We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limoncello Pizzeria/restaurant Marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Campo to your Saves list
Casa de Campo
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in La Romana
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Limoncello Pizzeria/restaurant Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The food here is excellent and good value. Thin crust Italian style pizza from a wood fired oven, great pastas (try the Limoncello special with langoustine and shrimp). Shrimp cocktail or insalata di mare are both excellent starters.
Service was quite satisfactory and always friendly. I believe the poor review from our Dominican contributor had more to do with not being given preferred treatment for a table than a review of overall service.
There are several restaurants in the Marina and all quite good. Limoncello offers decent outdoor dining at reasonable prices for CdeC.
We usually rent a villa for a month or stay with friends for shorter holidays. The hotel is not our favorite as it is getting quite pricy for the condition.
Golf is terrific but the best bargain is to play Estancia outside the resort and near the La Romana airport. Only 90 dollars per round versus 185 at Teeth of the Dog or Dye Fore. The course is also a Pete Dye design and quite a decent track in good condition.
The restaurant at Estancia is excellent.

Room Tip: This review was about the restaurant not the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    148
    45
    35
    28
See reviews for
143
159
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Well, to summarize this resort all I can say is it's huge! For the price...the rooms aren't anything special having been to many Caribbean resorts. I found them dated and blah. I was there for a golf tournament so I didn't have much time to 'explore' but, the restaurants were good, especially the one by the Marina. I was surprised to find the sushi good. The golf carts given to each room was a nice touch. We took advantage of that having driven to most of our locations. The complex has some amazing homes on it. Overall, if money is no object and you want to play some AMAZING golf, this is the place. I

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

After hearing about the Famous Teeth of the Dog for many years I finally got the opportunity to play this January (2012), and it was entirely worth the wait. The holes along the Ocean are jaw dropping good, and the course was in great condition for all 7 rounds i played there. The Dye Fore track also had some stunning views but i would avoid the new 9 for now if possible. Many thanks to Gilles Gagnon for putting on a 1st class Pro-am that I won't forget anytime soon.
The resort itself was definitely 5 star all the way, having your own golf cart to motor around the property was insanely fun, but definitely required as the property is bigger than anything you've ever been to. The food was excellent, and the service was even better. The only thing I felt was missing from this property when I left was me :)-

Room Tip: Choose 2nd Floor or an Elite room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is the best there is!!!!!! The hotel was recently remodeled and looks fantastic! The food is 5 stars. The scenery is breathtaking whether at the golf course, the hotel rooms, the villas or the beach. If you want peace and calm there are so many things to do and if you want a crowd ask for the dates on local holidays and you will get nightlife and fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just got back from a week in La Romana, Dominican Republic, where my 18 y/o son and I stayed at Casa De Campo. Everything was terrific. The food everywhere on the resort was very good, but we especially enjoyed breakfast and lunch daily at the Lagos Grill overlooking the 18th hole of the Teeth of the Dog GC. Everything at that gril was outstanding: the food, service, cleanliness, hospitality. Never felt rushed, always asked for "muy pequeno" on the coffee. All the workers there had us leaving with a smile every day. We stayed at the main hotel overlooking the driving range...it was immaculate, the service was terrific and everyone was very cordial. Both the DyeFore as well as the Teeth of th Dog course were outstanding. We both enjoyed the Teeth the most of the two. Our caddy the whole trip, Hector Sanatana, was a great guy w/a good sense of humor...he knew his stuff and when we followed his suggestion on the greens, our games improved. A few things of note on the downside: I wish we had known about the blue ray player in the room because we would have gladly brought our own blue ray movies to watch since the "library" of movies at the front desk was pitifully limited to about 6 selections...none of which were recent. The hotel would do well to update it's library to accommodate it's clientelle. The other thing is that I had a hard time breaking up large US currency. I found it hard to believe that the front desk could not break up a $100 bill first thing in the morning. I wanted $5's and $10's to tip the staff, but was forced to come back later for said denominations. We also realized that the week were there must have been an "off" week since we noticed that when there was a crowd the service in one restaurant suffered dramatically. We were in La Cana one night and ordered the chocolate fondue cake..but it came out later than the "expect to wait 20 minutes" time frame noted on the menu. It also came out without the fondue chocolate filling. When we brought this to the attention of the head waiter...he just nodded and walked away. There was no apology, no offer of another correctly prepared...nothing...and that was a busy night there. Word to the wise would be to visit during an off time...and not settle for a nod and absentminded forgetfullness on anyone's part. Overall the stay was outstanding...the food well prepared and the service exceptional. Enjoy...and be generous for good service!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a 2nd floor room since all the golf carts will probably make quite a racket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. Pa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We go to Casa every year, and have fallen in love with it. We are getting ready to return, and we can't wait to get there. The people are amazing, the food is delicious, and the resort is
magnificent. The women are all beach lovers, and we take full advantage of the beach, while the husbands are playing on three of the greatest golf courses in the Caribbean.
If you like to relax, play golf, tennis, horseback ride, and just enjoy life, this is the place for you.
Maybe I shouldn't be telling everyone....it's so peaceful there right now!!

