We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed on Monday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cueva de las Maravillas

Cueva de las Maravillas
Carretera la Romana - San Pedro de Macoris, KM 16, Autovia Del Este, La Romana, Dominican Republic
809-696-1797
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cueva de las Maravillas like an insider
$165*
and up
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in La Romana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Closed on Monday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were looking forward to this attraction.After looking for tours we decided to go rent a cat and drive ourselves.It is a very easy drive from Bayahibe and took about 45 min. when we arrived we had a " Wally World" flashback. Sorry folks we are Closed! Only subsitute the moose for a local guard with a shotgun. No place did we see they were closed on Mondays.I rated a three because I did not enter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    54
    18
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Not if you have physical limitations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

In the cruise ship description this was called:TIANO INDIAN CAVE AND LA ROMANA.

My wife and I were really hard pressed to find a tour in DR that we wanted to go on. We settled on the cave tour with much apprehension for the physical demand of the tour. We were not wrong to worry.

We were met at the pier by a modern air conditioned coach and escorted first to a flea market in the center of La Roman (the local town). Our visit there consisted of continual harassment by the vendors to visit their stalls and purchase something. We have travelled quite a bit and have been subject to this sort of behavior on many trips so were accustomed to it. But, some of the other travelers were visibly upset when accosted. They will learn.

After about 30 minutes in the square, we re-boarded and drove to the cave. The tour description indicates about 140 steps down and we first confirmed that there was an elevator to return to the surface. We brought insect repellant but it was not needed at the time we were there (5/7/13).
We began the tour gathered in a small museum depicting the life and times of the Taino Indians. It was interesting but not a lot remains of the civilization to see. The highlight of the museum was a full-wall mural showing what the artist thought daily life might be like during those times – interesting.

We carefully descended those 140 steps ino the cave which became dangerously treacherous about half way down because the humidity increased and all surfaces became wet. The cave floor temp was about 75 degrees with about 99% humidity. They have the caves lit but no picture taking. Some of the Indian writings and pic-to-graphs are original and some are restored (what do you want after 1,000 years).

About half way through I left my wife behind to finish the tour and I took the elevator towards the surface. WARNING: the elevator does not go up more than half way, leaving about 70 feet of uphill climbing to reach the surface. If you have a physical handicap, this will be a most difficult climb.

These caves were different looking then those we have experienced in North America, looking smoother (less jagged). The floor was traversed by elevated, wooden walkways with railings and was easy to navigate. The tour guide was very informative and was provided by the National Park Service in which the cave is located.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“turquoise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

the place is nice to visit. but the "tour guides" can be rather annoying, and disrupting on your visit. yes, they are trying to make a living, and sales dominican are rather arrogant, and impulsive. nevertheless spectacular view of the natural wonder hole. turquoise

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“highlight of our time in port”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were only in port La Romana for half a day and this was a place we had read about. We got a taxi and headed on a 45 minute trip to the cave. The huge impressive entrance to the park surprised us after driving through the aged town. It cost us $10 per person for the cave tour. There are restroom facilities and a gift shop. I think I saw a pop machine too.
The one hour tour keep the attention of our four teenagers. Our tour guide, Johanna, was wonderful! She spoke English clearly and was full of information. The grounds are very well kept, as workers were raking as we took the path to the cave. The lighting in the cave sets the mood with highlights on storybook shapes through out.
You can hear little squeaks from the bats over head but they are no threat to you as you follow the cement path through the cave. Cave drawings are explained by the guides. At the end you ride an elevator up to the surface and exit through an iguana park.
We would definitely suggest this to anyone visiting the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was taken here without knowing this was on the itinerary with my family and it turned out to be amazing. The cave was perfectly lit up allowing you to enjoy every bit of the cave including the drawings. The only down side was pictures weren't allowed to be taken which was a shame because it would have been an opportunity for amazing photos. There excuse was flash could ruin the ancient art work which in that case was understandable. Definitely make the attempt to visit this place if you can.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cueva de las Maravillas also viewed

La Romana, La Romana Province
La Romana, La Romana Province
 
La Romana, La Romana Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Cueva de las Maravillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cueva de las Maravillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.