We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, friendly people, expensive, good but not great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa de Campo to your Saves list
Casa de Campo
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, friendly people, expensive, good but not great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a beautiful place, fun to be at, a little off the beaten path but wonderful overall. They've cleared out all the animals to make way for the humans, so don't expect to see monkeys or anything beyond the occasional lizard. If you want wildlife go to Costa Rica.

This place is very expensive as you are basically stuck on their resort, so expect to pay out the nose for everything from breakfast to beer.

The staff is friendly, well-meaning and for the most part well-trained, but service is not exactly snappy - room service takes a long time and you can be waiting for your check for quite a while at some of the restaurants. I guess they just figure you're not in a hurry, and I suppose for the most part you aren't. We were woken up at 1am by some of the staff having somewhat loud conversations with each other, and then again by one of their trucks they left idling at 1:48am outside our room. Nevertheless despite these nits I do recommend this place. It's a 5 star resort with 4 star service which overall is very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    129
    36
    31
    23
See reviews for
117
134
5
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

At first I was skeptical about booking this resort due to it's vast size, numerous rooms and villas and what I perceived to be less than quaint- which I prefer. I am SO glad that I stayed at the resort and we will be planning a return in the near future. I typically travel to small, luxury boutique resorts and tend to love personalized service- Casa has some of the best service I have ever experienced. The rooms come with a golf cart so you are free to drive all over the 7,000 acre resort and roam where you want. The food was very good, the grounds were amazing as was EVERY staff person we encountered. Although the resort is huge there are so many different areas to experience (pool, beach, golf,marina, shooting range, horse stable) we never felt crowded. We flew into La Romana which I would recommend and we were at the resort 10 minutes later. If you have reservations about staying at Casa JUST DO IT you will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at a friend's beautiful villa. Built-in pool in the backyard and an array of tropical fruit trees for the picking. Golf cart zipped us to the facility's attractions. The marina is nice. Everything here is expensive-beware. Went clay sport shooting with my son-what a blast. My son also took golf lessions for the first time with a very helpful pro-Julian. The restaurants are good, but expensive. The beach is very private and quiet for all the family-even little kids. Went kayaking also! Busy & fun week if money is no object. Gratefully we did not have to pay for lodging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, we visited the beach while on an outing to Altos De Chavon. The sands are near white and the beach is very clean, as well as the beautiful clear/ blue ocean. It's as pretty as Catalina Island without having to take a boat to get there. :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This Resort is worth every dollar you spend. From the moment you arrive till checkout you feel pampered and special. The facilities have been updated since my last visit. The rooms are actions and tastefully furnished. All amenities are included even WiFi, which actually works everywhere. The pool area is wonderful, restaurant food is tasty and if your package includes the golf cart you will enjoying the entire 7000 acres of property. The included breakfast is very generous so you probably won't need to spend money on lunch. If you love beer then you have to try the great local beer, Presidente.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I want to go back. Very peaceful and perfect. It's huge though. That's why each room comes with a golf cart. The beach was a ten minute golf cart ride but it was a beautiful drive. This resort is a golf lovers paradise. It has four golf courses, one of which is private. The teeth of the dog course was not open yet when we were there but we took a walk there and it's right on the ocean and quite beautiful. The spa was thoroughly enjoyable. Go with the inclusive plan because you can easily spend $300 for two for dinner. Breakfast and lunch would be very expensive too. The pools are small but they were never even close to being crowded. There is a nice swim up bar at the pool. I did not make it to the riding stables but I heard other guests raving about it. Despite the fact that the resort was completely sold out, I never felt over crowded. In fact, most of the the time I wondered where everyone was. Take the time to go,to altos de Chavon. You could drive your cart but it's easy to get lost there even though you get a map. Ask the front desk to arrange transportation and they are very good about it. That's what we ended up doing. There is really only one restaurant open for breakfast but it was very good and not crowded at all. The pancake station was the best. All kinds of homemade marmalades for toppings. My personal favorite was the pineapple. Don't be afraid or scared off by the size of this place. We found that we could be at the bar and have fun dancing and yet the next night go to a very quiet place. There is a disco at Altos de Chavon that is open quite late. Fly into la romana. It's ten minutes from the resort. In fact, the resort owns the airport. Casa de campo can arrange for transportation ahead of time. I wish I could have spent a few more days here. Try the Ron punch....made with Ron rum...the only thing I did not like was that if you drink out of the stocked fridge you pay extra. Also if you want a beach front place, this isn't it but the short golf cart drive to the beach is not bad and the beach is beautiful. Restaurants at night are dressy and men need slacks and a nice shirt.

Room Tip: By all means book with travel agent and go with the inclusive option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

So much more than world class golf, Casa de Campo was a great all inclusive getaway with my wife. Every morning we ate breakfast at the amazing buffet down by the golf staging area and then we drove the golf cart that came with our room all over the huge property. We even rode it up to Altos de Chavon, a 16th century Spanish Village recreated on the bluffs overlooking the Chavon River. In the afternoon, I played golf and my wife hung out by a pool, went to the beach or got a spa treatment. In the evening we dined at great restaurants at the marina or at Le Cirque right by the beach with wonderful breezes flowing. The atmosphere was very friendly. We always felt secure but not "cooped up" because the property is so big. Couldn't ask for more. PS "Teeth of the Dog" lived up to its rating as one of the great and demanding golf courses of the world with 7 holes right along the edge of the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo

Address: Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Campo offers "The Sporting Life" experience with timeless sports rooted in tradition including five Pete Dye-designed golf courses (famed Teeth of the Dog), Jim McLean Golf School with professional instructor, Eric Lillibridge, 245-acre Shooting Center, La Terrazza Tennis Club, Polo & Equestrian Club, 370-slip Marina & Yacht Club, five-star Beach Club by Le Cirque, Casa de Campo Spa and its own artists' village, Altos de Chavon, modeled after a XVI century Mediterranean city with a 5,000-seat Grecian-style amphitheater inaugurated by Frank Sinatra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.