We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe La Romana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, La Romana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Romana
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I and another couple were at this hotel from Feb. 7-17. The hotel was nice and clean but not so sure about the food. Three of us were ill and we heard that many of the guests had been ill also...we spent a lot of time on the beach and were badly bitten by sand fleas and another type of bug (not mosquitoes - more like black flies)...have been home for 2 days now and the itching is still driving me crazy. Was not impressed that the internet room was only for the Golden Club. This Bahia does not compare to the Bahia in Punta Cana and the one it Runaway Bay. I will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in building 35 right across from the Golden Club...it was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Bilnic,

It truly delights us to know that you took the time to share your experience during your last vacation with the Tripadvisor community.

We are immensely grateful to know that you have enjoyed cleanliness of our hotel.

We consider it should be taken into consideration that certain risks are involved when traveling to the tropics. There are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposure, personal reactions, among others.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Dominican Republic.

Yokasty Del Rosario
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    896
    486
    224
    168
See reviews for
737
1,184
50
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our group of six has travelled together for the last five years. We have been to St. Maarten, St. Lucia, El Salvador, and Roatan over the last four years. This is the resort that we have enjoyed the most. We normally look for 3-4 star hotels. This resort exceeded our expectations.
While Spanish was the language of use, we rarely had a problem getting answers or solutions to our requests. We found that if you were patient, everything worked themselves out. The biggest asset of this resort is its staff. They were pleasant and helpful, and made us feel that they cared about us and the resort. Special ones for us were Israel (in the Orquides buffet) went out of his way to make us comfortable and happy. Sander in the lobby bar was a 'hoot'. Sandra, our maid, was great. Aracinis and Randa (in Las Olas grill) smile a mile.
The thing that we noticed the most was the attention to cleanliness and sanitation, especially in the washrooms, upon entering food service areas, as well as our living quarters. This gave us great comfort in knowing that food preparation and quality of food would likely be also important to the resort. Overall 5+
Room accommodations were very good--16 rooms to each villa, approx 40 villas. Our only improvement would be that we had queen size beds instead of doubles. Rooms were large & up-to-date; second floor rooms had balconies. Views were good, fridge was stocked, bottled water always available, gardens well-kept and expansive.
The variety of food met the needs of even the pickiest of eaters (me) in our group. There were 3 a la cartes available, 2 pool grill restaurants, and the large buffet "Orquides". We went to the Italian (fair), the Surf n Turf (good) and the Gourmet (excellent) a la cartes. The pool grills were very good for lunches. The buffet in Orquides was extremely good--variety, meats, fruits, vegetables, breads, drinks, kids area--with a focus each night. I would prefer to have my milk and fruit drinks colder however. The wait staff was really good. Overall 4+.
Bars were great--people in las Olas & lobby great; pool bar could be more attentive. Excellent variety of drinks.
We went on two excursions: Ron Barcelo rum tour (1/2 day) and Isla Saona (full day). Both were good value. Strangely, we enjoyed the rum tour best, though it was $35 apiece. We hired a taxi with a driver named Moises for the morning and the driver spoke excellent English. We enjoyed the rum tour given by Otto Fuentes, who likewise spoke English very well. Bought some merchandise and alcohol. Buy your rum here, as it was the cheapest that you will find anywhere including duty free. Following the tour, Moises took us on a tour of San Pedro de Macoris. Thanks to Bienvenido (food asst. manager) and Israel for arranging this to take place.
The Isla Saona tour started at 8:15 (arranged expertly by Westjet agent Jose; he is fluent and caring). Cost through Westjest was $78 and well worth the price. Bus ride comfortable. Bring water from resort and a (duffel) bag. Baharibe, our jumpoff point for our catamaran ride to the island, reminds one of D-Day and the flotilla of landing craft. Here the hawkers are everywhere and are persistent. Our guide was great, and he got us there and back without incident. The catamaran ride is comfortable and relaxing; the island has a great beach and lots of shade; the best part of the tour was the 'starfish' stop in the shoals just off the Isla. We returned just before 5 p.m.
The beach area at the resort is great--lots of sand, chaises, trees for shade, bars; there is a little dropoff 15' from the high water mark. The main pool area is busy, so get your area early if you have special needs.
As you enter any eating area, you will be greeted and given hand sanitizer. Each washroom has one person responsible for its cleanliness. If you are concerned with privacy, use a stall, or wait, or ask them to leave; after a while, you don't notice.
The location of the resort is west of La Romana 1/3 of the way to San Pedro. The resort is isolated with very large grounds. They are in the process of adding luxury condos and twinning the resort, it would appear. Regardless, we found the resort to be the perfect size to meet our needs.
Bring standard travelling items--just in case: bug spray, anti-itch stuff, benadryl, immodium

All in all, we had a great vacation. We would definitely go back.

