We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifestyles Crown Residence Suites” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club Crown Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lifestyles Crown Residence Suites”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This review is for Crown Residence Suites only.

Pros:

We were upgraded from two one bedroom suites to one 2 bedroom suite, because they messed up our reservation.
The VIP Beach is really nice. There are huge canopy beds (some were bunk beds) all over and small whirlpools every 15ft or so. You can also order light fare at the bar 11am -5pm.

Cons:
They advertise 11 restaurants but only one or two open daily. They also get limited amount of reservations per restaurant. We were a party of 6 and were only able to dine at one restaurant. Even with that one reservation, we had a hard time getting a table for 6. They only take reservations from 9am-11am.. but you have to be there at 8:45 to even attempt to get a table. Their reason for only opening only 1-2 a day is because they're low of staff.. likethat should be the guests concern.

The pools have no lifeguards and the water is too warm. It's also very dirty. There was a performance with fire torches and floating beds in one of the pools.. the next day the water was still filthy with residue from the show.

The front desk is only open until 11pm and they are extremely unprofessional and rude. You have to constantly remind them of things and they get upset when you do.

There is no room service.

Our minibar was stocked every other day.. and only because we requested it.

Housekeeping also came by every other day.. again only when requested.

There was a hammock stand with no hammock in our patio. We requested one the first day of arrival and received it on the last night of our stay. This is only because we kept reminding them that it never arrived.

The couch in the room was filthy.

The patio door was broken (wouldn't lock), the TV had static on every single channel, there were dead bees and flies in the bathrooms every day. And I'm almost 99% sure there were bed bugs in the beds. I was really itchy when I slept.. it also could've been the lack of room service in the already disgusting room.

Room Tip: If you're staying with Lifestyles, apparently VIP is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    27
    9
    22
See reviews for
56
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am a frequent traveler and this was the worst trip ever! Our room was not ready. Waited 45 minutes for the room to be ready and when we eventually got inside the room the A/C was not working!! We had to wait another 30 minutes for them to fix the problem. The personnel were detached and rude. The pools are closed at 7pm!!! You cannot go make a reservation for the specific days that you want--they will tell you what days you can have your reservation. The shuttle system between resorts is a joke! It does not take 5-10 minutes like we were informed. Many times we are waiting 20-25 minutes for a shuttle!! Sometimes we ended up walking to the other resorts. Twice quarrels and fights occurred because it was chaotic on the "lines". The food was mediocre and there was not a variety to mixed drinks available.

The best part of the trip was the excursion that we bought from Jose on the beach and it was the best time that we had! It was our highlight....

In summary, if you go you were forewarned. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Huge problem! There promoting a hotel room in the royal suite in lifestyle resort in a false manner. The pictures of the royal suite are not even close to the pictures the company has listed. I called the company three times and waited an hour stressed out, because I refuse to put my wife and daughter in such a low class hotel room, the room is equivalent to a cheap motel. I booked a new room in the presidential suite, this hotel is worth the money spent, the only two things i do not like about the hotel is that you are allowed to enjoy international drinks only in the VIP Beach and the presidential suites bar area, no where else in the complex. Also the food is not that apealing.

Stay away from the lifestyle Royal Suites unless they offer you a room in the newer complex built in 2011, in which i was told are not available for hotel rental.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lifestyle Royal Suites unless they offer you a room in the newer complex built in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent the first week of June in Puerto Plata in the Lifestyle Holiday Vacation Club Crown Suites. We traveled with two 17 yr old boys, who really enjoyed the trip. This place is maintained on a level only seen at Disneyland and Disneyworld. They are constantly grooming the grounds. The staff was very pleasant.

We had the penthouse with 2bdrm and 2ba. Our terrace was spectacular with views of the pool and ocean. The condo however was not air conditioned throughout, just the bedrooms. Be very careful with the showers in the bathroom as there is not separate shower and therefore the floor in the bathroom gets wet. I unfortunately slipped, grabbed the towel rack which was not bolted in just grouted in and went slamming to the floor. Thankfully not sustaining more than bruises and a twisted ankle. Maintenace did come out and cleaned the bathroom up and replaced the large section of tile that came off with the towel rack.

With this timeshare we were able to have VIP status which allowed us to have access to most of the restaurants and some of the best pools and beaches. You had to wear wristbands 24/7 and if you lost them it was a very high cost to replace them. With the exception of the fine dining restaurant and Jazz (the New Orleans themed restaurant) the dinners were good but nothing memorable. Breakfast at the Presidential Suites is a must as it is far better than any other restaurant and the buffets are mediocre.

