We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool area. Fun bars, restaurants and culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altos de Chavon

Altos de Chavon
Chavon Blvd, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Visit Altos de Chavon like an insider
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Mini Cooper Convertible Tour from Punta Cana
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in La Romana
Attraction details
Opelika, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Very cool area. Fun bars, restaurants and culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Great views for photos. Lots of stray cats around but that didn't bother us because we love cats. It's a long haul on the golf cart so be prepared for a ride.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    72
    24
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent...as an Attraction and more !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I have been at Altos de Chavon lots of times throughout the years, as my wife and I did again last week.
My review comments are going to be based not only in my professional architect acknowledges and principles but also as a Tourist Developer entrepreneur hoping to help and find a "common denominator" for those interested in that beautiful Village.
I'm obliged to comment that those harsh reviews about "Altos" blaming it of been just a "replica" from Mediterranean europeans villages are right, just in some way of seeing it, but deeply wrong about its real interest. Every building or development needs to be criticized on its time context and its basic architectural- developing design premises.
Yes it was designed as a "replica for an Italian Village", BUT; an I would need to remark that big...BUT :
Are not all "Attractions development"- in part or as a Whole - architectural recreations of other architectural interesting places or designs all over the World and all over times, past and present ???
Lets say ; Bush Gardens in the Tampa area of Florida. Are not those designs nice and attractive replicas of African areas ?
And what about those very nice Disney World Attractions in Orlando ?
Restaurants and Hotels with designs based in French, Italian, Spaniards etc Towns and areas. What about Las Vegas...do you blame it for been replicas ?
Altos de Chavon was created as a needed Attraction in World well known Casa de Campo Resort. But it goes beyond that with its Arts and Design NY Parsons School. Its Archeological Museum. Its Greek style 5,000 seats Amphitheater hosted just few days ago an Andrea Bocelli concert. We saw there a Frank Sinatra Concert long time ago, among other wonderful shows and memories of the place.
The real question should be ; do you find it attractive or not ?
I believe there is no doubt that "Altos", as they call it for short, is really attractive:
Nice and well done architectural Village style design (replica intention or not), excellent location at a small hill overlooking Chavon river, nice buildings designs details, small Church, nice restaurants and shopping areas etc etc. Its cobblestone small pedestrian only paths, its landmarks, Church, plazas, Amphitheater, its limestone rocks works and the way of the buildings were settled by a masterful architectural mind (I do not know who designed it) ...are simply-brilliant architectural work itself !
The bottom of this review, ideas and notes is that you need and must judge it as an Attraction, wether you like it or not...that would be another story.
For those interested in going there I do highly recommend it
as it is: Altos de Chavon Attraction !
For Casa de Campo well known developers I need to recommend more attentions to services and a better lighting by night as the cobblestones are hard to walk over it and without proper lights it is worst. Besides that I need to mention that last week, when we were there, some harsh-pushy street vendor almost knock off us out of the peds paths, while trying to sale some products to a large Davidoff group on his way out of Altos.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute, but why bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Man-made to look medieval .. a shopping district within a gated community of millionaire homes .. some nice views of the river below but otherwise not what I would consider a tourism-worthy spot.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

beautiful architecture. Super relax and quiet. Nice views and places to get pictures. Many restaurants to enjoy spectacular food.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Altos de Chavon- Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Gorgeous view of the river, nice restaurants with excellent food. Yo must def visit this place. Incredible scenic areas!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altos de Chavon also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Altos de Chavon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altos de Chavon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.