Room Tip: Most times we rent a house, but the casitas are beautiful. If traveling with a group, look into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I hope this review will be very helpful. Please read it until the end ! My goal is not to trash the property at all, but I do want to be honest and "keep it real". First, the golf....I have heard about "teeth of the dog" forever. It is supposed to be the Best of the Carribean. Not a chance. This is a golf course that is living on its past accolades and glory without a doubt. Yes, there are some water holes on the Sea that are beautiful but the inland holes are OK and you could be golfing anywhere once you leave the water holes. Also, the course is not well manicured. If you are already booked to go, play the Dye Fore course at Casa. In my opinion, a much better course from start to finish. There are three nines now at Dye Fore. Try to play the Chavon nine and the Marina nine. If they put you on the Lagos nine for one of your nines , don't despair. It is only three months old and needs to mature, but there is nothing wrong with that nine at all. The Beach at the Resort....yes, it is tiny and was a mob scene, a la Coney Island. Just be warned. The real kicker in my book (and that of my eight fellow travelers ) was that the food was MEDIOCRE everywhere at Casa at best. I was stunned by that and for that reason alone , we would not go back.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaguestmanager, Owner at Casa de Campo, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
We want to thank to you, for genuine feedback and are truly sorry your trip to Casa de Campo did not meet your expectations. We know how greatly anticipated vacations are and take great pride in presenting the vacation you can expect at our hotel in an honest light, so you will not be disappointed. With regards to the quality of golf we are very proud of our Pete Dye designed courses – however please note, the ranking of our courses have been bestowed by outside professionals in the fields of golf and travel industry based upon the experiences of their readers, writers and client experiences. With over 32,400 golf courses around the world, the Teeth of the Dog was recently ranked #47 in the world on Golf Magazine’s list of the Top 100 Courses in the World (Sept. 2011 issue) and has consistently been ranked on this prestigious list since it began. Additionally Golf Digest and Golf Week also have rank golf at Casa de Campo among the best; and travel agents around the globe have ranked Casa de Campo as the World’s Leading Golf Resort for the last four consecutive years. We saw you and your friends / family recently visited in Dec. 2011. While you were at our resort, our inland Links course was closed as Pete Dye has been totally renovating this course since it closed in May 2011. I am pleased to inform you the Links will re-open as an all new 18-hole course in mid-March 2012.

With regards to the cuisine, Casa de Campo has six resort restaurants on the inclusive plan; two of them whose chefs come direct from the internationally recognized Maccioni Family restaurants (Le Cirque & Il Circo). Additionally Casa de Campo has been acknowledged for its high standard Food & Beverages cuisine and service by representatives of Cristal Consulting and by is constantly monitored by their representatives with unannounced visits to our resort.

At last with regards to our beach experience. When any guest schedules a vacation to island in the Caribbean, no doubt a quality beach experience is important – and to ensure our guests have just that, you will see Casa de Campo has four beach experiences on our website that our guests can choose from: the beautiful private Minitas Beach located within the resort and a golf cart ride away from your room or villa; and for ½ day or full day excursions there is Catalina Island, Saona Island and the very unique an my personal favorite: Palmilla Beach!

Again, I truly thank you for your comments and hope you might reconsider a return visit to Casa de Camp in the future. But until then, please know we wish for you and your friends and family only wonderful travel adventures and experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo

Address: Carretera Principal, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Romana Province > La Romana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in La Romana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de Campo 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Campo offers "The Sporting Life" experience with timeless sports rooted in tradition including five Pete Dye-designed golf courses (famed Teeth of the Dog), Jim McLean Golf School with professional instructor, Eric Lillibridge, 245-acre Shooting Center, La Terrazza Tennis Club, Polo & Equestrian Club, 370-slip Marina & Yacht Club, five-star Beach Club by Le Cirque, Casa de Campo Spa and its own artists' village, Altos de Chavon, modeled after a XVI century Mediterranean city with a 5,000-seat Grecian-style amphitheater inaugurated by Frank Sinatra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Hotel La Romana
Casa De Campo Dominican Republic
Casa Del Campo Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.