We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Cap Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Cap Cana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Could Be Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here for a 4 day site selection trip, whereby I'd be reviewing the hotel for what it can offer a group of guests. I stayed on a Beach One Bedroom Villa, Room 1002. Although it's a BEAUTIFUL hotel with an outstanding location, it lacks customer service. The hotel is in management transition and may be one of the main reasons the personnel is less than accommodating. Although friendly, the staff doesn't respond well to customer complaints. They are very defensive vs. trying to solve your problem - which can be anywhere from lack of hot water, dissatisfaction with room, etc. If you can look past this, the resort is a perfect place to do absolutely nothing for days ... the perfect getaway. If you're someone who likes to do alot of things while on vacation, they are all available, but from other vendors through the concierge. Five onsite restaurants offer anywhere from seafood to sandwiches in informal settings, but they are not all open at the same time. The seafood at the Blue Marlin was okay - not outstanding .... the highlight was the calamari appetizer, which I ordered twice. I liked my steak dinner in the steakhouse very much which is weird because you'd think seafood would be better given that it's readily available. Breakfast is the same daily, but offers lot of variety. The rooms are adequate, but in need of renovations. The sanctuary is a quick 15 minutes from the airport. The spa, however, is considered one of the best in the caribbean! Let's hope new management gives this property a lift!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a better room if you're unhappy with the choice they offer you. Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,277
    370
    163
    77
    52
See reviews for
224
1302
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is amazing.. I had an awful experience in a not so great resort I came to in Punta Cana last year but my friends convinced me this would not be the case in Sanctuary and let me tell you this place did not disappoint. Amazing views and friendly staff. I even got to meet the manager of the hotel in the lobby during check in. She was a lovely person. Genuinely kind.. Normally people who run resorts tend to be a bit stand offish so I was pleasantly surprised. The food was great. No buffet style here.. Everything is a la carte. The staff was helpful and attentive even though their was a lot of events such as weddings and music concerts they never once forget about the other guests. Great place.. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our time at the Sanctuary. Every staff member was courteous and pleasant. We appreciated our room upgrade too! The resort is beautiful and the food is really good. We were excited about that since a lot of all inclusive places don't always have the best food. We've already made recommendations for friends to travel here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the swim up suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stay at Sanctuary Cap Cana for our Anniversary, everything was perfect, the only bad thing is restaurants, just one or two for dinner, but everything besides that was perfect, Chantal at the Concierge she was just amazing, taking care of every detail, we are planing to go back again on January we loved it!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel is well situated near to Punta Cana and good golf. All-inclusive means weakish wines and slightly diluted cocktails BUT the service is outstanding and both Brenda and Justo do a great job. Take a pocketful of single dollar bills as tipping is expected throughout the island. Shuttle service is good and food very good. Beare of conference delegates getting high on "free" drinks and creating noise around the pool areas but, in general, a good middle of the road hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in The Castle where the entrance is similar to entering a prison. Rooms have a decent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Being there at the end of the "low" season was a plus for us. The resort was not crowded, allowing us to feel like we had most of the place to ourselves. And what a beautiful place it is! Gorgeous views everywhere you turn. The buildings are a feast for the eyes and the grounds impeccably kept. The food was very good and the Junior Suite rather spacious. The "Punta Espada" golf course is amazing; a must for any golfer. Just driving the golf cart was a treat! We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I will start with the many positive attributes and then just a few negatives. Let me start by saying that Sanctuary Cap Cana has spectacular views!!! Every time we left our room i was taking beautiful pictures of the sea, palm trees, pools and the buildings and grounds. My husband and i were here celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary and it was very romantic and secluded location. It really does look like all the pictures. The food in restaurants(Steakhouse, Blue Marlin and Casa Bella) and room service were all very good as well as the service. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The main pool is very clean, plenty of towels and lounge chairs, great views and perfect water temp. We stayed in the castle room 1044 , it's swim-out room. We booked oceanfront but they gave us this one and decided not to change it because it really was very nice and romantic. I mention the room # because the way this patio is situated it actually has the best view. The pool is a bit chilly but it did not stop us from enjoying it and there are steps that lead you out to a beautiful deck and Juanillo Beach.The beaches were not what i expected...i was looking for white sand with crystal clear water...these are not that. They are very rocky and a bit milky in shallow water. Ok now the reasons why i only gave 4 out of 5 stars...The smell in our castle room was very musty..all the time. I had to wash my clean unworn clothes when i got home because they smelled of an old basement. When taking a shower we had to run the water 15 minutes just to get it slightly warm. There were unexpected critters in our room everyday. So although there were a few things that were not what i expected from a 5 star resort I would still say that we a had a wonderful vacation and the views alone are enough to make me want to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana

Address: Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Cap Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.