff were great and I leaned a few cool Latin dances!
The beach has soft sand and there are plenty of little huts if your like shade. The life guards are on top of their game as the water was a little rough with rip tides, and they were not shy about protecting you. Good to know considering the recent tragedy on the West coast side.
The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds, Jacuzzi and large shower.

Summary, This is a great place with great atmosphere. A special shout out to Fernando and his associates at Toro. Great service by a dedicated hard working service team.

T,S,D from Minnesota

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hey there Tim2550, it truly was a privilege to provide you with first class service, after all, you’re a Rock Star!!! We’re happy you enjoyed our Ipanema restaurant and Toro Steakhouse. We’re delighted you liked our ice cream parlour and and out Must coffee bar! We have been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award, and are one of the few hotels in the country with this distinction for all of our rockin' amenities and stellar guest service. we want to thank you for the Kudos given to Fernando in our Toro Steakhouse he is very dedicated to what he does and it shows!! See you soon in our Sunny Punta Cana T, S, D!!! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are Palace members and had read many reviews before we went so were prepared that there may be some things that were not up to what we were used to at other Palace resorts. We were pleasantly surprised to find out this was not the case. My husband and I spent two weeks there from Feb. 17 to Mar. 3rd, 2013 and came back saying it was probably one of our best vacations overall ever. The staff were amazing and made us feel that they really wanted us to have a wonderful experience and were prepared to make sure that was what happened. Of special note are the entertainment staff Rolando (aka Jamacia Man WOW what a perfect man for the job), Miguel, Joele, the waiters Miskill, Domingo and Fernando, The servers at Sun Bar, Martina, Fanny, Carolina, Glenny and Perla, and the ladies at the members pool who came by each day to make sure everything was good and to ask if there was anything we needed. Also, we can't forget our favorite bartender Dagoberto.

The restaurants were all very good but sometimes some of the items on the buffet were a bit on the cool side. We always found something that we liked.

The resort had 100% occupancy during our stay and we never felt it was crowded. We spent most of our time at the members pool and did note that some of the other pools were quite a bit busier.

The beach was very nice but the water too rough to swim in which suited us as we are more pool people anyway.

Would recommend this resort in a heartbeat and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
The excitement that you and others like you have for the fun-filled experiences that we provide to our guests is what drives us Raylene C!! It was truly an honor serving you while you were here and most of all, we’re happy we got to impress you!! Thank you for taking some time to acknowledge our Hard Rockers, our team works hard and we're glad it shows! Thanks for the shout out to Rolando, he is very funny and Miguel and Joel are just hilarious! Miskill, Domingo and Fernando are just the best of the best!! Martina, Fanny, Carolina, Glenny and Perla are always on top of their game making sure that the drinks are flowing! Dagoberto is an awesome bartender he sure makes some wicked shots!! We hope that you do come back, thank you so much for offering your valuable, wonderful experience!!! We can't wait ‘til you rock with us again!! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Everyone who worked at the Hotel was so helpful & NICE! To name a few there was the Casino crew including David, Neftali, William, Oneigo, Wendy, Javier & Cristican. Always a smile on their faces. Francisco at Ipanema, Carlo & Juan at Zen & Jose at Ciao and the rest of the staff were always pleasant & friendly. Food was very good & a wide variety, even if one might be picky I'm sure they would not be disappointed at one of the many buffets. The premise is huge, we were near the Casino, but only a couple minutes away by shuttle bus to pools or beach. Was our first time to Punta Cana & we will definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHCPuntaCana, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hey Nancy2433 we’re delighted to know that you had a Rockin’ time in our hotel!! We sure were glad to take you front-row in our paradisiacal hotel! Thank you so much for you kind words about our Hard Rockers!!! We’ll be sure to let David, Neftali, Oneigo, William, Javier, Wendy and Cristian know that they Rocked your world!!! Francisco over at Ipanema is very attentive and friendly. Carlos and Juan will make sure that you’ll never get bored and have a good time! We’re delighted you enjoyed the food given and our wide variety at our different restaurant. We’ll be delighted to service you again so make sure to swing by sometime near the future!! SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Address: Boulevard Turistico del Este Km.28 No.74, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1,787 room Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana is situated on pristine sugar white sands stretching 121-acres along Macao Beach in the Dominican Republic. Hard Rock's first all inclusive hotel and casino exudes lavish five-star amenities and personal service to create the ultimate rock star getaway. Among the resort's many offerings are luxe accommodations, the signature Rock Spa(R), 18-hole Nicklaus designed golf course, iconic music memorabilia and a larger-than-life Vegas-style casino - the largest in the Dominican Republic, featuring Oro nightclub. Guests also enjoy 15 expansive pools, four swim-up bars, a kids pool and lazy river. A variety of gourmet dining options are available through the resort's nine restaurants, with Simon Mansion & Supper Club by the famed Rock n Roll Chef Kerry Simon, which opened in 2013. The property also features more than 65,000 square-feet of flexible event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Punta Cana
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.