We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Turistico del Este, km 28, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I just came back from our second trip to the Hard Rock in Punta Cana. First trip was with our three kids in Feb 2011...this one was just the two of us. We enjoyed both trips immensely. It was good we didn't take the kids this time because the kids pool with the slides was closed for maintenance. Whew, disaster averted.

About our trip. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a presidential suite overlooking the beach and pool. The room was huge and very clean. We were supposed to have a butler service but we saw her on the first day and never heard from her again. Housekeeping was good but the language barrier was an issue when asking for things like more coffee and towels. Calling down to the front desk always cleared things up. No real issue with the room.

The resort is quite large so if walking is an issue for you, you may want to look elsewhere as the tram service can be spotty at times. If you are patient (10 mins max), you shouldn't have a problem. With all the food and drinking we enjoyed, walking was never an issue for us except when it rained a couple of times. Being large was a good thing in that it offered various places to hang out during the day. Many, many pools both adjacent to the beach and further internal to the resort. Lots of sports activities and access to other outings all from the resort. Since we were there for pure relaxation, we didn't participate in any other outings.

The beach is beautiful here. They maintain it well and it is a wide swath so lots of room fro everyone. Waves were often quite large which made it difficult to truly enjoy it but the water is clear and warm. The weather was a bit wonky for us so I believe the beach was red flagged for 4-5 of seven days. Not the end of the world as we tend to enjoy spendin our time at the pool with walks along the beach later in the day.

We did make a visit to the spa on our second last day. It is gorgeous! Apperently the largest in the carribean. I can believe it. We had a couples treatment which was good but not great. It was relaxing but I have had better massages for a lot less money back home. We did enjoy the ambience which was very relaxing and comfortable.

Food variety was great. We ate more often at the mexican restaurant which was delicious. We also enjoyed the pizzeria and the brazilian restaurant which were both very good. The italian left a bit to be desired (being from Toronto we have lots of great italian restaurants so its tough to beat). We didn't go to the steak house because we really didn't enjoy it last time but others may enjoy. Breakfast was generally pretty good. We always went for buffets. Service was great everywhere but we particularly enjoyed the Brazilian and Mexican.

Overall another great experience at the Hard Rock. We will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello TorontoSnowbird72, Thank you for the overall great review. We are glad that you came back to visit us for a second time. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences, and we have shared your comments concerning the butler, tram and spa services, and our Italian restaurant with the Management of the involved departments in order to take the necessary corrective steps to ensure that our guests have experiences that rock from start to finish. We can’t wait to have you back again. Keep on rockin’! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,341
    1,977
    921
    388
    279
See reviews for
3,077
3,021
66
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was here on business and the friendliness and warmth of the staff is excellent. After the first day of arriving for breakfast at the Market the hostess remembered by name and was always very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello MissBajangirl, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your business visit with us, and received Rock Star treatment from the hostess at the Market. We hope you will come and rock out with us again soon! LOVE ALL SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The GOOD- The room (4310) was very nice, it was big, clean, quiet with a very pretty big bathrooms along with a huge jacuzzi in the room. Nice beach but it was reg flagged most days. Many different pools with varying activities and themes (quiet, aerobics etc.) This is all the "GOOD"

The BAD- The food: Breakfast was typical in most restaurants, lunch was just ok. The only enjoyable dinner was at the Zen, the Japanese restaurant. The food was very tasty, but they said they ran out of shrimp ( what a joke). We also ate at the Mexican Res., presentation was great but the food was bad. We also had breakfast, lunch and dinner at La isla. One of the biggest disappointment was their so called steak, It was probably less than a quarter inch thick. We also use credits for a romantic lobster dinner.They destroyed the Caribbean lobster, it was frozen then thawed out then thrown on the grill for some marks.

The UGLY- We payed for converge service, we haven't met him or her yet. All this service gets you is a separate pool and food stand. Don't waste your money. Management in the Main lobby restaurant are definitely better and accommodative than Toro and La Isla. One of the worst things I have seen in my travel is their public bathrooms in the main lobby area. Most of them do not flush properly..utterly disgusting.