Myles & Cathy Murdock
Goderich, Canada
Feb 7-14, 2014

Room Tip: Almost any room is well-located and well-appointed. We had two double beds--would have preferred a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience in our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana with all Tripadvisor users.

We are very glad to hear that you and your friends had a great time in our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana. Allow us to inform you that we have passed your kind gratefulness to the Staff who made that your stay be unforgettable. They will surely encourage them to keep on working to achieve the best satisfaction of our guests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.

Kind regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.


Yokasty Del Rosario
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The resort
Pros
- nice staff
- clean rooms
- clean grounds

Cons
- when we arrived we met someone who was just able to leave the room, she had been ill that day.
both my husband and I got very ill and spent a day of our vacation in bed, we did not see a dr but pretty sure it was the food. Heard many other people got sick, at least 1 person in each party we spoke to.
- food was awful. Avoided anything that needed to be washed so we wouldn't get sick.. Ha!
We didn't eat much the last few days of our trip because we were feeling awful, the smell of the food was nauseating. We took a half day trip to la romana so we could go to the jumbo ( Dominican Walmart) and get food.
- found rat poo ( possibly lizard) poo. I suspect rat poo because there wasn't any white on it. When I told the assistant manager about it, he was concerned about the news getting out, he offered me an envelope and said he'd talk to his manger, his manager said it wasn't possible it could be rat poo they had pest control, this happened twice that we noticed the 2nd time was the day before we left, we were offered a different room, we have a baby, we can't pick up and move too easily.
- we are non smokers, smoking was allowed all over the resort, our baby isn't used to it she developed a cough, may have also been caused by the humidity. When we told the assistant manager about the concern re smoking, he said there was a non smoking area, it was just a few tables that occasionally had a non smoking sign on them
- language barrier with staff, hard to find English speaking staff,
- called for the room to be cleaned and extra towels, we were told they were on their way, no one came.
- the beach was nice, water was murky, lots of bugs, my legs got bit quite a few times while at the beach especially at dusk.
- food was not great, breakfast was the best there was the most fresh food.
- was almost 2 hrs from the punta cana airport. On the way back to the airport the shuttle driver decided we'd be at the airport too early and stopped at a souvenir stand then went through la romana, made for very long return to the airport.

Both air transat vacations and flight centre were very helpful. Flights were good staff were very helpful felt like everyone looked out for our best interests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your last vacation with the Tripadvisor community.

We would like to apologize if your stay in our hotel has not been so satisfactory and we have not met your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we follow a strict pest control program, therefore our resort is clean and safe. We confirm that these are not rat feces, probably lizard and you could see outside the room in the gardens and in no way inside. As you know this is a tropical country which is characterized by the abundance of reptiles and as we all know is a matter of nature itself against which we can do nothing. In addition, our resort has abundant gardens and plants making attract these species.

Hoping to be able to offer you a more pleasant experience.

Best regards,

Yokasty Del Rosario
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very clean resort. Food was very good with a great verity. Only complaint was with the tour. It was not what we were told it was going to be. We complained to our Westjet tour rep he said that they sometimes say things that are not true. Make sure to do your research on your tour ahead of time as the reps do not know what the tours consist of.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us your review of our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.

