We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino

Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino
Calle principal # 3 | Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
+1 809-291-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 24 attractions in Puerto Plata
Type: Aquariums, Casinos, Water Parks
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino is the most complete entertainment complex of the Dominican Republic, located in Cofresi Beach, just 3 miles west from the town of Puerto Plata. - This entertainment complex is made of an elegant Marina, a unique marine park and the outstanding building where our clients will have the opportunity to enjoy restaurants, bars, and theatre with live dance show, casino and a disco-lounge. - Ocean World Adventure park is the most advanced interactive marine park of its kind. Guests will have the opportunity to touch, pet and feed all their favorite animals and mammal friends, including dolphins, sea lions, sharks, stingrays, exotic tropical birds; meet tigers, walk through rain forests and much, much more! Truly an experience of a lifetime.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

It was expensive, but very fun. Its worth it here, but locals get a different price then tourists. So it might be worth looking into seeing if there are cheaper ways to get tickets.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    279
    102
    27
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good shows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Show and demonstrations were good well done.
some of the attractions not open. Perfect place to swim with the dolphins

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great experience for kids and adults.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was staying at the Lifestyle Resort next door to Ocean World. While it is a relatively short distance to walk down the beach, we took the shuttle the hotel which left at 10:20am and there were multiple return times available in the afternoon.
The experience at Ocean World was good and worth the visit. We had some trouble when we arrived with the cost. Since the visit was arranged through our hotel and they included free admission (equals $20 off interactive activity not discount of full admission price of $69) but listed 4 adults (age 13 over) but we were 2 adults and 2 kids (1 over 13 years old counts as adult and 1 under 13 years). They initially refused to give me the child price since the hotel admission form was for adults instead of allowing for 1 child. Something to be weary of.
The 2 adults did the Seal interaction at $59 each ($79 - $20 discount). It was 30 minutes and you only get to pet the seals, see them up close, and pose for pictures. No swimming with them. Overall I don't think it was worth it.
The 2 kids did the Royal Dolphin Swim and loved it. The 60 minutes is split 30 minutes for those just doing the regular swim and then for the last 30 minutes they move to another area for those doing the Royal swim. For an extra $30 the extra 30 minutes is worth it.
A VERY IMPORTANT thing to note and one of the best parts which had I known would definitely not have done the seal interaction is that after every show (dolphin, seal, tiger, birds, etc.) they offer opportunities for everyone to take pictures with the animals. If you have a good camera and are quick you can take your own photo but otherwise they can be purchased.
We purchased the photo CD (photos only, no videos) for $80 which included the photos from all of the events we did but they don't include the photos you take with animals after the shows. They want to charge extra for those although we just quickly snapped our own. Their photo packages I believe are $15 for one photo, $40 for 25 photos, $80 for unlimited photos, and $100 for unlimited photos and videos.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ocean world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

fantastic great value for money. lunch included and was realy nice .Only thing that let it down is they look in your bags and take drinks as you cant take ye own in they give you them back when you leaving

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“500 $ for nothing !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we went with our two doughters (6 & 8 years) to ocean world at x-mas 2013.....
at the homepage of ocean world it is told, that kids can participate in the interactive programs (dolphin swim) with their parents if they are 6 years old and can swim. so we made a reservation for royal dolphin swim for all of us. our kids can swim perfectly.
when we came to ocean world they told us at the entrance, that the kids were too young to participate, because the dolphin swim can be very dangerous. that of couse was extremely disappointing for the kids, because that was the only reason we went there... so we discussed about 40 min. and told them, that their own homepage says something completely different, but there was no chance......the stuff was absolutely incompetent.
so we ended up to pay two times royal dolphin swim for adults and two times entrance for the kids, all together about 500 $ !!!!!!!!!!
they assured us at the entrance, that at the end of the program the kids can go with us in into the shallow water an touch the dolphins in the lagoon, as compensation that they were not allowed to partcipate.
so me and my wife made the royal dolphin swim, that is absolutely not worth the money!!!!!!
we have already done this in mexico and florida, but please do not do it in ocean world, it does not make any sense. at the introduction there was a trainer who tryed to explain something about the dolphin. unfortunately he had absolutely no idea....most of the time he told the group, that he smokes marihuana the whole day long, and that this is very healthy and therefore he is such a smart guy !!!! that of cause was extremely educational for our young kids, who wanted to learn something about the life of the dolphins!!!
then for the most of the time you sit during the program in the water and wait, so everyone was freezing cold. during one hour royal dolphin swim we had about 3-5 min when we could touch the dolphin, and that was just because the "professional photographers" of ocean world wanted to make a picture of you and the dolphin. of cause you have to pay for this foto (15$ each !!!!). so we had already payed 500 $ for this humbug and were not allowed to take any pictures during the session !!!
so our kids waited the whole time outside and watched us freezing in the cold water. at the end when we went to the lagoon, we wanted to take the kids into the shallow water as promised ( about 30 cm deep ), so they could touch the dolphin and make a foto. but then the trainer told us, it is not possible, because they are too young and it is too dangerous !?!?! so of cause the kids started weeping outside, because that should have been a x-mas present for them. we told the trainer that we arranged that already at the entrance, and if he wants we can make an upgrade for the kids, but there was no chance. we wanted to talk with the manager, but this was also not possible.
they told us, that we should wait for the end of the dolphin show in the afternoon, maybe then it is possible for the kids at the official photo session to be with the dolphin for a second and take a foto.....so we waited the whole day there for this stupid foto......needless so say that of cause we had to pay for that foto additionally....!
so please do not go there. save your money and do a river boat trip instead, or go horseriding in the jungle, the island is really very beautiful! but do not give this greedy people at ocean world any money and help to free the dolphins. but i think with this kind of customer service the whole ocean world will go bankrupt very soon anyway.......

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean World Adventure Park, Marina and Casino to your Saves list