We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Campo to your Saves list
Casa de Campo
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time staying at the hotel. I have been to Casa de campo before but always had rented a house. The rooms are awesome, large rooms and large bathrooms. Great space and comfortable bed. Ac worked good and for me that is always key when you are in such hot weather.
Service is awesome, the restaurants run a bit slow, but this is a beach resort so it is to be expected. I was told by one of the managers that they have to take a certain amount of time even if the dish is ready ( 15 min minimum)
The golf is the best there is, I have played at ,any great courses (pinehurst, whistling straits) and this is up there with them. Ask for pepo the caddy if you get to play, great guy and very respectful.

Eat at pepperoni!

Overall this place is awesome, definitely one of my favorite places to go!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Manager at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay!, we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at Casa. Our goal is to provide excellent service therefore we do have a 15 minutes maximum service policy on every restaurant, definitely we will pay attention to this matter.

Again thank you for you kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to your Casa de Campo… your home in the country!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    136
    39
    31
    23
See reviews for
119
143
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I live in Casa de Campo.

The hotel switchboard still connects you to anything other than the the number you dialed.

I hope they never fix it.

This is a special place that Time Forgot.

The food is incredible.

The service is impossible.

Yet, I have searched the earth of where to live.

And I live in Casa de Campo.

The impossible es possible.

This is a special place.

Dios suenious en Casa de Campo.

Please, please, never fix the switchboard.

Because dreams happen in The Carribean's Most Complete Resort.

Room Tip: Tell them you are a legal resident of The Dominican Republic. ByDominican law, you get a automatic p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have a special birthday celebration booked with my wife at Casa de Campo (leaving in 2 days). When I noticed they have reduced the rates (same room) I called and asked if we could get the new rate. They said absolutely not my rate is what I booked. When I pointed out that the difference is about $500 over the stay I asked for some type of "good faith" gesture (credit, spa, dinner, etc.) they said "NO". I was shocked considering I had already ordered a bottle of champagne and fresh flowers to be in the room upon arrival. Not exactly the best customer service....too late to cancel but at least now I know what to expect when I get there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed at several 5 star resorts in the past few years. The level of service at Casa De Campo was better than anywhere i've stayed before. Incredible service, incredible food, and an incredible experience! Enough activities for a 2 week stay adults and kids. I was pleasently surprised at the level of security also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the time you pull into the community, you will be amazed you're in the DR. From the resort itself, to the golf courses, to the cool pool, to the work-out area, to the beach to the little town on the property with a magnificiant marina, there's not much to desire. i suggest grabbing a golf cart or moped to get around the property, or your car. The hotel, beach, courses, and marina are relatively spread out. The homes on the property are "lifestyles of the rich and famous". The house we stayed in had a full time staff and has seen celebrities from the Jonas brothers to JayZ and Beyonce. Cool spot on the island with amazing views and a lot of chill. The only warning is to stay on property. The drive to get there from the airport takes about an hour and the areas around are a little sketchy. But there is literally no reason to leave - the property has it all. Definitely play golf here - you'll think you're at Pebble Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dominican Republic is beautiful and the people are very nice. One of my favorite people in the world, Nina, lives in La Romana with her family and two children. We rented a house in the community and it was exactly what you would see in a movie. Super cool pools. Ocean views that are just amazing. The marina is a very cool area with a few good restaurants and some nice shopping. The marina area is very clean and classy. Rent golf carts to get around the community.

Room Tip: Make sure to rent a golf cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemst, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I found paradise on earth.
What a great place.
The service was outstanding.
The room are huge.
The complex is safe and secure.
The diversity of thing to do i enormous.
At first I was skeptical about booking this resort due to the long distance from our home and it's vast size, numerous rooms and villas. I am SO glad that we stayed at the resort and we will be planning a return in the near future if time allows us of course.

Room Tip: all the room are good. We were in hotel rooms 141 and 145 not 140 as the exterior ice machine is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo

Address: Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Campo offers "The Sporting Life" experience with timeless sports rooted in tradition including five Pete Dye-designed golf courses (famed Teeth of the Dog), Jim McLean Golf School with professional instructor, Eric Lillibridge, 245-acre Shooting Center, La Terrazza Tennis Club, Polo & Equestrian Club, 370-slip Marina & Yacht Club, five-star Beach Club by Le Cirque, Casa de Campo Spa and its own artists' village, Altos de Chavon, modeled after a XVI century Mediterranean city with a 5,000-seat Grecian-style amphitheater inaugurated by Frank Sinatra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.