We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent for nature lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damajaqua Cascades (27 Waterfalls)

Damajaqua Cascades (27 Waterfalls)
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 24 attractions in Puerto Plata
Type: Waterfalls
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent for nature lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Great trip.

Many female tourists were wearing bikini. Don't use bikini or you could get scratchs in your skin . Recommend to use man swimming pants or gym clothes.

Also bring waterbottles and mosquitoe repellent.

I recommend if you own a car, drive and don't pay the hotel trip. It's very expensive.

Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    129
    21
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was very fun, the waterfalls were beautiful. Bring water shoes because you dont want to rent them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are a family of 4 with a 15 and a 13 year old. We decided not to go with a tour operator and hired a taxi ($60 from the Riu). The taxi driver took us there, waited (kept our towels and other items for us), and brought us back.

We opted for 12 of the 27 waterfalls and were given 2 guides and we went on our own. The hike to the 12th level was approx 40 minutes of up and down hills. It is not for anyone that is out of shape although the guides will wait while you catch your breath!

Not all the 12 waterfalls we did were large some we just climbed down or passed through. There were 5-6 that you got to slide down or jump off of.

We wore watershoes which were recommended however the soles were thin and walking over the stones and rocks were painful towards the end.

Overall a great adventure we would recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances On.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Favourite Excursion of all Vacations ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wow, what a great day this was. We were 2 couples that didn't book an excursion, just hired a local taxi to take us there. I thought I had read that if we did it this way we could climb higher than the tours, but that was not to be. We had 2 great guides all to ourselves. One even took my camera, wrapped it in a plastic bag and carried it. He took about 100 pics of us along the way. Couldn't ask for a better guide. I'm sorry I don't remember their names. We climbed 7 falls and he said thats all we can do. Maybe because I'm 5'2'' with short legs and I struggled a little to climb one of the falls. If you like adventure, can handle being squeezed between cavern walls and like water then this is a definite must. Probably one of our favourite excursions we've ever done in all our tropical vacations. I think it wouldn't have been nearly as good if we went on a bus with a dozen other people. The one on one with the guides is what made it extra fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

All I can say is WOW! Go do it but only if you are in good physical shape and like being in the water. It will get your heart pumping and your muscles working!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damajaqua Cascades (27 Waterfalls) also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Damajaqua Cascades (27 Waterfalls)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damajaqua Cascades (27 Waterfalls), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.