Comments: The resort is huge and very corporate, no one can make a decision, they pass it on another person. For the well traveled this Resort is not for you. I will never go there even if was free. The Airport is another area of mass confusion where there is no organization and long lines especially getting out.

Room Tip: Most rooms average rooms appears to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello onlytheislands, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We feel that there is no better way to improve than through the communication with our valued guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, along with the many different pools.

We distress to learn that we could not fulfill your expectations this time concerning some of the food offered at our resort. We are constantly changing and improving our menus, in order to ensure the satisfaction of our customers. Your comments have been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef.

Similarly, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced regarding the concierge service and the maintenance in the public washrooms. You can be sure that these are very important matters for us, and the involved departments are already working on the corresponding corrective measures.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, so that we can show you our improvements and provide you with the Rock Star experience you truly deserve. ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were a group of 10 going to HRH Punta Cana one of our 30th birthday. We had a great time. Relaxation and fun were our top priority and we succeeded. The staff were attentive and entertaining. The entertainment was awesome. Fernando, Mr. Happy, "Duracell" and the rest of the Entertainment crew kept us all smiling our entire stay. It was the best 30th birthday party ever!!! Wish I was having mine there...may have to make that happen.

The hotel is still growing, but it didn't take away from the experience.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKac_vxSUu4&hd=1

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello Smiles421, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. We are glad that you had a great time and enjoyed a combination of relaxation and fun. Fernando, Mr. Happy and Duracell will be thrilled to learn that they made your stay rock. We hope to welcome you back soon. Rock on! TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the 5th resort we have stayed at in Punta Cana. After spending 7 days there we were convinced ths was not a 5 star resort. First it is to big and spread out to enjoy. If you want an ocean view you will make good use of the transportation system, if you can catch it, to get back and forth to the main lobby. Next the salseman pushing the time share option made us stop answering the phone. The most disappointing feature was not being able to relax on the balcony in the evening due to the costant bombardment of blood thirsty mosquito's. There were some good points namely the entertainment staff. The "Jamica Man" went out of his way to make everyone he encountered smile. Overall its a nice resort to visit but unless gambling is the primary reason for your vacation, there are other resorts that have the all inclusive option and are visually more appealing and less spread out.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ponds that run through the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Tom K, We are disappointed to learn that we could not fulfill all of your expectations on this visit. We are sorry for the inconveniences you may have experienced concerning the transportation system and our sales team. We strive to provide our guests with the best service possible, and work diligently in the training and supervision of our Rock Team. You can be sure your remarks have been addressed with the Director of our Vacation Club and our Transportation Director, in order to avoid similar inconveniences in the future.

We would like you to know that we regularly fumigate throughout our entire property, using a highly recognized external company. Even though we take every precaution and every possible step, some species are not avoidable at all times. We have shared your comments with the external company that provides this service so that they can refine their procedures and ensure the satisfaction of our valued guests.

A resort of our size isn’t for everyone, but we are really glad that you gave us a try. Rock on! LOVE ALL SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was there with my wife and family, and I wanted to call out especially Miranyesis at Toro Restaurant and Rolando in activities, which made our stay great and were SO kind to my daughter. The rooms were great, and so was the pool and the amazing beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Roberto P, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is great to hear that Miranyesis and Rolando rocked your world. We are glad that your daughter enjoyed her time with us, and that you enjoyed our pools, rooms and beach. We hope you will come back and rock with us again soon. TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were here for our destination wedding. We stayed a total of 9 days at the resort and were a party of 34. I am going to start with the wedding review for all those brides out there..
We booked about a year in advance to give all of our guests enough time to plan and save. I used a destination wedding travel agent, which I highly recommend. We choose Place Resorts because they really give you a lot of value for your money in the way of perks.. Unlimited private events for 25 rooms/75 nights was a big plus for us.. We had 2 other private events besides our wedding.
A few months before the wedding you start the planner processing with a stateside Wedding Planner 1st (3 months before out of Miami). I had already paid my deposit and picked out the ceremony package at this point. I had to confirm with her and then pick out the venues for the wedding and all other private events. We had a welcome dinner and a rehearsal cocktail hour as our other private events. You don't pay for the venue or the cost of staff/food/drinks for the events, but you do have to pay for the tables, chairs, and decorations. Just be aware of that.
I was not impressed with the stateside Wedding Planner.. I thought she was pretty bad, but I got through it.. Then, about one month before you are handed off to the wedding planner at the resort.. She was great! I had IIliana.. The weddings department there is great! They totally have it together. All the events went great. The food was good. The staff really good.. They always let us go later then our time.. They don't really pay attention to that, which was great.. I would do it all again.

