We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a great vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe La Romana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, La Romana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“not a great vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked a vacation at this resort from Jan 12-19, we actually are still in the resort. Terrible experience..after 2 days we contracted an enterovirus/food poison? and got stuck in the room for 3 days with fever, chills, nausea/vomiting and diarrhea. When we tried to discuss this health issue with the manager of the customer service, the assistant told us that if we didn't see the doctor of the resort on our own expense to obtain an official prove of the sickness, nothing can be done. Not to mention many other issues: murky beach water, low water pressure in the shower, bugs crawling under the door, childish entertainment, overpriced and poor quality wi-fi. We were 4 times with Bahia resorts in different location, will never return or advise anyone to travel here.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,

We are very concern about your comments regarding your recent stay at our Resort. Please kindly note that our guests and staff well being is the top of our priorities.
We would like to inform that Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts work with established hygiene and sanitation standards, which are monitored continuously not only by Tour Operators who demands strict rules of hygiene and security but also by the H A C C P Manager that usually makes inspections with the control risk system of Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points, one of the most effective systems, which helps to evaluate all levels of quality in our products, such as, beverages & food, swimming pools, Jacuzzis, among others. An audit is conducted monthly by the firm Crystal America with very high standards that we follow with excellent results.

We sincerely wish you a prompt recover and we hope this situation does not tarnish your perception of us and you could give us an opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    829
    442
    208
    158
See reviews for
684
1,098
46
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and myself along with another couple visited here in November. It appeared busier than last year likely due in part to Bouganville getting busier.
Same great resort, we ate at the ala cartes most nights and never had a bad meal.
The grounds were spotless and the room was always clean. Some days it was hard for the housekeepers to get there in a timely manner but again, they were busy.
About day five we all stated to have upset tummy's. I spoke to a worker who we be-friended last year when we were there and he told me not to trust the ice there, that even the resort workers won't touch it. It's brought in from the outside. If you drink the slushie margarita drinks you may be sorry.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We are happy to host you with us again and again provide you another wonderful stay like the previously you had in our Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection last year.


As always, the opinion of our guests is extremely important for us and for that reason, and after an in - dept analysis of water and ice, we can rest assured that we comply with the tight regulations required by the HACCP the tighest control system of detection and identification of possible health issues . Our guests well being tis also the top of our priorities.We also hope you are already recovered from your stomach issues.

We trust that you 'will think of returning as it would be our sincere pleasure to serve you a third time at our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, always your home here in La Romana.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read previous reviews we knew what to expect and found few surprises. Resort grounds were very lovely and clean. Room was clean and A/C worked well. Although the resort is a few years old it is well maintained. Staff were all very friendly. Communication with front desk staff was excellent but others had limited English which caused no problems if you were patient.
Lots of beach and pool lounges in the shade and in the sun. Too bad people have to place towels on the lounges in the shade early in the morning and don't arrive to use them until the afternoon. Watched this from our room overlooking the pool. If there is only a towel on the lounge and no one is around we go ahead and use them until someone comes to claim their place hours later. Pools were clean and checked regularly. Lots of loud music around the pool all afternoon.
The beach sand is coarse and in areas there is only a thin layer of sand over the hardpacked coral underneath. The ocean was as advertised and expected, brown with seaweed. Why this bay was chosen for a beach resort is beyond me. Very few swimmers even though the water was safe to swim in considering the Blue Flags.
Food at the buffets was plentiful with great variety. Lots of vegetables and bread for lunches. However almost everything cooked was cold by the time it was put out. We went for breakfast twice right when the restaurant opened and everything on the buffet was already cold. Cold scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and fried plantains. I even waited for fries one supper until I could get some that were just delivered from the kitchen-cold again!!!. My fish stew at the fish a la carte came lukewarm and so did my wife's seafood lasagna. Even fresh made cappuccino's were only warm. Mr. Food Manager are you listening, this has been a common complaint in other reviews. At least food that needed to be cold usually was. No illness for either of us.
Forget the Seafood a la carte restaurant, Italian was good with the Gourmet and Steakhouse (Garden Grill) being very good.
The Royal Gold club uses the same rooms as others get, you just get a few extra perks in your room and a special concierge room for check in and restaurant reservations. They readily gave us a second floor room when they were asked when we arrived.
Some people complain about the real estate people, but we found that one courteous no on the first day meant they left us alone the rest of the week.
Would I recommend this resort? Yes but only to non-swimmers.

Room Tip: Rooms in Buildings 17,15,13,11 face south and you can get lots of sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest opinion and especially for making us see those areas where we need to work harder to improve.
Of course, it is an honor for us to know, that despite these minor inconveniences, you have been very satisfied with our customer service, friendliness of staff and our Resort well kept and maintained despite its age. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here from December 28th till January 5th 2015.
The resort is nice but the beach water murky and not inviting for swing at all.
My family all had a stomach virus and were all sick for New Years and ruined out trip and will never go back to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

First of all we hope you and your family have recovered from your stomach flu.

