We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet resort with beautiful rooms and a friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Cap Cana to your Saves list
Sanctuary Cap Cana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quiet resort with beautiful rooms and a friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very quiet and perfect for couples. Our room was beautiful. We had room service on our balcony every morning. Th pool bar was nice and they never let your drink get empty. The only complaint I have is that there wasn't enough of a selection in the room service menu and not all the restaurants were open at certain times.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are so thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the service. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality.

Also, I would like to thank you for your recommendation concerning the room service and the restaurant's schedule, we have sent your comments to the corresponding managers in order to take them under consideration and improve the procedures at the mentioned departments.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Best regards,


Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    463
    192
    98
    63
See reviews for
325
1,553
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found the property, staff and 99% of meals beyond our expectations. It is good to arrive with sun-screen and bug repellant because it is a little expensive to purchase there. There are so many great spots to relax, read, sip cocktails and then there is the beach beyond the property that stretches on and on. The secluded pool onto of the fort with its own bar provided semi-private swimming and sunning in the late afternoon. Pure bliss.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Sanctuary with our future guests.

We really appreciate your kind words and thank you again for staying with us. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This trip to Punta Cana was to explore, find and enjoy places with my wife and my friends that I brought from Europe and South America, regardless of cost so maybe you won't like my review but his is my experience.

First, I was put in touch with the P.R. person from Sanctuary Cap Cana by the P.R. person from IFA Villas Bavaro, Raysa Felix, and this is how everythig starts.

We met Angel (his last name escape my memory right now) but he is a great P.R. guy that not only enjoys his job but knows everyone and every place in Punta Cana that a tourist must see or find out about it.

The journey starts with a friendly encounter between Raysa Felix, P.R. person from IFA Villas Bavaro, who introduces us (5 Adults, 3 Kids) to Angel, P.R. person from Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort, a high end resort in Punta Cana and asks from him as a favor that he shows us the most he can in the shortest period of time and makes sure we enjoy.

This guy is like Wikepedia (actually he is a Dominican Journalist just like Raysa), he knows everyone and every place in that area. The guy gives us a tour of the entire complex that last almost four hours but at the same time makes time in between for us to enjoy the most beautiful beach I have ever seen (believe me I have seen quite a few in my world traveling over 30 years) but at the same time we are drinking, eating and enjoying nature to its max.

Eating at different restaurants in the complex during the day is exquisite and very affordable. Lobster, Shrimps, Steaks, beers and everything else in the menu for a very reasonably price, eaten right at the beach with the staff bringing in without us going out of the water, this is what life is all about.

The Marina at the place is one of the best I have ever seen including the ones in Dubai, UAE, with Yacths in the 25-50 Millions price; what a life. To round up the day, a trip throughout the huge complex with buggy rides, sightseen of extinguished species being protected and a delightful meal at an Italian restaurant with all the flavors including Champagne and at very good price.

Next, planning trip for next day to Saona Island, so watch out for that review too. That was also a very enjoyable and successful day so read that review, plan your next trip, don't be cheap with yourself, and enjoy the most memorable time you can have if you decide to spend the $$.

If you cannot afford, don't go on vacation and stay home cleaning the house unitl you can enjoy, but if you want to enjoy the fruits of your hard labor during a full year go to the Dominican republic and enjoy for cheaps.

Room Tip: You can enjoy this place for less than $100 per day not including food, so it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable, thank you for you kind remarks and recognition of efforts. Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my husband came for our honeymoon and had an unbelievable experience at Sanctuary Cap Cana. The views were breathtaking, entertainment staff at hotel made for the most fun evenings. We particularly enjoyed one of the staff members by the name of Menor or "mamajuana" man! He was always in such a happy mood no matter what time of day! He made the entertainment staff shine bright! We will definitely be coming back and bring our children because we were surprised by how much of a family resort it could be as well as honeymooners and couples.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your recent experience in our Sanctuary on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful honeymoon in our resort, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Service.

We are very grateful with your mention about our associates, thank you very much for recognize their work and for comment the details that they have had with you, our team consists of people that are always ready to go the extra mile, in order to provide an excellent service and to transform your vacations into memorable moments.

Be sure that they will know about your review and you recognition, they will be more than happy to know the good impression that they left on you.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Whereas other all-inclusives are Micky-Dees where you have to set the alarm to set a towel by the pool, Sanctuary is well-named. My wife and I escaped from our daily mayhem as well as the all-inclusive mayhem to enjoy 7 days of escapism. There was what you'd expect -- pool side service and all-you-can-eat restaurants, but there was also seclusion -- glorious kid-free-exclusion. Our two young children stayed at my parent's house and we enjoyed peace, quiet, and pampering from a most amazingly dedicated staff.

Our last night there included being woken up by a most horrendous smell as the septic backed up and caused everyone on our wing to go to the front desk to mandate moving, but within 20 minutes, we were having the time of our lives in a honeymoon sweet, and I shouldn't say more.

I recommend this place to all who are either tired of the humdrum all-inclusive concept and are looking for a true getaway or to the couple looking to reconnect without the hub-bub of children everywhere. Enjoy the aptly named Sanctuary.

Room Tip: Start low and find reasons to ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know that my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

I would like to thank you for your recommendation concerning the musty smell, our guest’s opinion are very important to us, we have sent your comments to the corresponding managers in order to take them under consideration and improve at the mentioned points.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,


Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently when to this resort for our honeymoon and it was AMAZING!! So beautiful, we never ever wanted to leave. The rooms were amazing, the staff super friendly, and the beaches beautiful. I would definitely recommend for a romantic trip. There were a lot of extra activities you could do (not included in all inclusive but easily available)-- we went ziplining (so fun!), horseback riding, and snorkeling. The only less than positive things I would point out is that snorkeling is not included even though we were told it was. The restaurants, in our opinion, were food but not incredible. The property, however, is impeccably clean and beautiful. We would totally go back.

Room Tip: We liked the Jr ocean Suites more than the rooms in the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share on Trip Advisor your recent experience in our Sanctuary.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana. At Sanctuary Cap Cana it is our pleasure to service our guest with the finest hospitality. We want to guarantee a vacation that will be unforgettable. Thank you for you kind remarks and recognition of efforts. Please tell your friends about our hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The resort itself is beautiful. It was a couple trip and we are young. There is NO night entertainment. After dinner, that is pretty much it. There is a love bar which plays live music etc but thats about it. The place really feels like they shut down when the moon comes out. The food was great...the seafood restaurant a la carte or regular is yummy!! Lots of seafood! THere are LOTS of little crabs (white) allll along the beach...One even got into my room. Stayed in a villa - GORGEOUS! Love the 24 hour room service. Beach was nice - place is pretty quiet - more for an older couple or who genuinely want NO NOISE/DISTRACTION - SPA -AMAZING absolutely loved it and great prices! The people are very helpful and kind. They have a bus which can take you to the casino about 30 mins away at night...try that...there is a bar across the street.- its safe. I will put up some pics - seriously dont go if you are looking for a lot of fun and excitement - there is none at this resort. But a beautiful resort!

Room Tip: OK I got a villa - like your own apt - pretty nice and private and quiet with own back yard! The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio P, General Manager at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for extending us your kind compliments about our property. It is a pleasure to know all your expectations were exceeded. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We look forward to see you soon at our Sanctuary!

Best regards,

Ignacio Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana

Address: Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Cap Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.