The Resort
We booked as a group, so we checked in at the groups check-in, which is different then normal check-in. This is also where you go the book your resort credits.. They have 2 people here. One for spa/romantic dinners and the other for excursions..
We arrived at around 230pm and were checked in in about 10mins, but our room wasn't ready yet.. After a few minutes of talking in the lobby our room was ready. We had the Presidential Suite, which was an upgrade due to number of people/nights we had booked in our group. This is where our Travel Agent was great. She had in confirmed before we arrived, which doesn't normally happen. We were taken to our room with our bags and given a little tour of the grounds along the way.. Our room was great! We were in 2A 303. We had an ocean view, which are few. The buildings are shaped like a T. So if your in 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, you can have an ocean view if you are in short top of the T. The room was huge as was our balcony.
The room was cleaned daily. We tipped on the 1st day and asked for extra towels, and received them everyday after.. Even the basic room is huge.. I loved having the Jacuzzi in the room.. We also used room service a few times. It was always there with in 45mins hot, and good. We were right by 2 restaurants, so that may help. We got breakfast in 20mins one morning. We ordered wine, beer, soda, and it always came..
The food was good. The pizza, Zen, Cafe that made coffee and had deserts and Isla..Were all good. We did the romantic dinner and it was awesome. The staff are always friendly and willing to help..
The pools were great.. Just pick one.
The night life was good, not great.. They do need a little more to do at night.
The credits.. We booked before April, so we didn't have the pay the 16% tax. Only in the credit store, which everyone was to pay the tax there.. I will say the staff in there are not nice!!
We used all of our 2000 credits and it very easy.. We went to the groups area, which is different then the one all other guests use. We didn't have a problem booking anything. Moon Rocker, Pedicure's, Hair appointment.. It is just best to book everything all at once..
Just remember you are on island time.. Relax!

One thing I really didn't like... They had vendors selling items a few night during our stay.. You have to walk past them if you going to dinner.. They were pushy.. After paying money to come stay at a 5 star resort the last thing I want is to be bothered to buy something I don't want or need..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Bowerman, Customer Care at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello kimberly b, Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our many restaurants and pools, and the activities on which you used your resort credits. We are always looking for ways to continue to improve our service, and appreciate your comments concerning the Wedding Department. You can be sure that your comments have been taken as an important matter and have been addressed with our General Management and our Wedding Department in order to ensure the satisfaction of our guests celebrating their special occasion with us.

We have also shared your comments regarding the evening entertainment, Resort Credit Shop staff and vendors with the involved departments in order to avoid similar inconveniences in the future.

We hope you will come back and visit again soon. Rock on! ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana

Address: Blvd. Turistico del Este, km 28, Punta Cana 74, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1,787 room Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana is situated on pristine sugar white sands stretching 121-acres along Macao Beach in the Dominican Republic. Hard Rock’s first all inclusive hotel and casino exudes lavish five-star amenities and personal service to create the ultimate rock star getaway. Among the resort’s many offerings are luxe accommodations, the signature Rock Spa®, 18-hole Nicklaus designed golf course, iconic music memorabilia and a larger-than-life Vegas-style casino – the largest in the Dominican Republic, featuring Oro nightclub. Guests also enjoy 15 expansive pools, four swim-up bars, a kids pool and lazy river. A variety of gourmet dining options are available through the resort’s nine restaurants, with Mansion by Simon by the famed Rock n Roll Chef Kerry Simon, set to open in 2013. The property also features more than 65,000 square-feet of flexible event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Punta Cana
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.