We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Campo to your Saves list
Casa de Campo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Principal, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Birds Special!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

A lot going for it, huge piece of beautiful property, three golf courses (two of which are spectacular), great accomodations, friendly helpful staff, etc. A coupe of nit picky issues prevent five stars. Pricy, but you knew that. But because it is so pricy, things have to be really great to get top rating. And there were a couple of little issues. The cold water tap gives luke warm water, and if you want to brush your teeth or take a pill, it is either warm water or a pricy bottle of water from the in room bar. Water amount and pressure not so good, which shows up in showers and the slowor not flushing toilet. A little trash in out of the way places, like below our lanai. For a first rate golf courrse, i don't think they have moved the cups on Dye Fore for weeks, making putting an adventure, and the Links course is not well maintained. These are tiny issues, however, and even at the price, we will certainly be back. If you are over 50 and coming for the golf, check on Seniors Week in Nov for good prices and fun people.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmeswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This place has outstanding service. The golf at Teeth of the Dog is amazing. Standout course. Food is reliable. Beach is a lot of fun and beautiful. Can drive everywhere with a golf cart. Highly recommended. One downside is that it's pricey...recommend the all inclusive plan to save money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidgolfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
On behalf of our entire hotel staff, thank you for your kind words of praise and for taking the time to put together this detailed review.

We hope to welcome you back soon. When you do have an idea of future travel dates, check our website to see if you might be eligible for our new Advance Rewards where you can save 15% and combine it with other available specials!

Thank you again... and from our Casa de Campo family to yours, we wish you a wonderful, warm holiday season and healthy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time staying at the hotel. I have been to Casa de campo before but always had rented a house. The rooms are awesome, large rooms and large bathrooms. Great space and comfortable bed. Ac worked good and for me that is always key when you are in such hot weather.
Service is awesome, the restaurants run a bit slow, but this is a beach resort so it is to be expected. I was told by one of the managers that they have to take a certain amount of time even if the dish is ready ( 15 min minimum)
The golf is the best there is, I have played at ,any great courses (pinehurst, whistling straits) and this is up there with them. Ask for pepo the caddy if you get to play, great guy and very respectful.

Eat at pepperoni!

Overall this place is awesome, definitely one of my favorite places to go!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank panajoe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay!, we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at Casa. Our goal is to provide excellent service therefore we do have a 15 minutes maximum service policy on every restaurant, definitely we will pay attention to this matter.

Again thank you for you kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to your Casa de Campo… your home in the country!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I live in Casa de Campo.

The hotel switchboard still connects you to anything other than the the number you dialed.

I hope they never fix it.

This is a special place that Time Forgot.

The food is incredible.

The service is impossible.

Yet, I have searched the earth of where to live.

And I live in Casa de Campo.

The impossible es possible.

This is a special place.

Dios suenious en Casa de Campo.

Please, please, never fix the switchboard.

Because dreams happen in The Carribean's Most Complete Resort.

Room Tip: Tell them you are a legal resident of The Dominican Republic. ByDominican law, you get a automatic p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRQuadracci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have a special birthday celebration booked with my wife at Casa de Campo (leaving in 2 days). When I noticed they have reduced the rates (same room) I called and asked if we could get the new rate. They said absolutely not my rate is what I booked. When I pointed out that the difference is about $500 over the stay I asked for some type of "good faith" gesture (credit, spa, dinner, etc.) they said "NO". I was shocked considering I had already ordered a bottle of champagne and fresh flowers to be in the room upon arrival. Not exactly the best customer service....too late to cancel but at least now I know what to expect when I get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Nelson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Director General at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, October 7, 2015
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay at Casa de Campo. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced before arriving. We will share your comments with our management department and work to improve our services since our main goal is to enssure our guest’s satisfaction

We reiterate your gratitude and hope that this situation does not stop you from coming to Casa de Campo based that we would like to have the opportunity to change your perspective about our services.

Best Regards,
Daniel Hernandez
General Manager
Casa de Campo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed at several 5 star resorts in the past few years. The level of service at Casa De Campo was better than anywhere i've stayed before. Incredible service, incredible food, and an incredible experience! Enough activities for a 2 week stay adults and kids. I was pleasently surprised at the level of security also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the time you pull into the community, you will be amazed you're in the DR. From the resort itself, to the golf courses, to the cool pool, to the work-out area, to the beach to the little town on the property with a magnificiant marina, there's not much to desire. i suggest grabbing a golf cart or moped to get around the property, or your car. The hotel, beach, courses, and marina are relatively spread out. The homes on the property are "lifestyles of the rich and famous". The house we stayed in had a full time staff and has seen celebrities from the Jonas brothers to JayZ and Beyonce. Cool spot on the island with amazing views and a lot of chill. The only warning is to stay on property. The drive to get there from the airport takes about an hour and the areas around are a little sketchy. But there is literally no reason to leave - the property has it all. Definitely play golf here - you'll think you're at Pebble Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Romana
38.6 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
36.1 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#7 of 102 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 3,275 reviews
15.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
7.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana
Dreams La Romana
#2 of 13 in Bayahibe
4.5 of 5 stars 7,318 reviews
38.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo

Address: Carretera Principal, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most exclusive resort destination in the Caribbean - Casa de Campo - a stunning 7,000-acre hotel, resort, and residential community in La Romana on the southeastern coast of the Dominican Republic. Our tropical playground features a unique array of amenities, including a private beach, expansive marina, tennis and polo facilities, and three championship golf courses - including Pete Dye's masterpiece, Teeth of the Dog, number 1 in Caribbean and 52 in the world. And, if all this still isn't enough, Casa de Campo contains a full-size replica of a 16th-century Mediterranean village and amphitheater, filled with art, history, and cute little European-style cafes. More than 20 restaurants and 15 bars and lounges at Casa de Campo offer a dizzying number of ways to unwind or enjoy meals. Feel like a kid again, driving your golf cart to move within the resort. You will have much more fun than anywhere else! But more than anything, Casa de Campo is a state of mind and a way of life rather than just a mark on the map. For new guests, we welcome you to experience our warm hospitality. And for those who have already experienced our incredible resort, we can't wait to welcome you back. Daily cleaning service, included in your room rate. Complimentary 4-passenger golf cart. Separate bathroom with glass-enclosed shower. Even a relaxing bathtub and private lavatory. Front desk and concierge services 24 hours, 7 days a week. We strive as much as possible to make our casa, your casa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing