We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALMOST BUT NOT QUITE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Cap Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Cap Cana to your Saves list
Sanctuary Cap Cana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“ALMOST BUT NOT QUITE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel is well situated near to Punta Cana and good golf. All-inclusive means weakish wines and slightly diluted cocktails BUT the service is outstanding and both Brenda and Justo do a great job. Take a pocketful of single dollar bills as tipping is expected throughout the island. Shuttle service is good and food very good. Beare of conference delegates getting high on "free" drinks and creating noise around the pool areas but, in general, a good middle of the road hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in The Castle where the entrance is similar to entering a prison. Rooms have a decent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    504
    202
    108
    66
See reviews for
393
1,717
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Being there at the end of the "low" season was a plus for us. The resort was not crowded, allowing us to feel like we had most of the place to ourselves. And what a beautiful place it is! Gorgeous views everywhere you turn. The buildings are a feast for the eyes and the grounds impeccably kept. The food was very good and the Junior Suite rather spacious. The "Punta Espada" golf course is amazing; a must for any golfer. Just driving the golf cart was a treat! We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I will start with the many positive attributes and then just a few negatives. Let me start by saying that Sanctuary Cap Cana has spectacular views!!! Every time we left our room i was taking beautiful pictures of the sea, palm trees, pools and the buildings and grounds. My husband and i were here celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary and it was very romantic and secluded location. It really does look like all the pictures. The food in restaurants(Steakhouse, Blue Marlin and Casa Bella) and room service were all very good as well as the service. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The main pool is very clean, plenty of towels and lounge chairs, great views and perfect water temp. We stayed in the castle room 1044 , it's swim-out room. We booked oceanfront but they gave us this one and decided not to change it because it really was very nice and romantic. I mention the room # because the way this patio is situated it actually has the best view. The pool is a bit chilly but it did not stop us from enjoying it and there are steps that lead you out to a beautiful deck and Juanillo Beach.The beaches were not what i expected...i was looking for white sand with crystal clear water...these are not that. They are very rocky and a bit milky in shallow water. Ok now the reasons why i only gave 4 out of 5 stars...The smell in our castle room was very musty..all the time. I had to wash my clean unworn clothes when i got home because they smelled of an old basement. When taking a shower we had to run the water 15 minutes just to get it slightly warm. There were unexpected critters in our room everyday. So although there were a few things that were not what i expected from a 5 star resort I would still say that we a had a wonderful vacation and the views alone are enough to make me want to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Level Contributor
197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sanctuary Hotel at Cap Cana has to be one of the most beautiful resources anywhere! It has everything from golf to private and shared pools to a beach! It has many incredible views from the rooms, overlooking the ocean. We had a Junior Suite at an ammazing price due because we went for a wedding and they had special rates. The food is the only thing that isn't up to the far-out place it is, but you can dine there with ease. I think it is because the chain that is administrating it has not given this hotel the place it deserves in exposure, so it doesn't meet the economic expectations. The surrounding Punta Cana area has great restaurants so don't let this stop you from the experience!

Room Tip: Get at least a Junior Suite with an ocean view! The prices are still great! It doesn't matter ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just got back from our Honeymoon. This was a great trip. Not a giant resort, so if you love lots of people and different restaurants everynight, then this is not the place for you. Also, there were children at the resort, we thought it was adult only. All the staff was kind and friendly and we were immediately upgraded to a villa upon our arrival. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Grab a villa or a room in the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from Sanctuary Cap Cana. I took my wife there for a surprise birthday trip. I, like many others, read the reviews that made this a bit of an anxious trip: low occupancy, restricted restaurant availability, the lack of a proper website, the change in management, etc. While Sanctuary isn't the perfect spot for everyone, I think it is a WONDERFUL destination as long as you understand what it is, and what it isn't.

Grounds:

SCC is probably the most beautiful property I have ever seen. The grounds are lush, well manicured, and a joy to look at. The attention to detail is amazing, as it is with all aspects of this property. The buildings look elegant and very Old World but are modern in every way.

Pools:

The pool areas are very well kept. The primary pool nearest the ocean is gorgeous and basically the focal point of all activities. The swim-up bar is nice and the bartenders are terrific. The staff taking orders from around the pool are also very good.

The pool furniture is excellent and there are plenty of umbrellas, which was an important point for me.

The Rooms:

The vast array of housing options is almost mind-boggling. Even the most basic rooms are terrific, with 600 sq ft of stone, tile, modern bathrooms, excellent beds, and ocean views. Many of the suites have private pools, or swim-up pool decks. Some are high up with expansive views of the ocean. The sunrises each morning are world-class. Gorgeous is not a good enough word to describe them.

Every room in the resort faces the ocean with the exception of the swim-out units.

The Restaurants:

For our stay, there was usually only one dining option for each meal... although you'd have to add the pool-side ordering to that equation. While this sounds bad, the fact it, that's about all you need considering how the resort operates. The food was almost always excellent. Breakfast was usually in the Casa Bella restaurant where you could sit inside or outside under beautiful arbors. The buffet of fruit, pastries, and other breakfast food was outstanding. Fresh squeezed juices included orange, grapefruit, passion fruit, and watermelon. An omelet and waffle station was manned and the cook did a great job. Coffee? World-class.

