We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Beach Bars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Caleta La Romana

Playa Caleta La Romana
Calle Principal de Caleta, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 things to do in La Romana
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favourite Beach Bars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have lived this, great diversion for those of us that have a home in casa de campo and want to be with the people since the Resort is a world where you only rub shoulders with the rich. Be vigilant and go with a local and never after dark.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank docdeee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Feel the Domincan Republic here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Playa Caleta was one the highlights of our recent trip to the Dominican Republic. If you're looking for a "resort beach" do not go here. Caleta is definitely a locals beach, with typical Dominican food and ice cold Presidente beer! The beach is quiet, beautiful views, such as of the light house; however, a bit rocky for swimming in most areas. There is a little bay area that is good for swimming, though.And, we had the pleasure of meeting a group of school kids that were enjoying the beach after school - what a great "after school program"!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank edenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
840 reviews
540 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“typical dominican food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Dominican food are easy to find in this beach. I like the fried fish, yaniqueque and the famous dominican sweet, cheap price for food. Bring sun block and comfortable shoes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republique Dominicaine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cute little beach..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

very typical. Non touristic place, very dominican. good fried fish..

Helpful?
Thank Tropicana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon at the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I discovered Playa Caleta in La Romana, a quaint little beach, frequented mostly by locals, a bit rocky, but still a nice place for a picnic and a swim. There are vendors selling freshly caught fish, sausages and "yaniqueques" johnny cakes and of course, serving cold Presidente. We arrived by cab but returned to La Romana town by guagua.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kate15301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Caleta La Romana also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Playa Caleta La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing