We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dive in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dressel Divers

Dressel Divers
Iberostar Bayahibe, La Romana, Dominican Republic
+1 321 3922338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 activities in La Romana
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DRESSEL DIVERS is the company chosen by the prestigious Iberostar Hotel chain for the last twenty years to run diving activities on the premise of its luxury hotels in the Caribbean, to ensure that this service has the same quality as the hotels.We are dedicated to teaching diving and offer all levels of PADI courses: From beginner all the way to PADI instructor. Other federations are also welcome. We offer boats especially made for diving by a lifelong diver, the owner, who contributed his strong experience to construct outstanding boats for this activity. Our main priority is to guarantee your safety!We organize diving excursions every day for certified divers to the marvelous reefs, that are closest to our hotel, as well as full day excursions for both divers and snorkelers to more remote sites such as saona island.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing dive in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were staying in Iberostar Quetzel in Playa del Carmen (Mexico) for a week and decided to take the open water diving course with Dressel. The cousre was intensive but we learnt to dive from a professional team in a couple of days and we could enjoy diving in the sea straight away. The reefs were stunning, the staff was very friendly and the instructors were great. I could recommend it to anyone who loves water sports.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    7
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Professional and safe Caribbean diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus and went diving with Dressel Divers who are Iberostar's retained diving providers. We booked and paid for a package in advance through their main website dresseldivers.com because of the 20% prepayment discount.

We chose the Dolphin package (buying 9 dives and getting 3 dives free = 12 dives each over our 2 week stay) and found this to be just about enough, but would consider purchasing slightly more dives if we return. I guess this really depends on how keen a diver you are!

We had great fun, great dives and found the staff at the resort very professional, friendly, and generally well organised. A couple of the best dive sites were just off Saona Island in the national park.

Personally, I would say that for student, PADI Open Water and Advanced level divers, safety was definitely very high priority and you are ensured of a very safe and organised dive. For those with more advanced dive qualifications and experience, the Dressel procedures mean that guided dives are somewhat more 'instructive' than 'guided' and can be perceived as over-protective. This, for me, lessened some of the fun aspects. However, this is not the instructors and divemasters fault, and is designed to be suitable for the lowest qualified member of the dive group to ensure a safe dive for all. So, some patience and cooperation with Dressel procedure may be required.

The equipment was in good condition, as were the dive boats. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

We had a great time and would thoroughly recommend Dressel. We'd particularly like to thank one Instructor, Tiago, who we spent most guided dives with. He is a knowledgable and professional diver, who was very laid back and fun, ensuring we had a great experience. Obrigado Tiago!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We dived with Dressel for 11 dives over 11 nights that we were staying in the Dominican Republic, and we found them to be professional, friendly, and well organized. We had some great dives with them, with the best being in the national park around Saona Island. Safety was definitely the first priority, but they were professional enough to not make it too intrusive. The excursions were well organized, and just the right amount of time. The boats were in excellent condition, and the equipment was more than adequate. We had some great divemasters, and the instructors seemed to know their stuff. We had a bad experience with one divemaster who spoke to us like we were children, but when we spoke to the manager, he ensured that we did not dive with person again. The only other issue was having to pay for equipment rental per dive. I have not experienced that before, instead I have always paid per day. This added up, and it wasn't the cheapest diving to start out with. Despite a couple of small things, we had a great time and would thoroughly recommend Dressel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dressel Divers impress us enough to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My sister & i decided to do a land based vacation this yr., instead of a cruise, so we could scubadive....so glad we found this caribbean gem on the South shore of the island....perfect spot for watersports....we stayed next property over at the Catalonia, & walked over to the dive shop everyday, very convient......my sister was open water certified 18 yrs ago & did a scuba review + 3 more dives.....2 dives were actually for an advanced course she took......i received my open water diver certification during our stay...i'll have to say it was some of the best experiences on vacation, ever....would like to thank all the staff at Dressel Divers/Bayahibe, especially the instructors who made our learning experience fun, but with great professionalism & flexibility & care for the client....so thanks to Santiago, Nico, Lea, & Baptiste.....especially Baptiste, who seems to be the backbone of this dive shop....be safe you guys....see ya next fall, again

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Diving on the Carribean Side of the Dominican Republic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My wife and I made 18 dives over a two week period with Dressel Divers from the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus resort located near Bayahibe in the Dominican Republic. We dove allmost all of the local sites including the wrecks of the Atlantic Princess and the St. Georges. We also did the day trips to Saona and Catalaina islands. We had a wonderfull time and wish to thank all the Dressel staff for their great service. Special thanks to Hannes, Nicholas, Tataina, Christoff, Nico and the many other Dressel professionals we shared our diving experiences with. We highly recommend this dive operation without reservation.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dressel Divers also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Dressel Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dressel Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dressel Divers to your Saves list