We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great service and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Columbus Torre1 | Playa Confesi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Santo Domingo
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice location, great service and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

I rented a villa in Cofresi beach last july and I was impressed by the beauty of the location since there isn`t a lot of information on Cofresi when it comes to the DR. The villas are all beautiful, clean and well organized. I found one in the Cofresi hills with a perfect view of the bay and mountains, specially the marine park called Ocean World, a local mini version of Sea World. Cofresi is family and couples oriented, which is perfect for my purposes. Getting the nicest villa might take some shopping around, as there are many and the prices don`t necessarily follow the features. I had a villa through Golden Key, a local provider that works with owner prices.
The villas of Cofresi are top choice if you want to spend a nice family vacation, but if you want the wild side of the DR ( discos, parties ) you need to visit Sosua or Cabarete instead. Just make sure you don`t drink tap water, only bottled water. Mosquitoes can be mean so use anti bug spray as much as you can, specially after sundown. Enjoy Cofresi, I wish you a nice trip!

  • Liked — The villa is great, for the price I paid it was too good, with gym, private theather, game room and other extras
  • Disliked — I should`ve rented a car, paying taxis was too expensive.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    56
    34
    23
    35
See reviews for
115
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We spent the week of December 6-13 at the Lifestyle Hacienda Crown Villas, Confresi Beach, Puerto Plata.

From start to finish, it was an incredible week. Through an RCI exchange, we were booked into a 3 bedroom, 3 ½ bath villa. The villa was not recently updated, but was extremely clean, comfortable, spacious, and charming. We traveled with 2 other couples and we each had our own private bedroom and bathroom. The villa also had a full kitchen, living room and dining area.
Our villa had its own private pool, covered terrace, patio, covered outdoor area, and yard which were beautifully landscaped with tropical flowering trees and shrubs.

Upon check in which was smooth and convenient, we immediately upgraded our all inclusive fee to VIP status which I highly recommend, as it provides many additional amenities such as the VIP beach area with bar, VIP pool area and bar, welcome party, and the gourmet restaurant. This VIP term was new to us, but once there, it became familiar terminology.

This resort had many lovely amenities. It was graced by a variety of pools, bars, restaurants, and grounds. The beach, though not the most spectacular beach I have seen, grows on you. It is a good beach for swimming and walking. You can use the beach beds which we rarely used, or you can lounge on the beach in recliners. As we are beach lovers, we spent our time right on the beach or in the water. The water temperature was perfect. We also had good weather for the week – highs of 80’s, evenings in low 70’s. There are a few shops for handcrafts on the beach, along with a great gift shop with good prices, a short walk down the beach toward Ocean World adjacent to the pizza shop.

The resort sponsors a VIP welcome party on the grounds with a variety of fabulous entertainment and music for dancing, along with a nice buffet and fireworks. Lights illuminate the ocean, and you can see the waves rolling in as you sit at your table! This evening is not to be missed.

Later in the week, transportation is provided to Ocean World, a short drive away, for a Las Vegas type show, drinks, and time in the casino if desired.

Each morning, Clara, our villa attendant came to prepare breakfast, omelets made to order. It was nicely presented on the table, along with fresh fruit, breads, juice and coffee. While we ate, Clara left, then returned to clean up when we were through. We did opt for a bit of variety and all of us went to the breakfast buffet one morning, while on another day, some remained in the villa while others went to the buffet. Notice is given the day before. Each day the fridge was fully stocked with bottled water, soda, juice, and beer. We received a special delivery of Sangria one day as well. We had plenty of clean bath towels, pool towels, and toiletries. The villa was kept impeccably clean. Whenever we had a problem such as with the air conditioning, it was promptly fixed.

Shuttle service is provided throughout the resort with a simple phone call. Owners have the use of a golf cart. We walked just about everywhere from our location and enjoyed the walk. We admired the landscaping, variety of villas, and views as we walked. While walking, we also befriended the “Villa Dogs”. These three characters, “Lady”, “Bonnie”, and “Clyde” were kind, sweet, well mannered dogs, and we enjoyed their company very much. They later came to visit at our villa daily and we looked forward to their visits.

We did participate in an ownership tour which was very insightful, as their concept of ownership is different from a regular timeshare – points or weeks. Daniel, our assigned representative, was a delightful gentleman. We were quite tempted to purchase.

We planned on renting a car for the day to explore the area, but elected instead, due to local advice, to hire a tour guide/driver for part of a day. Be sure to negotiate and be certain of the price in advance, including tip, before you go. We explored downtown Puerto Plata, the Malecon, the fort and port area, Cathedral, and Playa Dorada. We traveled to Sosua, a charming town with beautiful beach. We also took a cable car ride to the top of Mount Isabela de Torres, which is close to the resort. We really enjoyed the cable car ride – it afforded a beautiful view of the coast and city from the top.

Before departure for our vacation, we collected one dollar bills. Throughout the week at the resort we did tip consistently for all services. At the specialty restaurants on property we did tip more generously. It was our choice and very much appreciated.

Throughout the week, we had the added benefit of an RCI liaison, Andrea. Andrea checked on us each day and her insights, suggestions, and responsiveness, contributed greatly to our wonderful time. We never were assigned an RCI liaison at an exchange resort before. How clever of Lifestyle Crown Villas to think of this – what an asset Andrea proved to be.

During our stay, we found each and every staff member at this resort to be the kindest, friendliest, and most responsive of any exchange we have had in the past 20 years, along with rentals at resort hotels throughout Mexico, and other Caribbean Islands. To say that service at this resort was outstanding would not be an overstatement. All staff members should be commended for their outstanding attitude and work ethic.

In summary, we had a wonderful experience at Lifestyle Crown Villas. We thoroughly enjoyed the resort, its amenities, and the staff. We would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Liked — The Staff and the Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

We rented directly from an owner by the name of Denise and we were very disappointed when we arrived. The Villa that we saw on the website was not was was pictured. We did not have furniture, we had concrete bench with pillows that were not comfortable. The villa was very outdated and we were told it was to be renovated. There were dead roaches, worms growing from the ceiling, the bedspreads, cushions etc were filthy. When I wrote to the owner about it her response was "You rented a villa, You got a villa" The resort would not change us also and just kept saying, maybe tomorrow. We ended up living out of two bedrooms not attached to the villa. We only used the villa to make phone calls. We had been so excited about our vacation only to have these horrible accomodations. Other than that the food was good and the Dominican people are wonderful. Beach was very nice and restaurants good. Would not go back, only because we talked to many people who did not get a villa in good condition as promised. Also talked to owners who had to look at 4 villas before finding one suitable. We were also taken to a timeshare presentation that we did not know that is what it was. We were told "we have free gifts for you and a tour of the property". We wasted 4 1/2 hours of our first day there.

  • Liked — Nthing, it was filthy and outdated, not like they show on the website
  • Disliked — The villa, was terrible, we did not get what we were shown for the money
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

The staff are incredible! We loved every single thing in the hotel. The accommodations are wonderful....everything is spotless and we can't wait to return. My sister and brother-in-law bought a place here, giving up their timeshare in the Vistana and they upgraded here. We can't wait to return. My aunt said she feels like a queen for the first time in her life.

  • Liked — The set up of each villa
  • Disliked — Nothing....it's wonderful!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Iniana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

