We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Cap Cana to your Saves list
Sanctuary Cap Cana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Eastvale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for the family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I went here with my wife and two boys, ages 8 and 5. We all loved the place. But I was worried at first because I read reviews of over booking, being transferred to another resort, etc etc. But when we went their, our room was ready. In fact, we switched to a room with a better view with no problem or push back from the front desk. The food at the restaurants were alright, good thing we didn't do the all inclusive. We were able to go to several restaurants for dinner throughout Cap Cana. And by the way, this place felt VERY safe because you had to go through a guarded gate before you can even get to any of the resorts in Cap Cana. Back to the Sanctuary, every day, they had several events and their concierge was superb. The one and only gripe I had was how long it took to get towels. And even though I asked for 4, they would always bring a set of 3. I ended up packing a couple fresh towels from the pool each day. The pool was warm, and to my 5 year old, that was important. BUT the jacuzzi was just bubbles. It was no warmer than the pool, and they don't heat it at all. One suggestion when going outside of Cap Cana, make sure you book a taxi for the day through your concierge. They can help you plan you day, help you get a good rate on the taxi costs, and you will safely get from point A to point B,C,D and back to A again. Finding taxis outside of Cap Cana isn't easy and more expensive.

Punta Cana is a great place to visit, and I recommend staying at Sanctuary Cap Cana. Enjoy...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    376
    166
    82
    53
See reviews for
231
1,324
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I are frequent travelers and typically stay with brands like Four Seasons, Fairmont, and Rosewood. My husband is easy but I'm very picky. We both loved this property. The architecture is unique and looks like it's been there forever. The fortress really does feel like a castle as you walk the halls..austere, but we liked it. The grounds are gorgeous and there are several lovely pools. The water is warm and very calm in Cap Cana....much better than Punta Cana! The beach is small, but the sand is powdery, white and pale pink. There is very little shade at the beach, no palapas, and too many lounges for the small space. This is my only criticism of the whole place. There are great chaises at the pools though and we didn't have an issue getting two at 9:00. Later than that, it may be difficult. The food and drinks were all pretty good, especially for an all-inclusive. I think what I liked best was that Sanctuary doesn't give you that weird "Love Boat" vibe like some all-inclusives do. If you want to do nothing on vacation but relax all day, have a nice dinner, and maybe a nightcap at a laid-back bar, this is it!

Room Tip: The swim out suites are pretty private....would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and it is a real honor for me to hear your comments and it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the walk through our grounds and corridors and the service provided by our staff.

Thank you for preferring Our Sanctuary!

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

reviews. If anyone didn't like their stay at the Sanctuary, there is a problem with them, not the resort. My wife and I spent our honeymoon there from Sunday 4/20- Friday 4/25 and it was absolutely amazing. Juan Felix at the front desk went over and beyond to help us with any and all issues we had with our room. Jorge at the Photography booth was extremely helpful. We stayed in private villa #2004 and it was awesome. For an all inclusive, most of the food was above average. The only place we didn't care for was the Italian restaurant but all the others get a thumbs up. The grounds were extremely nice, the resort was tranquil and relaxing, and the beach was very nice. All in all we had a great time and are already planning a family return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for the confidence placed in us to celebrate your Honeymoon with us, for recommending us to property to other travelers, and for your compliments.

I am very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and it is a real honor for me to hear your comments about our facilities and service, At Sanctuary Cap Cana is our PASSION to provide the best guest experience to make them feel at home!!!

We will be waiting for you to experience another great stay at our Sanctuary.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

great staff and amazing pool, beach combo! There is a plus, Janillo beach is only steps away from the resort, which means breath taking views under the sun! The food near the pool was also good! The pool area has a bar near the water, that hella great and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Sanctuary, with our future guests.