We are glad to read that you really liked our food and enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Yokasty Del Rosario
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Traveled here with a good friend of mine in March 2013. I was a little skeptical from some of the reviews but it is what you make of it:

Hotel/Room: Very nice and well kept. The maids did a great job with our room, we did need to request towels one night but they were promptly delivered. Our room was very spacious with a king size bed and an extra area with a couch, table and chairs, right next to the balcony. We saw a few lizards on the outside of the buildings but had no problems with bugs in the room. The landscaping is amazing. There is free wi-fi in the lobby which was an added bonus. Across from the hotel is a little area with a couple gift shops, a tobacco/alcohol shop, a medical centre, the night club, and an outdoor stage for late entertainment of singing/dancing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful except for one lady working the coffee station in the morning. The pool side bartenders were awesome and lots of fun to talk to. Caution on the mamajuana!! Its their famous drink in the DR - delicious but strong! :)

Food: The food was okay. It did repeat itself many times so the variety is not the greatest but not a problem if your fine with eating the same thing every day. I recommend staying away from the beach side buffet. It made me very sick twice. Even having come prepared with Dukoral, I still got very sick twice. I recommend taking peto bismol chewables with you - a whole box just to be safe. They helped us out a few times during the stay. The a la cartes were decent.

Beach/Water: Here is where my biggest issue was and why I wont return... The beach is BEAUTIFUL. You can walk down either side for quite some time. We didn't have any problems with bugs, wasps, or sand flies. The water however is NOT clear or safe! Most days walking down the beach we found several (very small) beached jelly fish - that was kind of neat. The second day of our stay I was stung by what we think was a stingray when we were only waist deep in the water. The water is very murky and you cannot see your feet if you go in even a foot deep. Yes, the sting hurts very much, made my foot bleed and temporarily paralyzed it for about 3 hours. At night we walked the beach a few times (as that is the reason we came but decided no more ocean for the rest of the trip) and saw a couple water snakes or eels (not sure, about a meter in length), and puffer fish with stingers can be seen during the day right along the sand, coming in and out with the waves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

It truly delights us to know that you took the time to share your experience during your last vacation in our hotel.

We are immensely grateful to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.

We really sorry the inconvenients that you had at the beach in your stay, it is important to remark that like many other beaches in the Dominican Republic, it does not corresponds to the image of turquoise water and white sand. However, it does not mean that Bahia La Romana is not a clean beach or not suitable for swimmers, since a very strict cleaning routine is done consistently and daily. We hope you understand that during the time our mutual clients were here, it had sudden climatic changes that affected the beach. We would like to comment that our beach has dark sand and very fine in structure. Its color is due to natural effects of currents and tides that lift the sand and the constant movement makes the water dark and not turquoise. In addition, the beach is located in a bay surrounded by sand banks, divided by an opening, which influences the phenomenon described above.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in any Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Yokasty Del Rosario.
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort from Jan. 21-28th 2014.

The pros:
The resort is very well-maintained. The landscaping is beautiful. Our room was very nice and quiet and the resort appears very clean. The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job keeping our room clean all week. The pool is also quite nice. The lobby bar has fantastic drinks, particularly the pina coladas (in my opinion). The staff were very nice and friendly. The food is good. I've had better food at resorts, but I've also had worse. Of the a la carte restaurants we tried the seafood restaurant (which was good) and the italian which was mediocre.

The set-up of this resort is great. The disco is across the street and completely away from the resort which we thought was really nice, as none of the rooms had to be close to the noise of the disco.

The excursions we went on were the best part of our trip. The guys who work for BP tours (Medina and Miguel) were the most helpful, accommodating staff we met the entire trip. If you are going to book any excursions, definitely talk to these guys. They offer great tours. We went to Santo Domingo and on the ATV tour with this company. Both were great experiences. The ATV tour included horseback riding, a tour of a sugar cane field, ATV through town, and lobster for lunch. That lobster was probably the best food I ate all vacation! Also - my boyfriend was too sick to attend one of the tours that we booked, so they let us rearrange and go a different day. We did not miss out on anything! These guys were great!

Another excursion that is not offered by any of the companies at the hotel, but is a definite must-see in this area is cueva de las maravillas. This cave is a 5 minute cab ride from the hotel and is very impressive. When you get inside the view is breathtaking. The guides are very helpful and the entrance fee is relatively cheap (maybe $10 per person) and very worth it. There were some bats flying around as well, which added to how cool these caves were. After you exit the caves, outside there is an iguana farm where you can see baby and adult iguanas. We would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

The cons:
Before leaving on our vacation, we had made a request about the type of room we wanted via our travel agent and we had emailed the hotel. Upon arrival they told us that the travel agencies do not contact them and that they did not receive our email. It worked out and we ended up quite happy with our room, but they seemed to lack organization.

