We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The over 18 place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe La Romana to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, La Romana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Romana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The over 18 place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice people, good food, fun club...just make sure to bring mosquito repellent. The beaches are nice as long as you don't mind seaweed. I did not care much for the animation but it had some cool entertainment as well

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your great vacation in our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for their holidays.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Laura Castaños
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    896
    486
    224
    168
See reviews for
737
1,184
50
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon where we stayed at the Bahia Principe La Romana. We had a spectacular time!!! The hotel was incredible and the staff was so kind and friendly. They took care of everything for us. The views were beautiful and the food was plentiful. We wanted to especially thank Domingo (Nene Bomba) in the buffet. He attended to us like a superstar and we were sad to leave because he was so wonderful to us. Also, Alquiles (Alquilar), Ramon, and Claudio in the lobby bar were FANTASTIC. They were so attentive and hard-working. At the pool bar, Santiago made our drinks with a smile every day and he was always pleasant. And lastly, Juan, the dance/entertainment director was incredible as well. He kept the party going day and night.

We loved our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We hope to be back to stay again in the next year or two. Gracias!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ismael,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an espectacular honeymoon in our Hotel, and that you specially enjoyed the Service from our Staff, we will send your greetings to all the team!!

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Laura Castaños
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family had an incident at the pool where a floating broken boogie board was near us One of the Worker Came towareds us and demanded we pay him for the damaged board. We informed him have no idea what your talking about and if it were true we have no problem paying, regardless he snapped at us calling us animals so we yelled back.. the moment we did so he threw the boogie board at us saying its free we snapped and informed the front dest and they informed us that we are not responsible for it and that there employee do not demand money from us since a broken boogie board is the equivalence of plate its not our responsibility... then we wanted to obtain our pictures from the photoshop... they told us buy 4 photos get 1 free in a cd as we agreed they pulled a 180 saying oh the free one is only free when you buy 4 cds as we tried to explain how were misinformed and didnt want to pay for the 5th one that was supposly free that person snatched the money from my wifes hand and said no refund..... beach was dirty and discusting they will try to pull a shakedown on you with everything from a loose thread on a towel to a scratch on a tile floor. be aware and stay away ( we didnt want no free stay we wanted to get out and warn anybody please read the reviews before going here we will try to repost)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Darwin,

We would like to inform you that the hotel management is all about guest safesty. We regret to hear that your perception of your experience and in this matter was not positive, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager`s attention.

Even though you feel a bad breath with this unfortunate situation, we are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction.

Best regards,

Laura Castaños
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Be warned about a recent change in names which is leading to some confusement as well, coming from Boca Chica/Santo Domingo our taxi drove much half an hour more than necessary as he headed for La Romana itself, it is Playa Nueva Romana however.
We came with 4 nieces and nephews and had a total party of 7. They did not have the coloured arm bracelets for the kids anymore, and were told we could just enjoy the resort and pick them
up later. We came back twice but nothing there, we gave up and only one of the guys was asked about it at once during a three nights/four days-stay. Good entertainment for the kids, especially the swimming pool kept them busy all day. I have tasted better food in other resorts in both Dominican as well as Mexico, but we came here for the good value and therefor it was just good.
Rooms relatively clean and modern, nice shower in the bathroom. It will always remain to be the tropics and stumble into a insect attracted by the lights or hidden in wet clothes, but they weren't creeping all over the place. Same thing goes for the break in power, these things happen here in the Dominican Republic. There are nicer beaches elsewhere in the country but again the swimming pool made up a lot for the kids that didnt even bother heading out in the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Faustino,

We highly appreciate your positive comments and we took good note from your suggestions to continue working hard improving our quality in all our services.

Your feedback and overall view of the Hotel allow us to better improve our daily commitment with quality to meet or even exceed your expectations and hopes while staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Laura Castaños
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm going to this hotel in december and i have a question. I was wondering if this resort had a good party atomosphere? I've been trying to find it on the internet and cant do so. Also is there any nightclubs that are on the resort or SAFE ones near by? THANKS.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Dan,

Receive a warm greeting from Grand Bahia Principe La Romana. We are gald you are considering us for your next holidays!!

We would like to inform you that every night we do a different shows, we have a live music duet, and our discotec. the closest town is about a 15 minutes drive.

For further assistance, please contact the hotel directly.

Hope to see you soon!!

Laura Castaños,
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall, my 6-day vacation was wonderful especially the ATV tour and Saona Island which were incredible. My only issue was the food at the resort. I am a seafood vegetarian and had very little choices during the evening buffet. Also, once the formal dining area was closed, there was nothing available for me to eat at the short order cafes on the resort. Fortunately, to offset that and what made my stay better was that I was able to eat at the local restaurants and the food was absolutely delicious.

Room Tip: Bring your rain coat for the ATV tour, a change of clothing, and you bathing suit for the lunch brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share about your experience during your holiday in our Grand Bahia Principe La Romana. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering us for their vacations. We appreciate your input in the variety of food of our restaurants; we will discuss this matter with our Chef.

We hope to have you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Dominican Republic.

Best regards,

Laura Castaños
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is absolutely horrible. Four of us went here and had diarrhea the whole time. When I got back home and to the Doctor, I had picked up a parasite. I am now on medication. The transportation to and from this hotel is outrageous as it is 1 hour from the airport. The room they FINALLY gave us was crappy. The TVs are from the 80's. The food is edible, but the food preparers and servers do not wear plastic gloves. I did not drink the water, so I didn't get the bacteria from that. It was from the food. The beach is non-existent as the water is green, not a Caribbean blue and the sand is almost impossible to walk on. We spent the entire time at the pool, which was beautiful, but in need of repair and cleaning. Most of the staff was very nice, but maid service is horrendous. One day they would clean and 8 and the next day at 5. It is true the place appears clean, but after getting sick, I don't believe it was clean. Language issue, but we got through it OK. This was our first experience with an all inclusive and it will be our last. We will stick to cruises...........

Room Tip: If you still want to go here, ask for a room on the second floor or pay the extra money to upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to inform you that the hotel management is all about guest safesty. We regret to hear that your perception of your experience and in this matter was not positive, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager`s attention.

Even though you feel a bad breath with this unfortunate situation, we are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction.

Best regards,

Laura Castaños
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe La Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe La Romana

Address: Ctra. San Pedro - La Romana, Km 12, La Romana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Santana Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe La Romana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services Lake-style pool 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace with sun umbrellas, loungers as well as a pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, football pitch, 2 tennis courts, padel tennis, volleyball and basketball courts Water activity and scuba diving centre Lounge theatre for entertainment Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 main buffet restaurant 3 speciality restaurants 1 snack bar 3 Bars 9 hole golf club next to the hotel, in Playa Nueva Romana Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco, casino and chapel Rooms 400 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Terrace Junior Suite Club Golden (See page 18 Golden Club, Hacienda Club) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: 1 children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Teen's club (11-16 years) Others services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Cash point Car park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe La Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe La Romana Hotel La Romana
Santana Beach Resort
La Romana Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.