It is an honor for us to be part of specials occasions, we are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at this, your Sanctuary.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I will start this review in a positive way by saying the staff and employees of this resort are outstanding. Every one of them was freindly and attentive. The property is also clean and safe. No complaints about that.
However...we absolutely would not return and left feeling as if we were "ripped off" given the amount of money this trip cost. The little things add up and in our case, the little things were daily--broken phones, broken toilets, burned out lightbulbs, broken bathtubs, a/c that didn't work, room service that simply didn't show up, the Spa is a joke--the sauna and whirlpools were broken our entire stay, the hottub at the pool was broken, housekeeping was erratic, (example, dirty dishes would sit in the room over 24 hrs, ignored by the maids).
The two biggest issues for us were 1. the food. It is awful Breakfast and lunch are tolerable but dinners were terrible. Stale bread, undercooked meats, watery shrimp, old lettuce, the same desserts at every meal. Yes, it's an all-inclusive so we expected it to be average but this was poor. The other issue is that for an all-inclusive, we expected SOME activities to be included such as snorkel equipment. The beach is small (yet pretty and clean) but there is nothing to do, no kayaks, no rafts, no snorkels, nothing. we were told to walk to the public beach, Juinilla, to do any of that,but that was for a fee.
We have been to Turks & Caicos as well as the Bahamas and would return there instead of here. However...we did hear other guests complaining abut the food and saying that Hyatt has bought this resort and it is closing in Sept for an overhaul. Interesting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

As service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, after we have finished reading your notes, we are truly sorry due the fact that we did not accomplish with our main goal: your total satisfaction.

At Sanctuary we have a strong commitment on continuous improvement; therefore your comments are very important to us, it is the only method that we can improve our service and know better your preferences. Your notes have been send to the departments involved in order to work on it. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced and I assure you, that corrective and preventive measures have been determined with all the departments involved, in order to avoid, similar situations in the future.

Finally, I would like to ask you to give us other opportunity, will be an honor host you in the future and exceed your expectations.


Best regards,


Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Don't even hesitate to book your next vacation to this resort. The pictures are exactly what you will see. Except the pictures do not do it justice. This resort is beautiful and clean. We have visited many islands in the Caribbean and in the South Pacific and The Dominican Republic is absolutely a stunning place to visit! I would compare this island to the South Pacific similar to Tahiti in its exceptional beauty. The resort is hands down top notch for a all inclusive. You will not be disappointed! The views are absolutely gorgeous views of the caribbean sea. The resort is very clean and the workers are all friendly. Don't listen to the negative reviewers. The food by far was some of the best for a all inclusive resort. Remember we all have likes in dislikes in the food department. No worrys this resort has many different options. Not once were we treated bad. The workers are friendly and hard working and more than helpful for whatever you may need. I was most definitely impressed with this resort. The beach Juanhillo next door to the resort is one of the most beautiful beaches I have been to in the Caribbean. We spent the days at this beach its a 5 minute walk and yes they will take you their with a golf cart could you not walk. They have chairs at this beach and yes they are free for all the public to use. Its a definite place to spend your day!! I cannot stress how beautiful Sanctuary was. It was one of the best vacations I have taken. We never revisit a place twice but this is one place I plan to come back to. This is Paradise at its best!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade when you arrive. The Castle is incredible, be sure to get a oceanfront room. But d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share on Trip Advisor your recent experience in our Sanctuary.

We are very glad to learn that you had a wonderful vacations, it is a pleasure to read that you
enjoyed our facilities and service. Our main goal is to transform the holidays of our guests in memorable moments and we are very happy to read that we accomplish that goal with you.

We hope you will visit us again at this, your Sancturary.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a wonderful experience overall at Sanctuary. There is no doubt that the resort was beautiful all around (beaches, restaurants, rooms) but what MADE our trip was the wonderful staff. We were welcomed everyday that we stayed. Our favorites were Junior, Martha, Christian (makes the omelets in the morning), Kelvin (works at steakhouse), Alexander, and both Carlos's that work at the pool bar. I would recommend brushing up on your Spanish a little bit, this helps tremendously. Also, Carlos who does the scuba lessons in the pool was wonderful, he is patient and knows a lot about the area. We went on an excursion to Catalina island that we set up with him and it was absolutely amazing. The staff really works hard and is dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. We stayed in a villa and were able to get the view we wanted. We definitely will be staying here again and will be recommending it to others! Thank you to everyone at Sanctuary Cap Cana who made our stay amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for extending us your kind compliments about our property. It is a pleasure to know all your expectations were exceeded. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We look forward to see you soon at our Sanctuary!

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana

Address: Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Cap Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.