The pool below our penthouse was delightful and had it's own bar and a restaurant near by. Plenty of cabana's and chaises for all guests. The VIP pool was my favorite as it had many options for relaxing in the sun or under cover. I wish the wait staff would have made rounds to ask if you wanted anything but they waited until you came over to the bar or called to them.

To get to the other pools/restaurants/shops you could walk (it's a really BIG place, this is not a recommendation) or you could wait for a shuttle. We had pretty good luck at having only 5-10 minute waits for shuttles.

The big dinner show on the beach was spectacular and the food was from every restaurant on the facility. We enjoyed many different choices, from Dominican to Asian, American to Gourmet. The show is very much a Vegas Style show (which the boys loved!) The only downsides to the night was the constant push to do the timeshare tour and that we couldn't get a shuttle from the dinning location and had to walk quite a ways in the dark without street lights of any kind.

We did a couple excursions (city tour, fishing and Zip and Splash) and enjoyed the Zip and Splash the most. The waterfalls are incredible and I jumped from everyone of them. The water was so cool and the mineral formations on the sides of the river walls were really very interesting. We wished we could have stayed at many of the large pools to swim but they kept you on a steady pace. Which brings me to the hike up the falls, I unfortunately have a bit of a health issue and the heat and the climb almost did me in. The guides offered to get the donkeys for me to ride the rest of the way and they had plenty of water to drink. AWESOME adventure. After the Waterfalls we had a typical Dominican lunch that was the BEST lunch we had the whole trip. After a quick cigar rolling tour and demonstration we were off to the zip lines. We got a treat as well, they have added horseback riding to the adventure. The zip lines were a kick in the pants, and coming from someone who had issues with heights, this was so much fun I wanted to keep going.

Just a warning, they are voracious timeshare sales people. You can not escape them, you just need to either be better saying NO (continuously) and at running the numbers.

Room Tip: If you can book the Presidential Suites you will be much happier! AC throughout the rooms, flat scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our family & friends were very excited about our trip but our experience in the resort was not what we hoped for. We stayed in Crown Residence Suites section. On the positive side the resort looks very nice, the rooms and common areas are very clean, the staff was courteous but everything else was disappointing. The food was horrible. We found little things here and there to hold us over but overall we did not like the food. Dominicans that own restaurants in the states would be embarrassed the resort could not even get "Dominican Night" right. The shuttle service, which takes you from one side of the resort to another, is terrible. It's disorganized and often we ended up waiting for a shuttle 40+ mins .The hotel staff had regulations for every little thing such as, a waiter would not give me a straw for my daughter during breakfast because straws are locked up during those hours. The hotel had restrictions to making reservations for more than 4 people therefore if the group wanted to experience one of the restaurants other than the buffet, we would need to split up and attend on different days. Also, the crown suites section is very boring. This section of the resort did not have a bar open or music during the evening hours. You would need to take a shuttle to the other sections of the resort. Our group of family & friends made the best of it but we all agreed we would never return to this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a great girls b-day trip to Dominican Republic last year. (5/2012) The grounds & room were very nice. And the staff was amazing. Partied with the locals and had a great time. Played games on the beach. Loved the beds but get there early.. Rooms were rather humid thank god for the AC.. Food was ok.. drinks were great.

Loved all the events planned for us. (booked w/ Cheap Caribbean)..Overall good trip though I did happen to bring bedbugs back to NY. Not good @ all especially the additional $600 to rid them.

Would visit DR again but will stay else where..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Cofresi Beach, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club Crown Villas)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Presidential Suites by Lifestyle are the newest luxury accommodations to be added to the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, setting a standard of lavish comfort with 60 scrumptiously appointed two-bedroom suites, filled with dramatic furniture and stainless steel appliances.All suites are dramatically decorated with dark, rich wood, and stainless steel accoutrements and appliances. The smallest details have been carefully crafted to provide guests with every comfort and luxury available, making the Presidential Suites by Lifestyle a one of the most relaxing, enjoyable and satisfying experiences ever.Providing both service and features that are beyond compare, the Presidential Suites offer a unique luxury accommodations experience. As a Lifestyle property, the Presidential Suites provide the easy, relaxed ambience of the Caribbean in an opulent and elegant setting,The Presidential Suites offer a matchless vacation experience for the most discriminating traveler. All suites have air conditioning, cable television, phones, and ceiling fans, while the décor has a distinctive modern design, featuring cherry wood furnishing and stainless steel. Shaded patios and verandas provide a relaxing place to gather.On Property amenities include: a large centralized pool with waterfall; Jazz, a French Fusion Restaurant; Bourbon Street bar; three tennis courts; and a full-press lighted basketball court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club Crown Villas Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Crown Residence Hotel
Hotel Lifestyle Crown Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.