We sincerelly regret that you left unhappy. On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members, we hope that this experience does not tarnish their perception of our Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts and they will consider giving us the opportunity to once again host them in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food is very good.
Alcoholic drinks were good, good variety of drinks, including Scotch.
Coffee was barely hot, even cappuccino at the bar was not hot.
Resort Grounds are well kept and very nice.
Beach is not very good (Punta Cana is much better)
Service is very good.
Shows/entertainment is good.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Lock at room broke down (Would not open) 4 times (each morning for four days), each time we had to wait for about 40 minutes. Maintenance and security were helpful, did not hear from the management at all

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to review our hotel on this website.

We felt privileged to have been able to host you. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you had especially enjoyed the our cuisine, gorunds and our service in general. On behalf of our management and all our team, we look forward to your return and trust that you will not hesitate to include us in your next vacation.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel to the Dom Rep twice a year being that I am Dominican. This resort has been the most unpleasant and unfriendly I have been to. On the first day of arrival the pool was closed for seven hours due to someone having an accident. We went to the beach and we prefer to stay in the kiddy pool as the beach was very dirty it was so that I couldn't see my feet under the water. On the second day we booked the seafood restaurant however we weren't allowed to get in as our ticket got wet in the pool and they couldn't see the date. At some point after waiting when ever they felt like answering back to us about letting us in we decided to talk to management and it was worse as he was very unprofessional and seems to be deciding with the people in the restaurant not to let us in. The third day the pool was closed again since eleven for another seven hours. We tried going to a second pool the hotel had however we were told no kids allowed and it was only for VIP. That same night we went to sleep and my daughters six and eight were screaming their lungs out as they saw a big roach flying in the room and of course no sleeping until I was able to kill the roach. The staff on the resort appeared to be working as if they were forced because they were very unfriendly and they did not try talking to anyone. At one I spoke to one of the guys from animation and he explained how they are been abused been overworked and not getting paid enough and many times they don't get their on a timely manner. This resort I will never recommend to anyone as the location is not good at all and service is horrible starting from management to all staff in the resort. Oh another thing I forgot to mentioned is that everything is over priced. My sun block finished and I had to buy another one which I couldn't believe I had to pay thirty dollars for a sun block I bought in NY no more than six dollars. The bad thing is that the hotel is secluded as it is the only one in that location and going to other stores or any where require to pay a taxi. Never again Bahia principe

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,


We are disappointed that we did not meet your discerning taste. Your comments have been noted and we assure you that we intend to look into all your suggestions. . It was unfortunate that you had not requested to speak with a member of our Management team who would have been happy to address your concerns.

We apologize wholeheartedly for that experience and we sincerely hope you could give us a second chance to recover your trust on us in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, the only clean and clear water was in the pool. The sea water was so brown and murky that standing only knee deep you couldn't see your feet at all! The ability of the staff to communicate in English was very limited, which brought a lot of confusions. Quality of food -- could be warmer, fresher and (especially meat) softer. By the end of our stay ( 1st week of 2015) it looked much poorer than in the beginning. We both have different tastes for various food, but somehow simultaneously were hit by a kind of stomach virus. Not the most pleasant vacation occurrence... Entertainment was slightly amusing, but only couple of times. Summarizing everything -- lack of professionalism everywhere, which really doesn't deserve even 4 stars, though they claim 5!
My first and last visit here!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

We are honored to have been the host of your group whilst on your recent holiday trip to la Romana. We terrible sorry if we could not reach your expectations during your stay and also, we would like to send our wish that you get better and we hope that you had already recovered.

Nevertheless, it is important for us to inform that we work with established hygiene and sanitation standards, which are monitored continuously and the most strict programs and health and safety standards are always followed.

We can assure you that we will address all your concerns to our Management and we hope you could give us the pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Address: Ctra. San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, La Romana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe La Romana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Lake-style pool 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace with sun umbrellas, loungers as well as a pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, football pitch, 2 tennis courts, padel tennis, volleyball and basketball courts Water activity and scuba diving centre Lounge theatre for entertainment Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 main buffet restaurant 3 speciality restaurants 1 snack bar 3 Bars 9 hole golf club next to the hotel, in Playa Nueva Romana Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco, casino and chapel Rooms 400 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Terrace Junior Suite Club Golden (See page 18 Golden Club, Hacienda Club) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Teen's club (11-16 years) Others services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Cash point Car park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe La Romana Hotel La Romana
Santana Beach Resort
La Romana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.