We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Columbus Torre1 | Playa Confesi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I bought my ownership in this resort in February 2008. I have traveled Mexico, Jamaica, and Aruba and stayed at four and five star resorts there. The Domincan Republic is the most beautiful place on earth. Cofresi beach is a brown sand beach but the view of the mountains and calm waters are very nice. I have been to Punta Cana and can say the beaches there are white sand and clear blue water with many palm trees on the beach. Another nice area to visit.

This resort sets itself apart from others because of the villa experience. When staying in other resorts you usually are in a multi level building with tons of people around. The villas are very private. The beautiful landscaping,and pool are exceptional. The breakfast made daily in your villa is so relaxing and enjoyable, eating by our own private pool. Where else can you stay in a house in a resort!

The vip Beach is another area that is excptional. The beds on the beach are so relaxing, the cold whirlpools are a great place to cool off and have a beverage, while overlooking the ocean. The beach is very private since it is an inlet so you don't see a bunch of high rises up and down the beach like you do in Mexico and Aruba.
The vip pool is nice as well with the beds and sand around the pool. It is very relaxing there as well. They keep the linens on the beach beds very clean . I am a neat freak!

The restaurants are good, not exceptional but they continue make improvements every time we visit. We are returning to the resort Feb 4th this year and I have been in contact with my rep. She said upon arrival at the resort we can book our restaurants for the week now. This should eliminate the calling daily to get restaurant reservations. They also have a new restaurant open called Azul, another gourmet restaurant in the new vip services building.

They also have purchased the presidential suits from Sun Village next door. They are a little more pricey but they are larger and more contemporary. There is supposed to be another restaurant in that section as well. Also, they are breaking ground on the peninsula to add more suites and villas which will be ocean front.
All in all, I am happy to be an owner in such a unique, progressive resort. It only keeps getting better. If anyone would like to contact me for more information I would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

  • Liked — the villas
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    72
    45
    30
    40
See reviews for
149
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We traded our timeshare in Maui for a week here with extended family...eight in all. Check in was effortless...we were handed sangria and greeted by a lovely woman who works for RCI named Andrea. We were promptly brought to our villa...upgraded from a 3 br to a 4br with 4 baths. The place was very. very nice...villa 45...secluded backyard, clean and well stocked. I did see a couple bugs and critters, but nothing horrible. I attributed this to our surroundings, not uncleanliness. All rooms had seperate thermostats and A/C. The villa was great except there wasn't enough living room furniture for 8 people and it was very uncomfortable furniture.

Onto the food....hmmmmmmm...this is where my review gets the mixed feelings. Because we booked through RCI and not a member, which was cheaper, we paid a pretty penny for the all-inclusive. We are not food snobs, and I realize all-inclusives do not have the best caliber of food...but some of what we were served left us speechless. Andrea made our reservations for the whole week, so getting into the restuarants was no problem (thank you Andrea) but one place gave you great food, another horrible...what's up with that? We didn't starve, but for the price we paid, I would have liked better food. The maid who cooked our breakfast in the morning did her best with what she had....some of the meats and cheeses??????????? eww. The food at the VIP beach and pool was ok...not WOW!

The weather for the week..Jan. 9-16 was horrible...and then there was the earthquake, which we felt...all that I cannot hold the resort responsible, but it put a huge damper on our vacation. I felt there was nothing to do if the sun didn't shine...my husbands fishing trip was canceled three times. Puerto Plata is not the type of city to explore yourself, especially if you do not speak Spanish. I felt a little trapped.

The resort is clean, pretty, lovely employees, all friendly and eager to please. I went on the presentation to buy into the resort.....nice idea....if I were rich. It's not a timeshare, it works very different and even if I had the money, Puerto Plata would not be my choice. All in all, it's not a bad place, I wish the food was better and there was more to do inside the resort and out. If food and activities aren't on your wish list, this is the place to go.

A little side note....there were a lot of stray cats and dogs. We are animal lovers and enjoyed their company...they would come by and hang for awhile, then take off...if you do not like animals or are allergic....please be kind and shoo them away...they have no real home and are helpless.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

7 out of 10, awesome staff. the beach was not to great but it sure is a good place to go and get some rest and kick back. If you are in the mood for a party, would not suggest it.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtl Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We had been to this resort 12 years ago when it was fairly new ... Major improvements over the years -..We originally stayed in a 3 bedroom villa through RCI, Very nice, but needed a little upgrade for a/c in the common rooms, but bedrooms had a/c. We were moved to a 5 bdrm villa and then a 6bdrm (we were 6 ppl) after purchasing a membership at the resort- BOTH VILLAS WERE BEAUTIFUL, OWN POOL, CHEF COOKS BREAKFAST IN MORNING, MAID SERVICE. ALL WAS EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at LHVC Crown Villas immensely due in no small part to the efforts of Andrea, our concierge. From the moment that we met, she made us feel special and went out of her way to ensure that our every wish was fulfilled - it was like having our own personal genie in a bottle!

The VIP Beach was stupendous - right out of Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous! We also had a pool in the backyard of our fabulous villa and enjoyed made to order breakfast every morning on the patio beside the pool.

It was a vacation to remember!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Although not a 5* as claimed, quite enjoyable, nice facilities, and a superb concierge named Andrea,who ensured anything we needed was available to us. Her background as an animal trainer enabled her to ensure we were kept comfortable and happy with the resort. The staff at all levels were helpful, and our cook Judy made great breakfasts. Other food was average, try and book the VIP restaurant, the Italian was terrible.

Dolphin encounter next door at Ocean World was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Service is what this resorts does best. You get a personal concierge. Ours was the fabulous Andrea Feuer, she was there to satisfy our every need. Even if the answer was initially NO, she found a way to make it happen every time. Another strong point for the resort is the food--amazing!!! Usually all inclusives end up being the same old stuff repackaged day after day. The selection of good food was amazing, especially the Sunday beach welcome party. The villa was very nice, especially the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre1 | Playa Confesi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Villas are the ultimate in luxury and exclusivity, as each is a small estate home with sumptuous, private three and four bedrooms that offer guests a unique and exclusive vacation experience. All of these villas are a classical Spanish Mediterranean style architecture, with red tile roofs, stucco plastered archways and distinguished stone columns with generous tropical gardens where hibiscus, bougainvilleas and other magnificent tropical plants abound. All have a private swimming pool, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. The villas are furnished with rattan, elephant bamboo and a natural Caribbean wattle work and are equipped with air conditioning, overhead fans, and cable television. The Crown Villas are part of the all-inclusive Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort and guests have access to all the facilities of the Resort (excluding the V.I.P areas). A personal maid and an exclusive menu in each of the seven Resort restaurants complete these perfect accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.