We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Campo to your Saves list
Casa de Campo
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed at several 5 star resorts in the past few years. The level of service at Casa De Campo was better than anywhere i've stayed before. Incredible service, incredible food, and an incredible experience! Enough activities for a 2 week stay adults and kids. I was pleasently surprised at the level of security also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    136
    39
    31
    23
See reviews for
119
143
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

From the time you pull into the community, you will be amazed you're in the DR. From the resort itself, to the golf courses, to the cool pool, to the work-out area, to the beach to the little town on the property with a magnificiant marina, there's not much to desire. i suggest grabbing a golf cart or moped to get around the property, or your car. The hotel, beach, courses, and marina are relatively spread out. The homes on the property are "lifestyles of the rich and famous". The house we stayed in had a full time staff and has seen celebrities from the Jonas brothers to JayZ and Beyonce. Cool spot on the island with amazing views and a lot of chill. The only warning is to stay on property. The drive to get there from the airport takes about an hour and the areas around are a little sketchy. But there is literally no reason to leave - the property has it all. Definitely play golf here - you'll think you're at Pebble Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dominican Republic is beautiful and the people are very nice. One of my favorite people in the world, Nina, lives in La Romana with her family and two children. We rented a house in the community and it was exactly what you would see in a movie. Super cool pools. Ocean views that are just amazing. The marina is a very cool area with a few good restaurants and some nice shopping. The marina area is very clean and classy. Rent golf carts to get around the community.

Room Tip: Make sure to rent a golf cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemst, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I found paradise on earth.
What a great place.
The service was outstanding.
The room are huge.
The complex is safe and secure.
The diversity of thing to do i enormous.
At first I was skeptical about booking this resort due to the long distance from our home and it's vast size, numerous rooms and villas. I am SO glad that we stayed at the resort and we will be planning a return in the near future if time allows us of course.

Room Tip: all the room are good. We were in hotel rooms 141 and 145 not 140 as the exterior ice machine is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a beautiful place, fun to be at, a little off the beaten path but wonderful overall. They've cleared out all the animals to make way for the humans, so don't expect to see monkeys or anything beyond the occasional lizard. If you want wildlife go to Costa Rica.

This place is very expensive as you are basically stuck on their resort, so expect to pay out the nose for everything from breakfast to beer.

The staff is friendly, well-meaning and for the most part well-trained, but service is not exactly snappy - room service takes a long time and you can be waiting for your check for quite a while at some of the restaurants. I guess they just figure you're not in a hurry, and I suppose for the most part you aren't. We were woken up at 1am by some of the staff having somewhat loud conversations with each other, and then again by one of their trucks they left idling at 1:48am outside our room. Nevertheless despite these nits I do recommend this place. It's a 5 star resort with 4 star service which overall is very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

At first I was skeptical about booking this resort due to it's vast size, numerous rooms and villas and what I perceived to be less than quaint- which I prefer. I am SO glad that I stayed at the resort and we will be planning a return in the near future. I typically travel to small, luxury boutique resorts and tend to love personalized service- Casa has some of the best service I have ever experienced. The rooms come with a golf cart so you are free to drive all over the 7,000 acre resort and roam where you want. The food was very good, the grounds were amazing as was EVERY staff person we encountered. Although the resort is huge there are so many different areas to experience (pool, beach, golf,marina, shooting range, horse stable) we never felt crowded. We flew into La Romana which I would recommend and we were at the resort 10 minutes later. If you have reservations about staying at Casa JUST DO IT you will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at a friend's beautiful villa. Built-in pool in the backyard and an array of tropical fruit trees for the picking. Golf cart zipped us to the facility's attractions. The marina is nice. Everything here is expensive-beware. Went clay sport shooting with my son-what a blast. My son also took golf lessions for the first time with a very helpful pro-Julian. The restaurants are good, but expensive. The beach is very private and quiet for all the family-even little kids. Went kayaking also! Busy & fun week if money is no object. Gratefully we did not have to pay for lodging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo

Address: Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Campo offers "The Sporting Life" experience with timeless sports rooted in tradition including five Pete Dye-designed golf courses (famed Teeth of the Dog), Jim McLean Golf School with professional instructor, Eric Lillibridge, 245-acre Shooting Center, La Terrazza Tennis Club, Polo & Equestrian Club, 370-slip Marina & Yacht Club, five-star Beach Club by Le Cirque, Casa de Campo Spa and its own artists' village, Altos de Chavon, modeled after a XVI century Mediterranean city with a 5,000-seat Grecian-style amphitheater inaugurated by Frank Sinatra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.