The steakhouse was good, and the strolling singers were terrific.

The crown jewel of the restaurants, though, is the Blue Marlin restaurant. Thatched roof, open air, built right on the ocean, with eclectic lighting makes for an incredible setting during day, and even more so at night. Again, the food was excellent during out stay.

The Staff:

Do not visit SCC unless you are ready to be treated to possibly the best staff I have ever met at a resort. From the concierge desk to the pool-side staff, each was friendly and worked hard to meet our expectations. Personal thanks go out to Chantal, Robert, Rolando, Wendy, and many others who we got to know and some of who learned our names and greeted us by name when we came in.

Negatives:

There are negatives to SCC. First of all, the beach, which scenic, is not very good for swimming or walking. You can get to Juanillo beach easily, which is better for walking, but still not what you'd think of as a gorgeous beach like that in the Carolina's or Florida. The beach does tend to collect seaweed which is routinely raked up and carted off by staff. In addition, there is a surprising amount of small pieces of glass in the sand, most well worn, dull, and harmless, but it does give one pause. Bottom line, the beach is for looking at, not walking or swimming.

The Casino was not open.

There are a large number of lounges on the beach for those wanting to be away from the pools, and they are very nice, but not shaded.

Wireless Internet is not available in the rooms, but there is excellent ethernet. Do yourself a favor and take along a Zyxel travel router (http://amzn.to/XyGhI1). Plug it in you've got great secure Wifi for your room. Ours worked flawlessly for our entire stay.

Take a flashlight if you plan on walking the grounds at night. The walkways are not brightly lit (beautiful, but not bright). You'll appreciate having a flashlight with you.

Very poor cell signal. Some people could call out, many could not. My wife and I are on Verizon. She has an iPhone 4s and I use a Droid X. Neither of us could call out. Use Skype, instead.

No enclosed Bar. The Love Bar is cool, and there is seating both inside and outside, but there is no AC. Most of the time this is not a problem as the breeze off the ocean is great, but if you should have a hot sticky night with no breeze, you'll have a hot sticky night at the Love Bar.

Mosquitoes. There are mosquitoes on the grounds, but you only tend to deal with them if the breeze is not blowing... and you are near heavily planted areas. Bring bug spray or just move. We actually never resorted to bug spray as it was pretty easy to deal with. When choosing lounges at the pool, choose the side towards the less planted side. This is NOT a deal breaker, at least it wasn't for us.

Very few dining options outside the resort exist. When you visit SCC, you're probably gonna stay on SCC for the duration. You don't have to, you can go to the two restaurants at the Marina, or have a cab take you back towards the airport, but we never felt the need. We enjoyed the setting, the food, the staff, etc. enough that we were happy staying put.

Odds and Ends:

There are plenty of excursions available with transportation leaving SCC if you want to go snorkeling, zip lining, sailing, fishing, etc. No worries there. The concierge desk makes it easy.

Tips:

If you stick with a Junior Ocean Suite, request an upper floor so you can see the sunrises.

Take the flashlight and travel router.

Take your own sunscreen. Very expensive in the resort shop.

Take something equipped with Skype for calling home.

The white "house" wine is a Spanish Sauvignon Blanc. We thought it was excellent.

The burgers are not very good... everything else is great poolside. Grouper "burger", the ceviche is awesome, as is the Cuban sandwich. Almost all main dishes are great. The gazpacho and flan are surprisingly good.

If you want a truly upscale experience, far different from the hectic buffets and crowds of Bavaro, strongly consider visiting Sanctuary Cap Cana. We loved it.

Walt

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful property, Great pools. Quiet. If you want to relax and be treated well this is a great place. Staff was attentive, professional and very service conscious. My wife and I didn't think the food was special but there was plenty of it and the restaurant facilities are very nice. Small beach and private pools at the resort with a nearby long stretch of public beach that we felt like we had pretty much to ourselves. Wish there had been a casino. Had one once or have the capabiliities of having one but not open. Went to the Hard Rock casino which is 30 minutes away and had a nice time there although they tried to sell us a package before we convinced them that we just wanted to go gamble.. I thought this was strange but we dealt with it. We were with friends and that allowed us some interaction that you might miss. Not sure we wouldn't have been bored as activites seemed a little limited. Guess it just depends on what your expectations are. Would go again but would brush up on my Spanish first. Golf course there is amazing with many ocean views and challenging holes. More than a fair test for my 10 handicap and the fore caddies were great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
4.4 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
14.3 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach
Secrets Royal Beach
#8 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 5,053 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
14.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
27.8 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#13 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 9,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Cap Cana

Address: Boulevard Zona hotelera, Playa Juanillo, Punta Cana 0809, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Cap Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its inspired design combines the charm of a Spanish colonial village with the laid-back sensuality of the Caribbean and the stylish sophistication of streamlined, modern design accents. Bougainvillea-lined pathways lead guests through the resort grounds to 176 expansive, private suites housed in replicas of a tower, colonial buildings and fortress. Within the resort are 5 exceptional restaurants, 5 bars, an elegant casino, a half-mile private beach with sugar-white sand, and meeting space for up to 500 guests, while just minutes away lie all the world-class recreational appeals of Cap Cana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Cap Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.