The beach itself is beautiful, but the cloudy ocean water was disappointing. It was very dark and cloudy and filled with algae. I like to snorkel and my boyfriend is a scuba diver. We were both disappointed that we did not get to do either activity. Sure, we could have taken an excursion to one of the islands they offer, but who wants to pay to go to another beach, when you've already paid for an all-inclusive vacation?

I have read a lot of other reviews mentioning sickness on this resort. My boyfriend was very sick the second night of our trip and spent the whole third day in bed (GI issues) and I also got something (not quite as bad) on the way back. There seemed to be many sick people on our plane for the return trip.

The staff working at the water sports centre are completely unhelpful and only interested in money. They advertise free scuba trial in the pool, but when I asked to try they told me that I would have to pay $25.

This resort only has two main bars - the lobby and the pool. A beach bar would have been really nice as we felt that drinks were not as accessible as they could have been on this resort. The pool bar seems to serve much lower quality drinks than the lobby bar. The pool bar mixes were hardly ever frozen and they didn't seem to serve their drinks with ice.

This hotel is also very interested in pushing their time-share properties. Every time we walked into the lobby we were approached by a team member wanting to sell us something. They were far too pushy. We eventually had to ask them to stop, and even then, some of them continued to approach us.

I would recommend this resort if you are looking for a vacation where you are interested in relaxing by the pool for most of the trip. If you are interested in swimming in the ocean or snorkelling, this resort is not a great choice.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that faced the back of the property. Our room was really quiet and far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience in our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana with all Tripadvisor users.

We are immensely grateful to know that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and that you have enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.

We are very sorry to hear that there was some sickness experienced here at our resort, and we certainly hope you are feeling better now. We would like to inform our guests, that for weeks, our management has put in place a program with additional measures to reinforce the established sanitary procedures, so that we can guarantee the safety and health of food and facilities

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in any Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Yokasty Del Rosario
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Second time for us in the Dominican Republic,first time in La Romana and also first time in Bahia Principe hotels&resorts: the resort is nice,well maintained buildings,wonderful beach,1 hour from Punta Cana (they support the airport transfer). Bad points for food;their large variety of food doesn't hide a germ/bacteria or something else:my wife was sick on days 6-7 (stomachache, vomiting twice etc) and had a nightmare on the flight back home:there must be something in their food storage and/or lack of fresh food (smoked,re-refrigerated meat,don't know...). Rooms were nice,quiet and very clean,soap everywhere (even at the restaurants entrance) but this didn't stop the problem:guys,there must be something in your kitchen or refrigeration system,CLEAN them! Another bad point for entertainment: 2 billiard tables,one ping pong table,one darts board and a soccer table game and....that's all,for a family oriented resort! and I have to add here their entertainment team ends their daily schedule at 4.30!!same for their aquatic sports team!!! If you plan to bring kids there bring also some games and toys with you! Service it's not better or worse then other Carribean resorts but here's a lot of room for improvements here too (the Gold Club team was far from what we expected,it took them almost 2 days to solve the safety deposit box issue,to change the non-working hairdryer etc). Good point for their Le Gourmet a-la-carte restaurant: don't miss it! Have a healthy stay,L&R

Room Tip: Location is good almost everywhere,no noise,no mess...Try an upper level room if possible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Piciorus,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us your review of our hotel.

We appreciate your comments on the beauty and cleanliness of our hotel.

We really regret the situation experienced with the disease you had during your stay,
we would like to inform our guests, that for weeks, our management has put in place a program with additional measures to reinforce the established sanitary procedures, so that we can guarantee the safety and health of food and facilities.

We sincerely hope that you are totally recovered and for any additional assistance, don’t hesitate to contact our Customer Service department.

Yours respectfully,

Yokasty Del Rosario
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Address: Ctra. San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, La Romana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe La Romana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Lake-style pool 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace with sun umbrellas, loungers as well as a pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, football pitch, 2 tennis courts, padel tennis, volleyball and basketball courts Water activity and scuba diving centre Lounge theatre for entertainment Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 main buffet restaurant 3 speciality restaurants 1 snack bar 3 Bars 9 hole golf club next to the hotel, in Playa Nueva Romana Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco, casino and chapel Rooms 400 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Terrace Junior Suite Club Golden (See page 18 Golden Club, Hacienda Club) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Teen's club (11-16 years) Others services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Cash point Car park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe La Romana Hotel La Romana
Santana Beach Resort
La Romana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.