We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Re-Creation of Santa Domingo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altos de Chavon

Altos de Chavon
Chavon Blvd, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Mini Cooper Convertible Tour from Punta Cana
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in La Romana
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Re-Creation of Santa Domingo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We decided to hop a tour bus for $7 each, round trip, and see this beauty of a place. Needless to say, we were pleasantly surprised! The architecture, flowers, gardens and little shops were breathtakingly beautiful. Very well worth the price.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    53
    19
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Old World Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Beautiful, old, timeless. Loved Altos de Chavon. Stones and OLD WORLD CHARM.. LOVED IT!! Especially the little church. Lovely flowers and beautiful old world feel. Ate at a lovely restaurant next to the church and had an amazing meal. Very Pretty and great for photos.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice photo opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Very nice and had a few shops that had much better prices than the resort stores. Husband took many many photos.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I like the village, but they were too many people when we visited. It was a good place for the sightseeing and for the architecture, we love the italian style. But we spend not enough time to appreciate the kitchen and the food, shade. May be next time.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

So beautiful wherever you look... but unfortunately only 30 years old so the whole thing is kind of manufactured...

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altos de Chavon also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 

Been to Altos de Chavon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altos de Chavon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.