If you are thinking of this Vacation place,don"t pay any attention to negative reports. The Crown Villas are not to be confused with the Tropical Resort. I have never stayed in that part of the complex,but it does look good from the outside.The Villas I am well acquainted. We have been there 4 times in past 20 months.(14 days each)and are returning in Feb. for another 2 week stay.Some people will complain about anything.They will say the water in the private pool was to wet or not wet enough.The place has improved each time we have returned. We just returned Nov 9th.I can't tell you one negative thing of the 2 weeks we were there.The Villa was great,the food was good every meal. All the Staff was realy fantastic. Marketing people are around, but that is their job.A firm NO will stop them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria, Linz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

hola! we are staying here for 2 weeks - the beginning of our world tour starts in paradise! we booked a villa here in the resort and are really amazed about the beauty of the resort and the friendly staff! there are so much amenities - most of them included like five different restaurants, spanish lessons, breakfast at the villa....
you could also learn to dive, go for horseback riding etc.
so try it - we are sure you like or even love it!
hasta luego en el paraiso,
alexandra y gerald

  • Liked — the private pool at our villa
  • Disliked — the slow internet access ;-)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

This is the second time that I have been to this resort renting from the same owner in 1 year. I was in love the 1st time that I went to this resort and it only seems to get better with time. I would suggest that you book your travel dates far in advance to reserve the size villa that you need.

Villas: Each Villa has a private bathroom for each bedroom, the first time at the resort we rented a 3 bedroom villa and the villa had 3.5 baths, this time we rented the 6 bedroom villa and the villa had 6.5 baths. Every villa has its own private pool, so when you are ready to swim, the pool is in your back yard and inviting.

Breakfast: You will have a maid come by daily to cook your breakfast for you, our maid spoke very little English but with some pointing and some communication we had no problems.

Restaurants: Book the restaurants early (1 day in advance) for most and definitely 1 day in advance for VIP Gourmet. We had no issues with reservations as long as you follow this simple guideline. We visited the VIP Gourmet 2x on this trip and I must say that the food and service at this restaurant is excellent.

Tipping: Bring plenty of small bills with you. We tipped almost regularly for the bar and wait staff and it was always appreciated and the staff remembers you with a smile. I don't think they expect tips and from what I see most people don't so a few dollars goes a long way in having the staff remember who you are.

Transportation: Take the golf cart option, it makes traveling to-from anywhere much easier. The resort is large, but not so large that you cannot get around without the golf cart, if you like to exercise then this is a beautiful place to walk around and enjoy the scenery.

Beaches: Get there early to reserve your spot, we never had any issues getting a spot but if you want one overlooking the ocean or any particular bed then you should arrive early.

Excursions: Book those the day you arrive at the resort to ensure your spot on whatever trip you decide to take. You will find a VIP reservation desk available to you for all you excursions.

VIP Areas: Visit all the VIP areas, that is where you will be served the Premium Alcohol and all the Cigars that you want. I almost never venture out of the VIP areas and why should you, they are less crowded and they are serving the Premium Alcohol where the other areas don’t.

Rent: Rent from an owner, I spoke to many people being down there and it seems that RCI people paid 4x more than I did and they didn't have the same level of membershop. I was speaking with couples there who rented with RCI and they paid THOUSANDS more then my group and they had less people with a 3 Bedroom villa ½ the size of ours. We stayed as Platinum Supreme Guests renting from David Charron. Our owner was very helpful and as I stated this was our second trip there in 1 year. I am already looking to book a trip for 2009.

  • Liked — Huge 6 Bedroom Villa
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre1 | Playa Confesi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Villas are the ultimate in luxury and exclusivity, as each is a small estate home with sumptuous, private three and four bedrooms that offer guests a unique and exclusive vacation experience. All of these villas are a classical Spanish Mediterranean style architecture, with red tile roofs, stucco plastered archways and distinguished stone columns with generous tropical gardens where hibiscus, bougainvilleas and other magnificent tropical plants abound. All have a private swimming pool, shaded terrace, veranda, kitchen, and a full private bath leading directly off each bedroom. The villas are furnished with rattan, elephant bamboo and a natural Caribbean wattle work and are equipped with air conditioning, overhead fans, and cable television. The Crown Villas are part of the all-inclusive Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort and guests have access to all the facilities of the Resort (excluding the V.I.P areas). A personal maid and an exclusive menu in each of the seven Resort restaurants complete these perfect accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.